Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playing "Live" tonight in the Sporting Emporium...

• 27-09-2007 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭

Have only played a few times live (loads online though) so I'm giving it a shot, do many people go to these games?

It starts at 8:30, do I need to be there early to register or anything?

Sorry folks, real novice here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Wrong forum for a start Bobby! :p

The reg is open from 8.30pm and the game starts at 9pm so if you are there at 8.45 you'll be fine. Bring your passport/driving licence.

It'll have 60-80 runners on a Thursday.

GL and enjoy.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I presume you mean the tournament. If so, it starts at 9, and should get loads of runners, 70+ probably. Since it is your first time I recommend getting there at least 15 minutes early as you have to join as a member. Wear semi respectable clothes and bring passport/drivers licence. You also have to be over 21 as well in case you didn't know for the SE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Apologies for posting in the wrong forum!

I'm a member of the Emporium already, do I still need my passport???

Do I just say to the folks at the front desk why I'm there or is there somewhere I need to go?

Ah you are fine here, it is not really a tournament forum question.

If you are a member you don't need any id, as long as you have your membership card and your index finger with you. If you don't have your card I believe you can just tell them your name at the desk and they will help. Yoiu still need to bring your index finger though, so don't forget it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

jusy say hello, swipe the member's card, put your finger on the scanner thing and wait for it not to work (I think in all my time going there, this has worked maybe twice)

then, when the doorman fixes the problem, go to the second floor (poker room) and register. simple as

then win the tournie!

5StarPool and ElStuntman,

Thanks for your advice and kind words!

Alas this sucker will be lining someone else's pocket with his €50 but darn well looking forward to the experience!

Cheers folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭kebabfest

and make sure you eat some sandwiches at the break. We dont want you starving to death !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭barrera

kebabfest wrote:
    and make sure you eat some sandwiches at the break. We dont want you starving to death !

LOL!! You'll be skewered for that..... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Do as the man says because if you arrive at 9 John(Zoulking) can leave you waiting at the reg desk a few moments longer than necessary while he pretends to do something else just to make his point! ;-).

Enjoy the nite, All the staff and most of the players there are friendly just like all cardrooms in Dublin really.

jusy say hello, swipe the member's card, put your finger on the scanner thing and wait for it not to work (I think in all my time going there, this has worked maybe twice)

then, when the doorman fixes the problem, go to the second floor (poker room) and register. simple as

then win the tournie!
    Have you ever tried to file off your fingerprints? I think maybe you are trying to hide your past. The only time it has not worked for me is when my finger was too far up the pad, and I did it again and it worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

where is the sporting emporium in town and whats the buy in for the tournie tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

Somewhere around here, and tonight it's 50+5 (See full event list here).

5starpool wrote:
    Have you ever tried to file off your fingerprints? I think maybe you are trying to hide your past.

the past is the past Dom, just let it it be

what happened in that remote South American jungle is nobody's business except my own and maybe a few hundred coca-pickers....

the past is the past Dom, just let it it be

what happened in that remote South American jungle is nobody's business except my own and maybe a few hundred coca-pickers....
    I was about to point out that it is cocoa not coca, until I looked it up just in case. I apologise for nearly correcting you in error sir. It is good to learn new things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

5starpool wrote:
    Ah you are fine here, it is not really a tournament forum question.

If you are a member you don't need any id, as long as you have your membership card and your index finger with you. If you don't have your card I believe you can just tell them your name at the desk and they will help. Yoiu still need to bring your index finger though, so don't forget it ;)

Bobby,

Dom is actually incorrect here, please ignore this misleading information, he's a young lad trying to make his way in the world. I actually have no fingerprints on my index finger (this is, believe it or not, completely true) and I have never had a problem getting in to the Emporium.

In your case however bringing your finger with you may be a more feasible option. Each to their own.

:cool:

5starpool wrote:
    I was about to point out that it is cocoa not coca, until I looked it up just in case. I apologise for nearly correcting you in error sir. It is good to learn new things.

cocoa picking is also a valid thing to do, just not as lucrative or exciting

your life expectancy is probably better though

Hammertime wrote:
    Bobby,

Dom is actually incorrect here, please ignore this misleading information, he's a young lad trying to make his way in the world. I actually have no fingerprints on my index finger (this is, believe it or not, completely true) and I have never had a problem getting in to the Emporium.

In your case however bringing your finger with you may be a more feasible option. Each to their own.

:cool:
    So you killed another member, stole their card, cut off their index finger, and use that instead to get in? Wow, that is intricate. WP Phil.

That is surely the only other way to get into the SE isn't it? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

5starpool wrote:
    So you killed another member, stole their card, cut off their index finger, and use that instead to get in? Wow, that is intricate. WP Phil.

That is surely the only other way to get into the SE isn't it? :confused:

LOL

Very James Bond, I like it, but sadly the reality is I got my index finger cut off by a very nasty door when I was a kid and merely have to wave my stump at the doorman for immediate royalty treatment and the doors just open as if by magic.....

Being an amputee rocks.

:p

Hammertime wrote:
    LOL

Very James Bond, I like it, but sadly the reality is I got my index finger cut off by a very nasty door when I was a kid and merely have to wave my stump at the doorman for immediate royalty treatment and the doors just open as if by magic.....

Being an amputee rocks.

I suppose they are afraid of a claim if they let someone as clumsy as you operate a door by yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Hammertime wrote:
    LOL

Being an amputee rocks.

So much for the anonimity of boards!

If I end up playing a guy with a missing index finger I'll probably wait until I take adecent pot and then come out with a smart line like 'y'can't touch this'.

gosplan wrote:
    So much for the anonimity of boards!

If I end up playing a guy with a missing index finger I'll probably wait until I take adecent pot and then come out with a smart line like 'y'can't touch this'.

You shall then experience the sharp pain of a stump in the eyeball.....

don't fock with the afflicted !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

My mate lost the top of two fingers on the one hand (index and middle) when we were spinning him around in a manual/hand (whatever the fcuk they are) cement mixers.

He did win the last longest bet though.

True story.

careca wrote:
    My mate lost the top of two fingers on the one hand (index and middle) when we were spinning him around in a manual/hand (whatever the fcuk they are) cement mixers.

He did win the last longest bet though.

True story.
    class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

Scan finger on other hand surely. This is discrimination against full fingered folk across the globe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

Drakar wrote:
    Scan finger on other hand surely. This is discrimination against full fingered folk across the globe.
    Off Topic but how strict are the SE on wearing tracksuits? A friend coming with me tonight is a scrote and only wears tracksuit bottoms, what are his chances of getting in?

eoghan104 wrote:
    Off Topic but how strict are the SE on wearing tracksuits? A friend coming with me tonight is a scrote and only wears tracksuit bottoms, what are his chances of getting in?

tell him he needs to wear a tux to get in, that'll dissuade the filthy knacker from soiling the joint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Idu

I left my one pair of jeans at your mom's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

I left my one pair of jeans at your mom's
    Typical that the only other bottoms you have are jeans...... I bet they are Wranglers. Knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Idu

well i didn't wear the wranglers today cos they clash with my ben sherman checked shirt and my yankees cap

guys gotta be careful of clashing

One of the lads won't come to the poker tonight cos he doesn't want to give them his fingerprints!!!

Do you have to give the fingerprints to play in the poker tourny tonight?

Yup. I know a few objectors as well who refuse to go in. It's a big conspiracy apparantly.

5starpool wrote:
    Yup. I know a few objectors as well who refuse to go in. It's a big conspiracy apparantly.

He won't go to the states cos of it either!

I wonder does he have "form!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

kebabfest wrote:

Probably the funniest thing I've read on here. WP.

Lazare wrote:
    As a proud ulsterman, kebabfest was only wishing to avoid the mistakes of the past repeating themselves, so is to be commended on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭RichardB2

And one more hint for the original poster.
    If a bloke bearing any resemblance to Chief Brody from "Jaws" calls your bet,
    use all your fingers to count any possible outs you may have .....
    then subtract eleven & FOLD :eek:

jawschum.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

5starpool wrote:
    I presume you mean the tournament. If so, it starts at 9, and should get loads of runners, 70+ probably. Since it is your first time I recommend getting there at least 15 minutes early as you have to join as a member. Wear semi respectable clothes and bring passport/drivers licence. You also have to be over 21 as well in case you didn't know for the SE.

Ah, we might of had him turning up in formal gear if we tried. :p

Dickie bow and scarf in the pocket type thing.
    Maybe even a pocket watch and monicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Lazare wrote:
    been away for a while or....??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Conspicuous

He won't go to the states cos of it either!

So is he a bona fide republican then or just an armchair republican like yourself?