Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

security at Dublin airport

• 25-09-2007 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭

Hey guys just thought Id share what happened to me on Friday morning flying to Berlin.I didnt bother cheakin in my luggage.Then as I got towards secuirty I remembered I had perfumeX 2,sissors,twizers.and my keys all in my hand luggage :eek: But nothing happened wasnt stopped or taken anything off me and I carried all on board. I thought you werent allowed anything like that.I wasnt alone either and other people carried there stuff on too.Anybody eles this happen too?If this is wrong please move.Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

from my experience and that of friends/work colleagues this is a regular occurrence,i've no idea if its the scanning equipment or just the classic irish "sure its grand" attitude but i doubt it'll be the last time:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Dublin let me bring a can of lynx on board on my way to Glasgow (i thought i was allowed to bring it, it was a 330ml can that was only a third full, which i mistakenly thought was ok. Rule is actually you can only have 100ml in a 100ml container). On the way back home the lads in Glasgow took it off me. Likewise, my phone charger and shoes with tiny metal yokes around the lace caused no problem in Dublin. In Frankfurt on my way back (from Prague) they opened my bag, took out the shoes/peered inside them, and then took my charger into the corner where they dabbed some type of chemical onto it :confused: No idea what this was for, mate said he heard its a test for cocaine residue, that doing this makes things alot faster than tearing apart the bag of every person they have a tiny inkling about. I assumed it was to see if the charger had any type of explosive chemical in it. Mate got even heavier treatment in Gatwick, cant recall why now but they completely emptied his bag, pretty much asked if there was anything fragile inside and then tipped her upside down, but no hassle in Dublin. Anyone know what the chemical test yoke is for?

Frankfurt is like a fort though, in the time i was waiting for my flight maybe a fifth of people entering the hall got some extra attention. The waiting hall i was in was quite small, only seating for maybe two planes full of people. I think that there you go through two gates- one normal search area which brings you to the restaurent/bar area and a second search area inside every smaller boarding hall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

shane86, they made a mistake in Dublin with the Lynx. Nobody should be allowed have that stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Cheiftan

Shane86 , a similar thing happened to me as your mate in Gatwick, it was about 7 months ago and was traveling with me better half for a fortnight in thailand, I had all me stuff in checked on luggage , all I had about me was a book , wallet , cigs and lighter.
    My better half had , well what women have when they go away ..... Loads and loads in the handbag, anyway she got let on through as the metal dectector did'nt beep , same as 10 others who were in front of us , I went through , it did'nt beep , BUT I then got the " exscuse me , follow me please" taken to a little room , sniffer dog and searched , did'nt say a word to them only to tell them my name and where I was going , who I was traveling with and then shut up.
    They let me go shortly afterwards but I've often wondered why i got the treatment I did:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭piskins72

I went through dublin airport security recently enough on a domestic flight, it was an early morning one so place was busy enough, seen them takin lots of stuff off people who were over limit with the carry on liquids and i myself, walked thro, beeped, didnt have nothing in pockets or anything but had a belt on trousers and was made take off shoes and belt and go thro again, and also my hand bag was checked as it had been opened.