Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pheasant shoot

• 25-09-2007 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭

Can anyone recommend a good spot for either driven or walk up for some pheasant shooting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Chopperdog 2

Depends on your budget.

The prime estates are charging up to €45 per bird shot on a driven day.

You will do well to get birds driven over you for anything less than €25 per bird.

Walked up rates will be a little cheaper, but still expect to pay around € 400 per gun day with a limited bag imposed.

Before anyone comes on to say that they or their club can do it for xyz cheaper, the rough prices that I am quoting are for well established estates that let days to non-syndicate members and are renowned for their quality and reliability as opposed to an informal club mini drive day.

Contact Fiach Dowling at Coolattin, he offers good value for money at his shoot in Wicklow.

Good luck with the searching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭alan123

Just tell him you only want pheasant, no duck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Sfinn

Can you PM me Fiach details, i'm searched the web for a contact no no joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,064 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Do people here think driven shoots are worth it? I know some people say if you have the money why not, but could it be near as satisfying as rough shooting with wild bird(s)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

400euro shooting a day maddness befriend the local friendly farmer shoot some vermin for him and in return get some pheasant shooting much more enjoyable and more sporting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

I have shoot raise phesant over the past few years, but these are released and flushed later with dogs as "normal" - good sport.

In relation to driven shoot's i guess it's a personal choice thing - not for me that is for sure. To much focus on what jeep you drive in with rather than the sport!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,064 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

kerryman12 wrote: »
    I have shoot raise phesant over the past few years, but these are released and flushed later with dogs as "normal" - good sport.

In relation to driven shoot's i guess it's a personal choice thing - not for me that is for sure. To much focus on what jeep you drive in with rather than the sport!!
    My feelings too really.
    Also I don't consider raising birds to release in any way close to driven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Sfinn

i know i know ethically if don't agree with raising large number and then driving them in guns,gods knows some of the lads i've seen in the past couldn't hit a bird.

What i'm more interested in is walkup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 barrym682

I have 400 acres of woodland, for private walked up shoot. It is great for woodcock shooting and has wild pheasant there. I am charging 100 euros per year should you be intrested contact me at <SNIP>

[MOD]
    Please don't post personal contact details in thread, exchange this information by PM.
    [/MOD]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

barrym682 wrote: »
    I have 400 acres of woodland, for private walked up shoot. It is great for woodcock shooting and has wild pheasant there. I am charging 100 euros per year should you be intrested contact me at <SNIP>

So your basically a farmer with 400 acres and to make a quick buck your going charging fellahs €100 a day to shoot your land........ the woodcock are definitely wild, but are you putting down any phaasants or are these 'wild' aswell or were they released by the local gun club.

How can you guarantee a return of birds for the €100?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

ahhh pass the popcorn:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

€100 per year seems very reasonable to me. Maybe too reasonable, per day it would be very expensive. I don't understand the objection to shooting pheasants if they were originally released by a club/syndicate/megacorporation. Once they are released they are wild. I will say however I think it would be wrong to induce birds from neighbours through feeding.

I'm sure the letting value of barrym682's wood would encourage forestry practices which are more sensitive to game needs. Pheasant releasing is a very short term measure compared to habitat management.

No I am not a farmer, I hold the shooting rights to the land and I have a very keen intrest in woodcock shooting a truly wild game Bird I also enjoy the odd pheasant hunt. I am just looking for a few genuine sportsmen to join me for some good shooting.

So your basically a farmer with 400 acres and to make a quick buck your going charging fellahs €100 a day to shoot your land........ the woodcock are definitely wild, but are you putting down any phaasants or are these 'wild' aswell or were they released by the local gun club.

How can you guarantee a return of birds for the €100?
    Its not 100 per day its 100 per season. I think that is very reasonable.
    It is mostly woodcock shooting with pheasants present. I am not putting down any birds this year as I want to see if I can hold the ones that are there, If the shoot works out and members want to all pull together to put Birds in the followling year then this can be done. No point putting down a few hundred pheasants to find that they dont survive. The birds that are there are hardy and wild this is different to putting young poults out. This yeay will be a trial if it works better programe can be done next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Its not 100 per day its 100 per season. I think that is very reasonable.
    It is mostly woodcock shooting with pheasants present. I am not putting down any birds this year as I want to see if I can hold the ones that are there, If the shoot works out and members want to all pull together to put Birds in the followling year then this can be done. No point putting down a few hundred pheasants to find that they dont survive. The birds that are there are hardy and wild this is different to putting young poults out. This yeay will be a trial if it works better programe can be done next year.

Fair enough, sorry for doubting you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

barrym - what part of the country are you in. I would be interested in talking to you

yessam wrote: »
    barrym - what part of the country are you in. I would be interested in talking to you
    Meath. Private message for more details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Sika98k

Sfinn wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a good spot for either driven or walk up for some pheasant shooting?

www.nagyvadhunting.hu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Meath. Private message for more details

Pm sent lad;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

Mellor wrote: »
    Do people here think driven shoots are worth it? I know some people say if you have the money why not, but could it be near as satisfying as rough shooting with wild bird(s)
    definitely not ,you can shoot in scotland ,walked up grouse for the same price as driven phesant over here........no comparison although some woodcock shooting in meath does sound appealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

i've been on 2 commercial shoots in ireland, coolatin and dromoland.
    i've shot driven and walk up and beat coolatin. i beat and loaded on dromoland.
    coolatin for me was the better shoot, i found every one on that shoot joe soap types that liked their shoting and beating. dromoland was a real snob fest.
    i actually spent a day loading for lord smithwicks,nice fella but real landed gentry type,tipped me 50 pounds though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Used get an occasional walked up day at Dromoland. 2/3 beaters and half walking guns with the other guns placed in front to get a bit of driven sport. It was brilliant. I couldn't for the life of me hit the higher driven birds though :o
    This was through a local gun club who were friendly with the head keeper. It used cost about £150/man for a 200 bird day between 8 of us.
    I wouldn't dream of paying the prices charged for a full driven day.
    I have beaten on an estate here in Scotland a few times and man the clientèle were nearly enough to put me off for life. Feckers would hardly say hello to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Chuileog wrote: »
    I have beaten on an estate here in Scotland a few times and man the clientèle were nearly enough to put me off for life. Feckers would hardly say hello to ya.

They'd be the city boys/hurrah henry types which many of these shooting estates in Scotland pander too - they'd prefer if the peasentry like us stuck to shootin rabbits;). Thats why I'd hate it if that type of scene reared its ugly head back in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

i wouldnt for the life of me attend a driven shoot, the "oh by jaysus look at thon pheasent flying towards me at sum rate hi, thon was sum hit boy" wouldnt go down well with the "oh jolly good shot chump u realy are an extraordinary soul oh chum,,, tidyoh!!!!"

also the majority of these estates would date back to the colnial days of british rule here even back to when their great grandfathers sat and ate while our people were starving, i couldnt support anything like that

i know it is an exagerating statement and sorry for any hurt :P

EastTyrone wrote: »
    i wouldnt for the life of me attend a driven shoot, the "oh by jaysus look at thon pheasent flying towards me at sum rate hi, thon was sum hit boy" wouldnt go down well with the "oh jolly good shot chump u realy are an extraordinary soul oh chum,,, tidyoh!!!!"

also the majority of these estates would date back to the colnial days of british rule here even back to when their great grandfathers sat and ate while our people were starving, i couldnt support anything like that

i know it is an exagerating statement and sorry for any hurt :P

Indeed they considered the native Irish "poachers" if they shot a pigeon for the pot:(. It reminds me of a famous landlord in Mayo in the middle part of the 19th century who banned his 600 hundred or so tenets from keeping dogs in case they might go hunting. Once a year he'd go around shooting any dog seen on his vast estate(I think it was something like 8000acres):(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭homerhop

After being involved in driven shoots for a number of years I dont think you can compare the 2. I have seen some shoots that had some great high flying birds and some very tight shooting. I have also been rough shooting with lads that would hardly give the bird time to get off the ground.
    The clientele one the driven shoots varied from a group of lads from a club having a day out to the better off money wise in society. The majority of groups appreciated the effort of the beaters and in roughly 10 years we only had problems with one crowd who quiet frankyy should not have had gun licenses.

homerhop wrote: »
    we only had problems with one crowd who quiet frankyy should not have had gun licenses.

Were they Italian??;)

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Were they Italian??;)

No they were a bunck of Irish lads, working class the same as me who thought that they could treat people like **** because they were paying for a days shooting, they were obnoxious to the beaters, had to be warned about their shooting behaviour. Not a nice bunch of lads.

homerhop wrote: »
    No they were a bunck of Irish lads, working class the same as me who thought that they could treat people like **** because they were paying for a days shooting, they were obnoxious to the beaters, had to be warned about their shooting behaviour. Not a nice bunch of lads.

The Celtic Tiger definatly brought out all the worst traits in the noveau rich Irish - as the olde saying goes "the worst type of snob, is an Irish one":(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

EastTyrone wrote: »

i know it is an exagerating statement and sorry for any hurt :P[/QUO

i told you a million times stop exagerating.

This was before the celtic tigre took off. They looked to book a day for the following year and were told in no uncertain terms never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

i told you a million times stop exagerating.

aw but the craic is a hundred thousand kazillion times better exagerating :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Lenbri

Barrym682
    Are you still interested in a few genuine sportsmen joining you for some good shooting.

Am down in Castleconnell, Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

driven shooting isnt hunting to me its just for posh stuck up will snobby clay shooters with bags of money no hunting involved in this just stand at post same as clay site and blast what comes same as clays were is the sport in this???

ferrete wrote: »
    driven shooting isnt hunting to me its just for posh stuck up will snobby clay shooters with bags of money no hunting involved in this just stand at post same as clay site and blast what comes same as clays were is the sport in this???

Then you have never been on a well run driven shoot.
    I know plenty of rough shooters who dont let the bird 10 ft off the ground and blow it into a ball of feathers blasting everything they can, where is the sport in that?
    Sorry if my post sounds aggressive but if you have never been involved or been at one it is easy to say they are snobs, and money bags which you will find a lot of the time is not the case. Point of note when i was involved in driven shoots, it was a group of rough shooters who booked a days shooting that were unsporting, pulled dangerous shots and down right rude and obnoxious.

no it isn't hunting but a cock pheasant at full tilt side slipping on a side wind is a serious bird to hit
    don't knock it till you have tried it and most of the lads i know who shoot driven birds are nothing like the posh snobby clay shooting types you are suggesting just hard working lads who appreciate what they are doing have respect for thier quarry and make sure that all wounded birds are picked
    a properly organised driven bird shoot is a wonder to watch with guns beaters and pickers up all working as a team please don't dismiss people who participate in it so lightly a lot of us put body and soul into our sport ;)
    it's like everything if you are a sportsman and pick your birds it's sporting shooting like the lad who will let a cock get up and away before shooting him rather than the lad who blows a young cock to bits 15yrds in front of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭SARZY

landkeeper wrote: »
    no it isn't hunting but a cock pheasant at full tilt side slipping on a side wind is a serious bird to hit
    don't knock it till you have tried it and most of the lads i know who shoot driven birds are nothing like the posh snobby clay shooting types you are suggesting just hard working lads who appreciate what they are doing have respect for thier quarry and make sure that all wounded birds are picked
    a properly organised driven bird shoot is a wonder to watch with guns beaters and pickers up all working as a team please don't dismiss people who participate in it so lightly a lot of us put body and soul into our sport ;)
    it's like everything if you are a sportsman and pick your birds it's sporting shooting like the lad who will let a cock get up and away before shooting him rather than the lad who blows a young cock to bits 15yrds in front of him

The posh snobby clay shootin types. What are you on. Apeing the gentry and shootin 'driven pheasant my lord'. have a go at some other eejit

i'm not having a go at any eejit as you put it ,if you read what i wrote i was quoting a previous poster :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

well i cant help it if there are a few unsporting people out there that will kill everything but in my eyes rough shooting is the real sport going looking and finding your quarry

ferrete wrote: »
    well i cant help it if there are a few unsporting people out there that will kill everything but in my eyes rough shooting is the real sport going looking and finding your quarry

And you are quiet entitled to your opinion, but to lable all involved in driven shoots in that was is simply not the case.
    I have done both and yes they are 2 entirely different things, but the shot involved in some driven shooting can be something you will very rarely get while rough shooting.

i am lucky enough to have spent a large part of my life in and around shooting and fieldsports in a lot of different forms lurchers terriers ferrets wildfowling, duck flighting ,walked up rough shooting as well as driven shooting and one thing i can say for sure is that there are sportsmen in all camps those men and women who have a true love and appreciation for what they term sport ,the lad that will give a a bird a sporting chance the bloke who puts the gun back in the sleeve on a duck flight cos he has enough for what he wants and sits back to enjoy the spectacle , the crack shot on a driven shoot who only lifts his gun to those birds most of us would think out of range and kills them easily , i have also seen and heard the other side of the coin hundreds of pigeons tipped in a plie in the ditch cos they wern't wanted lads not far from here who fed a pond all autum then shot a couple of hundred mallard in one night , the lads on the 1st of november walking up the road with a bundle of 1/2 grown cock poults tied in a bundle i could go on
    my point being that sport or hunting is what you make it ,in the end you are the mutt behind the butt it's the sportsman or not who make the descision as to what is fair play and fair game
    however at the end of the day we all should share the same hobby/passion/pastime and really not start telling each other what is or isn't