Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Display of Tax Disk question

• 25-09-2007 11:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Ive always carried my Tax disk in me wallet probably because a friend told me he had his stolen, the tax disk that is, not the bike :-)

What do ye guys here do?

Ive been stopped at checkpoints loads of times and the gardai didnt even bat an eyelid when I pulled it out of me wallet, seems ok with them,

How about when doing the test? Will you fail if its not displayed but in your wallet/drivers license?

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Current motor tax certificate must be displayed on your motorcycle or in your possession when you present for the test.

From here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

The previous owner of my bike has his tax disc attached to the bike.

This is the first bike that has had a tax disc attached to it for a sustained period of time.

The only other time I attached a tax disc to a bike of mine was for the DoE test. Every other test RoSPA and BikeSafe, have been driven with a bike with no tax displayed, but carried in my wallet.

I have on several occasions removed the tax from my wallet when asked for it without any qualms from the Garda in question.

I however do know of one person who recieved a ticket (which was successfully appealed) for failure to display tax when a young guard spotted his bike parked in the centre of O'Connell st.

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Dorsanty

Was told when doing pre-test to fix it to my bike for the test as some testers want to see it attached to the bike.

In the end I didn't and had it on my keys only. That was enough for the tester.
    I think it should be visible on the bike at least even if you take it away with you on your keys. Only like one or two euro to get a plastic holder for it.

Edit: Main reason I keep it on my keys is that it makes the keys hard to loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Dorsanty wrote:
    In the end I didn't and had it on my keys only. That was enough for the tester.
    I think it should be visible on the bike at least even if you take it away with you on your keys. Only like one or two euro to get a plastic holder for it.
    This is theoretically the best way to do it. Legally the bike should not be used in a public place without a valid tax disc displayed. So if you're driving it, then the disc is displayed and it's valid. Assuming that you don't park on any public streets, then there's no real problem.

I think I carried it in my wallet for about two years, but then got pissed off having to remove my gloves and take out my wallet to show my tax, so I gave in and paid €2 for a lump of plastic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,547 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I keep mine in the transparent pocket in the top of the tank bag. If not using the tank bag I'd put it in my wallet. I haven't left a tax disc on a bike in years. It's not just theft that's a problem, it's that any tax disc holder leaks sooner or later no matter how dear it is and you will end up with a lump of mush.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,772 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

i had my tax disc holder behind the headlight on the vanvan, you can see it if it's pointed out but otherwise you couldnt spot it. it was one of them steel holders.

have a steel holder for the new cbf but i havent really looked at where to attach it given that the disc only arrived int ehpost yesterday.

I have mine in a metal disc holder which is mounted with the horn. Which itself is located just above the forward cylinder on the dragstar 650. Its easily visible but would be a pain in the ass for anyone trying to swipe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Chunkylover

mines kept in with my licence, have been stopped twice and both times there have been no issues
    Ive heard stories of bikes being ticketed though for not having the tax on display
    If you're worried about getting it stolen, get a colour photocopy of it, laminate it and stick it in the holder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,980 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

ninja900 wrote:
    I keep mine in the transparent pocket in the top of the tank bag. If not using the tank bag I'd put it in my wallet. I haven't left a tax disc on a bike in years. It's not just theft that's a problem, it's that any tax disc holder leaks sooner or later no matter how dear it is and you will end up with a lump of mush.
    Funnily enough I have a cheapass 'foldover' type holder which didn't leak at all in the 12 months. I have had oxford ones turn discs to muck after a few weeks. Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,907 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

My tax disc is in my wallet with my driver's license...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,772 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

murphaph wrote:
    Funnily enough I have a cheapass 'foldover' type holder which didn't leak at all in the 12 months. I have had oxford ones turn discs to muck after a few weeks. Strange.
    the oxford disc holders themselves turn to muck. the little nuts are no good after your second disc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

I had one robbed, but displaying it is handier if you get to a checkpoint. Having said that, most cops just wave me on without looking at it. I got one of those ninja star holders, changed the disc 3 times and it hasn't leaked. Trim the edges of the tax disc before you put it in.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

in the wallet ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭wet-paint

One of the boys has it attatched to one of the nuts holding on the reg plate. He slides it in behind the plate, and just slides it out again if a cop wants to take a gander. It's otherwise invisible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

wet-paint wrote:
    One of the boys has it attatched to one of the nuts holding on the reg plate. He slides it in behind the plate, and just slides it out again if a cop wants to take a gander. It's otherwise invisible.

He's got it wrong. It should slide down to cover some of the numbers.

vroooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooom!
    flash! flash!
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭alinoee

i did my test in raheny last week. i had tax disc in my wallet and gave it to him with insurance when he asked for driving license at his desk.he didnt even look. dont know bout other places though. i passed and no probs (with disks at least : ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,576 ✭✭✭lord lucan

i keep mine in the little plastic pouch with my license,been stopped at checkpoints a couple of times and never a problem;) . i did buy a holder last year though for my test,figured you'd feel like a right eejit if that was the one mark against that pushed you in to a fail.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭art

Insurance and tax I keep in a plastic pocket inside my Bike jacket pocket.

I have occasionally though, gone and changed jackets and forgotten to change plastic pocket too - in fact, the last time was on a journey from Dublin to Westport where I reached Galway and had one of them... "Aw Fuc..." moments. Thankfully never met a guard on that trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Keep mine in my wallet. Had one stolen off the bike before, and another turn to mush in the tax disc holder. Never had an issue with checkpoints (and there have been many).

Usually, if when I mention that I keep it in my wallet, they'll wave me on without asking me to produce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

It's meant to be on the left side of the vehicle viewable from the front.

That's where mine is in a cheap plastic holder. can't remember if I put it in a clear plastic bag, but never any issues with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭Keith186

I just have mine in a plastic holder on the bike. None have been stolen in years except a bike I bought with no tax was stolen after 3 days of parking in city centre! The irony.

Anyway keep it in your wallet if you want, shouldn't be an issue except for cops with nothing better to do seeing it on the street with no tax, by right parking in public means you need a tax disc for the privalege.

There was a car outside my mates gaf in town for ages and I couldn't park there so I told him to ring the Gardai and say there was no tax displayed. It was moved within a week but it looked like the thing was probably abandoned/stolen anyway cos there were no plates either.