Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Career/future confusion

• 24-09-2007 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Feel a bit silly writing this. Not even sure If I am looking for advice or anything.
    Just a bit of a "get it off my chest" topic.

Feeling a bit confused about some things at the mo. Recently returned from a world trip. Bit of a bummer being home at first, missing the freedom, the craic & lifestyle etc. Thought I would settle back in soon after though...but I haven't really.
    Went back to my old job...but only lasted 4 weeks. I couldn't hack it, the 9-5 plus overtime all for a job I didnt really care about. So I've pretty much decided that after 4 years of college that area isnt for me (accounting).
    Travelling made me realise that life is too short to be spending 40 hours (often more) doing a job I dont really enjoy.
    This realisation should be good, right? Well...

The thing is...I have no idea what I'd enjoy. My friends from college all think I was crazy jacking in the job. When I told them I wanna get out of accounting altogether they all thought I was mad. Some of my family are the same.
    My brothers have known since they were 5 what they wanted to be "when they grow up" and have both accomplished it and are doing very well. Same goes for my sister. So its just me that hasnt got a clue.

Feeling a bit of a failure I guess to be honest.

To my friends I know I come across confident and bubbly etc and in a lot of ways I am...but not in this. It probably doesnt seem like a big problem to many of you. Im expecting to hear many "get a job you bum" comments.
    I dunno really, I just feel really un-motivated to get one since I dont even know what I wanna do. Left my job 2 weeks ago and havent even started looking for one yet. Its worrying me though and its on my mind constantly. Lying in bed till 2 or 3am with my mind racing about what the hell I should do.

Im a really sociable person, love going out, heading to heaps of gigs, meeting up with mates etc. The past few weeks has been different though. Just so unmotivated during the day. Spending half the day in my pjs lately worrying about what kind of job I should go for, or back to college etc...and waiting for the weekend when I can head out etc (being unemployed means not much money for mid week activities).
    Trying to take all my friends and families conflicting advice on board too...minds just overloaded really.

Not sure what I expect from posting this here...but...anyway

Thanks for reading.

Feel a bit silly writing this. Not even sure If I am looking for advice or anything.
    Just a bit of a "get it off my chest" topic.

Feeling a bit confused about some things at the mo. Recently returned from a world trip. Bit of a bummer being home at first, missing the freedom, the craic & lifestyle etc. Thought I would settle back in soon after though...but I haven't really.
    Went back to my old job...but only lasted 4 weeks. I couldn't hack it, the 9-5 plus overtime all for a job I didnt really care about. So I've pretty much decided that after 4 years of college that area isnt for me (accounting).
    Travelling made me realise that life is too short to be spending 40 hours (often more) doing a job I dont really enjoy.
    This realisation should be good, right? Well...

The thing is...I have no idea what I'd enjoy. My friends from college all think I was crazy jacking in the job. When I told them I wanna get out of accounting altogether they all thought I was mad. Some of my family are the same.
    My brothers have known since they were 5 what they wanted to be "when they grow up" and have both accomplished it and are doing very well. Same goes for my sister. So its just me that hasnt got a clue.

Feeling a bit of a failure I guess to be honest.

To my friends I know I come across confident and bubbly etc and in a lot of ways I am...but not in this. It probably doesnt seem like a big problem to many of you. Im expecting to hear many "get a job you bum" comments.
    I dunno really, I just feel really un-motivated to get one since I dont even know what I wanna do. Left my job 2 weeks ago and havent even started looking for one yet. Its worrying me though and its on my mind constantly. Lying in bed till 2 or 3am with my mind racing about what the hell I should do.

Im a really sociable person, love going out, heading to heaps of gigs, meeting up with mates etc. The past few weeks has been different though. Just so unmotivated during the day. Spending half the day in my pjs lately worrying about what kind of job I should go for, or back to college etc...and waiting for the weekend when I can head out etc (being unemployed means not much money for mid week activities).
    Trying to take all my friends and families conflicting advice on board too...minds just overloaded really.

Not sure what I expect from posting this here...but...anyway

Thanks for reading.

U sound so like me its hilarious! Except I havent done the travellin bit yet so thats my reason to stick at the job.:D

My cousin did a 9 month tour of Asia just fartin about on beaches etc etc and when he came back he couldnt hack the daily grind of the 9-5 so he went off again for another 3 months. hes finally weaned himself back into it so that will come for u in time.

I'm under pressure from my parents to get my future sorted and I'm going to study the accounting exams as an added qualification to have (u dont exactly give it a glowing recommendation!) but i seriously doubt that'll be my future career (its a good qualification to have though thats why im doing it)

How old are you?! Cos a lot of people I know who are in careers now didnt really settle into one particular career until their early 30's. Dont need to rush your decision. But u should try to work even part time cos sittin at home all day every day and sleepin in sleepin in is counter productive (i did that in college a lot so I know)

As for not knowing what u wanted to be since u were young, so what? What kid dreams of being a stockbroker? relax and wait, time will tell, u may start doing something just for experience and to pass the time and then find that u really like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

U sound so like me its hilarious! Except I havent done the travellin bit yet so thats my reason to stick at the job.:D

My cousin did a 9 month tour of Asia just fartin about on beaches etc etc and when he came back he couldnt hack the daily grind of the 9-5 so he went off again for another 3 months. hes finally weaned himself back into it so that will come for u in time.

I'm under pressure from my parents to get my future sorted and I'm going to study the accounting exams as an added qualification to have (u dont exactly give it a glowing recommendation!) but i seriously doubt that'll be my future career (its a good qualification to have though thats why im doing it)

How old are you?! Cos a lot of people I know who are in careers now didnt really settle into one particular career until their early 30's. Dont need to rush your decision. But u should try to work even part time cos sittin at home all day every day and sleepin in sleepin in is counter productive (i did that in college a lot so I know)

As for not knowing what u wanted to be since u were young, so what? What kid dreams of being a stockbroker? relax and wait, time will tell, u may start doing something just for experience and to pass the time and then find that u really like it.

THanks for the reply Neil.
    Im 23 now. I know its still young...
    Doesn't stop me worrying though.

Sorry if I've given accounting a bad image :)
    I didnt do the professional exams. Got my degree in accounting and instead of going straight into the big exams I decided to go travelling...fast forward a year or so and Im home...and all my friends are part or fully qualified and I've realised its not for me. The whole working till 8pm to reach deadlines etc just depresses me as I've no big interest in accounting at all.

Just feeling a bit pants though and a bit of a failure.

My mum thinks I am being a bit self centred and too choosy. She believes I should just go and get a job and deal with it. (Been living back at home since returning from travelling and she pretty much wants me out from under her feet during the day, nice).
    I know I am being choosy in a way and being on the dole for these 2 weeks (first time on the dole ever) make me feels a bit rubbish, but I really dont wanna be stuck in a job I hate. Travelling has made me realise life is way too short for all that.

Maybe I'm being silly and a bit disillusioned and should just head out and get any job.
    I dunno.
    Just feeling pants :(
    Just a bit depressed really. Im a really sociable person so I think being at home all day is getting to me, depressing me even more etc, vicious circle style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Cantoris

Having done the accountancy exams and travelled and survived the return, I think you should think carefully about your next move.you don't have to following accountancy. With a business degree you can join a bank, corporate finance house, small practice or take any number of other roles. You don't have to join a firm. I am guessing that you have never had a full time job for a prolonged period given your travel and college. Unfortunately we all need to work at some stage but have it at the back of your mind to go travelling again in two years or do some charity work after you get a professional qualification. Its a great way to see other parts of the world.

Your family are not being a pain, they are being honest. If you decide to go back to college then make a good stab of whatever it is you want to do. Plenty of people go back and survive.not everyone knows what they want to be when they are forty let alone eighteen when you decide on your college course. Your degree will allow you to get a decent part time job to support yourself.all your mother will want to know is that you will give this a good shot and support yourslef through it.

I hope this helps. And accountancy is not all about working long hours. You get out what you put in and meet some great people along the way. I do not work in accountancy anymore but it opened up lots of doors for me and some of my best mates joined my old firm the same day as me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

OP, its totally natural to be abit down after coming back from travelling. You lived an unrestricted life for a year and now you are back to normality with a BANG!

Your parents can't understand your behaviour because at your age they were probably married with at least one child.

I'd say get off your ar*e and start temping. The longer you sit around moping on the dole the harder it will be. Also, there is a danger that you could actually slip into a depression. You're not depressed now but you are down in the dumps.

Get your cv together and go to the agencies and see what they have for you. Getting back into the workforce will give you more money but also ease you back into the daily grind. Also, you'll start meeting people again which will boost your spirits.

Then I would suggest you start considering masters courses. Decide what it is you would like to do, have a look at what master degrees the different colleges are offering. You are 23 so next sept you will only be 24 so without a doubt you are still young enough to go back to college. Plus it will delay the inevitable 'grown up, working in a full-time job' thing that you are resisting at the moment.

Travelling is great and to have the opportunity to travel for a year is a gift. I never got to do it and I'll always regret it. However, working 9-5 is inevitable. We all have to do it and the most important thing is to get into an area that you enjoy so you don't dread going into work every day.

And don't think that means your opportunities to travel are over. One OP mentioned volunteering and that always looks good on a cv. Also, you can take long holidays and maybe even career breaks.

There are plenty of opportunities still open to you but don't sit in your room moping around. That's the worst thing you can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭newestUser

I agree with other posters who say you should stop moping and start exploring other options. You're at a stage where you're trying to figure out who you are, where you fit in the world, etc. It's perfectly standard at your age. And I also think that lots of people experience this sense of anti-climax once they leave college, and start working.

I can understand your mother's worries about you being too picky and choosy. Work is work. In parts, it can be draining, bitchy, competitive, dull, etc. No job is exempt from this. It's highly unlikely that work is going to be as great craic as college might have been for you. There's a hint of wistfulness in your post for the past. I think you do need to get over this. It's over, gone, and moping around in your PJs dwelling on it and how your present sucks isn't going to solve anything.

I also don't see that you've done anything particularly irreversible or dramatic. The jobs market for accountants is strong, you can always fall back on it if you *have* to. For all we know, as one poster has pointed out, it mightn't be accountancy you hate, but the people you work with, or the company you work in.

You need to be more proactive about getting out there and finding what makes you happy. That's difficult, but it's not impossible. I think part of the problem is that you don't even know what you don't like about the job. You haven't mentioned one specific thing that you dislike about accounting; just vague general things like "I don't really care about it", or "I don't really enjoy it". And you don't even know what you do like. You're confused. I've been in that boat. You don't like a job, your life now sucks compared to what it was just a short time ago, your peers who lucked out and just fell into work that they're enjoying can't understand what your problem is...it's not a nice situation to be in. To get yourself out of this hole, you need to start investigating options. The important thing when you're stuck, and in a rut, is to do something, anything. Here's another cliche for you: good judgment comes from bad experience. :)

Other than a bad marriage, there's probably little else in life that will cause you as much hassle as being stuck in the wrong job. If it's not working for you, get out of there. But just be aware that the perfect job doesn't exist.

What Colour is your Parachute might be a helpful read for you by the way, it's like the gold standard in career guidance books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

OP, why don't you consider finding a job abroad? You could try the Netherlands for somewhere closer to home, or possibly a year working in NZ or Australia. I also believe places like Malaysia, Singapore and possibly China also offer good job opportunities. That way, you'll be earning but seeing the world at the same time.

THanks for the reply Neil.
    Im 23 now. I know its still young...
    Doesn't stop me worrying though.

Sorry if I've given accounting a bad image :)
    I didnt do the professional exams. Got my degree in accounting and instead of going straight into the big exams I decided to go travelling...fast forward a year or so and Im home...and all my friends are part or fully qualified and I've realised its not for me. The whole working till 8pm to reach deadlines etc just depresses me as I've no big interest in accounting at all.

Just feeling a bit pants though and a bit of a failure.

My mum thinks I am being a bit self centred and too choosy. She believes I should just go and get a job and deal with it. (Been living back at home since returning from travelling and she pretty much wants me out from under her feet during the day, nice).
    I know I am being choosy in a way and being on the dole for these 2 weeks (first time on the dole ever) make me feels a bit rubbish, but I really dont wanna be stuck in a job I hate. Travelling has made me realise life is way too short for all that.

Maybe I'm being silly and a bit disillusioned and should just head out and get any job.
    I dunno.
    Just feeling pants :(
    Just a bit depressed really. Im a really sociable person so I think being at home all day is getting to me, depressing me even more etc, vicious circle style.
    Im 23 next month, and Ive no idea what I wanna do, and neither do most people Im mates with! So I wouldnt worry about it if I were u.

At worst go out and get a job in a clothes shop or somethign like that, Earn some money at least. Sittin at home all day is bad for the soul, ul give urself cabin fever. If you're a sociable person then that will be a good start.

EDIT: Double Post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

I'm afraid I'm with your mum. Very few jobs are perfectly matched to what people want to do, but we have to buckle down and do them. I would not waste too much time in moping around, because the longer you do, the harder it will be to get back into accounting and you could well end up in something a hell of a lot worse. I think you need a serious dose of reality, but the only way you'll get that is if your mum stops providing for you and kicks you out of the house. Unlikely to happen, but just consider what it would be like, if she did. Would you like fries with that? (not that there is anything wrong with working in the food industry). Accounting is a very wide area, perhaps you could try and focus your new job hunt in a different area of the profession? Perhaps with a different type of company, small as opposed to large, or vice versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

The first mistake you made is quitting your job without knowing where to go next. That's what you don't want to do. What you need to do is keep a steady flow of income until you figure out what you might like in terms of a career change. Go back and get a job in accounting and have a decent income and hand up some money at home.

This is what I am essentially doing. Take comfort in the fact that you can quit at any time once you know where to go. Money is important. You'll soon realise that life isn't the 24 hour/day adventure you (and we all) think it should be. Bills have to be paid, you need money to enjoy yourself, have a few drinks, whatever.

So take a step back, get a job with decent wage and earn a living until you figure out where you might like to go or do next. Moping around without a job is the worst thing you can do. Life is short, but too often that's a cop out for young people who feel they are wasting their life working away when in reality we all have to do it whether we like it or not.

So in short, get back to work, it will be the best thing for you.

Thanks for all the replies.
    Trying to take in all the advice, observations etc you all made.

In response to Cantoris, yeah I've worked fulltime for a while. Been working since I was 14. Worked about 30 hrs a week all the way through 5th and 6th yr of school (bad idea), worked 40hrs+ during all my summer holidays and then an average of 30hrs a week during college terms (40+ during hols again). Worked fulltime then doing accounting for about 18 months while I saved for my trip. Not trying to come across woe-me or anything, just trying to say I'm not lazy and I'm not afraid of hard work :)
    I was working hard to pay my way & save for my trip etc, so I guess there was a goal I was working towards i.e. money for travelling.
    Since being home I think I just have the post travel blues, kinda thinking stuff like whats the point in working 50 hours a week etc?

In response to Patrick O Lee, I think your points were a bit harsh. I've been unemployed for 2 weeks so I think me needing a reality check by getting kicked out of my house is a bit extreme. I said in my post that I'm not proud of being on the dole these past 2 weeks. I've always paid my way at home so its not as if I am a long-term free-loader. Your point about trying a different area or different type of co. is good though, I'll take that on board. Thanks :)

Glowing, thanks for your post. I am considering your idea (moving abroad and working). It will however be a while before I can afford the flights and save enough to set myself up initialy etc but sometime in the future I would love to head to NZ to work. This is something to work towards I guess.

Feeling a lot more positive about it all today. Was a bit bummed last night. Left out one point in my original post, I was meant to be starting a part-time course next week in a totally different area. Got a call though during the week to say it was cancelled due to lack of numbers. Was a bit upset...and then the panic of "what the hell will I do instead!?" sort of set in.

Going to take the advise of many of you now...fixing up my cv at the mo.
    Going to try my hand at temping for a while, hopefully try out a few different companies and different positions. Maybe I'll figure out for sure what I do like and what I dont.

NewestUser is right, I need to get out there and try different jobs so I can then see if I like them...or eliminate them :)
    I have really caught the travel bug though so long term wise I need to consider jobs that have flexibility with time off, career breaks etc.
    A friend mentioned teaching to me last night saying that my personality would suit it and also I'd have the summer time etc off to travel. Considering this at the mo (looking into different options etc). I know I'll probably get slated for saying that as I know myself that it is hard work and you shouldnt get into it purely for the time off etc. Just thinking of it as an option at the mo, need to look into it more first though.

How Strange, I am going to look into your idea too of doing a Masters. This will be further down the line though (when my finances are sorted).

Thanks for all the replies...and keep them coming. Its really really helpful hearing other peoples takes on it and their advice, ideas etc.
    Thanks a lot :)
    Slightly less confused girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

did your parents pay for you to go to college?

as in fees, accomodation, food, clothes etc

event wrote:
    did your parents pay for you to go to college?

as in fees, accomodation, food, clothes etc

Hell no.
    I paid all the fees myself. Did live at home during college but paid money towards my food and keep. Bought all books etc myself. I've bought all items of clothes myself since I started working at 14, no exaggeration there.
    Funded my 2 world trips myself.
    From a one parent family who barely got by money-wise years ago so I'm not afraid of hard work. I know my other posts make me sound like a lazy so and so but I have no problem putting hard work into a job I like. For me though my past job was not this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

In response to Patrick O Lee, I think your points were a bit harsh. I've been unemployed for 2 weeks so I think me needing a reality check by getting kicked out of my house is a bit extreme. I said in my post that I'm not proud of being on the dole these past 2 weeks. I've always paid my way at home so its not as if I am a long-term free-loader. Your point about trying a different area or different type of co. is good though, I'll take that on board. Thanks :)
    I actually agree with what Patrick said. Your 23, a grown up. You packed in a job and started free loading off other hard working tax payers so you can figure out what you want to do. In my opinion the right thing to do is find some sort of job so you can get off the dole and start figuring it out from there. It's not just bad for your to not be working, it's just plain wrong for an able bodied educated 23 year old to be on the dole.

It's normal to be spend time trying to get yourself on the path that is right for you and it could take years but it's important to do it in a mature way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Kernel32 Quote:...I actually agree with what Patrick said. Your 23, a grown up. You packed in a job and started free loading off other hard working tax payers so you can figure out what you want to do.

Kernel32 you obviously didn't read all her post. She actually sound like a grounded, mature young woman who has just lost her focus at present. She put herself through college by working hard so in my book that deserves recognition and admiration.
    In my opinion the right thing to do is find some sort of job so you can get off the dole and start figuring it out from there. It's not just bad for your to not be working, it's just plain wrong for an able bodied educated 23 year old to be on the dole.

Again, read her reply. She IS getting off the dole. Everyone is allowed to wallow in their self-pity and misery for a while as long as you don't stay there too long.
    It's normal to be spend time trying to get yourself on the path that is right for you and it could take years but it's important to do it in a mature way.

IMO, she seems mature.

Confused Girl, good luck with whatever you decide to do. Glad to hear you're not going to sit around feeling sorry for yourself any longer. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭newestUser

Kernel32 wrote:
    I actually agree with what Patrick said. Your 23, a grown up. You packed in a job and started free loading off other hard working tax payers so you can figure out what you want to do. In my opinion the right thing to do is find some sort of job so you can get off the dole and start figuring it out from there. It's not just bad for your to not be working, it's just plain wrong for an able bodied educated 23 year old to be on the dole.

Patrickolee and yerself are being a bit too harsh IMO. She left her job two, yes two, count 'em *T-W-O* weeks ago, so the most she's drained from the govts. coffers is approx 150 euro.

OP if you're looking for a working holiday type thing, you could always trying TEFL teaching in places like Japan and South Korea. Loads of work there, lot's of opportunities to travel.

To be absolutely honest though, and I know the OP doesn't want to hear this, I don't think travel is the answer. You're just running away from your career dilemma by going around the world backpacking/doing the TEFL thing, and you're just going to be mixing with other similarly directionless/unfocused folk. Not that it's a bad thing, just that it's not the best way to figure out what kind of long-term career you'd like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

Hell no.
    I paid all the fees myself. Did live at home during college but paid money towards my food and keep. Bought all books etc myself. I've bought all items of clothes myself since I started working at 14, no exaggeration there.
    Funded my 2 world trips myself.
    From a one parent family who barely got by money-wise years ago so I'm not afraid of hard work. I know my other posts make me sound like a lazy so and so but I have no problem putting hard work into a job I like. For me though my past job was not this.

ah well then do what ye want sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

I have re-read what I wrote and perhaps it seems a little harder than I intended, sorry. :) What I really meant was more, "it could be worse and why not try a different area of accounting so that you haven't wasted 3-4 years study", rather than "get off your lazy arse you freeloader" :( ... which is how the tone reads. It is only 2 weeks and it's always hard to get back into things after a long period off travelling. Sorry if my post seemed harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Firstly well done for having the guts in ditching a job you hate...I'm sure 90% of the people here hate their jobs hence we're on boards.ie all day :)
    your young and free of Mortgages etc..
    The only thing you did wrong was leaving before you found another one.

I have re-read what I wrote and perhaps it seems a little harder than I intended, sorry. :) What I really meant was more, "it could be worse and why not try a different area of accounting so that you haven't wasted 3-4 years study", rather than "get off your lazy arse you freeloader" :( ... which is how the tone reads. It is only 2 weeks and it's always hard to get back into things after a long period off travelling. Sorry if my post seemed harsh.

No problem Patrick :)

I've had a busy day of it today! Polished off my cv, emailed it to a couple of temping agencies. Got a reply about heading in to them tomorrow for the obligitory "interview" etc.
    Also looked into perhaps subbing in a primary school. Seems once you have a degree you can sub! So going to look into that a bit more, maybe try it out for a few days in between temping jobs. Might turn out its the career for me...or maybe not. Wont know till I try I guess!

NewestUser, you made a good point about the TEFL. Going to look into that too. I spent a bit of my world trip in Korea and met a good few people who were teaching English there. Same in Vietnam and a few other places so at least I know what to expect over there etc. I do agree with you though that it kind of is an escapism...and a way of avoiding making all these decisions now. It is always an option though further down the line though if I fancy working abroad. Right now though I think I need to stay in Ireland and get over my post travel blues, try out a few different jobs perhaps (temping in different accounting positions, maybe primary subbing & maybe teaching EFL here too).

So much to do! lol :)

How Strange...thanks heaps for your comments..."Glad to hear you're not going to sit around feeling sorry for yourself any longer."
    Nope, I'm sure not :)

Keep the replies coming. All suggestions, advice, criticisms etc are really helpful. Also its good to hear I'm not the only person like this Neil1984.

'a lot of mixed replies here and interesting to read. So u just got back from a a great adventure and life is a bit dull in the 9-5 grind! your dead right there.

after such an adventure it takes time for u to adjust back to normal life and whats the hurry! take your time girl whats the rush? so much pressure from so many sources to conform to the normal bull****, what is normal anyway and why is is so damn important to go with the norm?

so your mind is in overload with trying to figure out what to do, isnt it great to have so many options? relax and enjoy it! it will all work its self out in your own time so relax and enjoy the adventure. its a long way to your retirement age so ull have plenty of time to pay back your idle time and much more.

enjoy!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Thought I may be able to contribute Confused Girl so here it goes:

- After the trip you've had I'd expect you to have some serious blues, sure when I went to South Africa for only 1 month I had them coming back to the 9 to 5 grind. It just takes some time to get over it and considering how long you were away it may take a couple of months

- Accountancy is a great profession to start in business. I trained in a big 4 and got the ACA etc and literally the world is yours - a great qualification to travel with. I could get a job anywhere in the world I wanted. Plus you don't have to work savage hours you can get nice cushy numbers. I've seen people work 9 to 5 in industry/civil service as accountants and earn €70k pa (with 25 days annual leave etc). If you decided to train in a big 4 you can generally take overtime leave and travel loads. In my 4 years in a big 4 I was able to take 2 months hols each year and as the money was so good I was able to see some great places around the world

- Teaching is also a great profession as obviously it gives you alot of freedom to travel and is ideally suited to alot of personalities

- You need to really have a think about what you want from life. Obviously accountancy can be very rewarding and by 35 you could be easily earning €150k pa but working 10hrs a day. So if you wanted more time for family, travelling etc you could do teaching but then you'd be earning just a third of that I guess at maybe €50k max? Think with teaching you can subsidise your earnings with grinds etc.

- I know a guy who is 30 and is still arsing around, not sure what he wants to do with his life, waiting around for that perfect job/vocation etc. I believe however he's not being realistic however and perhaps it's very unusual for that to come along. Most are happy doing a job they're good at and don't dislike as the pay enables them to enjoy life and gives them time to enjoy it

Thought I may be able to contribute Confused Girl so here it goes:

- After the trip you've had I'd expect you to have some serious blues, sure when I went to South Africa for only 1 month I had them coming back to the 9 to 5 grind. It just takes some time to get over it and considering how long you were away it may take a couple of months

- Accountancy is a great profession to start in business. I trained in a big 4 and got the ACA etc and literally the world is yours - a great qualification to travel with. I could get a job anywhere in the world I wanted. Plus you don't have to work savage hours you can get nice cushy numbers. I've seen people work 9 to 5 in industry/civil service as accountants and earn €70k pa (with 25 days annual leave etc). If you decided to train in a big 4 you can generally take overtime leave and travel loads. In my 4 years in a big 4 I was able to take 2 months hols each year and as the money was so good I was able to see some great places around the world

- Teaching is also a great profession as obviously it gives you alot of freedom to travel and is ideally suited to alot of personalities

- You need to really have a think about what you want from life. Obviously accountancy can be very rewarding and by 35 you could be easily earning €150k pa but working 10hrs a day. So if you wanted more time for family, travelling etc you could do teaching but then you'd be earning just a third of that I guess at maybe €50k max? Think with teaching you can subsidise your earnings with grinds etc.

- I know a guy who is 30 and is still arsing around, not sure what he wants to do with his life, waiting around for that perfect job/vocation etc. I believe however he's not being realistic however and perhaps it's very unusual for that to come along. Most are happy doing a job they're good at and don't dislike as the pay enables them to enjoy life and gives them time to enjoy it

Thanks for the reply.
    Brenbren is right...so many different views on this. Really interesting to read them all.

You are right about accounting, it really does open up doors all over the world having that qualification. I envy my college mates in one way, that they can travel the world with their qualification and earn heaps in any country. They can also move from job to job all over Ireland, in different industries etc. I know deep down though that accounting isnt for me. In college I sort of realised that. Luckily I loved the other subjects though like the business maths part, statistics etc and the theory waffle-y subjects too. Only ones I didnt like were the management and financial accounting subjects! Kinda says it all really doesnt it!

Then working in accounts didnt change my mind. Granted working in a "better" place or "more fun" place etc might give me a different view, but in reality I cant see myself ever going and studying for ACA or ACCA, its just not me.
    Now...accountants money...thats one thing about accounting that appeals to me! lol. Only joking.

To be honest I'd really rather earn the 50k you mentioned doing something I love (ideally) or even just liked a lot. I really dont see the point in earning 100k if I was dreading going into work each day. Thats just me I guess.

Like I said, I am considering possibly teaching. The money is quite good, especially when you consider the hours worked. Also, there is also the chance to earn extra by giving grinds like you said, or taking up a 2nd job during the summer hols.
    But, teaching doesnt suit everyone...
    I'm going to have to try it first and see I reckon, before signing up for another course which will be of little benefit to me if I end up not liking it.
    I'm really aware that most teachers I know got into it because they really love kids, really wanna help kids etc...so I feel like a bit of a cheat even thinking of going for teaching since I never in my wildest dreams even considered it before. Maybe getting into it for the money and the hols is very selfish...I'll know myself though after trying it if I'd be a good one or not...hopefully.

I went to see a career guidance guy recently. During the session everything he said made so much sense, about "why work in a job you hate when you can go to work everyday to a job you love"...etc.
    At the time I was like "yeah, this guy is dead right. He's making so much sense" etc, and he really was.

...2 hours afterwards though I was thinking it all through...yes he was dead right...but what the hell would I love doing!? lol

...maybe I need a 2nd session, lol.

Keep the replies going. Its interesting reading.

Also glad to hear theres more like me! (your friend MrBoinkMaster)...although I'm hoping I've figured it all out before I reach 30! :) (7 years from now).
    His theory that the right job/career will come along is a nice one...but often not realistic. I hope he doesnt just "fall" into a job he hates while waiting for that ideal one to come along...incase it never arrives.

The end :)