Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What radio station do you listen to in the morning?

• 24-09-2007 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭

I generally listen to Today FM. Only flaw I would have with the show is the sports bulletin on the half hour. It only drags on for so long because Ian Dempsey always interrupts... Still a good show though and Gift Grub sweetens the deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,432 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

My usual stations in the morning are Phantom FM and Newstalk. At home, before I head off in the car, its handy that 2 stations that I like are beside each other on my house radio! Sometimes, I might check out Anna Livia's Livedrive for its traffic reports interspersed with interesting music- not as much these days since I stopped travelling the dreaded M50!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Actually on the bus to college the driver generally listens to LMFM.... In my opinion.... THE worst radio station for morning listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

Today FM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Always Morning Ireland. I was faithful to morning 2FM all my life, with the exception of the era of "Rick n Ruth", until those 2 retards were brought in from 98FM. I find them inane and intolerable, so now I wake up to Cathal and Áine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Ryan Tubridy if he's talking about books; often BBC Radio 4; sometimes Newstalk.

I've been looking for good internet stations - have to find my way around NPR soon.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Usually Ian Dempsey on Today FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Big Tone

Flick between RTE Radio 1, Today FM and Red FM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Used to listen to Ian Dempsey, but have gone totally off him "at this stage" to quote the man himself.

Some reasons:
    1. The way he goes BAA BAA BAA BAA BAA (singing along) at the end of songs
    2. The way he never just announces a track, it's always "that was guess who just got back today, them wild eyes boys that had been away - the great Thin Lizzy there and the Boys are Back in Town"
    3. The way there are so many in-jokes with presenters and producers - Alison Curtis and Leah in particular
    4. the way he always goes "Imagine it could be you on the radio tomorrow! and people will see your today fm mug and say - hey that must that tbh guy who was on yesterday"
    5. essentially for acting like a cringey uncle all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

usually listen to Phantom. used to listen to the strawberrys on FM104 but it's too cheesy for me now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Newstalk from about 6.45 when I leave for work, or if I have a book with me I'll stick on Lyric FM to keep the 'morning talkers' away from me. (I have a hatred for people who try to speak to me in the mornings, the earphones usually keep them away)

The when I get to work at about 8.20 I stick on BBC1 for the last hour and a half of Chris Moyles. I think he's hilarious.

Ray D'arcy is generally good too. Will is a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

BBC4 because I live in England and it's relevant to me
    RTÉ1 because I like to keep up with what's happening at home

I listen to both in the morning whenever I can :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭cor

The mornings I'm not listening to my Ipod I listen to Phantom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Marty DiBergi

DesF wrote:
    Newstalk from about 6.45 when I leave for work, or if I have a book with me I'll stick on Lyric FM to keep the 'morning talkers' away from me. (I have a hatred for people who try to speak to me in the mornings, the earphones usually keep them away)

The when I get to work at about 8.20 I stick on BBC1 for the last hour and a half of Chris Moyles. I think he's hilarious.

Is it just me or have Newstalk allowed less programming between their ad schedule? I used to listen all the time to the pair in the morning but its nearly all ads now. This morning they signed off at 8:54 to give us six minutes of ads before the news. There must be a limit. Phantom not really eclectic enough- lot of young white boys with guitars.Still way better than the old days-remember Simon Young with his hilarious character Jimmy-"get up the garden". What purgatory!

Still way better than the old days-remember Simon Young with his hilarious character Jimmy-"get up the garden". What purgatory!
    Any of that morning radio "comedy" (apart from the very odd Gift Grub) I cannot stand.

Strawberry Alarm Clock, that pair of twats on Spin, that pair of twats on 2fm, the 98fm Toll Trolls (kill me, kill me NOW. I lived in Sydney for a year and thought I had escaped this particular evil, but then one of the girls I lived with got a Trolls cd for Xmas. I cried.).

My jesus, FORCED humour is not funny, and people who do think it is and actually enjoy it, all I can say is that their heads must contain nothing but rancid air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

Today FM for the following reasons:

1. Gift Grub is hilarious
    2. Morning Ireland would bore a hole in the Great Wall of China
    3. Clare FM is, in general, an embarrassment to the Banner County
    4. The Limerick's Live95 shower are retarded
    5. So are the 2FM lads
    6. Gift Grub is hilarious

You said Gift Grub twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭magnumlady

I've given up on morning radio, can't stand yer man and Jim Jim or Ian Dempsey.
    I would love a station that just played music in the mornings without all the yap, yap, yapping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭dh2007

I used to listen to Ian Dempsey but then Paul Collins started to annoy me so I switched to Livedrive 103.2. God I hate PC, he is so arrogant/slimey/masoginistic. And I hate the way he changes his accent from a Tipp one to his affected radio voice. Grrrrrrr!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Depending on my mood and/or what's on the radio at the time, I flip between Today FM, Morning Ireland and Newstalk. All depends what's the most interesting at the time. Never those idiots on 2FM though; I thought I'd heard the last of them when I left Dublin. My personal favourite though is when they get Tom Dunne to present the Today FM Breakfast Show. It's so funny listening to him announcing the wrong time and messing things up - poor Tom's obviously not a morning person :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭chillimetro

dempsey up to 9 o clock....but he needs to freshen it up .....gone right off ray darcy latley with his holier than thou preaching on most subjects nowadays .....he needs to lighten it up a bit (mairead will sort that when she comes back)....i tend to listen to beat fm instead of today fm after 9...its fresh

That_Guy wrote:
    You said Gift Grub twice.

I'm emphasising how funny Gift Grub is.

And magnumlady, if it's pure music you want, try Spin FM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭bbop

dh2007 wrote:
    I used to listen to Ian Dempsey but then Paul Collins2 started to annoy me so I switched to Livedrive 103.2. God I hate PC, he is so arrogant/slimey/masoginistic. And I hate the way he changes his accent from a Tipp one to his affected radio voice. Grrrrrrr!!!!!!!

have to agree, what annoys me is he constantly starts with GAA no matter what happens in the world of sport also calling managers "banaisteoir" for no reason! easily the most annoyong sports guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

DesF wrote:
    I'll stick on Lyric FM to keep the 'morning talkers' away from me. (I have a hatred for people who try to speak to me in the mornings, the earphones usually keep them away)

Good man! Nothing worse than chatty types at 7 am. Not a problem for me in my own little box of course.

I flick back and forth between RTE radio 1 and Newstalk, as I can't abide music before about 11 am.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Today FM, although if Ian Dempsey starts playing some song I hate I'll flick over to Phantom for a couple of minutes. RTE1 and Newstalk are just too serious and boring and I can't stand any of the muppets on the likes of 98FM, etc., with their "hilarious antics" that make them sound like a bunch of hyperactive 5 year olds after a Smarties binge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

While I prefer talk radio overall I'm not completely averse to some music but like most people on this thread I'd rather not listen to "funny" presenters laughing at their own jokes and thinking they are so cool.

In summary, good serious discussion of topical issues of the day is great, good music is nice on occassion, annoying twats spending ten-fifteen minutes being "funny" are not good :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

I turn on Newstalk about 7:45 for the newspaper review. Then flick between them and RTE1 depending on the topics. Less and less with Newstalk after 8AM these days as they just seem to be concentrating on negative stuff.

I hate how, whenever there's a debate on the government they always have somebody from the opposition on hand to say whatever they're talking about is all the governments fault. It usually is but I'd never expect the opposition not to oppose.

What's with the ads and stupid presenters on any station. Most people are about 40cm from the controls to flick to a different station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

bbop wrote:
    have to agree, what annoys me is he constantly starts with GAA no matter what happens in the world of sport also calling managers "banaisteoir" for no reason! easily the most annoyong sports guy

That really annoys me too, and the way he randomly calls counties by their Irish names. I also don't like the way Ian, Paul and Emily Tully have a chat before the sports news and there HAS TO HAS TO HAS TO be a funny comment before the sports news jingle comes on. Finally, Ian always laughs at the 'jokes' Daniel and Ben Dunne tell, no matter how unfunny. Despite all that, I still like the show :)

I think Johnny Lyons on 98fm is the most annoying sports guy. His voice really gets to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

Today FM and like other posters I hate Paul Collins, mainly because he just comes across as a professional bullsh!tter. If he's asked any sports related question that he doesn't have that answer to in his pre-prepared script he either changes the subject completely or else says something that's not remotely funny (or related) in a stupid culchie accent just to divert attention from the question asked.

Is anyone else bored with Mario? I can handle 2/3 minutes of Gift Grub but the Bertie/Keith/Daniel thing is sooo overdone, and as for Ronan, it doesn't even sound like him:confused: .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Uuuh Patsy

I turn on Newstalk about 7:45 for the newspaper review. Then flick between them and RTE1 depending on the topics. Less and less with Newstalk after 8AM these days as they just seem to be concentrating on negative stuff.

I hate how, whenever there's a debate on the government they always have somebody from the opposition on hand to say whatever they're talking about is all the governments fault. It usually is but I'd never expect the opposition not to oppose.

What's with the ads and stupid presenters on any station. Most people are about 40cm from the controls to flick to a different station.

I found that since Claire Byrne bottled out of buying a gaff she manages to find as much doom and gloom property news as possible.

That_Guy wrote:
    I think Johnny Lyons on 98fm is the most annoying sports guy. His voice really gets to me.

I positively hate that guy.

What is up with his voice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Newstalk and Drivetime on DCAL i thinks its called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

ya i'd definitly prefer Today Fm. Really can't stand them two flutes on 2fm. How can they let idjits like Jim jim and dat other fellow on de radio. Them phone calls they do aren't even funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Ray D'Arcy, yes he's annoying but it's better than the rest of the muck on at the same time and I only get the first two hours before college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

used to listen to 2fm religiously but stopped since they got those two idiots jim jim whatever they are called. now listen to chris moyles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

I listen to Ian Dempsey on Today FM and then switch to Gerry Ryan.

Is anyone else bored with Mario? I can handle 2/3 minutes of Gift Grub but the Bertie/Keith/Daniel thing is sooo overdone, and as for Ronan, it doesn't even sound like him:confused: .

Personally, I think Keith and Ronan are very funny on Gift Grub.
    Bertie is OK.
    Daniel is done way too often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,436 ✭✭✭fletch

Joe & Keith on SpinFM for me.

OT: Absolutely HATE the toll trolls on 98FM, does anybody actually like them?

I'm sure I can hear Cathal Mac Coille (Morning Ireland) heavy breathing when he's doing an interview. Tell me I'm not going mad. I always expect his following queston to be "What are you wearing? I'm in corduroy from head to toe"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Tell me I'm not going mad.

You're not going mad. Do I get a cookie now?;)

GDM wrote:
    You're not going mad. Do I get a cookie now?;)

Packet of Hob Nobs winging their way to you as I write:) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Depends where I am in the country and what time I'm on the raod/job for....Moyles if I can get R1, if not RTÉ R1 news and then channel hop.

AM Kelly before 7am is good listening; very little BS, good music, inoffensive DJ.
    I'll avoid Demo if humanly possible, except for the usually worthy gift grub.

Every single one of the dub stations except phantom annoy the hell out of me (especially those pair of gimps on Q102 and the muppets on spin), but phantom kind of depresses me or something so I avoid it as well.
    Anna Livia is the least offensive of them, plays the best music selection, the traffic info is useful and no bombardment with the same 5 ads every 10 minutes.
    This country still has no breakfast show that stands head and shoulders above the rest....it's all the same sh*t with different people at the mic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

That_Guy wrote:

I know what you mean, I have to change stations even if I know he's only going to be on for a minute or two. He sounds like that voice over guy for American film trailers.

I mostly listen to Newtalk in the morning, but only until Orla whoever comes on - don't think I've ever heard such lightweight dross that pretends to be serious. For some reason, I find her voice very patronising.

I can't listen to any of those comedy type routines in the morning. Any show that might use the words "wacky" or "zany" to describe itself is a big no-no for me. I do like the gift grub stuff on occasion, but I'm happy enough to just listen to the clips online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭hotnipples

+1 on 2FM morning show members being retards. Obnoxious arseholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭David Michael

Joe & Keith on Spin.

I dunno.. their general banter tends to make me smile while stuck on the M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Has to be Newstalk. I find myself being ridiculously loyal to them for some reason. I'd rarely listen to anything else in the car to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭coolhandc

ian dempsey today fm easiest one to listen to. i cant stand them strawberry alarm clock muppets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 diego76

today fm are best of a bad lot, dempsey can be irritating at times but generally the show is good, gift grub is a bit hit and miss these days but when they get it right it's head and shoulders above the rest.
    paul collins is a tool alright, the switch between culchie / fake radio accent is unbearable, he hasn't a clue about many sports, only interested in the gaa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Breakfast show is normally Today FM by default - while it's gone off the boil a little it's still the best out there; there's no real competition.

AMK is great on the rare occasions that I'm actually up that early!

Later in the morning it's a jump between that and Clare FM, with the occasional drop in to Live 95 when I'm in the mood for listening to talk/politics/local stories & issues.

Have recently started tuning in to Spin SW's "Spin Talk" on occasion and I have to say that it's not bad at all!