Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft clubs and socities day stand

• 24-09-2007 4:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭

Hey guys setting up and airsoft soc at college, any ideas for my stand? Gandalf can I use some of your pics? Thanks guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

plenty of pics and explanations of what airsoft is, and if your college allows it, have a couple of aeg's on display (with no battery or mag) and ensure they are secured properly

plenty of banners saying "airsoft - like paintball, only better!" and such too :p

from running a society in college for 2 years,i can tell you once your stand contains something interesting enough to draw a crowd, you'll rope them in, once people approach, you can talk to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Aye, what he said ^^

But above all else, clear whatever you plan on having around with the college authorities first. From first hand experience (nothing to do with Airsoft), they are prone to ye old "act first, think second" syndrome, combined with "don't admit you were wrong" syndrome. A dangerous and frustrating combination.

Which college is it, incidentally as I'd be interested in giving a hand if it's IT-Tallaght (since I'm both alumni and current masters student, part-time)

Lemming: guessing it's probably "Leitrim/Sligo/Carlow" since that's his location :p

would love to setup a airsoft society in college, pity i finished last year.... doh!

i still have alot of contact with the societies staff though, i'd nearly be tempted to run the society as alumni if i could get away with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭chalky

I was thinking of organising an airsoft club myself, but seeing as I'm in Final year I don't think I'd have the time. Anyone planning on setting one up in DCU?

kdouglas wrote:
    Lemming: guessing it's probably "Leitrim/Sligo/Carlow" since that's his location :p

Might be living away from home too :-p
    would love to setup a airsoft society in college, pity i finished last year.... doh!

i still have alot of contact with the societies staff though, i'd nearly be tempted to run the society as alumni if i could get away with it :)

Hmmmm, now there's an idea .... but you'd probably need full-timers to help run it during the day too. heh .. can picture it now - clubs and socs day and there's an M60 sitting on the table :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

Lemming wrote:
    Which college is it, incidentally as I'd be interested in giving a hand if it's IT-Tallaght (since I'm both alumni and current masters student, part-time)

I thought of this for IT-Tallaght but the work and effort I'd have to put in on top of my final year would be a pain in the arse... yes I am lazy!

padmundo wrote:
    I thought of this for IT-Tallaght but the work and effort I'd have to put in on top of my final year would be a pain in the arse... yes I am lazy!

Well my mate (who's now lecturing in IT-Tallaght) used to run the paintball society right the way to fourth year. What work would you need done? I'd be willing to throw in some time as well, and if it wasn't too busy in work I could probably work around my hours to come in for whatever 'events' were taking place.

Well I'm out on work experience until Jan so I'd need to get time off work just to turn up for Clubs and Societies open day but I'd be willing to get in on it.

I know some of the lads from the paintball society last year.

padmundo wrote:
    Well I'm out on work experience until Jan so I'd need to get time off work just to turn up for Clubs and Societies open day but I'd be willing to get in on it.

Well, I'll have words with the SU folks tomorrow and see what's involved. See if I can't get my mate involved too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

nps using piccies let me know which ones and I will send you the originals. Just give me some credit somewhere with a link to my flickr.

The M60 shot will be a must include anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭ditpaintball

Laptop playing with pics and videos etc. Hot women doesnt also helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Crave

Cool thanks guys!

I'm gonna give the S.U. in IT-Tallaght a call tomorrow morning about sign-ups and display pieces. I had a brief chat with my mate in the college and he's interested as well.

I need to fill 6 positions to make the club valid;
    • Chairperson
    • Secretary
    • Treasurer
    • PRO
    • General member (x2)

The clubs & socs day in Tallaght is Wednesday, but they will be running another one in February (Rag week) if we're a bit late for this one (which I suspect we may be). Then again, being late might be to our advantage since there'd be time to get flyers, cards. etc sorted properly

Well I'm on board and if I can get in touch with the lads that used to do the paintball we could have some more. I can't make Wed though because I'm working and it's too short notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Lemmings im in tallaght im on disability so i can give a hand pretty much anytime but im not a student ,give us a shout if u need anything

Well, after a call with the SU, only full-time students and staff can be members/committee for a club/soc, although part-time students can be associate members (in short, you pay your own way, etc. so aren't really a member per-se)

Setting up isn't a problem and still set up for tomorrow's clubs & socs day in Tallaght although it'd be cutting it close. The next available clubs & socs sign-up day is the first week in February which might be a bit easier to plan for.

I dropped a message to one of the paintball lads to see what he thought about this. I'm still waiting on word back from him, I referred him to this thread. That's pretty crap that a part time student can't be involved in the set up of a club. You can still take part in events and I doubt that anyone would hold you to having to pay you own way. Just adjust the budget to incorporate you. Anyways I certainly wouldn't be able to sort anything out for tomorrow but it means we can plan and prepare something decent for February and I would be back in the college then so I could easily run a stall down there on the Soc open day in Rag week.

I sent you a pm gandalf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I replied to the PM :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭du beton

does anyone know if theres a club in LIT (Limerick) my younger bros there

du beton wrote:
    does anyone know if theres a club in LIT (Limerick) my younger bros there

Check with the SU in the college - they'll be able to tell you if there's a club/soc for that year on the books.

would doubt there are many airsoft clubs/socs in colleges around the country yet, but maybe your younger brother can start one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭du beton

not sure if he has time in his final year.We're both just gettin to grips with airsoft at the mo, still it'd be no harm for him to ask the su.Am tryin to set up a club at work myself.Think it won't be too long coming.Have to upgrade from my mach11 though, my bro wipes me out with his jg aks :eek: , whatta mag cap compared to my measly 50 !

Good news every1 I got 61 people signed up! Having a meeting next week and sorting out a skirmish asap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Good recruiting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭ditpaintball

61, fair play. I would guess from my experince that about 50 of them will actually go on 1 trip, and then about half will go on a second trip and then you will have your 10-20 hard cores who wont miss a trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

61, fair play. I would guess from my experince that about 50 of them will actually go on 1 trip, and then about half will go on a second trip and then you will have your 10-20 hard cores who wont miss a trip.

Either way, a lot of them seemed eager to buy a plinker for themselves, after finding out you didn't need a licence and the legality situation, and ofc we pointed them at tony, they were pretty impressed at the cost too, which suprised me, as i thought i was spending alot of monies on a sport i had no past experience of when i first bought. (no regrets BTW im planning my next buy as we type :D)

Loads of people were looking at the guns on display, and the first thing out of 99% of them was; "wow it's heavy!".

Overall i would only be happier if we beat 'Music Soc' they got like 70, but they could be bluffing, time for some espionage methinks ph34r.gif

Anyway, myself (I'm helping out with the soc BTW) and crave don't know everything about the sport, so does anyone mind if we point them here for Q&A?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Anyway, myself (I'm helping out with the soc BTW) and crave don't know everything about the sport, so does anyone mind if we point them here for Q&A?

About 90% of the Airsoft internet chatter happens on boards so its about the best resource we have right now. Point them this-a-way and their questions will be addressed, the newbie thread covers most things.