Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US / IRL: 3X02 - "Fire/Water" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 24-09-2007 2:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN "FIRE/WATER" -

Episode Title: "Fire/Water"
    Airdate: September 24th 2007

TV.com Summary:
    Michael and Mahone try to lure Whistler out of his hiding place. T-Bag gains some upward momentum in the prison hierarchy as the water supply is running low.

Lincoln meets familiar and not so familiar faces on his quest to free Michael.

Next Episode: 3X03 - "
    Call Waiting
    " - October 1st 2007

SPOILER WARNING:

From now on, this thread shall reveal details of the episode mentioned above. If you have not yet seen this episode, please do not move any further down the thread.

This episode shall air on:

Fox (US) - September 24th 2007
    RTÉ2 (UK/IRL) - September 27th 2007
    Sky One (UK/IRL) - October 1st 2007

If you are sure you have seen the episode as mentioned above (on the channels on those original airdates), you can move down further in order to discuss the episode.

Otherwise, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED - there shall be major plot details of the episode revealed and discussed below with no spoiler tags used!

What did you think of "Fire/Water"? 61 votes

0%
    1%
    Bubs101 1 vote
    13%
    GillieGBXtopher182Also Starring LeVar Burtonpd101NewApproachBloodSugarSexhana-jo 8 votes
    50%
    Mr EOur man in HavanaAquos76Beruthieljor elLizardKingthe whole year innDoodah7AdMMMCactus ColmatrimDakeyrasyom 1neacy69User45701BasqSnake Pliskenqzweederawhir 31 votes
    21%
    FastFullBackweemcdtoxofoxygen_oldstorkaciaran76demanpokerwidowgustavoJelloarch_stantonsozboxmoe_sizlak 13 votes
    6%
    Mossy MonkskibumKillaqueen!!!djkeogh 4 votes
    1%
    GeorgeBailey 1 vote
    4%
    pug_Necronomiconjackdaw 3 votes
    0%
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Very interesting episode, with mahone breaking Whistler out from the sewers soon made me think, **** this break could be happening real soon.

Seems now they are tying up the other characters loose ends, like Sucré. But will he now help Linc on the outside to get Mike out?

Wonder what significance the bird book has, perhaps it includes something about finches. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Really enjoyed this episode, more so than last week for some reason. Probably cause the woman with the child at the bus stop was a babe.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

enjoyed this one also. looking like developing into something big ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭wba88

good episode.........wierd book though

episode 3 promo is VERY interesting ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Sucre as Forrest Gump was good lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭BloodSugarSex

KevIRL wrote:
    Sucre as Forrest Gump was good lol

why did that woman get up and walk away after the cops were talking to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Arathorn

Thank god they gave Bellick some clothes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Good episode, things are moving along at a nice clip - I thought Whistler might hide in the sewers for half the season but he's already out. Should be interesting to see what kind of plan to escape him and Michael come up with.

That kid in the basketball jersey is already starting to annoy me. He's the new Tweener. Hopefully he'll fall into the clutches of T-Bag.

Nice to see Maricruz back but it seems like a one-off. At least Sucre is free to help Linc now. Good to see Linc growing some brains as well in hiding the real bird book from that Susan babe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

This episode was very meh. I give it a 6/10. Seemed to be all over the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 WENTY07

Official ratings for second ep in states show another drop in viewers down to 7.2mil viewers overall,per futoncritic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Not enough t bag for my liking, same with the first episode. Apart from that I quite enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

It was better than the opener, but I haven't really been impressed with anything yet as I'm still getting used to the change of gears from Season 2. I still gave it an eight though because it was a solid episode and a lot happened!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭topher182

thought this episode was good alright! scofield pulls it off once more! shows us his brilliance! he's one smart motha! lol i gave this episode a 9/10 things are still wierd to get used to in this series!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

qz wrote:
    Really enjoyed this episode, more so than last week for some reason. Probably cause the woman with the child at the bus stop was a babe.

Probbley not, the overall poll last week was not as good as this week, the last 60 seconds of episode 1 where amoung the worst in TV history i mean what a bad ****ing plot line.

They made the company look better this week with the whole bleech in the car thing and a few other bits and pieces and overall its a good improvement on the first episode. Its moving very quickly and it has to if they want to keep viewers. It cant be as slow as season 1 was because that will provoke allot of people.

I am looking forward to episode 3 tho but prison break is not a high priority.
    When we watch stuff on a tuesday its prison break first to help us relax then its weeds for some comedy and the heroes for amazement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

why did that woman get up and walk away after the cops were talking to him?
    She was waiting for the bus, the bus arrived, she got on the bus. She did give Sucre a dirty look though, as if to say stay away from me freaky man.

Pretty good episode overall, Mahone got "out bid" :D T-bag seems to be getting in Bunny's good books, Bellick gets some trousers (finally as someone else says) and Whistler is out in the open. They're on a very tight schedule though, 1 week to break out. I guess that'll go about half the season. Still no mention of the old bald guy going through those doors in the military base. What was all that about? Hope we don't have to wait for Whistler to get out to see anything there, though we probably will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i think the escape point will involve the guy who has the cell phone to contact the guards (can't think of his name) room.we've seen michael looking at vents already in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I thought it was class. Great character development, freeing up Sucre, T-bag working his way to the top (it's like seeing how he started at fox river) and Scofield screwing Mahone of his freedom. I'm hoping that they'll go with Scofield protecting and trying to break out Whistler while Mahone is trying to alert the Guards outside that he has whistler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

Arathorn wrote:
    Thank god they gave Bellick some clothes :D

Yeah totally!I was getting right sick of the sight of his beer gut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Much much better than the season opener.

Just when you think they're gonna drag out something over half a season or a load of episodes, they break Whistler out of the sewer walls and above-ground in one episode... that's where 'Prison Break' excels (in both the first and second season) was the pace in which the storylines moved. Any other show would prolong something like Whistler's break-out of the sewer.

Very patchy acting from Dominic Purcell (but not exactly a first).. especially when Whistler's girlfriend says to him: "why don't your people just leave his alone?". Watch his Oscar winning march back towards her and perfectly-delivered response! :rolleyes:

And on the other side of the acting spectrum, much respect for Amaury Nolasco in this one. Sucre's phone conversation to Marie-Cruz actually tugged on me oul heart-strings. You couldn't help but feel sorry for the guy after waiting to get out to see her for so long, thinking she was dead and then being back with her just in reach.. and he makes the right decision to stay out of her life for the good of her and the baby.

Oh.. and i know we've to suspend a certain amount of what goes on in 'Prison Break' as it is far-fetched but Linc just happening to go and get a spare Bird Guide book! C'mon! ;) Oh.. oh... and not just a "spare Bird Guide Book", but the exact same "spare Guide Book" as the original - same design and all!

Michael's grand scheme came outta nowhere and was great. I knew what he was doing as soon as he put the bag in the pipe.. but him getting the alcohol and plastic bags completely had me stumped.

Anyways, looking forward to episode 3. This was a vast improvement on the patchy opener anyways.

8 / 10.

I was surprised too that Whistler is out of the sewer so quickly, I thought that wouldn't happen for another few eps or until the actual escape itself.
    That's one thing I must compliment Prison Break for;the fast pace of the storylines. If that was in Lost they would probably have Whistler get out of the sewer around ooh, ep 234 of season 23 (cue loads of angry posts from Lost fanatics).
    It was a bit silly that Linc was able to get the exact same book on the birds so fast (eBay maybe?).
    Great to see Sucre back, always liked his character. I bet he's going to help Linc to break Michael out now.
    I knew Michael's plan with the alcohol was to cause an explosion or a fire, I actually thought for a while he was going to blow the whole prison up and then himself and Whistler would escape in the confusion.

Edit:did anyone notice the mistake when Scofield got the water in the queue? He was only given a small drop but later when the camera showed him drinking it the glass was nearly full! Time, hands, I know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭idlesupernova

Something will go belly up on the inside Lincon will end up in Sona, just a hunch I can't shake!! Michael used his brain to break Lincon out, Lincon might use his brawn to bust Michael out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Can I ask1 question ?

Where did the water come from ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

lukin wrote:
    did anyone notice the mistake when Scofield got the water in the queue? He was only given a small drop but later when the camera showed him drinking it the glass was nearly full! Time, hands, I know...

Yeah I spotted that as well, little bit in the glass camera cuts away and when it goes back on him glass is 3/4's full.

Good episode, a solid 8 from me, that woman from the company is beginning to annoy me for some reason, I don't find her believable, I think Michael will zone in on the vent in the head mans quarters to use for the escape. I also forsee him having to take Alex & T-Bag and a few others with him ala series 1.

Snake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

ciaran76 wrote:
    Can I ask1 question ?

Where did the water come from ?

From what I guessed there was a blockage in the pipes (thats why he was feeling the pipes to see where the blockage was). Then he put the homemade bomb down the other side of it and blew the blockage away. Heh Presto water.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Better than last weeks episode.
    Love T-Bag, could he be more slimey! "Si Patron"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

basquille wrote:

Oh.. and i know we've to suspend a certain amount of what goes on in 'Prison Break' as it is far-fetched but Linc just happening to go and get a spare Bird Guide book! C'mon! ;) Oh.. oh... and not just a "spare Bird Guide Book", but the exact same "spare Guide Book" as the original - same design and all!

Maybe Panama is a great place to buy books about birds? I do agree it is so far fetched at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Not enough t bag for my liking, same with the first episode. Apart from that I quite enjoyed it.

Agreed - I enjoyed it, not quite as much as the opener, but there wasn't enough of T-Bag being T-Bag for my liking!

Looking forward to next week though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭marie_85

Solid episode. Enjoyed it quite a bit more than last weeks.

Loved that Linc is finally developing some sense. The little smirk he gave when he started reading the real copy of the book was the highlight of the episode for me.

Mahone is becoming a desperate man. I love the interaction between him and Michael, but I would love to see them team up later on in the season. Between the two of them, they'd be out of that prison within a couple of days.

Finally, Bellick got some clothes! Thank God! Props to Wade Williams for making me feel sympathetic to a character I can't stand.

On the other hand, why is TBag still in this show? The actor is great but the character really hasn't anywhere to go, and I just want him off my screen.

The same for Sucre. The actor was good in the scene with Maricruz, but it's a bit of a turnaround for him to just forget about her. It just feels like a bit of a contrived way to keep him in the show.

Best scene was undoubtedly Linc and Michael at the fence. I loved that Michael said 'my nephew' instead of LJ, because you do tend to forget the connection between them occasionally. When Linc said he'd change places with him, absolutely loved how Michael reached out and grasped the fence. He's really nailing the quiet desperation.

But this season really isn't as good as the previous two. I really really hope the network decide to end the show at the end of this season, as enjoyable as it is, there's only so far they can go with the concept. Better to end it on a (reasonable) high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Another poor episode. I can't see the plot picking up which is going to make it hard to like this series. It's going to have to be purely on fast paced action to save it. It may well do that what with Whistler out already. I agree that T-Bag is a bit useless in this series, I presume he'll die in the finale (or maybe earlier). The only interesting character right now is the big boss dude. I'd say he'll be heavily involved with the breakout. Or maybe he'll go after Michael cos he mightn't want to break out being the big bad boss and all! A bit dissappointed with Sucre as well. Didn't understand why he didn't just go back to Maricruz.

6/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

basquille wrote:
    that's where 'Prison Break' excels (in both the first and second season) was the pace in which the storylines moved.

Thats crazy talk. The pacing of Season 2 was terrible. They re-hashed the 'how are they gonna get out of THIS one' for about 10 episodes in the middle, which was when I got fed up of the show. I still watch it now, but S1 was the real masterpiece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

zuutroy wrote:
    Thats crazy talk. The pacing of Season 2 was terrible. They re-hashed the 'how are they gonna get out of THIS one' for about 10 episodes in the middle, which was when I got fed up of the show. I still watch it now, but S1 was the real masterpiece.
    Then you simply don't get it.. 'Prison Break' is, and always will, the "how are they gonna get out of THIS one" show. The show is ultimately a series of "oh sh*t moments.. how will they resolve this?" - all cliffhangers essentially. And you can bet your ass this season will be full of that too.

What i mean by the quick pacing in Season 2 is what did we expect when Season 1 ended? We expected Season 2 to be a 'The Fugitive' / 'Wacky Races' hybrid where they'd individually race toward Westmoreland's money and probably at the end of the season, they'd be a number of double cross moments when they'd meet at the location of the treasure.

We were all wrong.

Less than half way through Season 2, we had two or three main characters dead.. they'd already found Westmoreland's money, the double-crossing had begun already (and they threw these in fast and heavy), they brought out two fantastic characters (in Kellerman and Mahone) and they brought in a couple of moments outta left field (Bellick and Geary hunting them etc). Think about it that way... how was the pacing in Season 2 slow? Really... REALLY!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Thought it was a good episode I dont really like the Sahra and LJ espically LJ and happy there are not in it .Whats the deal with the cash Link mentioned in esp 1 so I am thinking that could show up in a few episodes?T Bag is a great character and I hope they dont kill him off.Glad they got whistler out so fast that could have been a bore watching him sneaking in and out and talkin to a wall!

I gave it an 8 and can see great things happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

basquille wrote:
    Then you simply don't get it.. 'Prison Break' is, and always will, the "how are they gonna get out of THIS one" show. The show is ultimately a series of "oh sh*t moments.. how will they resolve this?" - all cliffhangers essentially. And you can bet your ass this season will be full of that too.

I suppose so, I just found that the main story, the Sucre one, and the C-note one got very repetitive after they dug up the money and it only started picking up again around Ep18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

I think the Big boss guy will definitely be involved in the breakout note when he said he was in for 5 consecutive life sentence so he will not be leaving anytime...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

How did Marie-Cruz get out of whereever she was?

Dman001 wrote:
    How did Marie-Cruz get out of whereever she was?

Bellick never had her locked up anywhere in the first place. From what I could make out of what he said to Sucre in the last ep, she did a runner when Bellick came to the farm and Bellick ripped the necklace off her and used it to pretend to Sucre that he had her.

lukin wrote:
    Bellick never had her locked up anywhere in the first place. From what I could make out of what he said to Sucre in the last ep, she did a runner when Bellick came to the farm and Bellick ripped the necklace off her and used it to pretend to Sucre that he had her.
    if Sucre stayed in prison he had 8 weeks what was the point of him trying to escape

Because his gob****e cousin was going to marry MariCruz and he had to escape to stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

lukin wrote:
    Because his gob****e cousin was going to marry MariCruz and he had to escape to stop it.

Exactly what he said. I didn't think it was his cousin that was marrying her, coulod be wrong though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

prison break could have gone down as a classic had they ended it after series 2
    in fact the bit towards the last eppisode of season 2 after micheal has framed mahone for having drugs on the boat and meets up with lincoln , when they then meet up with the hispanic kid who shows them to another boat sarah is there waiting for them , that would have been a perfect ending
    they could just saild away and presumably back to america where lincoln had been just cleared

but they didnt do that and series 3 so far is a let down , sure last week was excitting and clever how micheal unblocked the water pipe etc but its just recycling of ideas from season 1
    we have to remember though that this show is made by FOX who are anything but purists so they were always going to milk this cash cow for all it was worth no matter if the milk has begun to go stale

moe_sizlak wrote:
    prison break could have gone down as a classic had they ended it after series 2
    in fact the bit towards the last eppisode of season 2 after micheal has framed mahone for having drugs on the boat and meets up with lincoln , when they then meet up with the hispanic kid who shows them to another boat sarah is there waiting for them , that would have been a perfect ending
    they could just saild away and presumably back to america where lincoln had been just cleared

but they didnt do that and series 3 so far is a let down , sure last week was excitting and clever how micheal unblocked the water pipe etc but its just recycling of ideas from season 1
    we have to remember though that this show is made by FOX who are anything but purists so they were always going to milk this cash cow for all it was worth no matter if the milk has begun to go stale

Dominic Purcell said on that Dutch TV interview I posted that Paul Scheuring (the series creator) had a different idea for season 3 but FOX vetoed it.
    I bet whatever it was would have been a lot better than what we've seen so far this season.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

lukin wrote:
    Dominic Purcell said on that Dutch TV interview I posted that Paul Scheuring (the series creator) had a different idea for season 3 but FOX vetoed it.
    I bet whatever it was would have been a lot better than what we've seen so far this season.

typical of fox , murdoch has always been known to interfere with everything is company does
    knowing fox , they wanted a much more conventional and predictable script

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Loved it. Not gonna pick holes yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭RIRI

I gave it an 8

Hopefully we won't have to hear any more of Sucre's wining! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Wasn't overly impressed this week. I know I should be watching another show if I want realistic viewing, but when Linc took the spare bird book out of his pocket I had to sigh. Also some questionable acting, as Basq mentioned in the last page - not only from Linc but from the woman he has to meet, who just irritates the hell out of me.

Anyway, I'm not gonna be too critical because the season is only a couple of episodes long, but 2/5 for this one.

Wasn't overly impressed this week. I know I should be watching another show if I want realistic viewing, but when Linc took the spare bird book out of his pocket I had to sigh. Also some questionable acting, as Basq mentioned in the last page - not only from Linc but from the woman he has to meet, who just irritates the hell out of me.

Anyway, I'm not gonna be too critical because the season is only a couple of episodes long, but 2/5 for this one.
    thought it showed he is not as stupid and learning maybe michael is rubbing off of him and not just brute strength.Michael is in prison in Panama and link got the book in Panama is it that weirid seriously i think not, bet i find the book in galway.You dont find it weirid that they left link in season 1 walk around on his own in the yard talking to other cons but a crappy bird book bothers you?Are you looking for flaws.Season 3 has only started hopefully it will be good I think it will be but it could be a massive let down lets hope not!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

thought it showed he is not as stupid and learning maybe michael is rubbing off of him and not just brute strength.Michael is in prison in Panama and link got the book in Panama is it that weirid seriously i think not, bet i find the book in galway.You dont find it weirid that they left link in season 1 walk around on his own in the yard talking to other cons but a crappy bird book bothers you?

Didn't bother me massively, just one of a couple of small things in what I thought was a sub-par episode.
    Are you looking for flaws.Season 3 has only started hopefully it will be good I think it will be but it could be a massive let down lets hope not!!
    I'm not throwing in the towel or anything, just didn't think much of this episode! I refer you to the post below ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

WENTY07 wrote:
    Official ratings for second ep in states show another drop in viewers down to 7.2mil viewers overall,per futoncritic.

not surprised since season 3 will just be a re hash of season 1 ...

this show should have ended after season 2..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Overall I enjoyed it but I can't shake the nagging feeling that they should have ended it after season 2
    I agree about it was a little silly that Lincoln managed to find the exact same book, also Linc happening to bump into Sucre and also happening to go into the bank at the same time as whistlers girlfriend were a little too convienant.