Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Danny Dyer

• 23-09-2007 11:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭

Borstal Boy
    Charlie Bright
    The Football Factory
    The Business
    Severance
    Outlaw
    Straightheads

4 of those movies I really like (not much 'depth' to them but good enjoyable movies) yet I keep hearing Dyer is shít.
    I like him and wonder what is the general opinion of this actor on boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

He's an absolute legend, I've been a fan of his since human traffic...
    He also did the voice of Kent Paul in GTA Vice City and San Andreas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

think he's quite good. thought he was brilliant in severance...

weirdly though my girlfriend fancies him... and simon peg. doesn't say much for me does it? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

tman wrote:
    He's an absolute legend, I've been a fan of his since human traffic...
    He also did the voice of Kent Paul in GTA Vice City and San Andreas

How could I forget Human Traffic! <insert embarrassement smiley>

Glad to see a couple of folks like the bloke and his movies - in real life, anyone I've talked to about him can't stand him or is it just fashionable to say he's shít?

His DVD commentaries are great craic, so +1 for that as well.

think he's quite good. thought he was brilliant in severance...

weirdly though my girlfriend fancies him... and simon peg. doesn't say much for me does it? :(

Yep, Severance is one of my favourite films of the past few years - good cast, good horror, good comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

+1 Danny Dyer fan

He was in Is Harry On The Boat aswell although that wasnt really oscar material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

Awful 'actor' trying to build a reputation as a 'ard man.

I would rather win him than Sean Bean any day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Pwoopah Naughteh !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i think he sucks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

delah wrote:
    How could I forget Human Traffic! <insert embarrassement smiley>

Shame on you....go sit in the corner now.

I think he's fairly good. Seems to fit certain roles nicely.
    Only saw Severance last night for the first time and he was the only good thing about it. Had me laughing at stages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

He wrecks my head. I don't particularly like or dislike him as an actor. The whole cockney thing just makes me hate him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,596 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Same here, he's grand in movies, i can enjoy a film if he's in it, but as a human being i really dont like him. Seems like a real tosser. Especially on his show looking at the football "firms" across Europe, as zapp said, he really acts up his cockney hard man thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

-1 a string of mediocre films even human traffic, and listening to interviews of him he trips over himself to get cockney rhyme in ending him sounding like a twat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Petey2006

Not much of an actor, and comes off like a complete twat in interviews. And the Real Football Factories is one of the most ridiculous and laughable 'documentaries' I've ever come across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Anyone ever watch that "Real Football Factories" thing he does on Bravo. I thought he was alright til I saw this show. He says things like "proper naughty" all the time. It makes me cringe just thinking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I like him, but he's falling too much into the same roles lately. Outlaw was OK, but Straightheads was an absolute disaster - I was really disappointed with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

I liked him in Football factory but then I realised that was all he could do.

Its when I saw him in the real football factory though that I realised what a twat he was.

Have a look :Dhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLfG-dH7JBs&mode=related&search=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Think he came up before here, and people were divided with opinions...

I think he's excellent myself. A very different actor who always puts in a worthwhile performance. Not all his films as good... but the guy definitely works for his paycheque.

He is the sexiest man ever I swear to god the things to would do to that man he is just mmmm!

Good actor too! :)

I don't mind him. He can come across as trying too hard to be "hard", but he is always entertaining and a decent actor.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I've only seen him in The Other Half, which was absolutely awful. Can't say I was too impressed by him in it either really, but nobody would have looked good in that film.

That was a terrible film alright - I believe it was literally made with a handycam as they had no licence or whatever to film at the Euros in Portugal.
    Read a few interviews and Dyer says he needed the dosh (and got to see the games as well!)
    basquille wrote:
    Think he came up before here, and people were divided with opinions...

I think he's excellent myself. A very different actor who always puts in a worthwhile performance. Not all his films as good... but the guy definitely works for his paycheque.
    I agree with this - most of the dislike comes from his interviews it seems, but I just find the bloke very funny in them not ta all annoying. As a for instance, Dyer has said he has come across as a twat in interviews from about 5-7 years ago - he was big into drugs at the time and thought (or was told) he was the next big thing and unfortuanately he believed it.

Interesting anyway to read what people have to say - definitely the dislike comes from the hard man, cockney wideboy image, the funny thing is (from reading up on him) he's not at all a hard man and he knows it.

Anyways, I always look out for his movies (and there have been some stinkers) but most of the time he's good value I think.

And PS coolsmileygirl, my female friends are as one with you it seems - general consensus is 'he's a big roide' :D

HavoK wrote:
    I like him, but he's falling too much into the same roles lately. Outlaw was OK, but Straightheads was an absolute disaster - I was really disappointed with it.

I didn't think much of Outlaw myself, was very disappointed with the whole film.
    Just got Straightheads on DVD so am making my way through that - it helps Gillian Anderson is in it too.

One thing for sure, the DVD commentaries are always good with Dyer and Love especially.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Watched the first 20 or thirty minutes of Severance last night and had to turn it off because of this annoying spanner - yes, we get you are "laddish" because you like escorts, spliffs and swearing. Now, please stop polluting the screen.

Im not a particular fan of the 'lad' culture, and therefore I don't particularly 'get' this actor (his filmography reads like a list of films I have actively avoided over the last 5 years). I have not seen enough of his films to properly criticise, but I do have a strong distaste for the fellow through his rep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Danny's dire!!!111!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

very underrated actor plus he is very HOT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Pwooopah Nooughty.

/me flicks fingers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 225 ✭✭calahans

I like some of the movies he has been in, but he's not much of an actor. He's plays the diamond geezer with good heart in most of his movies. I couldnt see him play anything other than a danny dyer type part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

He seems very one-dimensional. Grand for your low-budget, low-brainer flicks, but I don't think he'll ever kick it up a notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭dubmick

terrible actor. I laughed when I saw him in Adulthood last week. He is the same character in every film!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

he's a banker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 abbieBaybee..x

Human Traffic
    Borstal Boy
    Goodbye Charlie Bright
    High Heels and Low Lives
    The football Factory
    The Business
    The Other Half
    Severance
    Outlaw
    Adulthood
    City Rats
    Doghouse
    Dead Man Running
    Pimp
    Basement

I Have seen all of these films and they are all amazing <33

And have all got the .... Gawjus Sexy Danny Dyerr ... in them!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Zombie thread.