Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pixmania Shipping

• 19-09-2007 11:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭

Is it worth spending the €27.50 for DHL as opposed to the €13.90 for ParcelForce?

Getting a dvd player and external harddrive delivered.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Depends on how quick you want it to arrive. 2 days as opposted to 5 days [approx].

I put in DHL shipping with my last order but that was only as I couldnt bare waiting :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭agentgreen

Thanks for the quick reply.

I don't really mind waiting a few days. Is parcelforce any good?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

I got my Canon 350 from pixmania and was waiting a full 5 days before it arrived so they're not too bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

I paid for DHL my camera was delayed, called them and they issued me a refund for the extra delivery cost..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭marcphisto

In my experience paying for DHL is a complete waste of time and money. I'd recommend you use Parcelforce which comes through An Post here.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Recently ordered a camera from Pixmania via Parcelforce, item arrived in 5 days, no problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

I found pixmania very slow to actually ship stuff.

The 1-2 days doesn't include ,picking time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭agentgreen

Parcelforce it is so, Thanks Lads!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Semi on-topic: has anyone noticed that combined shipping for multiple items from pixmania lately almost always work out more than if you were to ship the items individually? I don't know what logical formula they used to arrive at this conclussion but be warned that if you're buying a few things that it m ay just be better value to have them sent on a per item basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Just want to add this story here:

Ordered a Yamaha AV-3101 (large parcel) with Pixmania last Monday late night / Tuesday (18/09) early morning. The item was 'in stock' and should be out the same day according to Pixmania, but tracking page shows it was dispatched on Wednesday, 19/09.

Pixmania also says the carrier is AN POST, and tracking number is EExxxxxxxxxGB. On Friday afternoon (21/09), ParcelForce tracking site still can't track the item. Same with AnPost tracking. I then rang AN POST and they said they don't deal with that product (as in, the mail service ending with 'GB'), and probably GLS or OCS. GLS tracking site says the tracking number format is wrong! I followed up with GLS on phone and they don't know anything about this item. OCS said its unlikely to be with them as they only operate in and around Dublin where as this delivery is to Drogheda. In short, no amp for the weekend!

Its only been a few days, so may be I am just being too impatient, I guess I will wait another day or two before I go back to Pixmania!

Did you try it on the DHL site?
    On occassion when I've shipped large stuff from them in the past, the courier was DHL even though I didn't opt for the more costly shipping option...

thanks Wertz, invalid tracking number (format itself) with DHL.

You tried all the shipping options?

Also try logging into your pixmania account and check the tracking no. again, try omitting the country code or substituting GB with IE maybe. I hate waiting for couriers with no idea when they might be coming...

Yeah, I think I tried most of the options and combinations! Being an impatient git that I am, I rang up pixmania and they looked it up and surprise surprise, they don't know where it is either - they are now opening and investigation, 10 days and all that sh*te! Probably not their fault, but that doesn't make my situation any better - paid hard earned money and all this grief!? :(

My first order with them, probably the last too!

I thought UPS was pixmanias courier. That tracking number sounds like a UPS one.

Thanks _Brian_ checked with them, they can't track it either.

I should brought it from emoclew on adverts.ie! http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=31921&cat=50

positron wrote:
    Thanks _Brian_ checked with them, they can't track it either.

I should brought it from emoclew on adverts.ie! http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=31921&cat=50

I had problems with pixmania myself ,I don't think they give a hoot about irish customers.

Looking at this webpage ,you were given a royalmail/parcel force tracking number. http://www.royalmail.com/portal/rm/content1?catId=28000674&mediaId=28100668

The last delivery I got from pixmania ,was sitting at their warehouse for a while before UPS picked it up. Even though they gave me a UPS tracking number ,obviously the numbers are barcode generated or something ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭nava

positron wrote:
    Yeah, I think I tried most of the options and combinations! Being an impatient git that I am, I rang up pixmania and they looked it up and surprise surprise, they don't know where it is either - they are now opening and investigation, 10 days and all that sh*te! Probably not their fault, but that doesn't make my situation any better - paid hard earned money and all this grief!? :(

My first order with them, probably the last too!

Hi

Exactly the same issue as with mine, I bought from ebay at the start of Sept, a week after they give me a tracking number for Parcel Force but could not tack it so called Pixmania, they investigate and said sorry is lost but as we don't have any other in stock we will give you a refund, that was ok with me till I checked ebay the next day and exactly the same item was re-listed, so sent a couple of e-mails last week and got a call the next day from a supervisor that's is investigating the issue.

So hope to hear back with something tomorrow, I was already offer a discount for my next order (I don't think so)

So another not very happy customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

nava wrote:
    Hi

Exactly the same issue as with mine, I bought from ebay at the start of Sept, a week after they give me a tracking number for Parcel Force but could not tack it so called Pixmania, they investigate and said sorry is lost but as we don't have any other in stock we will give you a refund, that was ok with me till I checked ebay the next day and exactly the same item was re-listed, so sent a couple of e-mails last week and got a call the next day from a supervisor that's is investigating the issue.

So hope to hear back with something tomorrow, I was already offer a discount for my next order (I don't think so)

So another not very happy customer.

Same here.
    Bought TV start of Sept.
    Got tracking no. It began with HA & was being shipped with Parcelforce.
    Few days after shipping, I contacted Parcelforce, as my address was wrong.
    They said it wasn't a code for Eire. When I rang Pixmania, they said it's the code they always use.
    Anyhow, roll on a few days, still can't track it.Get on to parcelforce again, who look into it & say they've never received it from Pixmania.

Get onto Pixmania, they open a lost parcels investigation. At 7 days I phone them, they've no update whatsoever.
    At 10 days the investigation should end, so I contact them again.
    The girl hasn't a clue whats going on. Asks me if I'm returning the item (this after supposedly reading my order notes!!!!)
    Offers refund. A few 100 less than what I paid.
    I saw red, told her I would not accept 1c less than what I paid.
    Current status:-
    She was escalating it to her supervisor.
    I've opened a dispute with Paypal.
    I'll won't be surprised if I see the same item listed on eBay from them.
    Shower of ..................
    My one & only dealing with them.
    AVOID at all costs!!!

Wow, have they really gotten this bad?
    Anything and everything, big or small I've ever ordered off them arrived within 3-4 days, tracking no.s worked and there was no need for calls to CS...
    Must be the DSG influence.

Just tried ringing Pixmania Customer service to let them know that they haven't taken any money out of my credit card, so this might be a mess up from their end than the parcel / courier people, especially considering this is my first order and the I was not asked for any proof of address as they usually do etc... dialed all the numbers, explained the situation and the dude at the other end "oh, sorry you should ring Customer Support, this is Sales, try option 2".

I thought I might have hit 1 instead of 2 by mistake, and apologies and redialed, this time making sure I press 2, and this goes to a girl, and I explain it all again and she goes "Oh sorry, you should ring Customer support, this is Sales, try option 2". :eek:

Explained I dialed 2 for Customer Support and this is the second time, she is like "Oh yeah, when there is a huge waiting list for Customer Support, calls gets re-routed to here, and I can't do anything to help you as you need to talk to them. Try ringing again". :eek: WTF??

I hate giving out about web businesses, but I have to say I am starting to get slightly irritated with this crowd...!

Third time ringing Customer Services, got thru the sales again, and the guy this time was actually trying to help! Hallelujah!! But he needs my pixmania username and password to see any details!! :rolleyes:

Once signed in, he just don't understand the concept of customer support I guess, he starts rambling on about the status of the order and what it means etc! It took me a while to get thru to him and explain that there is a bit of history with this order, and once up to speed, he said their credit card security check is a random thing - one in two hundred or so ordered will get asked for proof of address, so thats why I wasn't asked for one. And that he can't do nothing at this stage. Can't cancel the order, can't give me my money back, can't send out another one, can't send out an upgrade, nothing at all - lost in the 'investigation' black hole! Nothing at all for next 10 days or so! :(

Quick update!

An Post attempted delivery of the amp and speakers, and I collected it from the mail center yesterday! :D

Not sure if this had anything to do with their investigation, and AN POST, despite what An Post's customer support said, does handle parcels with tracking number ending with xxxGB. They just call it something else (xxxIE with xxxGB as an associated number in their system, and item traceable with xxxGB code). Pixmania doesn't always process orders as quick as they would make you believe. Pixmania Customer Services are a major pain to get through to, last call went thru to some country and after a lot of static and handshaking sound, it went to some automated reply in some foreign language! :rolleyes:

Good luck with your order, BoozyBabe and nava!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Just a quick related story about Pixmania delivery...

This month I paid an extra €15 or something for quicker delivery - 24/48hr if you order before 10am. Rubbish - for a start I ordered at 9:30am and the order time came up later as 10:30 - presumably because they are based on the continent.

Ordered 9:30am Tuesday - arrived 6 days later. Apparently the reason (not a "problem") is that sometimes your Visa details can take 3 days to clear through their French system. Which of course makes the whole extra-cash-for-quick-delivery pointless. Pretty sure this is the second time this has happened too.

Moral of the story - if you need something quick - buy it over the phone and verify that your card will not take 3 days!

</rant>

Using paypal to fund the pixmania payment should negate the need for CC security verfication and it also means you're somewhat protected from shipping errors and such ...at least paypal would have you believe it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 emoclew

Hi Positron,
    Sorry its taken so long to reply to your PM. We found pixmania a nightmare. We ordered the same unit and it took them almost 2 weeks to deliver, via Parcelforce. Unfortunately Parcelforce, as you probably know use An Post and they decided that they would not deliver this unit to us as it was too big. We were asked to collect it at a mail centre (10 miles away) when I arrived at the centre, there were two very big boxes, completely wrapped with black plastic and therefore it was not possible for me to check what they were ( I just presumed the unit came in two boxes) when we got home we discovered that they had actually sent the same unit twice and upon checking our credit card details, discovered that they had also charged us for it twice. Despite numerous phone calls (to UK ans France) and the pain of trying to use their customer service form query thing on their website (trust me their FAQ did not include this query) they insist that we ordered it twice and will not refund our money unless we return it. They will not send a courier, an Post will not take it as it weighs greater than 20Kg, eventhough they gave it to us in the first place and basically a courier would cost in excess of 150 euros, which will not be refunded. We are obviously not happy with this company and will never order from them again, we were also furious that they expect you to pay delivery costs, but the unit is not actually delivered to you, despite reassuring us that they would refund the delivery costs, we are still waiting!! (This is the very genuine reason we are selling this unit and it is still for sale, brand new in the box, never opened http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=31921&cat=50 it cost us 317 euros and we are willing to take 280 cash ono)
    hope your experience with pixmania is better than ours, we know of a few people who used them and suffered their errors also but in their favour, e.g. ordering photo paper and receiving a camcorder by mistake etc. unfortunately we were not as lucky,
    let us know how you got on.

emoclew, had I known the full story, I would have taken that AV-3101 off you! That would have avoided us both a lot of hassle! Good luck with the same, and have to say, its a sweet little amp - I am pleasantly surprised by its performance - watching House of Flying Daggers on both DVD and on Channel4 the other night, the effect was just incredible!!

Good luck with that sale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Roy Rogers

Somehow, while searching, I managed to miss this thread... kinda feeling worried now!

I placed an order earlier, just noticed that I received an e-mail to confirm address and all that. I'm in work at the moment so I can't do so, although the money's already gone out of my account. I'll try and get the proofs of address in tomorrow, and we'll see how it goes from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Roy Rogers

Just to add a little bit of positive feedback to this thread; my order arrived without a hitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭rai555

My latest experience with Pixmania - item been lost, Parcelforce lost it and Pixmania gave me back only partial refund only as it was PayPal payment. Result - 35 euros and 5 weeks lost.

Hope it's not general rule, Murphy's law :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭nava

rai555 wrote: »
    My latest experience with Pixmania - item been lost, Parcelforce lost it and Pixmania gave me back only partial refund only as it was PayPal payment. Result - 35 euros and 5 weeks lost.

Hi

was the full refund given by pixmania? if they give you a full refund but after the exchange in Paypal you lost €35, send an e-mail to paypal about it, they probably reply saying sorry that's what happens but don't let them get away with it.

Also check in xe.com exchange rates the day you pay and the day they give you the refund, probably it won't be the same but not €35.

Regards

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

rai555 wrote: »

well in fairnees to pixmania they didn't lose it on you. parcelforce do pay out up to certain value on packages lost. i'd chase them up