Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where you going for the Rugby on Friday

• 19-09-2007 12:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭

Well, there is a debate raging in work here about where we should all go to watch the match on Friday. Sinnotts has been ruled out as it will probably be too busy by 6pm when we will all be heading in.

So I figured I'd throw the debate to the floor and see where you lot are going to watch it. Any must go to pubs for great atmosphere for what will hopefully be a great game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Anywhere in Munster would be good I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

Porterhouse central, if ya can put up with the annoying d4 heads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Living Room on Bridge Street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

will probably just stay at home - i dont like getting depressed in public :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Surely this is either a Dublin City thread as a lot of people wouldn't know Sinnots from anywhere or a Rugby thread, where rugby and all issues related are discussed.

Maybe I'm just being a stick in the mud cos I've to work Friday night.

Maybe I'll just do a no pants dance :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I'll be sitting right here I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

djkeogh wrote:
    Well, there is a debate raging in work here about where we should all go to watch the match on Friday. Sinnotts has been ruled out as it will probably be too busy by 6pm when we will all be heading in.

So I figured I'd throw the debate to the floor and see where you lot are going to watch it. Any must go to pubs for great atmosphere for what will hopefully be a great game
    I'm going to the rugby forum. Yay.
    Moved from AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I will probably go to either The Ovens or The Rob Roy in Cork City which seems to be a bit of a rugby joint. Looking forward to it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

The Nook. Must get there early to get a seat and get some Dutch courage into me before what will either be a nail-bitingly tense or bitterly disappointing match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Danie Gerber

Down Under in Stephens Green..., Should be bearable because Aus and NZ aren't playing so the headers won't be out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I maybe going to the Living Room in Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Ulstermell0

i'll be going to Rosie o'grady's in Oxford terrible trad music out the back and only one small screen but great atmosphere and loads of irish in there. beat 'oneils' into the ground (not hard)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I'm going to Ravenhill for the Ulster v Ospreys game and they have brought in a big screen that they're going to show the Ireland France game on straight after Ulster v Ospreys has finished. Twill be good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Stade De France :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Just wondering- I'm moving to Dublin friday(for college) and unfortunatly I won't be in my local for the match(first time in years).*Tear*. Where can I go that is rugby mad and where I won't have to donate organs to buy a drink? Hopefully close to town so we can go on the tear aftr to celebrate/comiserate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭NotInventedHere

Borzoi wrote:
    Stade De France :D:D:D

What he said.:D :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Astra Hall, UCD! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Somewhere in Dublin, then Leinster game on Saturday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

The Wello, Searsons or Kielys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

At home or in Sheehan's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

Hey, im in dublin tomorrow with work and will be tied up til 6. Anywhere in a 10 minute walk from Dame street that you would say ' aye, that would be the lively spot i'd go to..' if you were me?
    I hear Kieleys in D'brook but i dont want to be tied up for an hour getting down there, want to soak up as much pre match vibe as i can...

the nerves are already on edge...C'mon Ireland !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Kiely's is good, if only because they have a lot of TVs and that's what counts really.

My choices for pubs to watch a match in vary hugely from what I think a pub should be. So, while I wouldn't usually drink in the following pubs, they're good for a game:

- Sinnotts under Stephens Green shopping Centre: Big screen (two of them?), and a few other TVs around the place.

- Down Under/Major Toms just up from Sinnotts. They also have a big screen and I've often nipped in to watch a HC game.

- Break for the Border. Utter gash as a pub, but there was a good atmosphere for some of the 6N games, and if you can get a stool in the right place you'll have a good view of their widescreens.

To be honest I'd probably pop into Sinnotts and then leave post-game.

There are I'm sure plenty of other decent pubs with TVs too, shouldn't be hard to find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

number one choice for me would be doheny and nesbitt on baggott street. it'll be packed though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Oh, and if you're on Dame St maybe try the Foggy Dew pub, just beside the Central Bank. It's not that well laid out to be honest, but if you can get a seat in front of the TV you're laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

i hate to say it but i heard reynards sports bar is good....

Kielys is good, the pints are hit and miss tho.

only 5 mins on the 46a or abuot 7/8euro in a taxi...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Sinnots will be jammers but if you can wade through the crowd there will be a great atmosphere.

I hear good things about upstairs in the Hairy Lemon for Rugby matches.

The Old Stand on Exchequer street is a cosy little place to watch a match. 2 TV's in the front bar and 1 in the back. One of the best pints of Guiness in town too.

ah here lads, im watering at the mouth with these prospects..
    i hear sinnots could well have a Queue :eek: from around 6, and no offence to the tourists but i want a partisan rugby crowd about me tomorrow eve...
    if kieleys is really only 5-10 mins away (in fri eve traffic) toss up between that an D and N's.

Its a big decision, its one of those in a few years time, "oh the night Ireland played France I was in --- and it was mighty". so you see where im coming from ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

All the traffic goes into town, the donnybrook road should be pretty slack at that time.. i'd say 15mins max.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 homercleese

Suggestions on Where to watch in Dublin Friday- with the following ingredients preferred- Big screeen, big crowd, good atmosphere, and a few budgies to ogle at half time...all replies greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

homercleese, there are at least two other threads below on the same topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

threads merged

sorry my fault, should have RTFP's ...anyhow Kieleys it is for me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭scaramanga

listowel races:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 homercleese

Gents and ladies, who knows about the hairy lemon of a FRYYYYYDay night for the match. IS it a goer? im entertaining gowl from abroad, and mates, and i dont wanna look like a twit if its ****e...anyone know?

Kiely's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭eldeabroad

I will be in my bar watching it on de big screen over here in the Basque Country - my jersy is on and the flag is flying high and proudly....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭speaktofrank

I will be watching it in Lyon. Probably one of the Irish pubs. Even though it will be jammers tonight for the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I will be going to a pub called Molly Malones in the city centre here in Glasgow. It is a holiday here, so everybody should be there nice and early