Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

STOP MOANING - Come on Ireland!!

• 19-09-2007 11:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭

Lads,

I am sick of reading rumours, stories, friend of a friends story etc..;..most if not all of it being total BS.

The 2 games are behind us, if we had won them convincingly then these ****e stories wouldnt be doing the rounds.

We are proud Irish people and we need to get behind the team. For those of us who have enjoyed years of this team getting victories in times of despair (do you remeber paris in 2000?), its time we backed the team in their times of despair.

Evertime i open the paper, turn on tv or radio its all negative - this is not good for the fans traveling at weekend, and god forbid if this gets to the players.

If you need to bitch and moan then wait until at least after Friday or better again after the world cup.

So come on, stay positive on this forum at least!

Come on Ireland!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Yipee positive thread at long last!! We are capable of taking this French team.

COME ON IRELAND!!!!!!!

Leave a message of support for the team too:

http://rugby2007.o2online-media.ie/

And most importantly

NO MORE STUPID RUMORS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Moaning is the Irish way and when we win we say that we always knew the team could do it. In fairness people are right to criticize a bad performance, if we all said that everything was hunky dory that would be stupid. We are also right to praise a good performance. Ireland just haven't had one yet.

!!!!!COME ON IRELAND!!!!!!!

Time to show the French what we are capable of :) They spoiled the party at croker lets give them a taste of their own medicine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭reallybad

GDM wrote:
    Moaning is the Irish way and when we win we say that we always knew the team could do it. In fairness people are right to criticize a bad performance, if we all said that everything was hunky dory that would be stupid. We are also right to praise a good performance. Ireland just haven't had one yet.
    moan elsewhere assh8le

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

ireland will win by 3million points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Hope i'm wrong but with morale so low rumours of personal problems players leaving and continuos rifts among members of the team i can't see ireland beating france this friday at all!! didn't learn from the first game can't see us learning and putting on a display against france especially in their own back yard this time round!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Hope i'm wrong but with morale so low rumours of personal problems players leaving and continuos rifts among members of the team i can't see ireland beating france this friday at all!! didn't learn from the first game can't see us learning and putting on a display against france especially in their own back yard this time round!!

BOO!!!! Negative vibes. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

It's going to go either really well for us or really bad and i think we are due a great performance. They know what they have to do and that they will have to be at 120% to beat the frogs at home. I think ROG and the players will play a blinder on friday evening and will be fired up over all the sh1t and rumours that are flying about.

We (and the players) need to cast our (all too short) memories back 5 months to the England game. The pride and passion we brought to the English that day will stay with me forever. We need to create that again.

And the the French game. The fc*kers robbed us blind with the last move of the game. We owe them big time and I know i'd have that video playing on the team bus going to the game Friday.

Ireland to finally get it together for me, to play with pride, passion and total commitment to that green jersey. We will win a tight match by a handful of points more then likely coming from ROG's boot.

To coin a phrase; (no republican tendencies either)

Tiocfaidh ar la this coming friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Hamo

Victory over the Frenchies on Friday would nay WILL be sooooo sweet....!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Danie Gerber

You're not the only supporters in the world that reacts this way. I'm SA'n and I can tell ye that we're exactly the same! If the Boks play well we're all very matter-of-fact, and when they lose we moan and throw tantrums like two-year olds.

Human nature I think...

Being a good supporter means still supporting. Doesn't mean you can't moan. In fact, if as a supporter you're not happy, you should moan! Means you care...

Oh yeah, I hope Ireland smash the frogs to pieces! Go Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Ulstermell0

come one the boys! gonna have my full support all the way but as Danie says we can still criticise its our job! as long as its honestly held opinions based on facts as we see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

reallybad wrote:
    moan elsewhere assh8le
    banned for personal abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭gadaven

. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

COME ON IRELAND!!!!

or should I say

COME

ON

IRELAND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

We are going to send the French home!!! Oh wait they are already there.

COME ON IRELAND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

.... And the the French game. The fc*kers robbed us blind with the last move of the game. We owe them big time and I know i'd have that video playing on the team bus going to the game Friday.

Ireland to finally get it together for me, to play with pride, passion and total commitment to that green jersey. We will win a tight match by a handful of points more then likely coming from ROG's boot.

Jeeze we don't owe them for one day, although it was in Croker.
    We owe the b******* for 60 odd years of bad days, dirty play, stamping, robbing us and humiltating us, especially in France :mad:
    It would be such nice payback :D

The last time they did anything for us was in 1798 and they managed to cock that up too.
    They have never travelled well when against the English.

I am not allowed discuss …

No really, I hope Ireland beat them well. It will mean that the hosts are out of the WC but I have little sympathy with the Frogs. They have all the richest clubs and are going around buying all the best players they can get their hands on instead of developing their own... You reap what you sow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Pinetree Boy

Got to be positive. From down here there is no way this is forgone. Apart from Namibia what have the frogs done so far? Ireland have played down to the level of the opposition and I have no doubt they are far better than they have shown so far. There is no reason they can't take the French

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

This thread gets the Rattlehead approval

COME ON IRELAND

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭gadaven

come on IRELAND !

All the " frogies " are behind you for you take the "argies"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Come On Ireland

Send them French packing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 derfen

Here's my prediction, for what it's worth, staying positive !

C'MON IRELAND

Its going to be tough but I believe that they can do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

**** it Im doing this to all the threads

COME ON IRELAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

COME ON IRELAND!!!

I seriously think they might be able to do it. But they'll need to play some very fast intelligent rugby, which we all know they can play, we've seen them do it in the past.

The French are terrified of playing Ireland, terrified of O'Driscoll and D'Arcy that terror doesn't come from nowhere it comes from a team capable of kicking their ******* arses out of this competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Come on Ireland!!!!!

If you look at all the ingredients that make Ireland play well they are here-

Being Underdogs.
    Revenge.
    Intensity (particularly prevalent after the behaviour of the French Press).

We might not be near the best team in the world, but when Ireland are fired up and our backs are against the wall, we perform.
    Games like these are going to be more about intensity and hard hitting early in the match than anything else. And we can do it.

Hopefully the fires have been stoked adequately by the French media, and the boys will go out and knock the sh!te out of the French.

No fair clean play, no sportsmanlike moderation. We need pure violent bloodlust in the first 20 minutes.
    Look at our last england game. We hit as hard as we possibly could. And it worked.

We don't want to see brave men in muddy green jerseys after eighty minutes tomorrow. We want to see bloodied jerseys on the backs of Irish savages who have put the fear of god into those Frogs!!! ;)

C'mon Ireland!!!!!!!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Ireland....

300px-Kool-Aid2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

A quick thrust up through the Ardennes when they're not looking and we'll have 'em..remember 1940! Now if only we had a few stukas......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭The Denouncer

We haven't a hope in hell! I'm all for optimism, but I am a realistic person. If we lose by less than 10 points I will consider that quite an achievement.

Sorry. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭mjquinno

We haven't a hope in hell! I'm all for optimism, but I am a realistic person. If we lose by less than 10 points I will consider that quite an achievement.

Sorry. :(

not a popular one. all we have left is blind optimism :)
    cmon lets go ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭mrincredible

I dunno about the rest of you, but I didn't sleep well, tossed and turned all night thinking about the match in Paris tonight.

I've been an avid supporter of the International team for 11 years now and I've watched every match throughout those 11 years. I've watched us being walloped, being laughed at and be embarassed during those 11 years. I've also been privilaged enough to watch a squad of players grow into a team that have shown on many occasions that you should never doubt the Irish.

So many times this current Irish squad have shown glimpses of form that suggests they're capable of beating anyone.

The media have hyped this team, we've hyped this team and I suppose to a certain degree the team have hyped themselves - and so far- it's been a complete let down.

Win or lose tonight I'll follow this team religiously for the next 11 years, 11 years after that and then another 11.

At this stage, only two matches in the team have shown nothing near what their capable of, aside form a few darting runs and line breaks by BOD (with no one in his shoulder,) it's been hard to watch - but I've got a feeling in my gut about tonight. It's the same feeling you get waiting on exam results, the one you get when you go for "that" job interview you really want it's the nervous tension that makes your stomach feel like it's going to explode.

Over the past few weeks we've all had a go at our team, all critisised everyone from the team to the managment and everyone in between - but tonight lets forget all that. North or South, East or West, lets get behind the lads in Paris.

I know this team is capable of beating France, I know their capable of playing clinical rugby for 85 minutes and I know that if we do it tonight Irish rugby will be back on the Pedestal where it should be.

The French robbed us in Croke park and spoilt out party, they embarrased us in the last WC and now their media have run us through the mill.. Backs are against the wall and there is a score to be settled.

COME ON IRELAND!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Did anyone watch setanta last night? they interviewed Eddie direct from the camp..

It was really good, he said that there was a good amount of motivation about the squad, from the 6N and from Croke park...

He also got a crude smile on his face when he was talking about frankie and Gavin.... I think he has something up his sleve!!!!!!!!!

He was also using the GAA trick, play your team down, hope the opposition is looking...

You'll see a different side tonight lads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

I heard on the radio this morning that the team would like the supporters gather at their hotel to see them off before the match - did anybody get the details - I need to pass them on to my Da and brother - jaysus I wish I was there too!

Oh and

C'mon Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Tonight I fully believe we can do it, we are facing a team we know very well, Yes the results of the first two games are hard to believe or even understand. They are in the past and by the way we won. So your World Cup faith is still in your own hands .In fact nothing has changed since the start of the World Cup we always knew we would have to beat France and Argentina to top the group and not face the all blacks in the next round.
    so with that said

COME ON IRELAND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭mrincredible

I heard on the radio this morning that the team would like the supporters gather at their hotel to see them off before the match - did anybody get the details - I need to pass them on to my Da and brother - jaysus I wish I was there too!

Oh and

C'mon Ireland!

Are you in Paris? Well come the day and come the hour, now is your chance to show the world that you stand shoulder to shoulder with the team!
    Get down to the team hotel on Friday evening to give the team the best send off they could get!

SHOW YOUR SUPPORT

WAVE YOUR FLAG

SING YOUR HEAD OFF

and

LET THEM KNOW WE ARE ALL BEHIND THEM 100%

Get down to the hotel for 6.30pm and start singing. The team depart at 7pm for Stade de France so get there on time and show your support.

Team Hotel:

Sofitel Porte de Sevres

8-12 Rue Louis Armand

Paris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

i certainly hope ireland win this. i'm not a mad fan or anything, but if they can instill some pride back in our waning sporting achievements we'd all be delighted.

if they can do that by beating france, then it's party time :p

hopefully the french concerns about a wounded team being dangerous come to fluition...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Ireland To Win By Acting Like A Bunch Of Ruthless Germans!! COME ON IRELAND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

The Irish team might be stung into playing a great game, what with the criticism from home and the rumours in the press.

The French will be very nervous, if they screw up they are out and they will be the first host nation not to make it to the knock out rounds.
    That will spell the end of any chance Laporte has of being minister of anything, never mind minister of Sport :D
    Also remember they will always and forever be compared to their soccer team, that actually went all the way and won the WC at home.

We seem to be forgetting that this is also France's last stand and it could also mean that France play out of their skins.
    Historically the French have usually waved a white flag when in this situation and gone running, but you never know.
    It all depends on the way the match starts and if the crowd get on the backs of their home players.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭niall2j

ziggy67 wrote:
    So i take all you lads are going to go down the bookies, put your money where your mouth is, and back Ireland at 7/2???

Damn straight! I have my €10 at 5/1 on the lads to win and another €10 for them to beat the +12.5pts spread at 5/4 - maybe not massive bucks but big for me!

I have absolute faith in this team and their desire to perform for themselves and their fans.

COME ON IRELAND!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭fits

I've no idea who's going to win but

Come on Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭mjquinno

niall2j wrote:
    Damn straight! I have my €10 at 5/1 on the lads to win and another €10 for them to beat the +12.5pts spread at 5/4 - maybe not massive bucks but big for me!

I have absolute faith in this team and their desire to perform for themselves and their fans.

COME ON IRELAND!!

You inspired me im gonna stick a tenner on ireland to win after work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Let's hope they play like we know they can and avenge the defeat in Croker. The Munster and Leinster players have plenty of memories of famous victories on French soil to draw on for inspiration as well.

COME ON IRELAND!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭eldeabroad

they played how they played against namibia and georgia DELIBERATELY so that they could have a good laugh at the media criticism esp. the french media, and nobody wudbe putting pressure on. meanwhile they have been "evil laughing" - muah ha ha ha haaaaaaaa plotting the demise of the blueshirts.

France, on the other hand destroyed namibia - so what, hardly a rugby stronghold, in fact 500 namibians went to the match clinging to the side of an overladen bus.......

what I am saying is france are going to take the game lightly and the shock they will get, hopefully, will enable us to get points on the board and maintain the advantage using the "france are at 6´s and 7´s" phrase of George Hamilton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,505 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

For the benefit of any francophones within earshot:

Allez les Trèfles !!!

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

jmayo wrote:
    Jeeze we don't owe them for one day, although it was in Croker.
    We owe the b******* for 60 odd years of bad days, dirty play, stamping, robbing us and humiliating us, especially in France :mad:
    It would be such nice payback :D

The last time they did anything for us was in 1798 and they managed to cock that up too.
    They have never traveled well when against the English.