Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GJP €300+€30 PL Omaha - Thurs 18th Oct €10k Gtd

• 17-09-2007 4:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭

That's right - a PLO tournament! The calendar is chock a block full of NL Holdem tournies at the moment so here is something different:

Pot Limit Omaha Freezeout
    Oct 18th 8.30pm
    Drogheda Poker Club
    €10,000 Gtd Prizepool

10k Starting Stack
    30 min blinds

25/50
    50/100
    75/150
    100/200
    150/300
    200/400
    300/600
    400/800
    500/1000
    800/1500
    1000/2000
    1500/3000
    2000/4000
    3000/6000

TD Paddy Tobin
    Dealers Provided
    Food at Break

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

10k Guaranteed? I might well be up for this depending on 'stuff'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

ohhhhhhhh....might be interested in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

This could be interesting...the 16th is a Tuesday though so have you got the day or the date wrong??

Can you run sats on GJP for it?

€330 might be a little ambitious though. €220 might work better for the average player to be enticed..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

'Tis the 18th and we will run a sat online the week b4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Shortstack wrote:
    'Tis the 18th and we will run a sat online the week b4.

Thats better..coz i was in work the 16th but not the 18th!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Conspicuous

Great idea Mike Ill be there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

good to see a decent deep stack plo tourney Mike i will be playing in this for sure

Feedback I am getting for this is good, looks like numbers will more than cover the G'tee. Satellite will be up on GJP next week. I am thinking $20 rebuy Omaha tournie?

Sounds good mike
    Sure I'll more than likely give it a whirl anyhow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

I should be up for this Mike, same venue where the €1000 game was on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭rekoJ

Shameless Bump...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Mike,

Any update on a day/time for this online sat?

Online Sat. tonight at 8.30 $25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Just seen this, I'll do my best to make it up for this

Bumped to remind everyone of the added value!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭rogue trader

Can someone give me directions to this please?
    Is there parking close by?

Drogheda Poker Club is on Batchelors Lane (Just off Shop Street) plenty of on street parking available.

dpcmap.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Primewise

might travel up for this tournament, should be different!

havent played an Omaho only Tourney, just a ROE.

bump.

€10,000 Guaranteed ----On Tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Any ideas what sort of numbers you're expecting for this?

not really. 1sr time and all. possible overlay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

im 50-50 about heading to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

If youse want Omaha games on the calendar they need to be supported to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,440 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

If youse want Omaha games on the calendar they need to be supported to happen.

I really, really wanted to play this. But have been ill all week and just am not able for it. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

is this a regular event? i havent heard of any good live omaha tournys and would be interested in and support them if i knew about them. and had booked the time off work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

kryogen wrote: »
    is this a regular event? i havent heard of any good live omaha tournys and would be interested in and support them if i knew about them. and had booked the time off work!

surely after reading some of your posts you don't need to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

problem is its a thursday and work in the morning, the driving etc is going to put a lot off people off.

* mean this as completely constructive comments, its a great event and fair play for putting it on, as i said if it was a fri or sat I'd be there, but I realise then your competing with a the lure of the pubs etc . Hope you get a good turnout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

results?
    i went out in tenth - enjoyed it, but first omaha tournie so had to get my head around. look forward to next one

Yeah any reports or results.
    I'd be interested to know how this went

Rogue Trader won it €4000, John O'Shea 2nd €3000, Gerry Jones 3rd €1500, Paddy O'Neill 4th €1000, Mal Byrne 5th €500.

Good Game but fell way short of the Gtee so will have to do something different next time.

Suggestions welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

I would defo keep this game going Mike (without the guarantee obviously)....You will get regular support and plenty of interest from Northern players if word gets around, me thinks.

Also last night just seemed to be a particualrly quiet night for poker.....Vegas Nights only got 18 runners for his new tournament in Sands, Portmarnock and that was after 40/50 odd for the last three weeks.

Mike,

i echo Carfax's sentiments that you should keep this game going. In my opinion, Thursday is not a great day for this game.
    The SE has their €200 deepstack on the first Sat of every month and the Fitz there €250 game at the end of the month. Pick a saturday in between and run every month or every 2 months.
    Halibut2, Exposed and Medic to name just three were playing so you managed to get some of the best players in Dublin to come. Now all you need is to get the Northern guys (who were sadly missing) and you could be on to something.

Alan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,452 ✭✭✭Lazare

Mike,

i echo Carfax's sentiments that you should keep this game going. In my opinion, Thursday is not a great day for this game.
    The SE has their €200 deepstack on the first Sat of every month and the Fitz there €250 game at the end of the month. Pick a saturday in between and run every month or every 2 months.
    Halibut2, Exposed and Medic to name just three were playing so you managed to get some of the best players in Dublin to come. Now all you need is to get the Northern guys (who were sadly missing) and you could be on to something.

Alan.

Congrats on taking this down Al, vwp.

Rogue T, did i hand u my stack jus b4 final table, ur AA set vs my top two? the more i think bout that hand the more it pisses me off

WP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

was fishy alright... semi bluff = omaha pro??

semibluff wrote: »
    Rogue T, did i hand u my stack jus b4 final table, ur AA set vs my top two? the more i think bout that hand the more it pisses me off

WP
    Hi semibluff ,
    yes that was me. Nice to put a name to a face. Did you used to deal in the SE? Ul in that hand. You did call very quick. you may have found a fold with some thought but don't beat yourself up about it.

After that hand, I went to the final table with 58k in chips of the 210k in play and within 2 or 3 hands played, i was down to 25k, having run into quads twice!

But the structure was so good that even with 25k, you felt you still had some play. congrats to Mike for that.

lol - thats rich coming from you john i guess?? ya luck box

ah yeh, well i shouldnt really have bet, by betting i just made you fold any hand i actually beat, barring KK with the flush draw.
    yeh at that stage i could have folded, but had only 4k left with 25 r so in middle - with the A on board, hard to think you had it, as id expect you to raise the limped pre neways. was a fold pre tbh

just want really thinking clearly, oh and dont worry, i wasnt beating myself up too much bout it!

yeh agreed brilliant structure, and alot of play left - hope more people get behind it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

not quite john. .. pre flop was the mistake i think as i was sayin, if you raised prelop tehn he reraises you couldve mucked em.. you seemed to play good considerin your not the omaha specialist like myself..

and john is the biggest luckbox!!