Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin bus gone to the dogs

• 17-09-2007 9:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭

first off i'd like to point out my incredibly witty title there...

i use the service pretty much twice a day, but today i encountered a new occurance.

a dog.

some woman brought a dog (not so much dog as giant rat) on the bus in her arms, and the bus driver waved her on like it was grand.

the seat she occupied only ever had her and her dog on it, as not one person would sit next to the dog. people stood instead of sit down.

i always thought only guide dogs were allowed on buses, and i'm fairly sure this woman was in no way blind... so what gives? mis-informed driver and a chancer woman, or are people perfectly allowed to bring their household pets on buses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

So what, people are always bringing dogs on the buses and afaik there's no hard set rule against doing so. I know I used to do it before years ago when I had no car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

To be honest wouldn't care less if a horse was let onto the bus as long as it was on time. There is nothing worse than when buses just don't show up and your left standing there for over an hour :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Mexicola

Ah would ye ever go away and whinge somewhere else. I'm sure she would have put the dog on her lap if someone requested the seat. Were you standing up or sitting down? If you were sitting down what the heck are you complaining about?

I hardly think this woman can be described as a 'chancer'. :rolleyes: If DB's policy is not to allow pets on board then the driver was at fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Mexicola wrote:
    Ah would ye ever go away and whinge somewhere else. I'm sure she would have put the dog on her lap if someone requested the seat. Were you standing up or sitting down? If you were sitting down what the heck are you complaining about?

I hardly think this woman can be described as a 'chancer'. :rolleyes: If DB's policy is not to allow pets on board then the driver was at fault.

i'm not whinging, i've just never seen dogs being allowed on buses. if you don't use the word "dog" to describe some seriously unattractive people...

she had the dog on her lap, and the dog was sitting quietly and all, but the thing's natural inclination would be to piss on every single pole and seat there in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Long as it's well behaved who cares ? My ol mutt used to go straight under the seat and stay there until we were getting off ! Well trained and had his paw stood on once :D ! Never had a problem !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Mexicola

i'm not whinging
    You might want to check the title of your thread again so.
    if you don't use the word "dog" to describe some seriously unattractive people...
    What are you on about?
    she had the dog on her lap, and the dog was sitting quietly and all, but the thing's natural inclination would be to piss on every single pole and seat there in fairness.
    Oh really, ever hear of training? Did you witness any leg-liftage during your journey?

As someone said I wouldn't give a crap if someone managed to get a hippo on the bus once it was on time and I got a seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

i use the service pretty much twice a day, but today i encountered a new occurance.

a dog.

some woman brought a dog (not so much dog as giant rat) on the bus in her arms, and the bus driver waved her on like it was grand.

the seat she occupied only ever had her and her dog on it, as not one person would sit next to the dog. people stood instead of sit down.

i always thought only guide dogs were allowed on buses, and i'm fairly sure this woman was in no way blind... so what gives? mis-informed driver and a chancer woman, or are people perfectly allowed to bring their household pets on buses?

If more Irish people were dog friendly we wouldn't have killed more than 16,500 dogs in Ireland last year.

Shame on you.

Mexicola wrote:
    Oh really, ever hear of training? Did you witness any leg-liftage during your journey?

As someone said I would give a crap if someone managed to get a hippo on the bus once it was on time and I got a seat.

no i said it sat quietly, but obviously other people were as miffed as me about the thing, because no one would sit next to her, even when it was the only remaining seat on the bus.

i'm not saying the dog was misbehaved or the woman was obnoxious about having the dog on there, i'm just curious about the situation because i've never seen a dog on a bus before (other then guide dogs).
    Mairt wrote:
    If more Irish people were dog friendly we wouldn't have killed more than 16,500 dogs in Ireland last year.

Shame on you.

shame on me? why? because i'm wondering about dublin bus' policy on dogs?

to take a different tact on it, i used to work in a store, and like most stores dogs are not allowed because you don't know if the owner has trained the dog to not sh1t everywhere and spread fleas and other such nasties around the place. surely the same can be said on a bus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭templetonpeck

I agree with the OP. If it's not permitted to have a dog on a bus, she shouldn't have brought it on, nor should the driver have let her.

Though I absolutely adore dogs, I hate them on buses. It's like 'Seats are not for Feet' but you can sit a dog on it no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭Wossack

bus driver let on one dog owner, carrying a (presumed small) dog, and suddenly DB is going to be inundated with pole-pissing, ****-spraying, ankle-biting hounds? fs...

personally, I wouldnt give a crap, provided the dog didnt have dodgy tunes blaring out of his mobile phone

I'd rather sit 'Jericho' my Pit Bull puppy beside me rather than put him on the floor where filthy humans spit, piss and sh*t (yes sh*t). Not to mention where people throw their rubbish, including nappies, plasters, syringes, snots etc.

And if that mean't paying a ticket for Jericho so be it, I'll pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭templetonpeck

Not sure why DB should be inundated with calls?

As for nappies, snot and syringes on a bus, I've never in my life seen that and if I did I wouldn't sit on the bus myself, never mind let a dog on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

I don't see there being any harm in having a well behaved dog on the bus. A tiny Google tells me that it's at the discretion of the driver, so I suppose some will let you on with a dog and some won't.
    It's different for guide dogs, though, which I think is only right, but I didn't know that people with guide dogs got free travel. That's good. Though Bus Eireann won't let you take any sort of other animal on with you. Probably just as well. There'd be old boys in my home town who'd want to take a bullock to the fair. :eek: :D

Link here

Not sure why DB should be inundated with calls?

As for nappies, snot and syringes on a bus, I've never in my life seen that and if I did I wouldn't sit on the bus myself, never mind let a dog on it.

I've a mate who works for Dublin Bus, the stories he has would make you sick.

He says piss, sh*t, sanitary towels, puke, snot, syringes etc are a regular occurance on most bus routes.

Mairt wrote:

He says piss, sh*t, sanitary towels, puke, snot, syringes etc are a regular occurance on most bus routes.

my uncle works for them and said it can be a nightmare on the fightlink alright, but i've never heard about that kind of stuff before. suppose it depends on the route...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Mairt wrote:

He says piss, sh*t, sanitary towels, puke, snot, syringes etc are a regular occurance on certain bus routes.

Fixed that for you. It only really happens on bus routes that end up in certain areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I damn, I thought this was going to be a "Bitch-About-Irish-Transport" thread. I put my ranting hat on and everything. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Daddio wrote:
    I damn, I thought this was going to be a "Bitch-About-Irish-Transport" thread. I put my ranting hat on and everything. :mad:

I haven't got mine with me, I washed it at the weekend and its still not dry yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Dogs are allowed everywhere over here. It's dead handy. 2euro on the train anywhere, no bother with them in shops/retaurants anywhere really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

zuutroy wrote:
    Dogs are allowed everywhere over here. It's dead handy. 2euro on the train anywhere, no bother with them in shops/retaurants anywhere really.
    yeah, it's the same in Holland. I think it adds a bit of character to the bus with a few dogs around. plus, it's usually sexy girls with little dogs, so i don't mind:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Wossack wrote:
    personally, I wouldnt give a crap, provided the dog didnt have dodgy tunes blaring out of his mobile phone

hahaha, agreed.

As long as the dog is trained I've no problem with them being allowed on the buses, I've seen a fair few passengers that would spread more fleas then dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

I've brought my cat, my rabbit, and numerous birds (in boxes, on their way home from the petshop) on the bus or train before and nobody has ever said a word to me. I had the rabbit on my lap and got nothing but admiring glances, same as the cat, so I can't see how people wpuld have a problem with the conventional bring-it-with-you animal, the dog.
    Mairt wrote:
    I'd rather sit 'Jericho' my Pit Bull puppy

Your puppy is a Staffie, stop trying to sound hard!!! :p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I was on a bus once and a family get on and they had a dog
    (they were bloody annoying too but that's besides the point)

it was legging it around the bus and the driver said they had to get off
    so they threw the dog off in the middle of Newlands cross
    I was sitting upstairs in floods of tears and some woman was giving out yards to the mother for abandoning a dog

then again I've seen a guy with a little Jack Russell sitting there quietly and well behaved, so I think it really depends on the owner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Long as it's well behaved who cares ?

End of thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

didn't know they were allowed on the bus. but how cute. I would no problem with any well behaved animal. as its been said- once its on time, i get a seat and it warm, oh and nobody smelly beside me, then I don't care

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Big deal - OP you must have little to moan about. If you were so desperate to sit there then why didn't you sit beside the woman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

There are people who do this on the bus too I'm sure. If in doubt, try taking the N27 some evening :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

rb_ie wrote:
    End of thread.

/fail ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

Red Alert wrote:
    Big deal - OP you must have little to moan about. If you were so desperate to sit there then why didn't you sit beside the woman?

Ive read the original post a couple of times now, and all I see is the OP asking if anyone knows what the current rule is about bringing dogs on Dublin Bus.

Nala wrote:

Your puppy is a Staffie, stop trying to sound hard!!! :p:)

Damn you I was trying to wind them up!.

I haven't used public transport in over 15yrs, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

a dog.

a real dog? :eek:

did you get from A to B safely?

if yes, well then who cares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

I've been stuck beside plenty of foul smelling old people (sweeping generalisation, but they were in fact ALL old) and some dodgy drunks/junkies too. I'd much rather be sittin beside a lil well behaved dog! I've brought mine on the bus before and she's perfectly well behaved. The only annoying thing was that everyone kept going "awwww she's sooooo cute" and then expected me to actually have a conversation with them. (I don't do chatting early in the morning!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

a dog.

Dogs are allowed on Dublin Bus at the discretion of the driver.

TBH I don't see what's wrong with this considering the amount of drunk ppl who get on and cause havok and piss everywhere...much worse than a normal domestic dog IMO...!

Ireland is a sh!te place for dogs compared with the rest of Europe...not only do we have one of the highest - if not the highest- rate of destruction in dog pounds but they're not freely welcome on public transport/shopping malls, etc as they are in most European countries...I've even seen in some countries that you can buy a tram ticket for your dog! So fair play to the driver for not making a huge fuss about it.

You can't bring your dog on the luas tho so hopefully they'll change that one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

I worked for Dublin bus last summer, Its at the drivers discretion.