Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

42in Philips Plasma TV €999

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭TJM

This is available in Arnotts as well. Looks fantastic (glossy black surround) but it's a 1024x748 model only which would put me off somewhat - model 42PFP5332.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭boardsdotie

TJM wrote:
    This is available in Arnotts as well. Looks fantastic (glossy black surround) but it's a 1024x748 model only which would put me off somewhat - model 42PFP5332.

Its still a bargain @ €999, The full (Brand name) HD models are near the €2000 mark.

also its a matt black surround, The samsungs and LGs on display were glossy but I imagine they would scratch easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭TJM

I'm considering this 42" LG LCD for €999. I prefer the look of plasmas generally, but the higher resolution (1366 x 768) is useful considering it will be used with a computer also:

http://www.didstore.com/store_detail.asp?modelcode=42LC51&subid=195

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Same model @ DID for €999.95 and they're not claiming it's a "hot deal" :rolleyes:
    http://www.didstore.com/store_detail.asp?modelcode=42PF5332&subid=196

Doesn't really do harvey norman any favours in my books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭redfan

can we see a drop after xmas on big tv screens?
    ive got an 800euro budget for my bedroom and was trying to hold out till jan sales ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

Prices should start heading down big time in the next year apparently china are flooding the market with cheap screens. Sure I only got a similar Philips screen 8 months ago with 25% off in a tesco deal and it still cost me 1600.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭5h4mr0(k

redfan wrote:
    can we see a drop after xmas on big tv screens?
    ive got an 800euro budget for my bedroom and was trying to hold out till jan sales ?
    The main manufacturers are predicting that prices of plasmas and LCD screens, larger than 37", will fall by 30% during the next 12 months.

grand ill hold out for A 50 INCH SO.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

got the 50" model of this TV. 1500 yoyos in DID electrical and it came with a DVD home cinema system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

The ol' fella was onto me about this the other day, so I did a bit of a snoop, and some of the lads on avforums that have them reckon they're a great bit of kit.

Would be tempted myself, but me being the dope that I am is going to get a 46" 1080p unit!

as much as it sounds a good deal its to near end of year for me to buy anything of that price.
    whats the craic v plasma. im getting so much bull sh_t off the guys in dixons and dunnes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

Cheaper again in Power City.

http://www.powercity.ie/?par=10-09-42332

Click Add To Quote - This gives it for €939.95.
    So if you go into the shop it'll be marked at €999. Tell them the website price. They'll check it and match it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭That Guy 901

Powercity have the best selection and best prices, Id go with them. Got my Walker 32" couple weeks ago and no problems! Great piece of kit.