Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever mis-heard something and looked like a spa?

• 12-09-2007 6:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

Today in the barbers, the girl was cutting my 3 year olds hair, towards the end she showed me a bit of his hair and said "Ah look, he has a cows dick"

Of course I said "What??? Is that whats its called..a cows dick?":eek:

She gave me a look and said "No, a cows LICK"

I felt like such a knob.

Has anyone else amusing/entertaining stories :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

LadyE wrote:
    No..

* thread dies *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

a friend of mine thought that the words in bohemian rhapsody were "shagamoose shagamoose"

and i thought the words in some some were "pis$ing the night away" as opposed to "kissing"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Some random dude in a club asked me to mind his drink while he went to the toilet, I totally mistook it for him asking me to go to the toilet with him:p
    you had to be there really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

a friend of mine thought that the words in bohemian rhapsody were "shagamoose shagamoose"

and i thought the words in some some were "pis$ing the night away" as opposed to "kissing"

Pissing the night away ---pissing the night awwwayyyyyyy:D

tman wrote:
    Some random dude in a club asked me to mind his drink while he went to the toilet, I totally mistook it for him asking me to go to the toilet with him:p
    you had to be there really...

What was your reaction..yay or nay? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i know someone who was in a car with his girlfriend on their second date, and she was stroking his upper thighs, then he yawned and she said "oh you're wrecked". what he thought she'd said was "you're erect" (which he wasnt, apparantly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

LadyE wrote:
    Today in the barbers, the girl was cutting my 3 year olds hair, towards the end she showed me a bit of his hair and said "Ah look, he has a cows dick"

Of course I said "What??? Is that whats its called..a cows dick?":eek:

She gave me a look and said "No, a cows LICK"

I felt like such a knob.

So, what's a "spa"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

i thought this thread would be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

ejmaztec wrote:
    So, what's a "spa"?

Someone who is mentally and/or physically handicapped.

I thought so.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

ejmaztec wrote:
    I thought so.:eek:
    Ya I'm trying to figure out what LadyE is saying by calling people spas :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Had someone ask me to take them to Donaghmede one night, apparantly they actualy said Donabate, would have been easier to cope with if they had said something about it before I had driven to Clongriffen ( Hole In The Wall Road ) from Malahide :rolleyes: ...........

........Just as a thought, Has anyone else any anecdotal/1st hand evidence of Taxi Drivers getting worse at finding their way around Dublin and its Suburbs now, you know the "You Show, I'll Go" Brigade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

In a nice restaurant recently, I ordered the main course and the waitress asked me "Would you like soup or salad." Me mis-hears and asks, "Whats a super salad?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

one time a friend was a waitin for a bus and a fella came up 2 him andn what he heard was "ill bust you!" and he replied "wha!? why?" and yer man goes "is there a bus due?" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I was in Amsterdam with my friend and her bf a few years ago eating pasta in an Italian restaurant. He interrupted the waiter and said in his most polite voice "excuse me, could I have some parma-ham cheese please" we all pissed ourselves laughing. He thought that's how parmesan cheese was pronounced, that's how he'd always heard it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

tuxy wrote:
    Ya I'm trying to figure out what LadyE is saying by calling people spas :confused:
    The only definition I know.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

LadyE wrote:
    Pissing the night away ---pissing the night awwwayyyyyyy:D

Huh? It is "pissing the night away" - assuming you're talking about Chumbawamba.

tuxy wrote:

I dont know what you mean ;)

Poor choice of words I admit - didnt think of the meaning when I typed it. My apologies, hope I didnt offend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Terry wrote:

Could it not also be construed as a derivitive meaning Thick as in "thick as a plank" where a spa' would be something like a wooden roof spar e.g
    " Mind yer 'ed on that spa' "

Huh? It is "pissing the night away" - assuming you're talking about Chumbawamba.

Didn't they have to get rid of the pissing for Top Of The Pops?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭littlebitdull

Many years ago we were at a wedding and were asked if we wanted carrot and orange soup....

My brother in law replies...

Oh yes ... I would love some orange juice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

For ages I thought the Rihanna song went "You can stand under my arm forever". Couldn't figure out why someone would want to stand under there forever?? :confused:

LadyE wrote:
    I dont know what you mean ;)

Poor choice of words I admit - didnt think of the meaning when I typed it. My apologies, hope I didnt offend.
    Heh Heh Heh (picture Eddie Murphy)

Not on my watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 pavilion

One time i was in a club and the Dj goes "tonights ann maries 21st birthday" so this young one goes mental beside me so i assume it's her so i go to her are you ann marie n then she says "no i wont suck your willy!!" which followed with a slap! daaayuum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

pavilion wrote:
    One time i was in a club and the Dj goes "tonights ann maries 21st birthday" so this young one goes mental beside me so i assume it's her so i go to her are you ann marie n then she says "no i wont suck your willy!!" which followed with a slap! daaayuum

Doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,469 ✭✭✭MOH

Spook_ie wrote:
    ........Just as a thought, Has anyone else any anecdotal/1st hand evidence of Taxi Drivers getting worse at finding their way around Dublin and its Suburbs now, you know the "You Show, I'll Go" Brigade

Just after deregulation got in a taxi in Fairview and asked for O'Dwyer's on Mount St. guy didn't have a clue, had to show him. It's not an obscure street.

Also spent about half an hour in a taxi driving around looking for a restaurant in Pembroke lane. Guy didn't have a clue where it was. Why can't some taxi drivers invest 10 quid in a street guide to Dublin? Shouldn't be allowed operate without one.

Anyway, back on topic, I've had numerous rows whith my gf after I've said something, she mishears it and thinks I'm insulting/having a go at her, and goes into a strop.

Same gf thought "Creep" went "I'm a creep/I'm a winner".

Oh, and a friend of mine use to think the line in "The Green Fields of France" went:
    "Or young Willie McBride, were you slow and obscene"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭The Novacastrian

I always thought commentators said 'staggering obation', until one day I said it in front of my ma and bro and they p*ssed themselves laughing at me, I felt like a right spa*

I always use this word, and other such non-PC words...I hate the PC brgiade!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 pavilion

Varkov wrote:
    Doubt it.
    That's because you my friend are an ass :D

Less of that, please.

Happens all the time. What's even worse, though, is when you see somebody walking towards you in the street or office or whatever, and you know that as you pass, you're going to exchange pleasantries in a sort of I'm-too-busy-and-i-don't-like-you-enough-to-stop-and-chat sort of a way. But when they say something you answer a question they didn't ask, or else you say something totally unrelated.

e.g.

My ex-boss: Long time no see!
    Me (at the exact same time): Not too baaad!......*cringe*

or

One of my old teachers: Ah...Shifty...how're your brothers doing.
    Me: Ah, you know yourself, i'm working away.....
    Him: ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

The most embarrasing moment of my life was when I was in fourth year in secondary school and I was sitting at the back of the assembely hall.There was an assembely on racism and the speaker got up and said 'I want everyone thats black to stand up'. I completly miss heared and thought she said 'everyone at the back stand up' so I stood up and everyone just turned around and looked at me like I was some sort of racist bigot. It was v.embarasing

Happens all the time. What's even worse, though, is when you see somebody walking towards you in the street or office or whatever, and you know that as you pass, you're going to explain pleasantries

Why would you explain them? Do you mean exchange?

Hm. I mishear things all the time, but mostly I just say "Sorry?" or "what did you say?" so that avoids this kind of problem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

Mother in law. - "The plane display at the seafront"

I heard - "The Pay and Display at the seafront"

Went on for ages, me talking about the price, her saying it's free. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭TheJoker

My brother thought that Ban Garda was a term used to describe Garda who were members of the Garda band and not Garda of the female variety...:D

My favourite one is if someone says something to you and you dont quite hear what they said and then just nod in agreement and say "yep".

Then they look back at you as if you have done something wrong. Happened too many times to mention!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

Happens all the time. What's even worse, though, is when you see somebody walking towards you in the street or office or whatever, and you know that as you pass, you're going to explain pleasantries in a sort of I'm-too-busy-and-i-don't-like-you-enough-to-stop-and-chat sort of a way. But when they say something you answer a question they didn't ask, or else you say something totally unrelated.

e.g.

or

happens to me everyday of every week since i can remember.
    and i still feel like an ass over it....
    tried so many times to listen to what people say but i open my mouth before i can think of a response and its always something like..

hey, good morning mike..
    to which my response is usually, not too bad, or ah shur its nearly home time... ( i work nights ) so people tend to think that ive gone crazy being on my own all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Gizzle

Happens all the time. What's even worse, though, is when you see somebody walking towards you in the street or office or whatever, and you know that as you pass, you're going to explain pleasantries in a sort of I'm-too-busy-and-i-don't-like-you-enough-to-stop-and-chat sort of a way. But when they say something you answer a question they didn't ask, or else you say something totally unrelated.

e.g.

or

That's a big time ROFL from me, I've done it twice today already...:D

bluewolf wrote:

I did say exchange!! See, this is kinda like what i'm talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

My old band used to cover 'Revolution' by The Beatles.. and me being the lazy ass vocalist that I was, never bothered learning what was actually sung in the line - "If you go carrying pictures of Chairman Mao'.. so I sang what I thought it was, .. "If you go carrying pictures of German Man'.

Fekkin' eejit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

bar tender: "would you like becks vier?" (sex, dear?)
    me: "nah you're ugly and a dude!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

In church, words of hymn "Our God reigns",
    6 year old at top of voice "Why does our dog bray?" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Sooooo many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

bluewolf wrote:

Hm. I mishear things all the time, but mostly I just say "Sorry?" or "what did you say?" so that avoids this kind of problem...

Well aren't you just perfect, a barrell of laughs to no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,469 ✭✭✭MOH

Met a friend's girlfriend a few years ago for the first time in a noisy pub.
    I'd been talking at one stage about my time in Australia, then the music volume increased. At that stage I barely make out anything she was saying, and there's only so many time you can say 'pardon?', so I guessed as best I could.

Got a call from him the next day:
    "She thinks you're a bit weird. She was asking you questions about where you live and where you work, and you just kept talking about Melbourne casino."

She forgave me later though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Dub_girl_101

yeps! serving a group of like 10 lads at a table at the races n they ask "do u take bets also" while i was taking their drinks orders and i stupidly thought they said "can i have a plate of veg?" haha dont ask! but i ended up brining them a plate of veg....hahahaha omg the embarrassment...lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

yeps! serving a group of like 10 lads at a table at the races n they ask "do u take bets also" while i was taking their drinks orders and i stupidly thought they said "can i have a plate of veg?" haha dont ask! but i ended up brining them a plate of veg....hahahaha omg the embarrassment...lol

*Eugh*