Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MyRacing.ie Racing Syndicates

• 07-09-2007 5:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

Lads and Lassies,

We have just launched our new company which sets up and runs racing
    syndicates that are affordable. We form small syndicates (10 members) and
    we even provide the horse for free! €200 per month gets you everything and
    if your horse gets injured or is not up to much on the track, we replace it.

For those of you perhaps interested, go to www.myracing.ie to find out more.

Cheers,

Simon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭knighted

who is the trainer and have the horses been broke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Cantoris

Do I get to ask the same questions here Knighted??

Forgot to ask about that horse....and I was down there on Sat. Next time

yes i didnt go too hard in my reply to the op -can you imagine that 2 grand a month for the privilage of racing someone elses horse ,i absolutly love the way its worded on the website 'we will give you another for free' priceless

i know breeders who would fall over themselves to give anyone a free lease on one of there fillies -you just have to pay the training fees which would prob be half of the 2 grand quoted -then if they do well you find your lease is not renewed the next year and the horse goes back to the breeder -

but it can be used to as a springboard for people to get themselves into racing but not thru a company as offered -

the more i see these kind of offers the more i see the value in yours cantoris -i have one of the horses in a sydicate now (well 5 people -3xquater shares 2x one eighth shares )and frankly its a pain in the hole -everyone has there own ideas and tries to shout loudest never again unless its like what you do full management and no hassle on the individual -

anyway ,good day saturday ?hope hes going well for you all -dont worry about the other one was talking to the breeder and he said he should defo run this year ,im hoping he wins b4 we race the half sister (we think she really good )as it would do her value good ,so it was for selfish reasons i was asking lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Cantoris

Hi Knighted,

You know my view. I wonder if Mr. English would like to answer some of the questions from the other forum. It is an interesting concept in that it is cheap, with no capital outlay, but I just don't like it when you don't know what someone is making out of it. We all know the restaurants work on a third, a third, a third. And we know how much a publican makes on a pint. So why not know how much a manager makes from running a syndicate. It's the Michael O'Leary way of doing business. He doesn't mind a profit being made by his suppliers....just not an abnormal profit.

I haven't had any hassle with the syndicates in fairness. King guys are a great bunch. He didn't run for 18 months and not a word of discontent. Prob because I told them it would be two years before he would run. New horse is similar although a bigger syndicate. But it is all about communication and stable visits in my view.

What is the breeding of the half sis again and what is name of brother. I know you said before but I want to fire into horse tracker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 MyRacing.ie

Knighted,

I was just wondering why you seem to doubt the transparency of my operation? I can only surmise that either A) you have had bad experiences with syndicates before or B) you own your own horse, so therefore have plenty of money to spend and are perturbed by an individual like myself providing people, who might not have your purchasing power, with an opportunity to get into racing.

Allow me to break it down for you.

We provide each syndicate with a horse to run for 2 seasons. If the horse is good, it is not returned to the breeder until after the 2 seasons, and this is a signed agreement between MyRacing.ie and the breeder.

Also, our members are not paying for the privilege, spelled with an 'e' not and 'a', of running somebody else's horse, as all prizemoney won by the horse is divided amongst shareholders only.

Training fees are not €1000 per month I can guarantee you, particularly when you add all veterinary bills into the equation. We also run the risk of extraordinary veterinary bills for twisted gut 'colic', etc...

ALL members, unlike most syndicates, will gain free access to the races when their horses are running. We also have dedicated websites for each of our syndicates and provide constant communcation, once again unlike most syndicates out there. I am sure that you do not believe that there are no costs associated with running such an operation do you? Futhermore, you hardly expect me to run it for free do you?

Also, you seem to be amused by the suggestion that horses are replaced for free. I don't see why though considering it is the truth. If one of our horses is injured or is no use, IT IS REPLACED FOR FREE. Unlike owning your own horse and it gets injured or is no use, it is going to cost you a hell of a lot of money to replace it.

I have been in syndicates before and yes, when they are badly run and organised, they are a nightmare especially for members. But this will not be the case with our syndicates.

Any more questions or doubts???

Regards,

Simon.

Knighted,

I was just wondering why you seem to doubt the transparency of my operation? I can only surmise that either A) you have had bad experiences with syndicates before or B) you own your own horse, so therefore have plenty of money to spend and are perturbed by an individual like myself providing people, who might not have your purchasing power, with an opportunity to get into racing.

Allow me to break it down for you.

We provide each syndicate with a horse to run for 2 seasons. If the horse is good, it is not returned to the breeder until after the 2 seasons, and this is a signed agreement between MyRacing.ie and the breeder.

Also, our members are not paying for the privilege, spelled with an 'e' not and 'a', of running somebody else's horse, as all prizemoney won by the horse is divided amongst shareholders only.

Training fees are not €1000 per month I can guarantee you, particularly when you add all veterinary bills into the equation. We also run the risk of extraordinary veterinary bills for twisted gut 'colic', etc...

ALL members, unlike most syndicates, will gain free access to the races when their horses are running. We also have dedicated websites for each of our syndicates and provide constant communcation, once again unlike most syndicates out there. I am sure that you do not believe that there are no costs associated with running such an operation do you? Futhermore, you hardly expect me to run it for free do you?

Also, you seem to be amused by the suggestion that horses are replaced for free. I don't see why though considering it is the truth. If one of our horses is injured or is no use, IT IS REPLACED FOR FREE. Unlike owning your own horse and it gets injured or is no use, it is going to cost you a hell of a lot of money to replace it.

I have been in syndicates before and yes, when they are badly run and organised, they are a nightmare especially for members. But this will not be the case with our syndicates.

Any more questions or doubts???

Regards,

Simon.

let me first reply by wishing you all the best with your venture

yes i do own horses ,3 to race this season ,and let me assure you i am an ordinary bloke with a small business and in no way wealthy

now i have been involved in leaseing horses over the years ,some good some bad ,but as i stated a breeder will fall over himself to give you a 4 yr old filly or a 5 yo old mare on a free lease for a syndicate to race -everything is in favour of the breeder cause the value in a mare is in her future breeding so it will be a bonus if she wins for the syndicate as her broodmare value goes up

now at two grand a month being paid for training thats 24 grand a year if you are charging for the full 12 months -the average bumper and maiden hurdle races are for ten grand to twelve grand ,which after trainers ,jockeys and the hri funds get there share the winner is left with between five and six grand -so just to recoup the training fees your horse will have to win four times in one year -i find it bad marketing when people put on that all prize money will be split equally ,because only about 10% of horses ever pay there way with prizemoney

as for factoring in vets bills ,how could you possibly predict how much your vet will cost thru out the year ,other than the usual inspections and jabs required .will you or the trainer return any surplus money left over if your horse doesnt get sick or have colic during the year ?

as for training fees it is quite possible to train a horse on the curragh for a grand a month ,on top of this you will have eur1170 for curragh gallop fees per year and access to all the schooling grounds (22 euros a week )

quote "knighted I was just wondering why you seem to doubt the transparency of my operation? I can only surmise that either A) you have had bad experiences with syndicates before or B) you own your own horse, so therefore have plenty of money to spend and are perturbed by an individual like myself providing people, who might not have your purchasing power, with an opportunity to get into racing."

you use the word transparency -you havent been transparent you havent told people exactly how much of the two grand a month you will keep for yourself

secondly i am in no way perturbed with you as an individual provideing anything -its just that in the past year a few people or lurkers on this board have contacted me thru pm's enquiring as to an affordable way to get into racing -these people i have helped and pointed in the right direction for free ,because i do it for the love of the sport and not for personal gain -

i will continue to tell people what i think is right ,and its your right to fight your corner but at the end of the day you came on to this board to avail of free advertising to a target market and you have to accept other peoples points of view or comments weather they good or bad ,that is the nature of the internet

again,all the best with your venture ,hope my spelling is ok and i havent ruffled your feathers too much but being a business i will assume you envisaged negative feedback ,because you will need a brass neck in the horseracing world

knighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

alot of good points put across there by knighted
    we just started racing our own horse this year and there is alot more involved than some people think

Knighted,

You make some valid points I wholly agree. We are operating in different markets to a certain extent. However,

Firstly, no company would ever divulge how much they are making to their customers or others. When you go out and buy a TV in an electrical goods shop, do you ask how much profit they are making on the sale of the TV.
    If you did, you would be escorted out of the shop I would imagine.

However, rest be assured that after we pay trainers bills, vets (and you quite rightly point out that you never know how much these are going to be so we must make allowances especially from the experiences I have had, twice being the treasurer in syndicates), advertising costs (website, Google, Newstalk, Irish Field etc) and communication costs in addition to ticket costs for race days, there is not much change out of €2000.

Secondly, I do not believe that we are misleading members by saying that they get an equal share of prize money, as they do. Granted, unless the horse wins 2 or 3 races in a season, which is not beyond the realms of possibility, they will not directly recoup the €200 per month, but we clearly state on our website that MyRacing.ie is not to be viewed as a pure money making venture but more a social platform for a bit of fun.

Finally, yes, we have had plenty of interest from breeders offering their horses (not just fillies) but I don't see how there is anything wrong with this? The breeder is facilitating us by providing a horse for some fun for a few seasons and we are carrying no risk or liability, and in return he/she may have a decent broodmare after the 2 seasons. Problem?

Thank you for wishing me luck and yes, I am trying to create awareness for my company whatever way that I can as advertising is costly, and I can expect criticism, however, there are posts here from you that are going beyond criticism by way of accusing us, directly or otherwise of not being honest or up front and ripping people off.

Regards,

Simon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

Lol, "providing a horse for some fun".....

Imo, a syndicate such as this one is possibly the fastest way in the world for a person to get rid of €50 notes. Basically, you will not make money out of horses by being in a syndicate.

No matter how much you tart it up "myracing.ie" wouldn't be in business unless there was a sizeable profit to be made now would they? The only reason you've joined boards is to pimp your product for free; you offer nothing to this forum.

I won't even dignify that with a response.

Finally, yes, we have had plenty of interest from breeders offering their horses (not just fillies) but I don't see how there is anything wrong with this? The breeder is facilitating us by providing a horse for some fun for a few seasons and we are carrying no risk or liability, and in return he/she may have a decent broodmare after the 2 seasons. Problem?

Thank you for wishing me luck and yes, I am trying to create awareness for my company whatever way that I can as advertising is costly, and I can expect criticism, however, there are posts here from you that are going beyond criticism by way of accusing us, directly or otherwise of not being honest or up front and ripping people off.

Regards,

Simon.

ok i wont hide behind words ,i think the service you offer is bad value for money -this is not critisisim or accusing you of anything it is my honest and experienced opinion which i will stand behind -

you havent answered my original question ,are these horses broken ?

Below is a list of just some of our horses for our syndicates 2007/2008:

• 3yo filly by Alderbrook (7 places left)

• 5yo filly by Old Vic (3 places left)

• 4yo filly by Second Empire (6 places left)

• 4yo gelding by Beneficial (6 places left)

• 4yo filly by Shernazar from the family of Refinement. (10 places left)

• 4yo filly by Presenting (10 places left)

• 4yo filly by Lord Of Appeal (10 places left)

• 4yo filly by Oscar (8 places left)

• 3yo filly by Tel Quel out of Timber Toes (10 places left)

if these horses arnt broken at this stage they will be doing very well to be on the racetrack for this coming season so it will be dead training fees for the first year ,so a syndicate will get one season racing for a total cost of 48 grand (assuming you dont give a discount for when the horse is at grass)

if the horse does very well the breeder can take it back after the second year and either race it himself or breed from it -this is the nature of free leases
    i will agree that free leases are a stepping stone for people to get on to the racing ladder but there are cheaper ways of doing it

if i went in to an electrical shop to buy a tv ,u are correct i cant ask the margins ,but what i can do is quiz the sales man on the product and quality of the tv ,and hopefully he will be professional enough to answer my concerns ,if not he in the wrong job

so to finish ,you came on promoting a service and i responded with questions and my own personal views ,as im sure you know ,its your job to promote your business and its my job to inform members on boards.ie of my views ,but as far as advertising goes i think i have helped you create awareness here with our debate as this thread has attracted well over 200 views so i think we will have to agree to disagree and you shouldnt take critisisism or opinions so personally as its a professional business you are running and you should maintain a professional detatchment -

again all the best with your venture

knighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭decies

I myself was in a racing club different i know but we were promised stable trips and the like did it happen ? Did it $%^&? Might i suggest avoid this like the Plague :mad: I reckon you have as much chance of actually making money out of this as on the euro millions every friday:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    I got more satisfaction in joining the tramore racecourse supporters club,cost me 120 euro and regulary run well organised trips to other race courses and a stable trip to michael hourigans yard last year.

i love going racing in tramore ,weird track but the racegoers are top notch genuine racing folk you never know who you talking too and they are willing to talk ,which makes a change lol -wonder what the new track will be like but im sure the local folk will support it -i had a runner there couple of years ago fell at the last ,stayed down for a while and very few left the stands till back up on feet and a huge cheer ,memory of that cheer will stay with me forever ,:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Ok,

This thread has the potential to veer very much off targe, and probably to the detriment of boards, as opposed to any of the parties posting here.

myracing.ie , you've promoted your site and said your bit, good luck with it.

Any other information that is needed on this venture from any users can be gleaned directly from the website.

Hobart.