Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Field Archery in Ireland

• 05-09-2007 7:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭

Hi all.

Just want to post all info on the state of field archery in the country, and try and tempt some or all of you to join us in the forests! :D

Bit of history first. Last year Rohan O'Duill from Woodbrook Archery in Wicklow was the first Irish archer to qualify for the world championships in field archery - they were held in Sweden. As a result, we were able to host a world ranking event this year and next year. Following on from that, Rohan set up a field squad for those interested in field archery. So far, this includes Rohan, Niamh, myself, Niall Doyle, John Roach, Ian Carey and Colm Griffen. Some or all of us have now shot field courses in England, NI, Wales, Holland, Germany and then the European Championships in Croatia. Its starting to take off a bit in the country, and is sufficiently different from target archery to be interesting and good craic!

We are in the process of setting up an Irish Field Archery committee of the IAAA, and we will soon have our own website with all relevant details, but in the meantime here are some useful links.

Photos of Irish archers at field shoots are at the Woodbrook Archers site and the NUIG site

What field archery is and a guide to it can be found here

And dates of shoots are here

The current World Rankings for field (there are a few of us in it!) are here

And a good resourse page with lots of info and pictures and the likes is here

As anyone who was at the Irelands Ultimate Archer competition recently will know, field is great craic so anyone who wants to know more just get in touch with me.

The current qualification scores for squad, as well as qualification scores for the World Championships next year are below. The scores are out of a total of 720, over 48 targets with 24 at marked distances and 24 at unmarked distances and shot over 2 days.

Squad Qualification
    Junior men’s/ladies Barebow: 375
    Junior men’s/ladies Recurve: 500
    Junior men’s/ladies Compound: 550

Ladies Barebow 420
    Mens Barebow 500
    Ladies Recurve 500
    Men’s Recurve 550
    Ladies Compound 600

World Championships 2008

Mens Recurve (senior/Junior) 626 / 578
    Mens Barebow (senior/Junior) 564 / 541
    Mens Compound (senior/Junior) 704 / 667
    Ladies Recurve (senior/Junior) 605 / 503
    Ladies Barebow (senior/Junior) 566 / 485
    Ladies Compound (senior/Junior) 664 / 632

European Championships 2009

Mens Recurve 596 / 599
    Mens Barebow 571 / 517
    Mens Compound 702 / 685
    Ladies Recurve 591 / 534
    Ladies Barebow 534 / 462
    Ladies Compound 691 / 585

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

have done this once before, down in Cavan, and quite liked, but living in Dubiln, Cavan is a bit of a spin for a bit of craic,

Just wondering where you guys are based ??

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Panserborn

The Field commettee is made up by IAAA members from all over Ireland, so we're not really based centrally anywhere. Most of the shoots take place in the North so we often meet up in Dublin and make our way from there. When the squad traning kicks in it will probably be in Wicklow and Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Carebear11

Wicklow or Dublin? Dont ya mean Rohans place mac?

Yup, Rohans gaff and the-golf-course-near-Rohans-gaff are the official names of our training locations! :D

A contingent of Irish field archers shot in the Loughbrickland Autumn Shoot last weekend in Co. Down in Northern Ireland (21-22 Oct), this was a British and Irish Record Status event. The archers who took part were:

Rohan O'Duill (Barebow, Woodbrook)
    Alan Lynch (Junior Barebow, Woodbrook)
    Macdara Glynn (Compound, NUIG)
    Robert Clarke (Compound, Leixlip)
    Dave Reynolds (Compound, Summerhill)
    Aidan Wrenne (Compound, Cork City Archers)
    Colm Griffen (Recurve, Woodbrook)
    Oly Grant (Recurve, NUIG)
    Eric Kelly (Recurve, Leixlip)

It turned out to be a sucessful trip all round. This was a "first time out" for Alan, Oly, Rob and Aidan. Also, a total of 4 new Irish records were set this weekend. Rohan set a new Double Arrowhead Barebow record with a score of 574, Mac set a new Compound Single Mixed Round record with a score of 332, Eric set a new Recurve Single Mixed Round record by scoring 301 and finally Alan set both the Double Arrowhead Junior Barebow and the Junior Barebow Single Mixed Round records with scores of 174 and 96 respectively.

Well done to all!

By the way, all the info I've posted here so far has been concerned with FITA Field Archery. I know very little about I.F.A.A. field archery, but if anyone involved in IFAA or IFAF want to post info here then feel free!

FYI

From the 1st of April 2008 new field archery rules will be introduced for FITA Field Shoots. These are .............

1. Shooting time will be reduced to 3 minutes for all round types

2. The X-ring will be now worth 6 points

The second rule means we had to change the qualifying scores to the following for the World Championships:

Men’s Senior compound 783
    Women’s Senior compound 711
    Men’s Senior Recurve 650
    Women’s Senior Recurve 611
    Men’s Senior Barebow 582
    Women’s Senior barebow 576

These scores will be only implimented from the 1st of April, before this date the previous scores will be used.

Good Shooting!

MacD

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭spudnick

hey been hearing alot of good stuff bout this field archery and want tar give it a go,where would one practice it we have a field range at drewstown but its v.cold and dark when we train so anywhere else do it??

That kinda comes with the teratory of doing field at this time of year in Ireland. My advice, stick out the cold and you will enjoy it! Sure there was a blizzard last year at the national champs and most people still had a great time!

Hey Mac, quick question do you have the new junior qual scores (seeing as how the scores are gona be higher from april) yet for the field world champs?
    Let me know what im in for, ya know!

Carebear11 wrote: »
    Hey Mac, quick question do you have the new junior qual scores (seeing as how the scores are gona be higher from april) yet for the field world champs?
    Let me know what im in for, ya know!

Heyya.

Not yet. The problem is that we are looking for the score breakdowns of the previous championships (ie, Xs, 5s and 4s) so we can recalculate them. The junior breakdowns are proving a little hard to come by though. I would reckon a (very rough) guideline would be to add, say 10% to the current score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 manonthestreet

Athlone is proud of you. Way to go all the way to Beijing. Practise was very good last week.

Do you mean Joe Gill? Also of Athlone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Balthemos

bealbocht wrote: »
    have done this once before, down in Cavan, and quite liked, but living in Dubiln, Cavan is a bit of a spin for a bit of craic,

Just wondering where you guys are based ??
    Hello, I am with ITFAS (irish traditional field archery society) its a group of field archery clubs around d country, and I'm fairly certain there is one,if not more, in Dublin...Look into it/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 olymacfoogal

reduced to 3 minutes? that kinda puts pressure on ye if ye have to "take it down and maybe tweak the old sight a wee bit..." whose gonna be enforcing it in a forest?

On the marked course 3 min is grand, unmarked is where it becomes an issue. Usually nobody times it (at regional and national level anyway), but if one group is holding up the show the judges come around and time ya. Or (can happen!) a judge will be watching from a vantage point and time the archers without them knowing - removes points later for late shots!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Scottish Rob

Just a reminder for all you field archers, and those that want to give it a go, that the Irish Archery Club is hosting a competition on the 26th and 27th of April in Rahin Wood on the Kildare/Meath Border just north of Eddenderry. There are quite a few people coming down from the North for this one and so we will be using red,blue, white and yellow pegs to cover all categories. Don't be put off by the thought of losing arrows or long distances; if you havn't shot further than 18m before then you will be put in one of the shorter distance categories, (red peg max distance = 60m, blue peg max distance = 50m, white peg max distance = 30m and yellow peg max distance = 15m) . There are IAC and IAAA medals for this event as well as the trophies but the main reason for you to enter should be the great craic that these shoots are. Pay up your IAAA membership (for insurance) and come along and give it a go; you won't regret it. Further details on the IAAA and IAC websites
    http://archery.ie/

Hi Rob

Is it 2 mixed rounds or is it a Marked course and an Unmarked course? Also, is it an Arrowhead Status event?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Scottish Rob

Hi the saturday is unmarked and the sunday marked and yes it is an arrowhead event.. its up on the FITA calendar

Just an event update ........

A clutch of Irish Field Archers travelled to Ballywater, Northern Ireland (at the top of "Ireland's Ponytail thing" in Co. Down) last weekend to shoot in the FITA Double Arrowhead taking place there. This was the first shoot we shot in where the X now scores a 6.

The squad was:

Rohan O'Duill (Barebow)
    Colm Griffen (Barebow)
    Niamh Bhreathnach (Barebow)
    Niall Doyle (Recurve)
    John Roach (Recurve)
    Macdara Glynn (Compound Unlimited)

It was a sucessful trip with Niamh and Mac winning their sections and Niall taking silver in the recurve. Niall was also only a point away from claiming the White arrowhead, this would be only the second white arrowhead to be claimed by an Irish archer.

A new set of Irish Field records were started to allow for the new X=6 rule, here they are:

Mens Compound Unlimited Double Arrowhead: 682 - Mac
    Mens Compound Unlimited Mixed Round: 349 - Mac

Ladies Barebow Double Arrowhead: 553 - Niamh
    Ladies Barebow Mixed Round: 278 - Niamh

Mens Barebow Double Arrowhead: 573 - Rohan
    Mens Barebow Mixed Round: 295 - Rohan

Mens Recurve Double Arrowhead: 625 - Niall
    Mens Recurve Mixed Round: 315 - Niall

The next event will be the Northern Ireland National Championships in Castlewellan next weekend where most of the squad will again compete.

A firm pat on the back to Rohan O'Duill and Kieth Hanlon who competed in the World Field Championships this week in Wales.

The weather was utterly horrendous, there was no let up in the rain. Two archers were hospitalised and the second day of qualification was cancelled for the sake of safety. On the first day most of the compounders and recurvers couldn't finish the course either due to the condidtions.

But the two lads survived and can be proud of the fact that they got through what previous world champions have called "the toughest two days of archery in anyones career".

Pictures here and here

hmm thought dave cousins had that in the bag-well done to rob menzer tho!!

wonder if he was using his own points tho??

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

• Registered Users Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

keith looks old :-)

thats because it is a bernadini :D:D

What riser is Keith shooting?

It almost looks like a Bernadini..

It is. The Luxor I think. Dave is shooting one as well these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Notafraggle

Panserborn wrote: »
    It is. The Luxor I think. Dave is shooting one as well these days.

Go on the Bernardinis!!! Even prettier in purple! :)

Ah yes, the Barney the Dinosaur model. I know it well.

Its actully a Nilo the Luxor is the 27" version that Rohan has with the full grip.....

Here are the qualification scores required for the Euro Champs this year.
    The European Field Archery Championships are being held in Champagnac - France on the 18th – 23rd of August 2009

Qualification scores must be achieved at a Full 2 day FITA arrowhead shoot.

Qualification Scores European Field Championships 2009

Junior Scores

Barebow Junior Women 495
    Barebow Junior Men 557
    Recurve Junior Women 562
    Recurve Junior Men 612
    Compound Junior Women 632
    Compound Junior Men 747

Senior Scores

Barebow Women 559
    Barebow Men 580
    Recurve Women 593