Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leica r8 or similar & 400d or 40d

• 05-09-2007 2:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭

Looking for some buying advice on 2 fronts.

1. Id like some old slr camera to get the grainy black and white pictures, something like leica r8. Is there a cheaper alternative..

2. I was considering moving up from an olympus 5040w, to a decent DSLR, will i notice the differance between 400d and 40d.. Price is not a huge issue but i dont want to throw it away either on something i wont use.. Ill be paying 550e for the 400d and 950 for the 40d.. Ill be buying the camera body in ireland and ill get lenses from ebay.. I like the local warrenty on the body..

Any help greatly accepted..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Why not buy the body outside Ireland and get a Mack Warranty? That's as good as or better than a manufacturer warranty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭georgey

Get the 40D it has some great new Features on there and is more solid and will handle better, as for a film camera see if you can pick up an EOS3 I love mine you will be able to use all your EF lens and it has a lot of EOS1 features and build, it also has eye control focusing and great AF. IMHO you should only consider Leica if you intend on buying a rangefinder I have an M4 and it is sooooo sweet to use, dont under value Canon glass when it comes to SLR they can and do hold their own with a lot of Leica and Zeiss gear.
    Philip

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,876 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

the R8 is not that old a camera, and as regards cheaper alternatives (in the secondhand market, anyway), pretty much every single other MF SLR will be cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

Speaking from experience, there's a massive difference between the 400D & the 40D.

They're as different as a Nissan Micra & a Hummer.
    !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

jaysus I could use a hummer right about now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

I could do with a second one. Finding it very hard to love my 400D now. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭soccerc

City-Exile wrote:
    I could do with a second one. Finding it very hard to love my 400D now. :(

You should love all your children equally :D The new born may get all your latest attention but it's sibling will still provide lots and lots of satisfaction ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭aidankk

I was only talking about the leica r8 as it has autofocus, and seems to be cheaper second hand than some of the older MF Leicas..

How about some contax SLRs they seem better value than the leica, again this would be purly for old style grainy b&w shots..

Ill probableygo for the 40d as that seems the general opinion..

The attached photo is the type i want to take a series of but, the bad light needs a better camera in think. Blacks are washed out and grainy..

Just remembered ive got an old Yashica 300AF slr in the shed, and there are a good few lenses on ebay at the right price..

Anyone know how this camera might do for nice B&W shots.. I bought it too close to the begining of digital and it got very little use...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

rymus wrote:
    jaysus I could use a hummer right about now...
    for what? got 400galons of petrol need gone today or you get punished? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭mtracey

It'll be the film not the camera that'll give you the nice grain ;)

mtracey wrote:
    It'll be the film not the camera that'll give you the nice grain ;)

What type of film should i get, from what ive just read this camera is quite decent for something that was fecked out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Camera = light tight box.
    Lens + film = results.

And if you'll be going with a decent dslr, then make sure you're film and digi bodies will take the same lenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Roen wrote:
    Camera = light tight box.
    Lens + film = results.

Aaaaah, I love that equation. These days with stupid sensors you can't get away with the light tight box argument anymore :(

Is there a particular reason you don't want to get a 35mm slr that all your lenses will fit on?

And - where have you seen the 40d in ireland for less than a grand? :eek:

Between the 400d and the 40d, there's a pretty huge jump - megapixels, hmmm you get a few more but I'm not sure what the discernable difference is, build quality and physical size is the huge difference really, plus you get hugher fps if that's your bag, live view which I'm hoping will cut down on my contorting into compromising positions to see through theviewfinder, spot metering, *hopefully* better high iso low light performance, you know, stuff like that. I got a 350d last april and I'm pretty much grown out of it now. Seems like a toy after getting used to handling 30d/5ds :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,876 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

aidankk wrote:
    What type of film should i get, from what ive just read this camera is quite decent for something that was fecked out..
    neopan 1600 and delta 3200 should suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭ladgie353

aidankk wrote:
    Looking for some buying advice on 2 fronts.

1. Id like some old slr camera to get the grainy black and white pictures, something like leica r8. Is there a cheaper alternative..

2. I was considering moving up from an olympus 5040w, to a decent DSLR, will i notice the differance between 400d and 40d.. Price is not a huge issue but i dont want to throw it away either on something i wont use.. Ill be paying 550e for the 400d and 950 for the 40d.. Ill be buying the camera body in ireland and ill get lenses from ebay.. I like the local warrenty on the body..

Any help greatly accepted..

Easy, get an eos 30/50 film camera (peanuts on ebay) or if you can afford it an EOS 3
    Get the 40d or even the 30d, after using an EOS 30/3, you won't be able to use the 400d (the visor is way too small to use manual focus correctly).
    Add a few lens adaptors (EOS to M42, EOS to Contax) and a few Zeiss lenses and you're laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Sebzy

aidankk I'm selling my Olympus OM10 MF SLR with 50mm f1.8 lens and an OM4ti on ebay now if your interested. Could save on shipping if your around Dublin.

how much are you looking for for the 4Ti?
    getting out of 35mm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Sebzy

how much are you looking for for the 4Ti?
    getting out of 35mm?

Well it against boards policy to sell here so it's up for auction on ebay
    Linkies
    OM4ti OM10

I'm selling off my surplus film kit to buy an expensive lens 35-100 F2 :)

Still have an 4ti and range of lenses so in now way am I getting out of the game.

hmm. i already have a 4ti, a 1n, and an i think malfunctioning 4.