Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why you love Airsoft

• 04-09-2007 10:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭

Ok folks, I'm looking for honest responses from everyone. What is it, besides the "Dis gunz is tre-1337 HaXoRs" stuff, that you love the most about Airsoft and why?

Comaradaerie, tailoring your equipment, the thrill of the skirmish or just plain old excercise?

Some of the best ones will be featured in the next press release, so try and keep it reletively clean and mature ;)

Let us know what you love about airsoft! 94 votes

Because real bullets hurt!
    0% 0 votes
    I am Walter Mitty
    10% 10 votes
    Other excercise is boring
    1% 1 vote
    I love the moving bits ... oooooh shiny!
    14% 14 votes
    Its a thinking mans sport - I love Strategy & Tactics
    2% 2 votes
    Something about camo ....
    15% 15 votes
    I'm a grown man playing soldier ... 'nuff said
    5% 5 votes
    The socialising/camaraderie
    18% 17 votes
    Why play videogames when I can do it for real?
    11% 11 votes
    Its all about the guns baby!
    20% 19 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I suppose the first is reliving my childhood playing soldiers. Next is the fact I am getting off my ar$e and running around the countryside and getting some exercise which is important at my age and something alot of men are not doing.

Also there is the social aspect of airsoft, have met a lot of varied characters in the short period of taking up airsoft as a hobby and the majority have been very welcoming and friendly (apart from the time they riddle you with bb's!!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

I added a poll just because we havent had one in a while.

Still, leave your own words though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Walter Mitty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Guns, guns, guns. Always had an interest in military hardware, from aircraft carriers down to pistols.

Plus I enjoy the BS sessions in the safe zone.

krazy_8s wrote:
    Walter Mitty?

Walter Mitty was a character from a short story whose daydreams of being an exceptional or heroic person slowly took over his life to the point where he was less involved with the reality than his fantasies.

Great short story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭davvowl

Shiva wrote:
    Plus I enjoy the BS sessions in the safe zone.
    omg so true.

so yeah for me the main thing is "socializing"

and you should add another option : "i was told there was free bbq so i came over"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

gandalf wrote:
    I suppose the first is reliving my childhood playing soldiers. Next is the fact I am getting off my ar$e and running around the countryside and getting some exercise which is important at my age and something alot of men are not doing.

Also there is the social aspect of airsoft, have met a lot of varied characters in the short period of taking up airsoft as a hobby and the majority have been very welcoming and friendly (apart from the time they riddle you with bb's!!).

That's what I was going to write. Thanks for doing it for me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

(i) Because it's combined outdoors exercising for both your body & your brain

(ii) Because it's the only hobby I know, which combines collectioning and complete exercising

(iii) Because once the skirmish is under way, [BHD]it's all about the man next to you[/BHD]

(iv) Because it's far more fun (and manly :D) recounting CQB/skirmish stories at the Pub than eagles and birdies at the 19th Hole

(v) [because of (i) to (iv) above] Because it's such a niche, specialist hobby that it's only likely to attract like-minded individuals, which makes for great socialising

(vi) Well, yeah, of course there's the small matter of the equipment... I'd class that under the "like-minded individuals" tag, though

(vii) Because it's less dangerous than, and probably provides just as much thrills as, jumping out of a perfectly-serviceable and functioning aircraft with a few kilos of silk on yer back, or from a bridge when tied to an oversized rubber band :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

strattics, nuff said. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

"Forget about the badge!!! When do we get the freakin guns?!?!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

it's healthy, it's physically and mentally challenging, it's different every time, it encourages fair play and honour, it's affordable, the craic is mighty, and *anyone* can find a role that suits them.

all in all is just a great universal and dare i say "family" sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The women dig the uniforms :D:D as for the rest shiva and crazy said it all
    ,its one of the few sports ive taken part in , makes you work as a team ,none of this watch how im the best player ,and where else can u go and see a roman advance on a saturday afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

1.FUN
    2.Guns....:D
    3.A day of exercise at a time
    4.Teamwork
    5.Gotta use your head
    6.Because Real bullets hurt
    7.Because PB is far to dear and leaves you purple!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

Its the guns man. :D

Always liked handguns and got a collection of springers together. Never had any interest in rifles until I brought back my LPEG from Salou. Now I love both AEG and handguns alike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

loved action man as a kid, now i have a six foot tall one :)

That and the whole look of the guns, have always had an intetest in anything to do with the military.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

Being able to shoot someone and laugh about it later and because regular exercise sucks its a hell of alot more interesting with bbs flying past your head haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Same as most I'd say. Get to act out childhood fantasys without the possibility of getting dead. The one thing you learn from playing Airsoft and war games like operation flaspoint is that, in a real world war situation you will more than likely end up being killed. Which is not cool.

For me I guess its satisfying the evolutionary imperative of my gender. I.e. Shooting at moving targets.

There is something about the way airsoft is played. The tactics, the equipment, making the right decisions at the right moment or you are out.

That and I like to fight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭H.O.T.A.S.

Somewhat paraphrased “I wanted to travel to exotic Swords, the jewel of Northeast Dublin. I wanted to meet interesting people from an old and distinguished culture... and kill them. I wanted to be the first kid on my block with a confirmed kill!" :D
    I suppose it’s a great excuse to run around outdoors. Always been a fan of military weaponry. Enjoy the collecting and tinkering of the guns. Having to use your brain to overcome obstacles and the craic afterwards as your recollect your most over the top, Ramboesque heroic death scene to date!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

H.O.T.A.S. wrote:
    and the craic afterwards as your recollect your most over the top, Ramboesque heroic death scene to date!

Mine was last Saturday,
    ...outnumbered 10-to-1 or more, last man standing at the last firebase, 4 rifles at hand (2x MP4, MP5, Bar10) all emptied, empty mags strewn all over, not one loaded mag in sight, no backup, no BBs in the speedloader in the crate, with the attackers about 10 seconds behind me and rushing...

... and that and the following about sums up "why I love Airsoft": because I can't wait to do it again!

(I really should have been throwing empty mags or handfulls of BBs at the attackers - be warned, I will next time :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

ambro25 wrote:
    (I really should have been throwing empty mags or handfulls of BBs at the attackers - be warned, I will next time :D )

Next time i wont wait so long to retreat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

its fun...plain and simple, for me anyways...

and as for walter mitty...every sport is filled with that...if i see another rooney shirt i will puke blood or top end football boots...please dont tell me people who are crap golfers are buying ping golf clubs and nike because they want to be some knacker from (enter part of ireland here), its because they believe they are a **** hot golfer in waiting or whatever that guy is from the US...they may as well use the ones from lidl, for gods sake....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I love the team play. I love the winning as a team and loosing as a team. I love working together and how everyone plays a part right from the newbie to the pro. This, for me, is something you don't get in other team sports. Everyone knows that on your own, your feiced, you have to work together.

bump

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

At this moment, I love it for my G36 :)

Hopefully soon I'll make it to HRTA and love it for getting to play soldier. Badly no doubt, but hey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭RC car fanatic

I love guns and this is the closest ill get to them1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭odonnell

living out my unrealised military dream, and i was getting injured at soccer too much - getting a broken hand and being in architecture - NOT GREAT! Lets just shoot people instead, in a friendly manner of course.