Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker Royale

• 03-09-2007 12:25am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭

POKER ROYALE
    100% payout on all events
    Pro Dealers tables chips and cards

Every Monday - Bakers Corner Deansgrange
    €50+€10 F/O
    Reg. 7.30pm Start 8pm

Every Tuesday - Wicklow Arms Delgany
    €50+€10 F/O
    Reg. 7.30pm Start 8pm

Every Thursday - Plaza Hotel Ballymun
    €50+€10 F/O
    Reg. 7.30pm Start 8pm

Every Sunday - Wicklow Arms Delgany
    €50+€10 F/O
    Reg. 6.30pm Start 7pm

Starting Stack 6,000 20min blinds

Would you be interested in playing? 11 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 11 votes

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Please post all details when posting tournament information as per the charter here. Next time posts from you that don't have this info will be deleted.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

Dealers and rake in cash games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

the rake in the cash games is;

pot size: €11 - €1 rake
    €22 - €2 rake

and so on capped at €5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

starting stacks and blind structure?

carlop wrote:
    starting stacks and blind structure?
    6,000 and 20 min blind levels starting at 50/100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Valhalla

I was out at your game in Bakers Corner last week. Big numbers - 40+

However, it was a shambles, your 'cash games' to my knowledge are illegal and are in contrevention of the alcohol act. Whoever was running it seemed only interested in the side action and didnt give two hoots about the tournie. It was the WORST RUN game I have ever been to. I dont know if the staff are aware of whats going on in there but I have met the owner before in one of his other pubs and I will be sure to let him know that you are giving his pub a bad name.

If your going to run tournies and charge for it, do it right for gods sake!

Valhalla wrote:
    I was out at your game in Bakers Corner last week. Big numbers - 40+

However, it was a shambles, your 'cash games' to my knowledge are illegal and are in contrevention of the alcohol act. Whoever was running it seemed only interested in the side action and didnt give two hoots about the tournie. It was the WORST RUN game I have ever been to. I dont know if the staff are aware of whats going on in there but I have met the owner before in one of his other pubs and I will be sure to let him know that you are giving his pub a bad name.

Thats a bit harsh. How was it a shambles? Its the best around as far as pub tournies go. Back up your statement with facts if your going to be slinging mud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Cash games in pubs are illegal FACT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

At the least the reg fee is out in the open. 20% is a little high for a game that has smaller over heads. But its no less than all the other games are probably taking. at least you know how much it is.

Mellor wrote:
    At the least the reg fee is out in the open. 20% is a little high for a game that has smaller over heads. But its no less than all the other games are probably taking. at least you know how much it is.
    well I dont know what the legal standing for cash games is so I can't comment on that. The reg fee is advertised and a tenner isnt bad for a well run game. They are also totally transparent with the rake and that transparency is the main thing missing from poorly run pub games all over dublin.

eoghan104 wrote:
    well I dont know what the legal standing for cash games .

surely you should look into it if you are running cash games. Ignorance of the law is no excuse for breaking it.

Killme00 wrote:
    surely you should look into it if you are running cash games. Ignorance of the law is no excuse for breaking it.
    I dont run this tournament and never have had any involvment except for being a player. Ive played this game a lot as it is close to home and I just am sticking up for the organisers as I think they run a good game and are doing there best to keep that going.

As soon as someone sees a pub tournie they automatically expect it to be crap. This is the best around IMO and a great place for beginners to get experience playing live. Everyone has to start somewhere don't forget.

I was unimpressed your attitude on the side games. The dealer was actively trying to get people to increase pot size so he could rake more. Saying - 'lads come on this is boring' and the likes of that, commenting on hands, that sort of stuff. TD seemed unsure what to do (although staff were decent and polite) Your ILLEGAL cash games are sleazy and looks terrible. As regards to no better tournaments in the area, there are 3/4 better ones! Maybe I caught you on a bad night. But I have to say when I came out of there last time I was not the only one who had bad things to say. You should stop being greedy with the cash tables and concentrate on your Tournament and STT. If the owner of this place finds out(which he will) about illegal carry on he will boot you out of there, you are just giving yourself a bad name.

Valhalla wrote:
    Just to clarify, I dont work for Poker Royale.

You say that the dealer was encouraging action to try increase rake. Ive played with these guys maybe 40 times and Ive never heard the dealer say anything like that. He likes to have banter with the table and I like the majority of others find him a very affable guy. Maybe he was just having a bit of craic? I severley doubt it was a ploy to generate rake.

Why do the cash games look "sleazy and terrible"?? This statment I find very odd. Nice tables, chips and cards as good as any casino to me is not "sleazy".

You say they should stop being "greedy" running cash games. I think it is great to offer cash games to non casino players. Whatever the law is aside, I think its great to have these games on offer. The players all love the cash games and if they wanted STT's they would 100% be accomodated. Its a matter of public demand more than greed.

Im sure you were not the only one to have gripes with the game as "you can't please all the people all the time". The majority of the players find these games an enjoyable and social game of poker that offers good value for money.

Without being rude, and this is not meant to cause offence, but did you win on the night in question? If you had of won the €1,000 1st prize or a few buy ins at the "sleazy cash game" would you have felt different?

The night you were in Bakers was the 1st night for these guys in the new venue. Maybe there were teething problems on the night but as a whole i think these guys put on a great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Valhalla wrote:
    However, it was a shambles, your 'cash games' to my knowledge are illegal and are in contrevention of the alcohol act.

And if its illegal in iself so what?? There are hundereds of such games going on around the country and if the players are happy and the organisers are upfront re: the rake then what's your problem. If you don't like to the way its run then don't play.
    Valhalla wrote:

And do you expect them to run tourneys without charging???

You sound like a right barrell of laughs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

I play with these dudes every tuesday. My regular game. Well run IMO. The cash games are a bit of craic too. I don't really care if it's illeagal.

@Val : I'm sorry you didn't do very well in bakers. Maybe next time you'll cash big time and forget about getting on your high horse.

@Eoghan : That'll teach you for standing up for 2 muckers !

Zac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Idu

they used to give out free pizza at the break too. cant argue with that

And if its illegal in iself so what?? There are hundereds of such games going on around the country and if the players are happy and the organisers are upfront re: the rake then what's your problem. If you don't like to the way its run then don't play.

And do you expect them to run tourneys without charging???

You sound like a right barrell of laughs.

1st of all BARRELL is spelt B A R R E L, perhaps you missed that spelling class in primary school..

Quote - "And do you expect them to run tourneys without charging???"

along with missing the paying attention class.

You obviously did not read everything that was said earlier only the bit that you wanted to read.

I have no problem with rake and they have been very much upfront about it, that I cannot dispute and that was NEVER my point.

I just said that the cash game looked terrible, perhaps they should rethink about doing them in pubs. I felt that the tournament suffered because of it. The pub could lose their licence over it

Eoghan & Newbie

BTW - actually did well enough in the tournie(didnt cash though), I didnt take part in the cash games I was them watching for an hour or so.

And..

I agree with you about the teething problems, i would say its very hard starting out doing these things with all the established competition thats out there. I do hope that they take some positives out of this and I hope they do well in the future.

Valhalla wrote:
    1st of all BARRELL is spelt B A R R E L, perhaps you missed that spelling class in primary school..

Quote - "And do you expect them to run tourneys without charging???"

along with missing the paying attention class.

You obviously did not read everything that was said earlier only the bit that you wanted to read.

I have no problem with rake and they have been very much upfront about it, that I cannot dispute and that was NEVER my point.

I just said that the cash game looked terrible, perhaps they should rethink about doing them in pubs. I felt that the tournament suffered because of it. The pub could lose their licence over it

Eoghan & Newbie

BTW - actually did well enough in the tournie(didnt cash though), I didnt take part in the cash games I was them watching for an hour or so.

And..

I agree with you about the teething problems, i would say its very hard starting out doing these things with all the established competition thats out there. I do hope that they take some positives out of this and I hope they do well in the future.

no need to be a....can you spell TOSSER...to get your point across

And you never mentioned the free pizza..that changes everything..its like rakeback

Valhalla wrote:
    I just said that the cash game looked terrible, perhaps they should rethink about doing them in pubs. I felt that the tournament suffered because of it. The pub could lose their licence over it.

Im not nitpicking here but what about a cash game "looks terrible"?? In what way did it look different to a casino cash game??

Maybe next time you try playing it without calling it "sleazy" and "terrible"
    Valhalla wrote:
    And..

They have seen this thread and have taken all the comments on board. I hope they go from strenght to strenght and I think they will. They are planning a EPT feeder game at the moment so watch this space.

Killme00 wrote:
    no need to be a....can you spell TOSSER...to get your point across

And you never mentioned the free pizza..that changes everything..its like rakeback

Your right Killme00

I got annoyed because he didnt read it.

Apologies Collite Bhoy.... I was out of line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭imalegend

Valhalla is the BIG MAN WITH HIS BIG FONT.

The run good games that are transparent,the cash games are illegal but who cares.It saves anyone who lives far enough away from the Dublin having to travel to the casino to play live cash games.

It is simple if you dont like it dont go,hate to say it but TOSSER'S aren't welcome at these types of games cos they are always a bit of craic.

I play a good bit of poker in town as a good few boardies know and i enjoy these as a bit of fun on a cheeky sunday or tuesday night.

P.S. Jannette is always on clubs,don't ever make the mistake thinking she isnt!!

P.P.S. ace 9 suited is a SERIOUS hand and its a handy way of picking up some serious looking ladies!!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

I have played in tournemnts by almost all event organisers in the country & I can honestly say your events have the Worst game play I have ever seen.
    Normally a freeze out improves game play but not in this case ...
    Around 30 players...
    Maybe I was at the wrong table but it was full of all in merchants with any 2 cards....
    2nd hand in with blinds still 50/100 they were betting 2000+ with nothing...
    top pairs been dogged with any 2 cards..
    I would recommend the donaghmede Inn on a thursday night over the Ballymun Plaza ( And thats saying something)
    If its a bingo game yis want go to whitehall Lads.
    Crazy Play & your cash games arn't any better ( wasn't playing BTW just watched thank god!!)) same standard with any 2 cards. Generally the dogging hand got lucky. Crazy Play.. Best avoided unles your playing a freeroll on paddypower, the standard is about the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

koolkid wrote: »
    I have played in tournemnts by almost all event organisers in the country & I can honestly say your events have the Worst game play I have ever seen.
    Around 30 players...
    Maybe I was at the wrong table but it was full of all in merchants with any 2 cards....
    I would recommend the donaghmede Inn on a thursday night over the Ballymun Plaza ( And thats saying something)
    Crazy Play & your cash games arn't any better ( wasn't playing BTW just watched thank god!!)) same standard with any 2 cards. Generally the dogging hand got lucky. Crazy Play.. Best avoided unles your playing a freeroll on paddypower, the standard is about the same.

I don't understand, what are you actually complaining about.
    This sounds outstanding.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

What is outstanding about bingo players...
    I like a decent standard of play.. Not just playing for the luck of the draw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 PokerNoob

wow.... 1e rake on 11e pot, 2e rake on 22e pot etc etc...that's amazing...

I cant believe there isn't more complaining about that... Imean, all of the vicious complaining that went on about the Bank's 5%... these lads are raking 9%!!!!! and the service/atmosphere/ legality of the bank is far superior to this (well obviously it would,casino Vs pub game)

PokerNoob wrote: »

I cant believe there isn't more complaining about that... Imean, all of the vicious complaining that went on about the Bank's 5%... these lads are raking 9%!!!!! and the service/atmosphere/ legality of the bank is far superior to this (well obviously it would,casino Vs pub game)
    When the rake is capped at €5 it doesnt equate to 9% rake. The bank were taking €50 out of some pots. €5 capped rake is good for a pub game.

PokerNoob wrote: »

If you pres ALT GR and 4 you can type a euro symbol '€'

EZ.

I was in a €400 pot on tuesday - paid €5 rake. Not bad really
    eoghan104 wrote: »
    When the rake is capped at €5 it doesnt equate to 9% rake. The bank were taking €50 out of some pots. €5 capped rake is good for a pub game.

have you not learnt your lesson ???? Standing up for a nicely run game will only get you abuse. If people don't like the game they don't have to play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭PokerEventsSeán

Standing up for a nicely run game will only get you abuse. If people don't like the game they don't have to play.[/QUOTE]

Well, I could not agree more. Every person makes a choice, nobody is forcing the game on anyone

Perhaps some people should try to start and build these tournaments from scratch, it is bloody hard!

I havent been up to Bakers or any of their tournaments but I have heard that they are a good at what they do and run their tournaments well.

Perhaps I can take this opportunity to invite Poker Royale to a teams tournament between PokerEvents Dublin and themselves, if there is interest let me know.

Any feedback on this would be great.

Regards

Seán

newbie2 wrote: »

I was in a €400 pot on tuesday - paid €5 rake. Not bad really

No doubt you won that pot you absolute lucksack.

Sean, thats a fantastic idea and I'm sure the lads would be well up for that. I know that the players will be anyway! Let me know any ideas you have either here or by PM. I can send you Keiths number aswell if you like.

regards the number, please that would be great eoghan. I will PM you later about Team Tournament idea

Thanks eoghan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

lol

eoghan104 wrote: »
    No doubt you won that pot you absolute lucksack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

cooker3 wrote: »
    lol

lol indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Around 30 players...

Its hardly the tournament organizers fault that there isnt the top class standard of play you expect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭RockRory

Perhaps I can take this opportunity to invite Poker Royale to a teams tournament between PokerEvents Dublin and themselves, if there is interest let me know.

Any feedback on this would be great.

Regards

Seán[/QUOTE]

Count me in for that sean, it would be nice to kick a bit of bakers Ass

chdpoker wrote: »
    Its hardly the tournament organizers fault that there isnt the top class standard of play you expect.

I agree.. I was meerly stating my opinion on that event

Count me in for that sean, it would be nice to kick a bit of bakers Ass[/QUOTE]

I dont know Rory, I am thinking of only allowing players who are good at poker at this tournament!!!!! lmfao :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭RockRory

Count me in for that sean, it would be nice to kick a bit of bakers Ass

I dont know Rory, I am thinking of only allowing players who are good at poker at this tournament!!!!! lmfao :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D[/QUOTE]

Harry and tereasa should be free for that so. :D:D:D:D