Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being Asked For ID.

• 02-09-2007 8:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭

Just back from the shop after attempting to buy cigarettes for the house mate. In my mid-20's and starting to go bald so it's pretty clear that I'm not 'yer average 16 year old skanger. It got me wondering, do smokers regularly have to carry around their passports? Also, what's the oldest anyone has been when they were asked for indentification?

Is there any law that protects us baby-faced adults?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Lynibeth

I've never been asked for ID for cigarettes. And I started buying them at 15. Although I do think it's down to the shop. Some shops just like to be picky and ask

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭eddiehobbs

Ive a friend whos 29 and was asked for id getting cigs a few weeks back. Even more insulting was the fact that this particular shop is notorious for underage selling. I thought it was hilarious tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

only been asked for id twice or three times since I started, which was over a year and a half ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

eddiehobbs wrote:
    Ive a friend whos 29 and was asked for id getting cigs a few weeks back. Even more insulting was the fact that this particular shop is notorious for underage selling. I thought it was hilarious tho

at least I don't feel so bad now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

everyone should have some form of id with them at all times. doesn't have to be a passport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Cremo wrote:
    everyone should have some form of id with them at all times. doesn't have to be a passport.

Thats hardly ture. It's not legally required to have an form of ID.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Smoking sucks, I ask all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭D Bronc

Im in my mid twenties.
    I really hate when that happens (usually when theres a crowd behind you and shopkeeper might aswell have a microphone) and you have to walk out red faced and everyone looking with a smug smile or tutting.:o

And you feel like shouting at the top of your voice, what the f*ck are you looking at me like that for im not a chancy teenager, but of course i wouldnt have my ID to prove it:rolleyes: .

What a great feeling when you have your ID and your the one with a smug smile or tutting. :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,159 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Boston wrote:
    Thats hardly ture. It's not legally required to have an form of ID.

No, but legally you need ID to buy anything with an age limit.

Shop probably got caught selling to under age, and has had to clamp down, there's a €70,000 fine for the shop if the staff sell underage people cigarrettes, + they lose license to sell cigarrettes (which is why half the customers go to a small shop).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

To drink in the States you are supposed to be 21. But it's dark, you are an underage attractive girl with a fake ID, and dressed to kill, most of the bouncers will let you in, cause you're good for business. Now if an underage lad with a fake ID, they may give you some static and question your ID.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Cremo wrote:

better yet lets just pass a law to get barcodes tatooed (or however that would be splelt) onto the heads of everyone so the gardai can just grab you and scan you on the street to make sure you aren't banned from certain things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

it might cut down on completely over the top posts for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

The government need to do more to make people aware that you can be refused with certain I.D's which under Irish law are legitimate. i.e. Tesco refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 25 or so with out a Garda i.d, even if you present them with a drivers licence or passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭wba88

Binomate wrote:
    The government need to do more to make people aware that you can be refused with certain I.D's which under Irish law are legitimate. i.e. Tesco refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 25 or so with out a Garda i.d, even if you present them with a drivers licence or passport.
    i always go into tesco with a passport and if they say anything about only garda i.d.s then i just ask for the manager and start giving out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Binomate wrote:
    This makes little sense. A 15yo with a fake passport deserves their beer. A 15yo with a fake Garda ID card probably did it in Paint!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

About 10 years ago (in myy mid-20s) I was asked for ID in the Hairy Lemon in Dublin. I asked the barman what age he though I was.
    "About 30" says he (being serious!).
    I was lost for words and when he realised his mistake he just got me the drinks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Depends what your trying to do I think. For example I get asked for ID going into clubs most of the time but not nearly as often in the off licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

A workmate of mine is 29 and he gets asked for ID almost daily, when he's buying cigarettes. At the Tenacious D gig last year, he couldn't get served, and he had to get one of his mates (7 years younger) to buy him a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Just back from the shop after attempting to buy cigarettes for the house mate. In my mid-20's and starting to go bald so it's pretty clear that I'm not 'yer average 16 year old skanger. It got me wondering, do smokers regularly have to carry around their passports? Also, what's the oldest anyone has been when they were asked for indentification?

Is there any law that protects us baby-faced adults?

If it was a Spar or Centra the assistants english probably only extended to "I.D." until the rest of the alphabet is learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Also, what's the oldest anyone has been when they were asked for indentification?

47. Passing through the airport recently.

P.S. I would never buy anyone else cigs. They'll sue YOU when they get cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

stopped last saturday night, im 20, and the hairline isnt what it used to be! dont remember the last time i was stopped before that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I haevn't been asked for id in ages and then I was buying a bottle of something as a present for someone leaving work last Friday and he asked for ID. I didn't have my purse with me, just some cash in my pocket so I just looked at him and said I'm 23 and he said ok and put it through the till.... what was the point of asking me then? There's no way I look under 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

When my girlfriend was 22 she used to hate being asked for ID in pubs. Now she's 26 and she's delighted when it happens...

I don't think I've been asked for ID in about 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

kbannon wrote:
    About 10 years ago (in myy mid-20s) I was asked for ID in the Hairy Lemon in Dublin. I asked the barman what age he though I was.
    "About 30" says he (being serious!).
    I was lost for words and when he realised his mistake he just got me the drinks!

Haha, brilliant!