Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Killinascully

• 02-09-2007 8:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭

Anyone else think this is rubbish...a Father Ted wannabe but without the intelligent humour. And now they're about to inflict a fourth series upon the unsuspecting licence-paying public with a token "christmas special" thrown in to rub salt in the wound!

The re-runs of Father Ted continue 10 years since it finished after only three series, and actually seem to get funnier with the passing years, I doubt the same will be said of Killinascully which is nothing more than a slapstick one-joke trick stretched out to the Nth degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Big Tone wrote:
    Anyone else think this is rubbish...
    Yes.
    Kenny and Short should start working together again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Coileach dearg

Big Tone wrote:
    Anyone else think this is rubbish...a Father Ted wannabe but without the intelligent humour. And now they're about to inflict a fourth series upon the unsuspecting licence-paying public with a token "christmas special" thrown in to rub salt in the wound!

The re-runs of Father Ted continue 10 years since it finished after only three series, and actually seem to get funnier with the passing years, I doubt the same will be said of Killinascully which is nothing more than a slapstick one-joke trick stretched out to the Nth degree.

If you don't like it well then don't watch it. How can you compare anything to Father Ted anyway. It's like comparing burgers to steak for feck sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

It's absolute rubbish, but nothing like Father Ted and doesn't attempt to be either. It really is awful. When it was the most watched thing a couple of christmas days ago, I lost some respect for tv watchers in our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

If you don't like it well then don't watch it.

price of turnips?

I'm sure he no longer watches it, he watched it long enough to realise it is sh1te, he also likely pays his TV licence fee.

He is free to pass comments even if they are not positive.

Killinascully is a bag of sh1te, I like Pat Shortt, but, it is a bag of sh1te, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,379 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I never watched it ever, but some of the lads were going on about how great it was so i watched bits of it one day, by jesus it was terrible...

Pat short loves himself too...

And there's gonna be a 4th series? Ugh...

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Of course it's rubbish because a) it's an RTE "comedy", a genre for which they aren't likely to be picking up Golden Roses at Montreux anytime soon; and b) it has Pat Shortt in it, one half of the unfunniest "comedy" double act ever to be inflicted on us. Given its pedigree I'd be genuinely amazed if it wasn't rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

A bit formulaic alright, but if it was a funny original formula, it'd be good.

Dick Emery-lite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

It is sh.ite. Fortunately for Shortt, the General Public's taste in most things is sh.ite. The result? Lots of ratings and cash. Fair play to him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭ruskin

Killnascully is complete and utter rubbish. Its amazing that Pat Short in Father Ted as 'Tom" was far funnier and more memorable than all the characters he tries to play in Killnascully. Wouldnt it make more sense for him to play one character in Killnascully and develop that character properly? Its also sad to see Short wasting the talent of the guy who played Fr. Damo in Father Ted as the idiot barfly Timmy, I mean he barely has two words per episode. I suppose he just wants to make sure no one else on the show ever tries to upstage him. Killnascully is a truly pathetic show, mainly because it desperately tries to play it safe, and appeal to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It's awful. Can't stand it, Pat Shortt or RTE "comedy" in general (yes I can't stand Naked Camera and that other one-trick pony Jake Stevens either).

Basically if it was any good, it wouldn't be made by/for RTE. About the only decent in-house thing they do (imho of course!) is their sports coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

It's a load of rubbish. Disturbing how many people watch it!