Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feet too big...

• 30-08-2007 8:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭

I guess this is'nt one for the ladies.

But do any of the lads find it difficult to get runners or shoes in their size?

I have tried for years now to get shoes to fit me, I am only a size 14, but the only shop that I can them in are Heathers Shoe Shop on the quays.

Does anybody else have an little gems of information that may be of some use to me?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I know your pain, I am a big 13. it's nearly impossible to get any runners / shoes that fit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭TheJoker

The Bollox wrote:
    I know your pain, I am a big 13. it's nearly impossible to get any runners / shoes that fit

Its crap! I have heard of some shops that dont even stock a size 12....

Dam you small footed people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

I bet your langers are massive.

Archimedes wrote:
    I bet your langers are massive.

Mine is a size 14! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'm a 12 and find it hard to find socks that fit, never mind footwear.
    I bought a pair of boots two years ago and they are still in good condition. I'd be fooked if it wasn't for them. It's a pain in the hole trying to find shoes that fit.

I miss my doc martens. Do they still sell them at the back of the Ilac?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

(Damn, I was hoping this was a thread about ladies with big sexy feet! +pics! :D )

I'm size 11 and it can still be very hard to find footwear at times. Probably not as bad as size 14 or anything, but it can still be very annoying indeed. Last year I was trying to buy a pair of DVS in Schuh, and the girl went going up and down a couple of times to see if they had a particular pair in size 11, but I just asked her to bring me down any pair in that size, so she finally got me a pair. I bought them.

It can be damned annoying, so I really feel for you guys with even bigger sizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I is a gurl, and I used to have size 11 feet. That was horrific. I used to wear mens shoes because womens shoes seem to stop at size 8, even now. They shrank about 5 years ago, and I'm an 8/9 now, but it's a b!tch to get women's shoes that size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Blush_01 wrote:
    They shrank about 5 years ago

How does that happen? I didn't even know it was possible. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Davexirl

www.footlocker.com or www.eastbay.com is where I order my runners or shoes!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Antigone05

yeah im a 15 and tend to shop online or from my folks in LA.

i use these guys most of the time.

http://www.bigsize.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Borzoi

TheJoker wrote:
    I have tried for years now to get shoes to fit me, I am only a size 14, but the only shop that I can them in are Heathers Shoe Shop on the quays.

Does anybody else have an little gems of information that may be of some use to me?;)

Arnotts is the other good shop

Blush_01 wrote:
    I is a gurl, and I used to have size 11 feet. That was horrific. I used to wear mens shoes because womens shoes seem to stop at size 8, even now. They shrank about 5 years ago, and I'm an 8/9 now, but it's a b!tch to get women's shoes that size.
    Peggy Hill, is that you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I wear size 13, sometimes 14...depends on the type of shoe.

Check out the skateboard shops if you're looking for runners, really comfy and they do really big sizes. there's one shop on the corner of o'connell st./batchelors walk upstairs, there's also sloppy joe's in templebar opposite eamon dorans. I got some shoes in Clarks no probs. It is tough to find the sizes though. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

TheJoker wrote:
    I guess this is'nt one for the ladies.

But do any of the lads find it difficult to get runners or shoes in their size?

I hear you man.. I take a size 14 US.. The solution imo is ebay... They always have all kinds of size 14 shoes, i currently have 6 pairs of runners in storage that i bought on ebay. Honestly without ebay i would not be able to buy runners in ireland.. its a sad state of affairs..

Another good way of getting big runners is to wait until someone you know is going to the us and then order them online on zappos.com and deliver to the hotel... Then you friend can bring them home for you..

Overall i think Ireland is **** for shopping.. The only store i buy from (other than food) is tkmaxx.. everything else is ebay or other online stores mostly UK based..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

I'm a size 15 and it is next to impossible to find shoes that fit me.

It's the most annoying thing ever.

Oh and it's true what the rumours say, we do have big slongs :D

I don't. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Terry wrote:
    I don't. :(

I guess you were the last in the queue and they ran out of big ones and just gave you the big feet only. haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Blush_01 wrote:
    Holy crap you were size 11?! I'm a size 8.5 and I thought I had giant feet for a girl! It's actually impossible to find shoes to fit. Maybe they will shrink to a size 7 like yours did and then it'll be ok.

Out of interest where do you get your shoes now? I have to go to Next as they do up to a 43 there and I can fit into a 41 if it's an open toe shoe / sandal thingy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

Terry wrote:
    I'm a 12 and find it hard to find socks that fit, never mind footwear.
    I bought a pair of boots two years ago and they are still in good condition. I'd be fooked if it wasn't for them. It's a pain in the hole trying to find shoes that fit.

I miss my doc martens. Do they still sell them at the back of the Ilac?

i recommend tights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

tinkerbell wrote:
    Out of interest where do you get your shoes now? I have to go to Next as they do up to a 43 there and I can fit into a 41 if it's an open toe shoe / sandal thingy.

I get my shoes in a boat shop not to far from lough ennell :D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Spyral

size 16's wont fit me...

only clarkes which do a H fit in width will fin and them Im a size 13..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,785 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Isn't there a shop down near the four courts that sell large sizes? I'm size 11 but seem to take size 12 in a Nike!

Snake ;)

Isn't there a shop down near the four courts that sell large sizes? I'm size 11 but seem to take size 12 in a Nike!

Snake ;)

Yeah, its called Heathers. Very good shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

tinkerbell wrote:
    Holy crap you were size 11?! I'm a size 8.5 and I thought I had giant feet for a girl! It's actually impossible to find shoes to fit. Maybe they will shrink to a size 7 like yours did and then it'll be ok.

Yes, yes, lets all point and laugh at the freaky-footed freak girl! ;) (No, my feet were not really fat, they looked perfectly normal. No, I cannot explain what happened, but I'm glad it did!)

I get most of my shoes in Evans. The Clarks shop on Grafton St. and some Clarks stockiss at home have up to a nine (I get practical shoes there) and I got a gorgeous pair of stripey red and white Underground shoes in Office recently. Office actually have lots of shoes that go up to a nine.

I now have 28 pairs of shoes (although lots of them are ancient and falling apart, I just can't bear to throw them out) which is a big thing for someone who lived in manky dubes or plain black docs as a kid because nothing else fit.

joe robot wrote:
    I guess you were the last in the queue and they ran out of big ones and just gave you the big feet only. haha!

I also got the big hands.
    Another fallicy. :(

Look at your keyboard. My hand can cover the whole tihng.
    It's a myth I tells ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Saw the thread title, glanced in expecting a subtle or not so subtle boast by someone, and a lot of mockery ... and hey! ... the blooming thread was actually about big feet! (well, mostly!) :D

Yeah, 12 here ... can't say I find it that difficult to find stuff to fit, but definitely would often find my choice is restricted all right.
    Terry wrote:
    Another fallicy. :(
    No ... no, it's not!

<_<

>_>

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Lynibeth

Big feet eh? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

tinkerbell wrote:

Snap.

Really there is nothing worse then asking a sales assistant if they have a shoe/boot in an 8 1/2 to hear them parrot back at you that Ladies/womens shoes only go up to a 7 or a 7 1/2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

will ye stop complaining about having size 14 and 15 feet :p what would ye do if ye had feet the size of Shaq (22G) or Matthew McGrory (UK size 29) or poor Robert Wadlow who had to deal with size 37 AAA :eek:

Wadlows shoes cost over $100.00 a pair and this during the 1930s (roughly $1,600 a pair in todays money)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I was in Clarkes in Blanch to get me a pair of shoes for work. I wasn't expecting much but the gf dragged me in. Found a pair and just told the girl to bring me the biggest she had... she came back with a size.... 14!!! Awesome!! I pair of shoes that fit, w00t!!

As for the guy who said to go to the (he's just a) sk8ter boy shops, i find that skater shoes are quite small, i can't even get my foot into a size 12 in the likes of Shuh.

The runners i have at the minute i bought in NYC. Another pair were bought off ebay and i bought a pair of boots off the shuh website.

rossie1977 wrote:
    will ye stop complaining about having size 14 and 15 feet :p what would ye do if ye had feet the size of Shaq (22G) or Matthew McGrory (UK size 29) or poor Robert Wadlow who had to deal with size 37 AAA :eek:

Wadlows shoes cost over $100.00 a pair and this during the 1930s (roughly $1,600 a pair in todays money)
    Yea. that's great. thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Im size 15 and find that the best thing is to deal regularly with the same shop. Order 4 or 5 pair at a time and never leave yourself stuck. I havent actualy bought any shoes this year. No point in dealing with supermarket type shoeshops, shop where you can deal directly with the shop owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Thaedydal wrote:
    Snap.

Really there is nothing worse then asking a sales assistant if they have a shoe/boot in an 8 1/2 to hear them parrot back at you that Ladies/womens shoes only go up to a 7 or a 7 1/2.
    They really need retraining if they word it that badly! "I'm afraid we don't stock that one above a size X" would be better.

And wow, here I get miffed as being a size 9 every time I go to buy new runners they either don't have any left in my size or just one last pair, you guys must really get peeved off.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm a size 11 and it can be tough enough trying to find a pair of shoes in that size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I'm a size 11 and it can be tough enough trying to find a pair of shoes in that size.

Where do you try to buy shoes? Mothercare? ALL shoes go up to at least 11. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

TheJoker wrote:
    Its crap! I have heard of some shops that dont even stock a size 12....

Dam you small footed people!

http://nylawblog.typepad.com/suigeneris/images/dr_evil.jpg