Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lonely in Dublin

• 28-08-2007 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭

Hi, I moved up to Dublin 3 months ago. I split up with my girlfriend a year ago and I've been single since. I don't currently have any friends in Dublin (not a loner or odd, just no social links here) . Basically like most single guys in their 20s I'm interested in meeting women not for long term relationship but just for fun. I don't want to go down the online dating route. So what bars/clubs/other in Dublin would you recommend for a good loooking single guy to frequent especially on a weekday night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

copper faced jacks. You are guarenteed to get a ri... social encounter in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Places I'd recommend would be Eamon Doran's in Temple Bar (but not on a saturday cos you can't swing a cat in there), Doyles is good craic, The Porter House, Merrers (on the queys), Frazers on O'Connell street (great for the matches), Madagans (best pint in Dublin), Crawdaddy, Tripod, Isaac Butt (heard it's nice but haven't been in there myself actually), Radio City (which is right beside it), The Temple Bar (a nice pub with a class smoking area but it tends to be overrun from bloody american tourists :mad: and is ridicously expensive :( ).
    the Russell Court is a great place but the crowd tend to be tossers. however, if your there with a group then its grand!

Would you be looking for clubs as well?

Anti wrote:
    copper faced jacks. You are guarenteed to get a ri... social encounter in there.

Agreed. Coppers and nurses. Hoors all over the gaff ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

"The Barge", on the canal, used to be a real pickup spot. Not sure if it still is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Poco Loco

Wagon wrote:

Agreed...unfortunately! If you are in any way nonugly, then you will clean up in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Jack Bauer999

Wagon wrote:

complete arse

Coppers is a major sausage fest, mainly because its still living on
    it's past glories of tales still told of hordes of horny nurses roaming around!
    But that’s so far from the truth now its not funny.
    Only good thing about the place is its busy during the week.

OP what about your housemates or work/college mates? thats probally
    where most people build up thier social links.

If your into emo looking or goth looking girls you can always go to fibbers. Very easy place to pull there, and the drink is cheap. Just peg your nose as the place stinks most of the time.

And Jack, last time i was in fibbers the place was full of nurses, millions of them. Most of them mouldy looking, but i dont think this guys standards are going to be very high after a year of lonliness. He just wants to play hide the sasauge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Pinker

Sorry but the majority of those places are dumps, like Eamonn Dorans? or Fibbers??? unless you like crusty smelly rockers and bad beer stay clear of these places,....Coppers is another joke, it can be a laugh if you are quite drunk, but the girls are all GAA type fiends, who would prob challenge you to a drinkning competition before, using you like a piece of meat, and not in a nice way..
    .No some decent places in the city centre area would be, the village, whelans, solas, the hairy lemon, bia bar can be ok, D2 is ok, Tripod can be good during the week as can crawdaddy, or for something different try the gaiety or south william on south william st,...for foolproof sex with a hottie try Howl at the Moon, and do yourself a favour and forget about those other fleapits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Pinker

Oh and I forgot to say, get involved in social crowd at work, or also join a sports club or something once you get to know a few people you'll be out plenty and the girls will be coming in on regular basis, once you get it sorted in Dublin you'll be having, lets just say you be:D

Oh I forgot to mention Ri_Ras during the week can yield some real gems, and whelans on a thursday followed by the village can work well also, good luck and have fun my friend,..
    Avoid Frazers at all costs,... please you'll thank me

All he wants is a ride. Hes not looking for a relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Porkpie

Avoid Cocoon bar anyway, unless you're loaded. Cocktails are like 20 somethin euro, but some of the women there are damn hot. You could always borrow a suit! Not that I could be borrowed though.

You could try Flannery's on camden street I've been there, supposedly it's a meat market. I'm decent enough looking myself, haven't managed to score there yet though, prob cos I'm always too drunk and makin an ar5e of myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭BrotherTotz

complete arse

Id be interested to know other peoples opinions on this actually?

As far as Ive seen Coppers is def not the best place for scoring on Harcourt St. never mind Dublin...theres far better places around if yer "on da pull"

complete arse

OP what about your housemates or work/college mates? thats probally
    where most people build up thier social links.

Dunno really. Ive been there once and very drunk already but from what i could see, the seedy atmosphere and general fog of dirty minds seemed to make it an ideal place to get a little tonsil tennis as they can't see your face and you can't see theirs and if you were in my state you wouldn't give a bollix anyway. Is the equilivent of Wesley for adults.

Pinker wrote:
    Sorry but the majority of those places are dumps, like Eamonn Dorans? or Fibbers??? unless you like crusty smelly rockers and bad beer stay clear of these places,....

Im a bit of a hippy, i must admit. I just know the crowd. Hairy lemon is good i agree there and im heading to Howl of the Moon after work to an open bar. What a hangover that awaits me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Copper Face Jacks is not the force of old. I take it we are talking about the best place for horny loose women -- well Copper's day is gone. It's all gangs of couples these days.

Anyway, I'd chip in for 'Ladies Free Night' in TwentyOne on D'Olier St. Full of horny chicks and student night is also good.

Age range is 19 to mid 30's .. good luck :)

Nico

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

OP, go to gigs. They are a great way of meeting people/girls who have the same taste in music so you'll have something in common. I think its easier to to go to a gig on your own rather than a pub or club if you're single and it's very easy to get chatting to people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

Rather than go to bars why not join a running or triathlon club? Get to meet lots of people, very social, very healthy and you'll achieve personal goals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭zappb

Something about George Michael...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

what happened to good old fashioned wa@nking