Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 74 - Spoiler

• 27-08-2007 8:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭

Way to go Randy.

Stronger performance from GSP,astounded by him shooting on Koscheck.
    He never really let his hands go though.

Still trying to get a clip of Babalu,but I heard all about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

dunkamania wrote:
    Way to go Randy.

Stronger performance from GSP,astounded by him shooting on Koscheck.
    He never really let his hands go though.

Still trying to get a clip of Babalu,but I heard all about it.

I think you can cover your text with
    text
    here?.

Yea, great fights. And fvck Randy's right was one bloody affair!. I wonder how the fight would have went had the lads not clashed heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

It was a good night.Randy is amazing!I saw Babalu's fight on dailymotion,it was crazy!Babalu even tried a can-opener twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

I really wanted Randy to win but I have to admit I never thought he could do it. GG rocked him a couple of times and he was a bit fortunate breaking his nose but he still done a stellar job in dominating him.

What happened in the Babalu fight? Did it cause the massive blood stains on the canvas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭dunkamania

i am guessing this means he is done in the UFC,he was fighting too stay in the organisation,and with the bad press from this,i dont see Dana letting him in the octagon again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

What happened in the Babalu fight? Did it cause the massive blood stains on the canvas?

Babalu gave Heath the beating of a life time on the ground, cutting him very badly, mauling him some more and then finally choking him out with an Anaconda.

After DH tapped Babalu refused to release the choke, only doing so when DH was asleep.

The funny thing is that everyones favourite Prodigy did similar to Jens and nothing was said about it....although BJ only held on for a second or two longer than he should i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭The FitnessDock

It should be noted that before the match, Heath was wearing a T-shirt with Babalu's prison mugshot on it.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

It should be noted that before the match, Heath was wearing a T-shirt with Babalu's prison mugshot on it.......

Indeed, no reason to cast an ill light on the sport though. Babalu resolved that issue with every punch landed and ever drop of blood spilt, holding the choke simply validates the t-shirt wearing to behing with.

"Call me a thug, i'll BEAT THE **** OUT YOU!!"

I haven't actually seen proof that DH wore the t-shirt either, anyone got a picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

didnt look much longer than bj held onto pulver, the slow mo replays afterward made it look much worse than it was in real time

Babalu held the choke WAY too long but Heath wearing that t-shirt was bang out of order as well.

But yea that was the fight that caused the massive amount of blood on the canvas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Here's the Babalu fight
    http://www.dailymotion.com/relevance/search/babalu+ufc/video/x2uaae_renato-babalu-sobral-vs-david-heath_extreme

Clearly kept that choke on too long. He felt him tap and could see the ref telling him so but kept it in.

I just saw it,i thought it would be worse from what I heard about it beforehand.I think it was more malicious than Penn vs Pulver,i dont think pulver was out,and I was under the impression Penn released it when the ref stepped in.

The fact that both fighters were covered in blood could be the most significant factor,as it makes the incident appear alot worse than it would otherwise and it guarrantees alot more unwanted publicity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Just saw it. Why there wasn't a blood stoppage before that or even just a blood check is a mystery to me.

If I wanted to put a fight up that showed why MMA should be banned- that would be it.

Leaving all the sportmans like talk behind for a second....

'Fvck em', come uppence is a terrible thing ain't it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Roper's dead on, poor reffing there with the blood.

As for the choke: If that type of **** happened in the Sub Champs Babalu would be disqualified for unsportsmanlike conduct.

I think if most people here faced an opponent who'd disrespected him by wearing a prison mug shot photo of you on his pre-fight t-shirt you'd want to do the same, and feck the sport.

DH won't be so bleed'n cocky the next time.

***putting on my other hat now***...

Terrible sportsmanship by Babalu :D

But dammit DH was OWNED bigtime.

Even Joe Rogan was giving out about the ref not stopping it much earlier due to all the blood.

IMO Steve Mazzahghatti (sp?) is slow to stop fights.DH was unable to defend himself intelligently on a few occasions in that fight.

It was my understanding that blood in or near the eye's was cause for a temporary stoppage while the doctor assessed the situation,am I wrong.This occurred in the Gonzaga fight also.Gonzaga tells Herb,that he cant see because of the blood in his eyes,Herb's response was can you continue or not,does the doctor have any authority during rounds?

double post

If the blood is significant enough to be endangering one or both of the fighters the referee can ask to have a cut checked by the doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭O'Leprosy

Koscheck's a sarcastic mouthpiece, though he can fight I'll give him that. Not as good as he thinks he is, hopefully he'll next fight Matt Hughes or BJ Penn or someone in that league - and that will be the end of his UFC career :) Surprised meself that GSP could wrestle him into trouble though, seems Koscheck took his wrestling for granted. Randy would have won the fight even without the nose damage, where were those "weaknesses" Gonzaga's team had allegedly discovered in Randy's game ??

Also Roger Huerta - what a scrapper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

dunkamania wrote:
    IMO Steve Mazzahghatti (sp?)?

its Steve Mazzagatti:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I dont see Babalu not getting back into the Octagon, he proved that he is a good fighter and had the fight in his hands the whole time.

I think him holding the choke has been blown out of proportion, loads of people said that he held it for 7 seconds but its was really only about 2, he has had half of his purse for the fight withheld pending an investigation but if he gets fined then the UFC or the red should be fined for not stopping the fight due to the blood, both fighters were covered in it and it looked like a murder scene, to me that is worse than Babalu holding the choke.

Gonzaga broke Randy's arm during the fight with a kick

http://thefightnetwork.com/news_detail.php?nid=4673

Amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭The Shane

My undertstanding of cut stoppages are that they are only for cuts that are near sensitive areas like the eyes. If the cut can cause serious damage then it will be stopped. Where the ref is unable to see the cut due to the bleeding he may request a doctors opinion but if the ref can see that it is not going to cause damage to the eyes - he'll let it go.

Herb could see that the cut was near the eye and if Gonzaga needed to stop as a result of it, it would be a submission. I agree with Herb.

I say throw Babalu out, BJ Penn too.

On an aside, what the hell do they mean by "reach" ? - I assumed that it meant the length of the arm until I figured out that 71" is nearly six feet, and even allowing for Randy being bigger than me, he doesn't have six feet arms.

Maybe that is a stupid question.

Shane, The

The Shane wrote:

On an aside, what the hell do they mean by "reach" ? - I assumed that it meant the length of the arm until I figured out that 71" is nearly six feet, and even allowing for Randy being bigger than me, he doesn't have six feet arms.
    Maybe that is a stupid question.

Isn't it the measurement from fingertip to fingertip when your arms are in the crucifix pose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭ThatBloke

Isn't it the measurement from fingertip to fingertip when your arms are in the crucifix pose?

yeah, it's like "wingspan" :)

BTW, anyone got a pic of Heath with the mugshot t-shirt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Yo Mamma

Just to go off-topic for a sec,

Anyone got a link to the UFC 74 fight Videos ?

Utube wont show them and any of the other links I use have taken them down ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Yo Mamma wrote:
    Anyone got a link to the UFC 74 fight Videos ?
    Utube wont show them and any of the other links I use have taken them down ?

If there not on youtube then Dailymotion is the place for MMA, it has the babalu fight and some others it also has loads of pride stuff

I really enjoyed ufc 74 the best PPV for a while imo all the shown fights were pretty good and Cote, Huerta, GSP and Couture were all impressive.

Who is next for couture now ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Yo Mamma

“The Natural” is my Hero but saying that he probably has about two or three more good fights left in him. And the UFC will more than likely throw him to the lions with heavy hitters such as Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira, Mirko Cro Cop and maybe even Fedor Emelianenko if the Russian cyborg signs with the organization.

He’ll probably be the underdog in those fights too, but at this rate, does it even matter? He is the King of the Octagon right now.

http://www.mmascoops.com/news.php?page=/186466207

Babalu's mugshot for those who havent seen it

The Shane wrote:
    My undertstanding of cut stoppages are that they are only for cuts that are near sensitive areas like the eyes. If the cut can cause serious damage then it will be stopped. Where the ref is unable to see the cut due to the bleeding he may request a doctors opinion but if the ref can see that it is not going to cause damage to the eyes - he'll let it go.
    But a ref can also stop a fight for anything he deems unsafe- like tape hanging off a glove or protective equipment loose or damaged. Excessive, unhygenic blood loss counts too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Roper wrote:
    Excessive, unhygenic blood loss counts too.

whatever about unhygenic(I assume all the fighters are tested regularly and therefore there blood is no danger to anyone) but while it a was alot of blood(compared to most fights) it is still a long long lonnnngg way of being a dangerous amount of blood loss.

PeakOutput wrote:
    whatever about unhygenic(I assume all the fighters are tested regularly and therefore there blood is no danger to anyone) but while it a was alot of blood(compared to most fights) it is still a long long lonnnngg way of being a dangerous amount of blood loss.
    Blood is unhygenic, clean blood, never mind anything else. The blood was in Heath's eyes- therefore his vision was impaired, therefore continuing to fight without it checked was a danger to him. Also, how does having two guys rolling around in blood reflect on a sport already under so much pressure?

The Shane wrote:
    I say throw Babalu out, BJ Penn too.
    Bit excessive I think. In the heat of the moment when there bad blood involved, as there was in both cases, people can have hot headed moments. A fine is enough. Why bin them for good for a couple of seconds of stupidity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Roper wrote:
    Blood is unhygenic, clean blood, never mind anything else. The blood was in Heath's eyes- therefore his vision was impaired, therefore continuing to fight without it checked was a danger to him. Also, how does having two guys rolling around in blood reflect on a sport already under so much pressure?

It probably should have been stopped by the ref so the doctor could have a look at his eyes but other than that i dont think it was a particularly dangerous situation.

Anyone remotely in the know will understand that blood is going to be a part of the sport. sure it looks bad and can be blown up by people trying to put down the sport but they will find something to complain about no matter happens in situations like this.

The NSAC differentiate between the Penn incident and the Babalu incident.
    Penn held the choke after the tap,but didnt disobey the ref's instructions.he also didnt choke out Pulver,and the fighters embraced immediately after. There have been incidents in the past where fighters have “phantom” tapped and taken advantage when there opponent released the hold. As a result,some fighters tend to hold the submission until the ref steps in. This is where the Babalu incident is different as he was clearly instructed by the ref to release.