Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Hurling Final Tickets

• 25-08-2007 11:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭

I am looking for atleast one ticket for the final.can anyone help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭col16

I'm looking for two....................................:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Aren't we all? We're having to do this a lot recently, but guys we have to say it yet again: newcomers coming in here for the first time and asking for tickets haven't got a hope of getting one off those of us who have shown our interest here by posting regularly here. You may well get tickets, but not from anyone here, though we may be able to get some for each other as we have done during the summer months, as we discussed all GAA-related things, showing our true interest. Sorry guys, but you are in the wrong place. This is a forum for people who have a continual interest in GAA to the extent that we go to a lot of matches and post regularly about them here. If you want to get tickets for next year, then stay here and post regularly over the coming months and right through into next year's championships. As a regular here by then, you will improve your chances of getting a ticket for some matches from those of us that may have spares. Even then, your chance of getting an All-Ireland Final ticket would still be pretty remote.

Didn't realise there was rules about asking for tickets. You wont be needing any football final tickets this year Flukey anyhow. Better luck next year.At least i hope you didn't get sunburnt . I'm still looking for two hurling tickets if anyone has any ideas................. Cheers.....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭D. Coughlan

col16 wrote:
    Didn't realise there was rules about asking for tickets. You wont be needing any football final tickets this year Flukey anyhow. Better luck next year.At least i hope you didn't get sunburnt . I'm still looking for two hurling tickets if anyone has any ideas................. Cheers.....:p
    There is no need to try and be a smart ass, you won't get any tickets that way, that's for sure

Lighten up man. This is only a bit of crack.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

col16 wrote:
    your only options are fleebay or similar site because all ireland final tickets never go on general sale and i for one would not sell to a random forum person ive never met

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

There are some @ssholes selling tickets for €500 the pair on fleebay, and other such sites. What a disgrace! Trying to rip off the ordinary joe soap who goes to games all year :mad: I've no tickets lined up for the big one either yet, but I wouldn't give these gits the satisfaction. Hopefully there'll be some coming back at the weekend! I'd love to see these mercenaries, who've probably no interest in the game, end up stuck with the tickets. :)

col16 wrote:

Oh but I will be looking for a ticket for this year's Football final. I don't intend to miss this one, having not missed a single one since my first in 1980. You see, I am what they call a GAA fan. That is why I post here and never miss a match in Croke Park, no matter what county is playing. If you were a regular poster here, you'd know that. Dublin may be out of the Football Championship, but that does not decrease my desire for an All-Ireland final ticket one single bit, both Football and Hurling, including the Under 21 Hurling Final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

Jesus Christ Flukey get over yourself, you like GAA we get the point. Don't need to constantly keep trying to prove yourself. You were very unhelpful to the OP in my opinion, he didn't specifically ask for a ticket from the GAA board, he just said he was looking for a ticket and could anyone help (which was the last thing you did). A more helpful response might have been:

"OP - All tickets for the GAA Hurling Final are allocated to the clubs, and are unavailable through ticketmaster. If you know someone who is a member of a GAA club, ask them and they might have a spare. Alternatively you could try buy&sell, ebay etc but prepare to pay over the odds"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭TirEoghain

Here's someone selling a ticket for the game there on sunday past.
    Auction ends tomorrow.

He has a rating of -2 as well, he must have a habit of selling out of date tickets.

http://cgi.ebay.ie/2-HILL16-DUBLIN-V-KERRY-ALL-IRELAND-SEMI-FINAL-TICKETS_W0QQitemZ170143301968QQihZ007QQcategoryZ1306QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

I have yet to see an All Ireland morning where tickets could not be bought at face value in either the Burlington foyer or in the Four Seasons.
    It can be a bit crowded but keep yer ears open and they will come..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

TirEoghain wrote:
    Here's someone selling a ticket for the game there on sunday past.
    Auction ends tomorrow.

He has a rating of -2 as well, he must have a habit of selling out of date tickets.

http://cgi.ebay.ie/2-HILL16-DUBLIN-V-KERRY-ALL-IRELAND-SEMI-FINAL-TICKETS_W0QQitemZ170143301968QQihZ007QQcategoryZ1306QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
    Hehe, thats hilarious. Funniest thing is the 14 bids on it!!!

Funnier again is that the reserve is not met. Why have a reserve for 2 out of date tickets??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Niall M

i have two hurling tickets, i am looking to swap for two football ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Flukey wrote:
    Under 21 Hurling Final.

I cannot wait for this, two super team both with excellent young prospects, Joey Canning and mighty Mccrabber.

Oh and ill be there on Sunday too, if i hear of any spare tickets floating, ill let you guys know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ed10

B1977 wrote:
    I am looking for atleast one ticket for the final.can anyone help
    im a limerickman and got 2 from my cousin in waterford,he got them in kilkenny and assures me there will a good few available down there come friday cos theres not as big an interest as there is up here

Some always start appearing towards the end of the week, but are still hard to find nevertheless.

ed10 wrote:
    im a limerickman and got 2 from my cousin in waterford,he got them in kilkenny and assures me there will a good few available down there come friday cos theres not as big an interest as there is up here
    Snap! Im a limerickman and got 2 from my cousin in Waterford too. Funny coincidence. :D

I'd say there'll be some coming back towards the end of the week. If people want tickets badly enough they'll get them from somewhere. Even if you have to trawl dorset st at 11am on Sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

There are some @ssholes selling tickets for €500 the pair on fleebay, and other such sites. What a disgrace! Trying to rip off the ordinary joe soap who goes to games all year :mad:

'the ordinary joe soap who goes to games all year' should have had their tickets sorted out long long ago......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭D. Coughlan

'the ordinary joe soap who goes to games all year' should have had their tickets sorted out long long ago......
    How? they don't grow on trees you know, even if people like that are member of club's, they may still find it hard to get tickets in the club lottery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Jesus Christ Flukey get over yourself, you like GAA we get the point. Don't need to constantly keep trying to prove yourself. You were very unhelpful to the OP in my opinion, he didn't specifically ask for a ticket from the GAA board, he just said he was looking for a ticket and could anyone help (which was the last thing you did). A more helpful response might have been:

"OP - All tickets for the GAA Hurling Final are allocated to the clubs, and are unavailable through ticketmaster. If you know someone who is a member of a GAA club, ask them and they might have a spare. Alternatively you could try buy&sell, ebay etc but prepare to pay over the odds"

Brandonblock,I fully understand where Flukey is coming from.Flukey does not have to tell the OP something we all already know.The fact is that the veterans/well known people on this board are going to be the ones who are looked after first plain and simple.Maybe the OP wasn't quite clear if he was looking for a ticket here or not but it must be reiterated that first refusal on tickets goes to regulars from regulars and that is after we have sorted out family/relatives first.

I got a few PMs from people looking for tickets who I never heard of before and we have had posters joining with their first post of "Any tickets for the match".This is quite annoying in a sense because the fan who has posted for years sees that a new poster could quite possibly get a ticket before they do.

Yayamark and Tir Eoghain have made themselves known to us at Boards Beers 3 and if we can ever help them out for Kerry or Tyrone tickets,we will.Gerire was good enough to take time out and have a beer or two with us even if he was late for another appointment,he'll be among the people considered if he is really stuck but we have a system in place for football and hurling tickets that might come our way if we are fortunate enough to get spares.

1.If you are new,you'll have to post here for longer and get well known.I don't think Final tickets will be an issue on here anyway as nobody will want to give them up.

2.Also meeting the regulars here for boards beers and having a laugh is another way to get known quickly.We do accept that there are people who only found this site but taking time out of your schedule to have a laugh with the regulars is acknowledged.We're a welcoming bunch of people and will look after what/who we believe to be real genuine supporters if we can.

OP- Good luck with getting tickets for the Final but you have little to no chance here unfortunately.The rules we have are not boards rules but personal rules and guidelines drawn up by myself and Flukey and I don't think you did yourself any favours with those smart comments if you are looking to get into the scheme.Not that I need to tell you something you already know but being a member of a club or purchasing a year ticket from your county board is what you should look into.

If you are in Fairview side of Croker,Meaghers and Gaffneys are the places to look.In Drumcondra Quinns and the Ivy House and on the town side of it there is Gills and Hill 16.

I really shouldn't be helping you at all because I didn't like your comments.Flukey didn't get sun-burned by the way because he was shaded but thanks for your concern.Brandonblock,being prepared to pay over the price for tickets should be stamped out.I'd urge the OP not to do this as the ticket touts will be out in force.This is what fuels the problem as they begin to think they can get away with it.

At the last minute a friend of mine got a lower Davin for face value.This was outside Nicos chipper beside Meaghers.Keep your ears and eyes open.Also one of his friends paid 50 for a ticket and asked for the change off the person and they walked away and said "well you gave me 50 so f off".Be very vigilant as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ed10

How? they don't grow on trees you know, even if people like that are member of club's, they may still find it hard to get tickets in the club lottery.
    i fully agree,ive being to every game this year and even had a spare ticket in my back pocket for the semi final v waterford which i couldnt sell,this time i had to get my ticket outside the county.i know people who havent being to a hurling game in years but had no prob getting a ticket to the final!!
    its a great system the gaa have going alright...????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 THEDUDEINWHITE

do they still swap tickets in Dorset Street?

You can only try. Even on an All-Ireland Final day, someone out there will have a spare for face value. Finding them is the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭TirEoghain

Still no luck myself, and I exhaused all my avenues, so all I can hope to get one on the morning. Fingers crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

I'm on the lookout for tickets as well!

Things were not looking good last week (for ticket searching that is) but since the Kerry Dublin semi-final was decided and the weekend over, there are some tickets appearing at this late stage. Many of the people who I was looking out for (I'm not from either Limerick or Kilkenny myself) are now getting their requirements filled, so genuine fans are just paying genuine face value levels, which is good to see. Of course many will miss out too.

However, I am sure there will be last minute tickets available from genuine people who have one or two too many, spares, etc. So anyone that must go to this game, be in Dublin on Sat and Sun and you should get yourself sorted for something.

But one thing I have noticed, and I'm wondering is this a sign of the times, and that is the somewhat lack of effort/guilt of some people that are probably less-deserving of tickets in giving them to people that are more-deserving. Of course that's difficult to define, who deserves tickets more than others, etc, but some comparisons are very obvious. I know of some people that have tickets and they havent even seen Kilkenny or Limerick play, not even on TV, and they have tickets, and then there will be people that have gone to each match with their 10 year old son or something and they cant get a ticket. That's all well in good but the vibe I am getting in this dog-eat-dog world is that the undeserving person doesnt even feel guilty about it in the slightest. Not a good sign.

Here's to a good game, and tickets to those that deserve them!

Redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Saw a huge queue outside the Gaelic Grounds today, must of been for tickets or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

I got 2 tickets from a guy who owed me a favour (a big favour!). I had to wrestle with my conscience for a day or two - I'm from Waterford but a couple of my best friends are from Limerick. I couldn't really sit there and enjoy the game on Sunday if one of them missed the game so they're both going. The bastards had better return the favour if we ever win a semi final!

redspider wrote:
    But one thing I have noticed, and I'm wondering is this a sign of the times, and that is the somewhat lack of effort/guilt of some people that are probably less-deserving of tickets in giving them to people that are more-deserving. Of course that's difficult to define, who deserves tickets more than others, etc, but some comparisons are very obvious. I know of some people that have tickets and they havent even seen Kilkenny or Limerick play, not even on TV, and they have tickets, and then there will be people that have gone to each match with their 10 year old son or something and they cant get a ticket. That's all well in good but the vibe I am getting in this dog-eat-dog world is that the undeserving person doesnt even feel guilty about it in the slightest. Not a good sign.

Here's to a good game, and tickets to those that deserve them!

Redspider
    Yeh, this is the big problem unfortunately. Something thats getting discussed more and more around here these days. It's something that the GAA really have to try and look at.

I know people that havent been at a game all year, and barely have any interest to even watch the games on telly who now have managed to get hold of tickets for the final. No guilt, no remorse that a genuine fan whos gone to games all season, and who has an avid interest in GAA will miss out because of them.

Some sort of loyalty reward points system whereby people who go to games earlier in the season get points to give them preference for tickets to the big games later on should be introduced. I don't quite know how they would go about implementing this, but I'd like some initative introduced to see that the 'real fan' is catered for in the future.

C'mon GAA management we know you read this forum, and others like it. We're throwing pearls of wisdom at ye. Act upon them! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭wonka

up to yesterday we had only had 2 tickets... but then they started rolling in... none from Limerick itself but from Cork, Tipp and Dublin. we'll probably have more than we need by tomorrow and i'd say there'll be others like us.

I'd urge anyone that doesn't have a ticket to get to Dublin regardless. They WILL become available on the day.

Back in 1996 we had none up to that morning but then it all came good... besides the result obviously.

Luimneach Abú.

col16 wrote:

Seen as i was centre to the controversy "looking for two tickets" on here , just letting ye know i secured two from Sligo.... Thanks for the help and ideas everyone and hopefully i'll be back here monday gloating our win. Cheers.
    Luimneach Abu....................................:) :):):):):)

Glad you got some. Got a spare?:D Win lose or draw, be back here on Monday and for a long time to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

blackbelt wrote:
    The rules we have are not boards rules but personal rules and guidelines drawn up by myself and Flukey and I don't think you did yourself any favours with those smart comments if you are looking to get into the scheme.

Lads do you not think this is going to your heads a bit? Whats this "scheme" supposed to be? Anyone that really wanted to go to any game this summer could buy tickets from TM (like Flukey or yourself might have done)or around Drumcondra on match day, the Derry QF had 2000 empty seats, at both the Leinster Final & SF guards were handing out dozens of free tickets before throw in, I know a xxxxxx clubman who handed 60 to guard as he couldn't give get rid of them in time. The only real challenge was the Kerry SF and even then I don't know any geunine fans that missed out.

I honestly don't want to offend any of you but you make it sound like if we kiss your ass you'll help us get tickets, maybe this is not what you meant but its how it came across to me.

I do agree with both of you in that no one is gonna give tickets, especially AI tickets, away to a stranger from an internet forum and its pretty much pointless asking, but I suppose if I was desperate I might try too.

I honestly don't want to offend any of you but you make it sound like if we kiss your ass you'll help us get tickets, maybe this is not what you meant but its how it came across to me.

No it is not what we mean Jackbhoy. It is annoying for any GAA fan, going beyond the whole boards spectrum altogether, to see someone coming along looking for a ticket for a final, having paid no interest whatsoever in anymatches, even when their own team is playing, prior to that. For those of us that post here regularly, or people beyond here who go to matches all the time, we know we are genuinely interested, from the first throw-in of the year, to the final whistle of the last match. Now we are not saying that anyone that appears here at the final stages of the championship looking for a ticket is not a genuine fan. As in any sphere though, if we do have spares, we will look after those we know first. As I have said up to this, I'd look after my own friends, before anyone here. Blackbelt is just saying in very broad terms that if we do have tickets to spare, we'll look after those we know first rather than first timers and people we don't.

We've all seen and heard of people this week either looking for tickets, or having got one, that would never have been in Croke Park, or any venue, in their lives. But for the fact that their county was playing this weekend, they wouldn't have paid one bit of notice to the fact that there was an All-Ireland final on this weekend, or probably wouldn't have even known it was on.

I was with some friends tonight, and when one person who was with us, who I've never met in my life, heard I was interested in GAA and was hoping to be at the final on Sunday, she said she was from Limerick and wanted to go. I asked her had she been to any of their other games this year. She said she hadn't, but she said she was from Limerick and so she wanted to go. She probably won't get one, but lots like her probably will, while genuine fans will be left without.

I was still looking for one at that stage, and fortunately, when I got home tonight, there was a ticket waiting for me.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Flukey wrote:
    We've all seen and heard of people this week either looking for tickets, or having got one, that would never have been in Croke Park, or any venue, in their lives. But for the fact that their county was playing this weekend, they wouldn't have paid one bit of notice to the fact that there was an All-Ireland final on this weekend, or probably wouldn't have even known it was on.

Well this is one of my pet hates too and its not just at this time of year, bandwagoners seem to be magnetically drawn to Croker Park in the summer where they display their incredible passion for GAA and their county and yet it would never dawn on half of them to go to their local county ground for a league or early c'ship game and certainly not to go to a club game.

It'll be interesting to see who, from all the prolific and passionate posters on here, will be on here in October discussing the latter stages of the Dublin SFC (not aimed at you Flukey btw!). I remember coming on here after the SF last year and there was barely a flicker of interest, after a really good final (in which Vincents were robbed imo!!) there was a couple of posts but nothing compared to the 100's of pages of posts on the Dubs from July to late August. Its unfortunate that so many of these GAA "supporters" hibernate for the winter, sure who would go down to PP on a freezing Monday night to watch a County Final with 6000 other frozen heads, wheres the glamour in that?

The post-championship lull will always happen, it's true. It's hard to get the same level of interest for posters on local games, so the posts don't accumulate. If few are posting, then few will respond. Even if we want to discuss something, there are only a few here to discuss it. Without the media coverage, that enables a whole country to discuss a game during the summer, even those with a passion for club games won't be able to comment on other games in their own county, nevermind people from other counties discussing them. We'll soldier on though, and we know things will pick up again once the inter-county season starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

jackbhoy wrote:
    It'll be interesting to see who, from all the prolific and passionate posters on here, will be on here in October discussing the latter stages of the Dublin SFC (not aimed at you Flukey btw!). I remember coming on here after the SF last year and there was barely a flicker of interest, after a really good final (in which Vincents were robbed imo!!) there was a couple of posts but nothing compared to the 100's of pages of posts on the Dubs from July to late August. Its unfortunate that so many of these GAA "supporters" hibernate for the winter, sure who would go down to PP on a freezing Monday night to watch a County Final with 6000 other frozen heads, wheres the glamour in that?

Every county is the same. You'll probably get 5/6,000 at the Donegal County final to, but you're back then to people from St.Eunans, Dungloe etc. or indeed in Dublin, Vincents, Kilmacud etc. going to the County final who haven't been to the 1st round or league games, so even in the club context it still applies.

Also I might view a thread on the Dublin SFC but I wouldn't be knowledgable enough about the scene to post.

On a general level the provincial club championship would be off more all round interest than county championships. It was amazing the amount of new posters on the last 2 weeks or so that we probably will never see to next August again.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Well, in Hurling terms, today is the peak of it. One of my favourite days of the year. You can guess what one of the others is. :)