Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D'ya want to buy a Litre of fairy liquid for 2 quid?

• 25-08-2007 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭

Just had a woman stop by offering a litre of fairy liquid for 2 quid, I declined (I get the cheap homebrand for 33c and don't see any difference :p).

I kind of felt bad for her though, she wasn't pushy, and she is trying (though, it's a fairly crap strategy and price).

Without doubt the best salesperson to ever come to my door was a little girl who can't of been more than 6 years old.

She had a bunch of Capri Sun drinks in a plastic bag and was selling them individually :D.

The conversation went like this.........

Little Girl: Would you like to buy a Capri Sun for 50cent?

Me: ermm, nah I'm fine thanks

Little Girl: How come??

Me: Erm, I'm just about to have my dinner.

Little Girl
    : *pauses* ... you could have it with your dinner!

She got the sale of course, how could I refuse that level of tenacity and quick thinking, she has a bright future methinks.

What's the most unusual thing people have tried to sell to you by calling to your door?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

YORE MA! she was a good price too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Anyone who has ever come to my door asking 'D'ya want anything sharpened' :confused: :eek: :p has always seemed a bit of a head the ball too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

I've actually never had anyone try to hard-sell me at my door.

Coupla Jehovah's Witnesses, that's been it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Clothes pegs

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

A little off topic but here it goes.

Myself and two of the lads were in the pub one day and some guy comes in selling things. He comes up to us and tries to flog his wares.

The first was a small electronic organiser. He told us all the amazing things it could do like play old atari games, store all your phine numbers, calendar functions and a couple of other things your phone can do only better. We pointed this out to him and his response was 'Well you'd be pretty pissed off, if you left your phone that cost a couple of hundred quid in the back of a taxi, whereas this only costs €15'. We told him that, like everyone else, we bring our phones every where with us so it didn't decrease the odds of us loosing it.

He then pulled out a tv remote control from his bag but this was no ordinary remote control. 'Prey tell AlmightyCushion, what set this
    remote control apart from every other remote.' I hear you cry. 'Does it control everything in my house, is it operated telepathically, can it go back in time??????' I hear you inquisitively ponder. The answer is more unbelievably brilliant than you can possibly imagine. What made this remote a superior piece of human engineering was it's sheer size. The thing was the size of an A4 refill pad, I shít you not. We of course started laughing and mocking him before telling him to peddle his shít some where else.

After he left we spent a good 20-30 minutes laughing and joking about how this guy actually expected anyone to by this junk saying things like 'I hope he's not getting paid on commission' and the like before we realised that he had actually stayed for a pint and was in the booth beside us. Need less to say, it didn't stop us mocking him. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

There's absolutely no comparison between fairy and all the cheapo washing up liquids.

It out-bubbles them all

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Caliden wrote:
    Clothes pegs
    Were they looking for Dave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Sean_K wrote:
    There's absolutely no comparison between fairy and all the cheapo washing up liquids.

It out-bubbles them all

Except new improved Fairy with lemon scent :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

The-Rigger wrote:

What's the most unusual thing people have tried to sell to you by calling to your door?

Seafood. This guy comes around once or twice a year in a refrigerated van trying to flog fish door to door. WTF?

Travellers come round my neughbourhood every month or two trying to flog us a leather sofa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭D Bronc

Last year a Traveller woman came to my door selling DVD's perfume and other stuff. Anyways after badgering me for at least half an hour to by something i bought a bottle of perfume for 5euro mainly just to get rid of her, but oh no that wasnt enough. Firstly she asked me for a cigarette because as she didnt make much money she hadnt any cig's, my thoughts were give them up if you cant afford them. Then she decided she was cold (it was a summer evening) and would i have a jacket (or two) she could "borrow". After i told her i had no jackets she decided she needed a buggy for the child she had with her who was around five or six. When i told her i only had one buggy and i needed it she asked me was i sure?! I had a hard job trying to close the front door but it left me wondering did i have STUPID wrote on my forehead?!:confused::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

ixoy wrote:
    Were they looking for Dave?

I'm confused. What?

Stephen wrote:
    Seafood. This guy comes around once or twice a year in a refrigerated van trying to flog fish door to door. WTF?

How is that weird? A guy from a Company called Seafrsh comes around to us and some of the stuff he sells is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

D Bronc wrote:
    I had a hard job trying to close the front door but it left me wondering did i have STUPID wrote on my forehead?!:confused::(
    for not just slamming the door in her face, yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

thats a rip off, they are 3 for €3 in tesco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Caliden - just strikes me as an odd kind of thing to sell door to door. I can't say I've ever had an impulse to buy fish before :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

D Bronc wrote:
    do i have STUPID wrote on my forehead?!:confused::(

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Marathon Man

Travellers come round my neughbourhood every month or two trying to flog us a leather sofa.

Travellers come round my neighborhood every month or two trying to steal our leather sofa.:eek:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Caliden wrote:
    I'm confused. What?
    My favourite pegs salesman - Papa Lazarou.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

was walking along Henry Street one Sunday morning, Early when there was almost no-one about. There was a chap asking everyone who passed by if they wanted to buy an Aran Jumper. I think he was talking about the one he was wearing because he didn't have anything else with him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Newspapers. "If you buy a subscription to the Orange County Register, it will increase my chances to win a trip to Jamaica..." was the last pitch by a teen.

"I don't read newspapers," I say. "Get all my news online."

"But I can give you two weeks free!" he says.

"I don't read even free newspapers," I reply.

"Then how can I get to Jamaica?" he cries.

Bad B!ue bits lip, thinks "Swim!," but somehow controls herself.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Had a gypsy at my door trying to sell me good luck charms once. Of course when I turned her down, I got a bunch of bad luck curses for free. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

No quite selling.. . but two young women ( ropey looking, overweight, and straight out of a Sunday mass choir ), called to my door last year.
    They said that there was so much bad things going on in the world, like wars, and famine, would I spare a minute to say the "Our Father" with them......

I hadn't any sarcastic or humourous "set-piece" remarks on-hand for that situation, so I just told them I wasn't religious in any way, and waited till the door was closed to laugh at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

Blackjack wrote:
    was walking along Henry Street one Sunday morning, Early when there was almost no-one about. There was a chap asking everyone who passed by if they wanted to buy an Aran Jumper. I think he was talking about the one he was wearing because he didn't have anything else with him.

American Tourist :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Spyral

No quite selling.. . but two young women ( ropey looking, overweight, and straight out of a Sunday mass choir ), called to my door last year.
    They said that there was so much bad things going on in the world, like wars, and famine, would I spare a minute to say the "Our Father" with them......

I hadn't any sarcastic or humourous "set-piece" remarks on-hand for that situation, so I just told them I wasn't religious in any way, and waited till the door was closed to laugh at them.

Im sorry that despite being non religous that you laughed at them. Those people were clearly trying to reach out to people and you were insensitive :(

it makes kitty cry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

a woman i know had a knacker call at her door selling leather sofas. she when out to look at it and thought it was quite nice, she haggled on the price and got it down to €400 and they would take away her crappy old one.
    here's the kicker, they said the one in the van was sold to a lady a couple of houses down and they just keep on using it for they rest of the day showing people what their like (they said they had 10 of them). they said they would take the old one now and when there finished selling for the day, they be back with the new one, so she gave them the €400 and her old sofa and guess what... never seen them again.
    i still laugh when i think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Senna wrote:
    a woman i know had a knacker call at her door selling leather sofas. she when out to look at it and thought it was quite nice, she haggled on the price and got it down to €400 and they would take away her crappy old one.
    here's the kicker, they said the one in the van was sold to a lady a couple of houses down and they just keep on using it for they rest of the day showing people what their like (they said they had 10 of them). they said they would take the old one now and when there finished selling for the day, they be back with the new one, so she gave them the €400 and her old sofa and guess what... never seen them again.

Damn O.o. They must have had a spell on her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

Spyral wrote:
    Im sorry that despite being non religous that you laughed at them. Those people were clearly trying to reach out to people and you were insensitive :(

it makes kitty cry

Whats the view like from up there? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Senna wrote:
    I actually did buy a couch from them.
    I needed a new one anyway.

The guy called to the door and I haggled him down from €1,000 to €700.
    I didn't have the cash on me, so I asked him to call back in a couple of days.
    He left the couch with me (3,2,1) and when he called back for the money, I told him I only had €600. He was happy enough with that and I'm quite happy with my purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

The Bollox wrote:
    YORE MA! she was a good price too
    Ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

I had a Traveller knock on the door a few months back converstation was...

Him : After noon boss wanna buy a watch

me : no sorry

he puts them down on the step

him; Ah look there lovely

me : no thanks

Him : How about some after shave (reaching into his pocket)

Me: Look sorry I am busy at the moment

Him : (Looking me up and down) What the fcuk would you be busy at, rubbin ur mi**ey????

Me : Good Luck (Door slams)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

You were probably lucky. If you chose to pray, two young lads would be round the back robbin' everything they could see. Im always suspicious of dodgy people coming to the door to distract ya while your robbed out back.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

People cycling to my house and offering me paintings. Some were really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Spyral wrote:

If I were insensitive I would've laughed before I closed the door.
    I didn't laugh in front of them... as I said I waited until the door was closed.

These people are trying to impose their views, and their religion on me.
    They think that they have the right to call around to my home uninvited and ask me to take part in a mini religious ritual on my doorstep.

How PC are you Spyral ?
    Do you believe that I have equals rights to them?
    That I'm equally entitled to go around everyones house and tell them that God does not exist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

D Bronc wrote:
    did i have STUPID wrote on my forehead?!:confused::(

Well you did buy perfume to 'make her go away,' so yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭D Bronc

Thanks to all who think im stupid:mad: Anyways i dont answer them anymore im so brave and if i do accidently answer them i tell them im babysitting or if my da is round i go no its not my house and call daddy your wanted at the door and he gets stuck with them. lol :D:p

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

D Bronc wrote:
    did i have STUPID wrote written on my forehead?!:confused::(

Corrected ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

dbnavan wrote:
    I had a Traveller knock on the door a few months back converstation was...

Him : (Looking me up and down) What the fcuk would you be busy at, rubbin ur mi**ey????

Me : Good Luck (Door slams)

And yet you slammed the door rather than denying it :eek:

Where is ceiling cat when you need him :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Rossibaby

threathen the travellors,if you dont stand up to the c*nts they'll walk all over ya.had them try to sell watches to me before but i was in my football gear with no cash and i said ''look im going to play football,i dont carry cash on me to matches'' he goes ''well,i hope you win..'' and left lol or you can take the alleged approach of hte sinn fein councillor in kerry...''**** off ya smelly pavee bastards'' lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Had a girl pass a tea light, and a card in through the car window the other day getting on to the N11 coming from Stillorgan. "Please buy this item for 1 euro, as I have no money to feed my child" or some such. Would have been more effective, cept there were about 5 of them passing out these candles all over the junction :o