Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy games you used to play back in the day?

• 24-08-2007 2:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭

Hey folks,

Since we're being nostalgic I thought I'd continue the trend and tell ye about a couple of the "fun" games I used to play when I was in the early teens (not that long ago!).

My friends and I used to spend most of the day hanging around in one of the lads' shed, listening to music, drinking, and getting up to general divilment. For the most part harmless, but one thing that I've been thinking about is how careless we were! Something of a headline waiting to happen.

Only 1 or 2 of them smoked, so it was a bit of a novelty, and lighters were of much interest to the rest of us, so we'd have alot of fun lighting the couches on fire! We were sitting on them at the time, and we'd light them on fire and let them burn for a while and then put them out. The shed was full of flammable liquids and the material on the couch went up fairly easily, so I don't know how the hell we managed to avoid... exploding. Any plastic bottles that were lying around were inevitably burned also, releasing all manner of toxins into the air, and this was almost non-stop! Inhaling all that crap isn't likely to have been good for me.....

Like most teenagers we bought fireworks too. But not content with just lighting a rocket and watching it explode, we would break off the stick and chuck it into a bottle and try to close the lid before it exploded. Lots of close calls there as you might expect. We'd also take apart the fireworks and use the components for all sorts of fun.....

We also used to have a big net hanging from the roof, like a huge hammock, and we'd chuck any empty cans or bottles (not glass thankfully) into that, and every so often have a bit of fun by crushing up the cans and throwing them at each other! There'd be 5-10 people in this shed hiding behind the couches and cracking each other in the head! Not as dangerous as the pyro fun, but still not good.

But the one I was thinking of was actually quite dodgey indeed. For whatever reason there was a knife or 2 in the shed, and we created an impromtu game where one person would throw a knife into the air at another person, spinning it around, and the other person had to catch it or else avoid it hitting them! I don't know why the hell we played that, but in retrospect it's a f*cking miracle nobody at least got cut with it, nevermind having it land right in their leg!

Anyways, they're my modest games, I'm sure some of you country folk played games like shooting each other in the knee-cap and the first one to flich loses ;) So do share your dangerous fun! Who knows, you might even give us some ideas!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

DaveMcG wrote:
    Hey folks,

Since we're being nostalgic I thought I'd continue the trend and tell ye about a couple of the "fun" games I used to play when I was in the early teens (not that long ago!).

My friends and I used to spend most of the day hanging around in one of the lads' shed, listening to music, drinking, and getting up to general divilment. For the most part harmless, but one thing that I've been thinking about is how careless we were! Something of a headline waiting to happen.

Only 1 or 2 of them smoked, so it was a bit of a novelty, and lighters were of much interest to the rest of us, so we'd have alot of fun lighting the couches on fire! We were sitting on them at the time, and we'd light them on fire and let them burn for a while and then put them out. The shed was full of flammable liquids and the material on the couch went up fairly easily, so I don't know how the hell we managed to avoid... exploding. Any plastic bottles that were lying around were inevitably burned also, releasing all manner of toxins into the air, and this was almost non-stop! Inhaling all that crap isn't likely to have been good for me.....

Like most teenagers we bought fireworks too. But not content with just lighting a rocket and watching it explode, we would break off the stick and chuck it into a bottle and try to close the lid before it exploded. Lots of close calls there as you might expect. We'd also take apart the fireworks and use the components for all sorts of fun.....

We also used to have a big net hanging from the roof, like a huge hammock, and we'd chuck any empty cans or bottles (not glass thankfully) into that, and every so often have a bit of fun by crushing up the cans and throwing them at each other! There'd be 5-10 people in this shed hiding behind the couches and cracking each other in the head! Not as dangerous as the pyro fun, but still not good.

But the one I was thinking of was actually quite dodgey indeed. For whatever reason there was a knife or 2 in the shed, and we created an impromtu game where one person would throw a knife into the air at another person, spinning it around, and the other person had to catch it or else avoid it hitting them! I don't know why the hell we played that, but in retrospect it's a f*cking miracle nobody at least got cut with it, nevermind having it land right in their leg!

Anyways, they're my modest games, I'm sure some of you country folk played games like shooting each other in the knee-cap and the first one to flich loses ;) So do share your dangerous fun! Who knows, you might even give us some ideas!!! :D

Girls are so boring! We didn't have half as much fun as you seemed to

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Back in primary school me and a three of the lads in my class were given a project to do by the principal on trees. At first I thought it was shít but it was actually some of the best fun I've had in school. Any ways we got time during class to go to the library and do research. We'd use this time, not to brush up trees but to have a book fight. We'd spend ages in that library throwing books at each other some of which were quiet big. Good times. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead and his buddies used to play "Who's lips are they".

Basically we'd head down to the cows in the bottom field behind mad Danno Breens house and call in for Fat Fiona on the way. Then Pighead would put his blindfold on and spin around 3 times and french kiss whoevers lips were put in front of me. The idea of the game was to try and work out if you were kissing Fat Fiona or a Fat Fresian. Used to hate when it was Fiona.

Those were innocent days of course. These days the little fcukers head down to the bottom field for games of "Whos inner rectum is this?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Sounds like great fun alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I think Haloween was the worst. I remember we would have the tin foil role tubes with one end sealed off, drop in fireworks, up on the shoulder and lauch them at each other like a grenade launcher! How no one ever got injured :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Conkers *launches one towards the OP*

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Ruu wrote:
    Conkers *launches one towards the OP*
    I used to love conkers especially the stampede when one of them came off and fell on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Friends older brothers used to throw darts at our feet while we were playing the mega drive. Punctured the air bubble in one my shoes once (or whatever the cheap knock off of an air bubble was at the time :p )

Wasn't really fun at 10, wondering if you'd get a dart into your foot at any moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

We used to go into the old closed down cinema back in the day. There was a small hole in the roof so you could bend the cinema seat back and watch the stars (Great way to relax on a Friday night with some cans). There were a ton of mattresses piled up in a corner so we used to dive from a height into them, great but smelly fun. We went into the projector room (floor was VERY unstable) where there was a treasure of nostalgia stuff like old 70's Beano comics and a very 90's picture of Kylie Minogue in a skimpy bikini.

Then one day during school lunch I found the holy grail, an entire celluloid film reel of Midnight Express. I said to myself "I am so taking this home!!" but next thing the secondary school bell rang and we had to go back. I was supposed to get it after school but I completely forgot. Next thing that night I heard fire engines outside my house. I ran down the street to find that somebody set fire to the cinema!! The entire thing was burnt out!!!

I went on a vigilante mission to find out who done it but to this day I only know that some young fúckers where in there drinking and they intentionally set the place on fire. Not only was the cinema our hangout spot but an original print of a classic movie was destroyed!!!

*drops to knees and rips shirt apart* NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

this got me reminiscing and it seems i've played my fair share of stupid games

we used to climb scaffoldings to about 3 or 4 metres then hang from the protruding bars and try and get the other guy to let go. i lost, fell on barbed wire and got ten stiches in my forehead.

we used to play around with petrol lamps flicking petrol around till one blew up on me and i got second degree burns on my entire body, even my tongue was burnt. i was bandaged from head to foot for about 6 weeks.

we used to dive off a cliff and catch a protruding tree, swing on it, then climb down. my friend lost and broke his arm.

we used to get 3 people on 2 skate boards, two people sitting down, one standing (usually me) on the steepest slope of our neighborhood and bomb it down. invariably we'd crash and i'd end up completely bloody.

tons of other things we used to do, all of which were pretty dumb and most led to serious enough injuries, but those are the first that spring to mind. I can't imagine the anguish i put my parents through, and now that i'm a dad, i'm dreading my son being as stupid as me when it comes to that kind of stuff!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Gizzle

Gushies were as hardcore as I got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Shrapnel222, how the hell are you still alive? :D

I remember a game that was really popular we played all the time. Wacky Races we called it, everyone would race down a friend's very steep driveway (it was huge cuz the house was on a hill) on a kiddies vehicle (lil' tractors, trycycles, that little red car with the yellow roof, etc)

We also added the element of Road Rash, as in you could kick the shít out of your opponent and ram into them causing them to crash (which was very painful as this was an incredibly fast game)

Once we got bored with the usual down-the-hill thing we set up obstacles on the hill like Wheelie bins and all that. Much carnage ensued as you'd be flying down the hill behind everyone when suddenly a painful pile-up of bodies, bins, and toy vehicles occured and next thing you're looking at a rogue toy tractor flying in the air towards your head. :D

Ah man, it was some fun!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

this got me reminiscing and it seems i've played my fair share of stupid games

we used to climb scaffoldings to about 3 or 4 metres then hang from the protruding bars and try and get the other guy to let go. i lost, fell on barbed wire and got ten stiches in my forehead.

we used to play around with petrol lamps flicking petrol around till one blew up on me and i got second degree burns on my entire body, even my tongue was burnt. i was bandaged from head to foot for about 6 weeks.

we used to dive off a cliff and catch a protruding tree, swing on it, then climb down. my friend lost and broke his arm.

we used to get 3 people on 2 skate boards, two people sitting down, one standing (usually me) on the steepest slope of our neighborhood and bomb it down. invariably we'd crash and i'd end up completely bloody.

tons of other things we used to do, all of which were pretty dumb and most led to serious enough injuries, but those are the first that spring to mind. I can't imagine the anguish i put my parents through, and now that i'm a dad, i'm dreading my son being as stupid as me when it comes to that kind of stuff!!! :D
    hahaha, now that's the kind of stuff I'm talking about! :D

Another game we used to play back in primary school involved throwing rocks at each other. No fancy rules or goals in the game other than you throw rocks at the other team! There was a gentlemen's agreement to aim below the neck, but other than that anything goes.

But accidents do happen and they're inevitably unpleasant when playing a good old game of Rock Throw™ and I got hit in the face, right underneath my eye, on the socket. Cue blood everywhere and running home crying to my ma! A former friend also ended up getting hit, on the head though. Cue blood everywhere and running crying to MY ma, cos we were playing across the road from my house!

Ahh fun times........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

we used to get pieces of wood...super glue a peg on one end and hammer a nail on the other end. get an elastic band and put it around the nail and into the peg...
    when you see someone you would like to hurt, release the elastic band by pressing the peg..(its better if the elastic is pulled real tight)..
    every summer, there used to be war in my estate...good memories though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Ah, peg guns and red cars with yellow roofs (Thanks for that one Dug), good times.

How about the Coke-Bottle-Cap-Pebble-Launcher?

Saw off the screwy part of a coke bottle.
    Cut the finger off a rubber glove.
    Attach glove finger to bottle with the aid of rubber bands.
    Begin launching surprise attacks across the classroom.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Cue blood everywhere and running crying to MY ma, cos we were playing across the road from my house!

Ahh fun times........

this reminds me once we were playing in the barn of the farm we used to go to during the summer and my cousin climbed on the combined harvester and started starting it up. anyway, being the sensible boy that i was:D , i tell him to stop (farm machinery was a big no go area) and put my hand on the cogwheel to stop it. this wasn't enough and part of my hand goes through the cogwheels (they were huge like 2 foot across) and is grounded to a pulp. I start screeming and running towards the house holding my injured hand. i get to the house, our parents had some friends over and they were all sitting in the living room. i walk into the living room crying only to hear my aunt saying, "it's probably nothing, just a wasp bite" so i let go of my injured hand, blood falls everywhere, she faints and i'm rushed to the nearest hospital 50 kilometers away. ahh the good old days!!!:D

Femmy wrote:
    we used to get pieces of wood...super glue a peg on one end and hammer a nail on the other end. get an elastic band and put it around the nail and into the peg...
    when you see someone you would like to hurt, release the elastic band by pressing the peg..(its better if the elastic is pulled real tight)..
    every summer, there used to be war in my estate...good memories though.
    Haha, those things were great! But ours were a bit different to that. They'd have a peg down one end and 2 nails up the other end, with an elastic in between them. Then you'd take the metal part out of another peg, and put that on the elastic. Pull it back and hold it with the fixed pig. Then you see some unlucky victim, and wham bam thank you mam! He loses an eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Nothing too crazy, apart from a game we borrowed from Jackass called Spearball. Basically 2 people play; One throws the ball (small enough to easily hold in one hand) to the other, then charges at him and tackles him as hard as possible, while the guy being tackled has to stand still, ball in one hand, arms in the air and take it. If they held onto the ball, they got a point. If they dropped it, the 'tackler' got a point.

Other than that, nothing too extreme. Bareknuckle boxing was enjoyed for a while, but it got tiresome very quick when you got grounded every time you came home with a black eye.

this reminds me once we were playing in the barn of the farm we used to go to during the summer and my cousin climbed on the combined harvester and started starting it up. anyway, being the sensible boy that i was:D , i tell him to stop (farm machinery was a big no go area) and put my hand on the cogwheel to stop it. this wasn't enough and part of my hand goes through the cogwheels (they were huge like 2 foot across) and is grounded to a pulp. I start screeming and running towards the house holding my injured hand. i get to the house, our parents had some friends over and they were all sitting in the living room. i walk into the living room crying only to hear my aunt saying, "it's probably nothing, just a wasp bite" so i let go of my injured hand, blood falls everywhere, she faints and i'm rushed to the nearest hospital 50 kilometers away. ahh the good old days!!!:D
    Always have to out-do me........... :mad: lol

Did your hand get better or what? :(
    Nothing too crazy, apart from a game we borrowed from Jackass called Spearball. Basically 2 people play; One throws the ball (small enough to easily hold in one hand) to the other, then charges at him and tackles him as hard as possible, while the guy being tackled has to stand still, ball in one hand, arms in the air and take it. If they held onto the ball, they got a point. If they dropped it, the 'tackler' got a point.

Reminds me of a less goal-oriented game we used to play! On a football pitch, one person grabs the crossbar with both hands and hangs like that, as if going to do pull-ups. Then someone else charges at him and spears the sh*t out of him!!! That hurts, lol

DaveMcG wrote:
    Always have to out-do me........... :mad: lol

Did your hand get better or what? :(

i was lucky the bone only got chipped and wasn't crushed cause the hand was facing outwards rather than inwards, but all the fleshy part of the palm went to mush- nice big scar to show for it though

DaveMcG wrote:
    Haha, those things were great! But ours were a bit different to that. They'd have a peg down one end and 2 nails up the other end, with an elastic in between them. Then you'd take the metal part out of another peg, and put that on the elastic. Pull it back and hold it with the fixed pig. Then you see some unlucky victim, and wham bam thank you mam! He loses an eye.

Yeah, that's pretty much how it's done. Why two nails at the other end though? We just put one nail through the "eye" of the metal thing in the stationary peg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Ah the good aul Peg Gun Femmy...

We however would use the steel part of another peg and put that on the elastic band.

When that thing hits you, it hurts.

Another thing we used to make was "cherry poppers" :D - Cut off a bottle top & about 3 inches of bottle, cut a finger from a marigold glove and wrap it around the part you drink from.

Pop a berry in, pull and BLAM. Berry flies out.

Welcome to 17minutes ago Mear :p. Berries, pfft, get some bleedin' rocks in them yokes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Ha! Twice in the last two or three weeks have I reminisced about these old things.

Peg guns and cherry poppers are a must in any child's upbringing. We made peg guns with one close peg, a rubber band, a metal spring from a close peg, a piece of timber and two or three nails. There were different ways of making them. We were so ingenious!

Way one. Use one rubber band and attach spring. Nail peg to one end, facing the other. Put nail at the top. Done.
    Then we found out that only one peg wasn't enough. so we attached loads! We'd get a square piece of timber and put one on all sides.
    Then it turned out that only being able to fire one peg at a time wasn't enough. So we'd put two pegs on each side and a nail on the outside edge of the pegs. This meant you only needed to push from one side to fire the peg. So you could fire two or more at once.

:D great memories all together.

Hmmmm... what else. Ah yeah, there were a few trees on our road that hung quite low. During the summer, and autumn (while the leaves were still on the trees) we'd get one person to hide up the three, and jump down in front of passers-by to scare the living daylights outta them. We got most of it on film. We'd go round the local supermarket and hide behind the trolleys and do it too. Got told to clear off all the time.

Don't think we did nothing dangerous, apart from lighting fires out the back, crazy that my parents let us. I'd never ever let my kids do that... when I have kids that is.

Does anybody remember making a gat/slingshot out of a hanger, a load of elastics, a load of sellotape, and a piece of a belt? Those things were great, got some f*cking distance outa them with the right stone! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I certainly do.

We also used to make more powerful ones with bits of wood, nails and thick rubber bands taken from drain pipes. Living beside a housing estate being built was dangerous. Well, it was more of a bow type thing. Used a clothes peg to release the band.

We had to go back to the coat hanger ones when the estate was finished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

jebus some of the dumb things that i look back on and ponder how we still alive.

One fun game was where Clondalkin train station is there used to be a wall instead of a ehh train station.

The wall had a ESB old wooden pole on it, we cut the power cable and ripped it from the pole and used to swing over the train tracks on it, kinda dumb and seriously dangerous especially as after that got boring we spiced it up by doing when trains where going by underneath us :eek:

In Clondalkin up in the dutch village is woodford hill a 500 metre steep hill, impossible to skateboard down it while standing up as the board would wobble and throw you off. Found that out the hard way so we went down it sitting down and used the roundabout at the bottom as your brakes your board hit and you shot off onto the grass. I hit a moving taxi one time and the driver smacked ME for hitting his cab :eek:

The mill shopping centre before it was a mill was an old mill :confused: we used to skateboard on the roof off until a lad from school fell 50 feet from it and died.

Another sweet god how ****ing dumb we were was at the entrance to Cappaghmore was hanging onto the back of coal trucks as they left the estate, until a lad fell under the back wheel and died.

Kids are dumb.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

When I was young (and we were dirt poor) I got a pair of boxing gloves for Christmas one year. So because I only had one pair my brother and I used to wear one each and box. If you punched the other person too hard with the gloved hand you got a slap from the other person's free hand.

Cheap,cheerful brain damaging fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

how far back? At about 16 it was strip-spin-the-bottle-truth-or-dare,

an extreme version of 7-minutes-in-heaven

before that was a run of 52, mixed playing areas (graveyard was the best fun)

foxes and hounds - the version where the older boys would try cop a feel

we played the mariage game (mock cermonies on valentines day)

the ever fun "lets jump off stuff" game

a hooker/cop game. (yeah yeah, we were young and trying to figure out what sex was without asking our parents or stripping)

*doing this has made me realise just how sexualised our games were. jeez. its a miracle I was a virgin as long as I was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Noone mentioned hulahoops

Quite the rage back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Peg guns were the height of my wood working skills, i made a double peg gun, and later turned it into an under and over quad shot.
    It had a handle to hold it steady while the other hand released the pegs.

I want to be young again, maybe keep my driving license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭ansionnachclist

Find the penis was a hit with the girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

"swingball" as myself and my cousin christened it.

Anyway what you do is get one of those, kick up footballs, the ones where the football is attached to the string (especially for kick ups).

Ok then go on a swing set, start swinging while someone hold the kick up thing. You kick the football in mid air whilst your swinging. No the string is only so long, so it will travel a bit and then come flying back at you.
    First person to fall off the swing loses.

Seriously was the funniest game ever, especially when the other person gets a full belt of a football in the face. Also the swingset was coming out of the ground because we were going so high, made it more interesting.

We stopped after the time when the football came back, went behing me and the string wrapped around my neck and i nearly suffocated.

Good times. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

We used to go into the gym and kick basketballs at each other as hard as we could, no such thing as points or anything like that but it was just so funny to see someone get buckled with a basketball. Just something to do to pass the time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 jenndudess79

well, i was dragged up in Rathfarnaham, just on the bottom of the Dublin mountains....looooads of hills all over the kip. we used to get used tractor tyres, take the two most gullible s*yts you could find, but them inside the tyres and roll them down the hill. We would piss our self laughing at the screams of the poor feckers Rollin down the hill at about 90 mph, super f*ckin funny. It was even more funny when the tyre went all the way down the hill and out on to the main road....that was if there was no cars on the road. But when it was busy....we some how taught that if we tensed up our body or moved our body from left to right that the tyre was some how going to mimic us.:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :D . It never worked. the only way the tire stopd was if a car hit it...or it went crashin into the side of a house.