Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Friday "help me make a decision thread"

• 24-08-2007 1:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭

I need help making a really random decision. I live in London and a mate is bringing his mad old landrover back to Dublin tonight, bringing it back through Holyhead. I can jump in and go as a foot passenger, cost is £20. Then a flight home on Sunday morning is £40. Should I pay the £60 to go home to spend the day with my girlfriend? It would be totally random and a good surprise for her, although its only 1 day, its £60 and a long 6 hour drive in an 1964 landrover that’s mad nosiy and doesn’t even have a radio! Plus its hassle. What do you think?

Shoudl i stay here in London or go home for the weekend! 57 votes

Go! It would be an adventure and you've nothing else to do all weekend!
    0% 0 votes
    Stay! The hassle of it all, you'll regret it 10mins up the M25
    100% 57 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

Go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Go for it. Bring your ipod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Do it! Good long road trips are always fun. Get to see a bit of the scenery and you have a destination in mind.

I drove from Ahaus in Germany to Holyhead in a Ford Transit recently, taking only 4 hours sleep. It was tough going but I had a friend with me and it was great craic.

Plus you get to see your girlfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 TinaSparkle

Roadtrip!! You should go and make sure to pick her up some flowers and wine - Im sure she will be delighted to see you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Other factors: I have absoulutly nothing to do all weekend, but was thinking of heading into London and just walking about for a bit.

I will be going home for the weekend next weekend (planned ages ago!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

I need help making a really random decision. I live in London and a mate is bringing his mad old landrover back to Dublin tonight, bringing it back through Holyhead. I can jump in and go as a foot passenger, cost is £20. Then a flight home on Sunday morning is £40. Should I pay the £60 to go home to spend the day with my girlfriend? It would be totally random and a good surprise for her, although its only 1 day, its £60 and a long 6 hour drive in an 1964 landrover that’s mad nosiy and doesn’t even have a radio! Plus its hassle. What do you think?

do it, sure what else would you be at, bring ur ipod/mp3 player to listen to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

A roadtrip AND seeing the gf all for only £60 ........ what possible reason could you not have for going???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Karlusss

I say do it.

I got a brief thought that some movie level disappointment or something would happen, but I hope not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 am i bovvered?

Prepare for a sore ass and stiff joints,I should know,I drive one too.Its great though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Prepare for a sore ass and stiff joints,I should know,
    For a second there I thought you were talking about him seeing his girlfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Definitely do it.
    You can catch her cheating on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 am i bovvered?

He won't be in any state for that either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Terry wrote:
    Definitely do it.

Lmfao Fang is back! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Wheres my Atari Jaguar option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Which one will you regret not doing most on Monday morning?

Do it, in other words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Ferry trip: £20.
    cup of tea: 80p
    Sambo: £2
    Flight home: £40
    Catching your bird with her mouth full of some elses cock: priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Terry wrote:
    Definitely do it.

this was my first thought also. Bitterness runs strong in AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Bambi wrote:
    this was my first thought also. Bitterness runs strong in AH
    It's reading feckin PI.

I was a happy-go-lucky chap until I stumbled on it

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

If it's cheaper to see a prostitute then go with the prostitute otherwise just have a wánk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

Tell her you just came back to dump her !
    Get in first before she breaks your heart :)

sunny2004 wrote:
    Tell her you just came back to dump her !
    Get in first before she breaks your heart :)

haha i've booked it, see yis on PI on Sunday!

Would probably of spent the £60 in London anyway doing nothing, will be sum laugh in the landrover, for the first 10mins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Good man gary! I'm planning to drive to Sydney in about 18 months, road trips are always great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Sleepy wrote:
    Good man gary! I'm planning to drive to Sydney in about 18 months, road trips are always great!

From Ireland that will be on hell of a drive.

OP: Glad you decided to do it. I'm sure your girlfriend will most emm appreciative shall we say for the surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

go to london definitely

Don't forget the bank holiday traffic! :eek:
    But look on the bright side, the land rover will be quieter. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I really wonder why people pass up opportunities like this.

When you are older, this will be something to look back on and say you did, as opposed to spending just another weekend in London.

Google Danny Wallace 'Yes Man'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Sleepy wrote:

man im so jealous! of course, in 18 months, ill be leavin Oz to come back here! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

I'd say stay, get drunk and watch a Japanese film with no subtitles and try to translate what they say.

Travelling while young is overrated. To me it's a pain in the hole. Wait until you're older, that way you'll have money and won't have to sleep in manky hostels beside some sweaty stoner you'll try steal a kidney from you while you sleep.

So glad i did it, the laugh we had. The exhaust fell of the landrover on the M4 in birmingham, so we pulled in and put the ear defenders we had in the back on. The the lights went whilst in the mountains of Wales :eek: So we called the AA and we got a lift in the truck to Holyhead :D

Me arse is in bits from the seats, im tired and i i'm gone partially deaf. The best £60 i ever spent!

The GF was delighted to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

The GF was delighted to!

not that delighted if your on boards;) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Poon Tang is guaranteed.