Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

great moments in irish television

• 23-08-2007 10:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭

I know it's ever popular to knock RTÉ and Irish television in general, but what are the moments that really stood out for people and moved them or made their hair stand on end?

Personally I think the moment Nadine Coyle's age was revealed on Popstars was TV gold. Having them totally break the fourth wall and bring the producer in to deal with it made it even more dramatic.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Wheels wrote:
    Personally I think the moment Nadine Coyle's age was revealed on Popstars was TV gold.

It might have seemed that way, but in fairness it smelled of a setup to boost TV ratings for the show, woudn't surprise me at all given how unprofessional the show comes across

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Pop will eat itself on the late late show. Forget exactly when, early nineties.
    The audience were flabbergasted. I think the band were shown the door right after the performance.

Another great late late show moment was yer man calling Kenny an insufferable ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Morgans

Thought the Nadine Coyle fiasco stank to high heavens. Delighted that she has made more of a success of herself than those who set her up. Strange to see the clip of Louis Walsh promising Brian Ormond the spot in the group should any member be dropped.

TV gold on RTE - Mark Little's interview of Jarry Adams about 2 years ago was brilliant. A couple of editions of Q&A have been fantastic also - every once in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

sweetie wrote:
    Pop will eat itself on the late late show. Forget exactly when, early nineties.
    The audience were flabbergasted. I think the band were shown the door right after the performance.
    Think the song was "ich bien ein auslander" (Forgive the spelling don't speak German. Know the phrase though...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Padraig Flynn giving out on The Late Late about how hard it is to keep so many houses and employ staff to clean them and the hardships of travelling back and forth to Brussels. And then his dismissal of Tom Gilmartin and his mental state because of his wife's illness.

Of course Gilmartin watched it on Tara TV in the UK and he decided to come home and testify and the rest is history... Classic RTE moment for sure!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Everything about the Calor Gas Housewife of the Year competition.

Bring it back!!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

when pierce brosnan was on the christmass toy show thing years ago and he was locked, aboustly hammered and he had to show a kid how to use the toy or something but the kid took it off him and showed him how to work it

EDIT: And the worst moment in rish telivision was...

When RTE where approached with Fr.Ted they said No so it was taken to channel 4 who to this day make massive amounts of money off what is by far the best Irish TV show, i think RTE where offered some other big show and they turned it down and it was a hit 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Davedubh

Those wacky public safety ads from the late 70s early 80s.See "wheres grandad?"thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Cabaal wrote:
    It might have seemed that way, but in fairness it smelled of a setup to boost TV ratings for the show, woudn't surprise me at all given how unprofessional the show comes across

can't believe she got a scannal all to herself,

I have to admit riverdance during the eurovision, the moment the synchronized foottaps and the drums kick in and the audience cheers, hairs go up on my neck, you gotta admit it was special :o

podges first awakening and first return...

not a moment but can't await the return of hidden history and keep seeing new stuff on reeling in the years and the same episode dozens of times...

same ol stuff really can't think of anything else

coleman interview with bush for the reaction it got not that it was any good.

the day brendan o'conner has a heart attack live on your a star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭BKtje

Bonner's penalty save against Romania and i think it was Hamilton(?) going absolutely crazy. Was only a young lad but i remember it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,617 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

User45701 wrote:
    When RTE where approached with Fr.Ted they said No so it was taken to channel 4 who to this day make massive amounts of money off what is by far the best Irish TV show, i think RTE where offered some other big show and they turned it down and it was a hit 2
    Wrongggggg..... it was first offered to Hat Trick and Channel 4 in the UK. It has an Irish cast in an Irish location and was very popular in Ireland, but it wasn't turned down by RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭blah

Hey I looked up a few of those things on youtube

Pop will eat itself on the late late

Pat Kenny is an insufferable bore

italia 90 - reeling in the years

Edit: That italia 90 one really brings it all back *wipes tear from eye*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

B-K-DzR wrote:
    Bonner's penalty save against Romania and i think it was Hamilton(?) going absolutely crazy. Was only a young lad but i remember it well.

Ah yes.

"The nation holds its breath .... it's there!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

TmB wrote:
    Wrongggggg..... it was first offered to Hat Trick and Channel 4 in the UK. It has an Irish cast in an Irish location and was very popular in Ireland, but it wasn't turned down by RTE.

I heard the exact oposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

User45701 wrote:
    I heard the exact oposite
    No, he's right. Matthews and Linehan had a deal with hat trick productions and Channel 4 went to hat Trick looking for a sitcom. hat trick offered them "Father Ted"

At the time Matthews and Linehan were writers for several British comedy shows.

Morgan said once that they offered it to RTE but he wasn't even involved at the start...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭hot fuss

Exactly..

That 'RTÉ turned down Father Ted' old chesnut is something you constantly hear people saying.. IT DIDN'T HAPPEN!

Thanks, ill remember that one and ill stick with the best moment being pierce drunk at the christmass toy show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Deflector

The gremlin-ridden Six One on air at the moment is increasingly ranking amongst the most entertaining anyway :D

RTÉ Comedy at its best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,659 ✭✭✭irishgeo

never forgot that penalty kick.

TmB wrote:

Yes that is correct... But that only underlines how RTE at the time (and for the most part today) are a disaster in terms of producing home grown drama or comedy. There was an idea for a programme based in Ireland with a completely Irish cast and written by Irish writers. And nobody ever approached RTE about it! At least if they had been approached and turned it down it would have been something.

But the fact that the show was never even mentioned to RTE says it all really about their track record in terms of drama/ comedy production. I recently pointed that out to RTE when I was being interviewed for a job...:D Needless to say it didn`t go down well and I didn`t get the job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

It was Christmas, early 80's.

One of the old newreaders like Charles Mitchell or Don Coburn was reading the news, just a static shot from the waist up as it was back then.

The next thing you see an arm with a red sleeve and a white cuff reach in the shot and place a toy car beside Charles. Charles glances to the person and says "oh thanks" and continues with the news.

Santy stopped off in Donnybrook, fcuking magical.

It was Christmas, early 80's.

One of the old newreaders like Charles Mitchell or Don Coburn was reading the news, just a static shot from the waist up as it was back then.

The next thing you see an arm with a red sleeve and a white cuff reach in the shot and place a toy car beside Charles. Charles glances to the person and says "oh thanks" and continues with the news.

Santy stopped off in Donnybrook, fcuking magical.

Thats brilliant!:) I wish I`d seen that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

I'm no fan of Gay Byrne and I'd normally be on here bashing RTE for sticking him on Who Wants To Be A Millionaire, rather than using fresh talent. However, one of the moments on Irish TV that I will never forget, though I didn't see it live, was when he called a contestant in the car competition whose postcard had been pulled out of the drum, only to get her mother on the line who told him that she'd died in a car crash during the week.

The way Gaybo handled it so sensitively and asked the mother to tell all about the person that her daughter was, really gave me goosebumps. The professionalism and empathy was outstanding. He really showed why he is the star broadcaster of the last 50 years on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

2002 World Cup - Ireland v Germany

George Hamilton: "Here's Robbie Keane.....YYYEEEESSSSS!!!!!"

And although it wasn't exclusive to RTE, the 2005 Champions League final...that very moment when Jerzy Dudek got his hand to Shevchenko's penalty to seal it for Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭dumbyearbook

Miley and Fidelma in the hay shed, did'nt do it for me personally but what a score!

Totally punching above his weight imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Garda Patrol...only joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

fricatus wrote:
    I'm no fan of Gay Byrne and I'd normally be on here bashing RTE for sticking him on Who Wants To Be A Millionaire, rather than using fresh talent. However, one of the moments on Irish TV that I will never forget, though I didn't see it live, was when he called a contestant in the car competition whose postcard had been pulled out of the drum, only to get her mother on the line who told him that she'd died in a car crash during the week.

The way Gaybo handled it so sensitively and asked the mother to tell all about the person that her daughter was, really gave me goosebumps. The professionalism and empathy was outstanding. He really showed why he is the star broadcaster of the last 50 years on RTE.

I remember that. He was absolutely brilliant.

The stand out moment for me (and it shows my mentallity), was the very first time Podge moved on his own after the credits on Dempseys Den. Brings back happy memories. :o