Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Midnight Visitors

• 19-08-2007 1:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭

So there I was, all tucked in and ready for sleep. All of a sudden, I hear a rattling noise coming from the garden. I ignore it, thinking it's one of the neighbours cats but soon I hear it again, and again. I stir out of bed and nudge the curtain back but don't see any offending felines crapping in their favourite spot. Puzzled, I am about to return to bed when I hear a distinctly un-cat-like cough. Curious, I walk to the centre of the curtains and peer out. Lo and behold, I have a tracksuit wearing, tightly cropped blond haired visitor. I watch this little tool clamber up onto my shed, mount it like he's John Wayne and proceed to wriggle the end piece off the wooden trim. :eek: While this is happening an accomplice pulls up on the road in a fairly battered old volkswagon-shaped car. They have a quiet chat and then the Duke hops down onto the road, talks a bit more, then gets in the car and they perform a three point to turn to make their escape. I note down the registration, call the gardai and within 20 minutes I'm talking to a guard in my hallway and he tells me they caught them already! :D

So I can only wonder a) what were they trying to do? And b) WHY? :confused: Who knows what else they were up to :mad:

Oh, and I'll want that end piece back you little twit. It's either that or your pocket money for the next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

is that rory by any chance?

good job they got caught anyway :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭constellation

Onikage wrote:
    I watch this little tool clamber up onto my shed, mount it like he's John Wayne and proceed to wriggle the end piece off the wooden trim.

Those wooden trim end pieces are going for big money nowadays. Mucho euro on the black market. The illegal trade of wooden trim end pieces finances wars and must be abolished now! Will someone please think of the children!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Lara Croft

So so so so scandalous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I don't even know what a wooden trim is:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Onikage

micmclo wrote:
    I don't even know what a wooden trim is:(

It's something worth so little, you should really consider a lobotomy if you feel you need to mount a two man operation to steal one. Clear those pesky thoughts right up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 290 ✭✭Tak3n

he was blatantly getting sexual pleasure off your shed roof

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

The mind Boggles, really, a 2 'man' stealth operation to rob the pointy thingy off yer shed, is there some sort of competition going on in any of the local pubs, sort of largest collection of specific objects at set point in time wins kinda thing????

otherwise,:confused: :eek: those guys :rolleyes:

Tak3n wrote:
    he was blatantly getting sexual pleasure off your shed roof

And who's supposed to clean that? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Lara Croft

So so so so scandolous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Onikage wrote:
    It's something worth so little, you should really consider a lobotomy if you feel you need to mount a two man operation to steal one.

ROFL

I suppose if he wants it back ask the gardai if they have it as evidence :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Lara Croft wrote:
    So so so so scandolous.
    Bye now.

Overheal wrote:
    I suppose if he wants it back ask the gardai if they have it as evidence :D

(Value of object) < (Value of time spent bothering guards about it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Many homes are broken into using tools kept in the shed by the homeowner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

Those wooden trim end pieces are going for big money nowadays. Mucho euro on the black market.

Mucho mucho euro... :p
    Fence panel shortage sparks panic buying and booming black market

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/money/main.jhtml?xml=/money/2007/04/29/cnfence29.xml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

You had a clear shot, Perp was an easy target when he was on the roof.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Oh dear ... another misinterpreted thread title! :o

I live in centre-city, and have yet again been foisted out of my bed by a luckier friend ...

... and when I saw this thread I thought "Ah ... someone else in the same vote! A chance to get it off my chest ... "

... but no! 'tis a thread about some eejit who gets his rocks off rubbing his pointy thing off your shed's pointy thing ...

SO disappointed now! :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Oh dear ... another misinterpreted thread title! :o

... A chance to get it off my chest ... "
    Methinks you had something else in mind besides your chest?

Oops! Back on OP task. Nice work Gardai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Onikage wrote:
    So there I was, all tucked in and ready for sleep. All of a sudden, I hear a rattling noise coming from the garden. I ignore it, thinking it's one of the neighbours cats but soon I hear it again, and again. I stir out of bed and nudge the curtain back but don't see any offending felines crapping in their favourite spot. Puzzled, I am about to return to bed when I hear a distinctly un-cat-like cough. Curious, I walk to the centre of the curtains and peer out. Lo and behold, I have a tracksuit wearing, tightly cropped blond haired visitor. I watch this little tool clamber up onto my shed, mount it like he's John Wayne and proceed to wriggle the end piece off the wooden trim. :eek: While this is happening an accomplice pulls up on the road in a fairly battered old volkswagon-shaped car. They have a quiet chat and then the Duke hops down onto the road, talks a bit more, then gets in the car and they perform a three point to turn to make their escape. I note down the registration, call the gardai and within 20 minutes I'm talking to a guard in my hallway and he tells me they caught them already! :D

So I can only wonder a) what were they trying to do? And b) WHY? :confused: Who knows what else they were up to :mad:

Oh, and I'll want that end piece back you little twit. It's either that or your pocket money for the next year.

Granted they got caught which is nice but why exactly did you sit there and watch them steal it in the first place? Switch on a light. Make a small bit of noise to make em leg it etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Methinks you had something else in mind besides your chest?
    Are you stalking me, woman?! :(

(sez he hopefully! :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

And well you might laugh guys...

A wooden end bit today, a door hinge tomorrow. Maybe the window the next night and a few nails. Then low & behold three months later, the shed is gone and you haven't noticed a thing.

Stealthy bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I would suggest you check all the nooks and crannies of your shed.
    It would not be unknown for scum tohide thier drugs stash on someone elses property like a shed that is unlocked or under the eves of the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Thaedydal wrote:
    I would suggest you check all the nooks and crannies of your shed.
    It would not be unknown for scum tohide thier drugs stash on someone elses property like a shed that is unlocked or under the eves of the roof.

Free drugs !!!! :D

Irish Wolf wrote:

That deserves a LOL. LOL! :D
    Free drugs !!!! :D

No such luck. :p

The reason I didn't try to scare him off? Information gathering. If I disturbed him, he might have run off but then returned when I was asleep. Net result: no trim and no leads. By not disturbing him, I managed to snag a license plate (the car pulled up while he was "working") which led directly to the two of them getting caught. Then I said "haw-haw".