Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yes yes, another new person.

• 18-08-2007 1:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭

Hey guys,

A friend of mine recently informed me of the existence of Airsoft in Ireland, and by gum am I both exited/impressed.

I know how evil words like "military enthusiast" are in airsoft terms, I'll point out that I am not one of these. I have always loved organised tactics, and found that while paintball was great fun, it was always just too run and gun.

I've read all the FAQs, which have filled in pretty much all the gaps, theres just a few "local" questions in my head I'm sure you guys could answer.

First, I'm curious, after doing a bit of research on places like HRTA and such, am I wrong in saying that it appears that everyone knows everyone? Im not saying that this is a bad thing, just that naturally it's intimidating turning up at something knowing no-one! How is it organised usually? Are there pre-formed teams that turn up, do you need to have a group of friends there, and what kit is suggested (ie goggles/masks, camo, radios etc).

Second, I'm eager as hell to get myself an AEG. I've been to a lot of airsoft retail websites (www.uncompany.com, a scottish one linked off here and a few other HK based ones) but Im genuinely curious about www.eirsoft.ie . Reading through these forums it seems to be really well run, great support and the fact that Shiva uses these forums regularly is great too.

What Im really wondering is, I noticed that it advertises greatly to entry level people. While this is great and all, I'd be afraid of buying a non-comittal level AEG, leaving myself under-equipped in comparison to the regular Airsofter. IMO if I was to buy an AEG I'd hope to get one close to the 1Joule limit, as nothing is more irritating than being underpowered and out-gunned.

I'd be perfectly happy to spend 150 on an AEG, but I'd kick myself if in a month I wished I'd spent the extra 100 and gotten something that'll last twice as long.

Can I just say, I'm not trying to degrade eirsoft at all, this is just a question Im posing! I just want to know would you guys buy from here or is it just the newbs and entry levellers.

Now, I hope I havent been to vague in my post, I apologise for the length. I appreciate any response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

bewildered wrote:
    Hey guys,

A friend of mine recently informed me of the existence of Airsoft in Ireland, and by gum am I both exited/impressed.

I know how evil words like "military enthusiast" are in airsoft terms, I'll point out that I am not one of these. I have always loved organised tactics, and found that while paintball was great fun, it was always just too run and gun.

I've read all the FAQs, which have filled in pretty much all the gaps, theres just a few "local" questions in my head I'm sure you guys could answer.

First, I'm curious, after doing a bit of research on places like HRTA and such, am I wrong in saying that it appears that everyone knows everyone? Im not saying that this is a bad thing, just that naturally it's intimidating turning up at something knowing no-one! How is it organised usually? Are there pre-formed teams that turn up, do you need to have a group of friends there, and what kit is suggested (ie goggles/masks, camo, radios etc).

Second, I'm eager as hell to get myself an AEG. I've been to a lot of airsoft retail websites (www.uncompany.com, a scottish one linked off here and a few other HK based ones) but Im genuinely curious about www.eirsoft.ie . Reading through these forums it seems to be really well run, great support and the fact that Shiva uses these forums regularly is great too.

What Im really wondering is, I noticed that it advertises greatly to entry level people. While this is great and all, I'd be afraid of buying a non-comittal level AEG, leaving myself under-equipped in comparison to the regular Airsofter. IMO if I was to buy an AEG I'd hope to get one close to the 1Joule limit, as nothing is more irritating than being underpowered and out-gunned.

I'd be perfectly happy to spend 150 on an AEG, but I'd kick myself if in a month I wished I'd spent the extra 100 and gotten something that'll last twice as long.

Can I just say, I'm not trying to degrade eirsoft at all, this is just a question Im posing! I just want to know would you guys buy from here or is it just the newbs and entry levellers.

Now, I hope I havent been to vague in my post, I apologise for the length. I appreciate any response.

Welcome aboard.

You'll actually find that the close knit nature of the Airsoft community isnt a barrier to making friends and getting along - for the most part we are looking for new blood :D

Re your first Airsoft devices, turn up to a couple of skirmishes and rent for a day, if you ask nicely many of the lads will show you their kit and even let you put a couple of BB's into the firing range, if nothing else it will give you an idea of what you are looking for before you start spending.

Good luck and we'll see you on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Welcome Bewildered, you can't beat UNcompany for price and selection.
    If you can stretch that little bit extra, then by all means get yourself a proper AEG.

I always hated the way people said to me "sure get yourself a cheap clone to start out with", and I was like WHY?!! If you can afford to spend that little bit extra, go for a Tokyo Marui or Classic Army AEG, with the M4/M15/MP5 series you can't go wrong.

You can get one of those AEGs (with battery and charger, go for one of UNcompanys packages) delievered with 2 or 3 extra mags for about €350, which is good value IMHO. And you'll have a nice bit of kit.

I've been to HRTA twice now and still don't really know anyone by name, I just recognise the faces and have the craic, so don't worry about knowing people, most people there only who up with 1 or 2 of there own friends. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭bewildered

Cheers for the responses guys. I'd be well up for going up some time. What is the story with HRTA? Do You need to book or ring ahead or anything? Is there usually a big enough crowd there aswell?

As for guns, through playing enough Tom Clancy games I have a decent handle on the different types of makes.

What are the majority of locations in Ireland like? Are they large open areas or CQBs? I'd say that would be a big factor in choosing "weapon". I'd assume something with a bullpop design like a FAMAS or an R85 would be preferable for indoors, but an m4 design be better overall. Simpler and more functional.

I'd prefer an assault rifle as opposed to an smg style. I've always prefered to have something more substantial in my hands, epecially outdoors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

bewildered wrote:

I know exactly where you're coming from. My first three guns were Tokyo Marui or Classic Army. Thats not to say I have issues with clones - I wouldnt be selling them if I didnt think they could hack it. But like most things, you pay mroe for quality and reliability with airsoft guns, and theres no doubt the big three (TM, CA and ICS) are still way ahead of the Chinese brands. As for performance...most of the clones shoot at a slightly higher level of power than the Tokyo Marui brands, and at the same level as ICS or Classic Army, so don't be afraid of being outgunned on the field. And as someone pointed out recently on this forum...your AEG's performance level isnt the be all and end all...its your own skill level and ability thats more important.

I started stocking clones for a few reasons....the main ones being that I didnt want to invest 20 or 30 grand in a venture that might not work, and that its not easy to obtain wholesale high end stuff without paying ridiculous prices to European distributors who shall remain nameless :)

Having said that...I've decided to source and stock high end guns in the next few months...I'm working on financing a big buy as we speak. Any fears I had about eirsoft.ie not taking off have been put to bed by now.

I'm still looking to get TM and CA stuff from a source other than the European distributor, but I have sources for ICS, Inokatsu, VFC, G&G, Western Arms, KJC, WE and a few other more "mainstream" brands, so you'll be seeing them on the site soon(ish).

Ummm..anyway...that went a bit off topic...welcome to the forum ! Hope to shoot you soon (in a friendly way) in HRTA or Drogheda ;)

Thanks for the swift response Shiva. You've answered my questions.

The thing is, I can afford to spend more, but only if I need to and TBH I'd prefer to source locally, (both to empower local buisness and it's much easier to shout at someone directly!!)

As I said thanks again for the info, I'll hold it all to heart when I decide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Good to have you aboard bewildered! Hope to see you at HRTA, if I ever stop being lazy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

*Cough* JG G36C *Highly recommended COUGH*

Genghiz interesting you mentioned that, I'd been looking at versions of the G36C, it's a really well designed piece of kit. Although, I think if I was going to get one I'd splash out and get a TM version with all the trimmings.

Maybe after I practice up a bit I'll keep my first AEG for mates and get one o'dem for myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Welcome.

And I'd like to say thanks for putting the effort in to researching a good bit yourself.

As for knowing people at HRTA. I knew most of the folk for the first few months. Last time I was there it was just a sea of faces I'd never seen before. There always seems to be new people. So I wouldn't let that bother you.

The clone issue is always a heated on on here :)

As Shiva said, they do the trick, outshoot some of the Tokyo Marui AEGs so you won't be at a disadvantaged.

It's just all about the build quality. They're getting better alright, some of the Dboys and JGs look great. But they're still not as good as Tokyo Marui, Classic Army, ICS or some of the others.

Some people think they're fine. Other people would rather spend more money. All personal preference really.

Best you just show up to a game and molest as many as you possibly can. (AEGs that is)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

o1s1n wrote:
    Best you just show up to a game and molest as many as you possibly can. (AEGs that is)

Aye tis best we don't be mentioning the "incident" twould perhaps scare off some of the younglings

(I guess I'm a pirate today, hmm go figure)

Ok, just one last question before I go to work. You say you can rent at places like HRTA, what makes and models are available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Shiva wrote:
    Having said that...I've decided to source and stock high end guns in the next few months...I'm working on financing a big buy as we speak. Any fears I had about eirsoft.ie not taking off have been put to bed by now.

Ya have to be careful too though that people may initially buy
    their first few and thats it.

I want at least one ULTRA high quality AEG or GBB.
    Just dont know what yet and what price I am willing to pay.
    Getting interested in WWII rifles too would love to see some
    real wood stocked ones.

As a newbie and never having skirmished the performance of the AEG
    is not as important to me as the weight/feel/look. I would be more
    of a collector so I am not sure if that effects things with regards
    to buying an expensive one or a cheap one.

I have not seen a Tokyo Marui "in the flesh" so to speak
    but from reading reviews I dont see
    what all the hype is all about. A lot of the ones I have looked at
    are ABS/Plastic's and there seems to be clones out there with metal bodies
    that appear to be just as good if not better. Wondering if its just
    better qualty control/fit/performance or is it more than that.

Probably like Levis 100 Euro Jeans Vs Tescos 10 Euro Jeans.
    Both are perfectly good pairs of jeans.

~B

Master of the Universe

Chances of a Tokyo Marui breaking down on you after a lot of use Bullets are very very low.

Chances of a clone breaking down on you after a lot of use are very very high.

That would be the main reason.

The abs finish on some of the Marui AEGs is indistinguishable from their steel bodied counterparts. It's actually quite surprising. Plastic technology has come a long way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 DOGMA

could anyone please tell me if i can get a game anywhere on sat 25 aug as it will be my first attempt at airsofting having played paintballl but found the weapons to unrealistic, would be a walk on as i have my own gear and my brother would prob tag along also.thanks for any info.sorry if this quiery is in wrong thread as im new to the forum.once again ANY info would be helpful.

Master of the Universe

The Salute military show is going to be on the 25th so I doubt there's going to be anyone at HRTA I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

im a newbie too, by the way things look and sound ,equipment is all down to personal preference for me i like both the look of the M4 and G36 i dont like the bulkyness of the G36 but its a future possible purchase , being a starter 135e is a good price on a Dboys M4 for me just need some bits and bobs outfit wise ,to look the part , im heading to HRTA next week il be renting for the moment ,il have to practice my can i look at your gun plz speech ,as for EIRSOFT shiva is quite regarded from what ive read and il be glad to hand over cash to him,
    off topic weapon wish list
    M4 Metal with attachments
    G36
    M16 nam era
    MP7
    Barret .50 Airsoft the "DADDY"
    Thompson with all wood furniture
    Airsoft MINIGUN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 DOGMA

thanks for the reply 01s1n forgot about show,do you know if there will be any retailers eg aegs or surplus at show cheers.

Master of the Universe

DOGMA wrote:
    thanks for the reply 01s1n forgot about show,do you know if there will be any retailers eg aegs or surplus at show cheers.

Not that I know of? I hope not. Selling AEGs at a military style event would be a step too far. Especially with the likes of antis such as indymedia planning on making an appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Gatling wrote:
    i i like both the look of the M4 and G36 i dont like the bulkyness of the G36 but its a future possible purchase

I have both. I actually find the G36 much easier to handle and hold and
    less bulky but it looks more bulky. The M4 feels a bit more wobbly and like part of it could get
    snagged on clothing easier. the G36 has the folding stock where if you
    are using a sling you can unfold it "as" your raise it fairly quickly.
    (Still prefer the look of the M4 though)

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

o1s1n wrote:
    Not that I know of? I hope not. Selling AEGs at a military style event would be a step too far. Especially with the likes of antis such as indymedia planning on making an appearance.

Totally agree.

Airsoft is too young in Ireland for that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

bewildered wrote:
    Hey guys,

Welcome to the group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

o1s1n wrote:
    The Salute military show is going to be on the 25th so I doubt there's going to be anyone at HRTA I'm afraid.

Good thing I read this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

I'm in the same boat as bewildered so its good to see I'm not the only one finding his feet. I have also heard good things about HRTA from a friend. It seems that a good community is building up around airsoft in Ireland. Long may it last. I also see from reading through the forums that its important for us particularly as newcomers to put our best foot forward as the sport is still very much in its infancy and can do without any bad press.

I have put the cart before the horse and already ordered a gun before going to have a look in HRTA :o I could not resist and eirsoft.ie came highly recommended.

o1s1n wrote:
    Welcome.

And I'd like to say thanks for putting the effort in to researching a good bit yourself.

As for knowing people at HRTA. I knew most of the folk for the first few months. Last time I was there it was just a sea of faces I'd never seen before. There always seems to be new people. So I wouldn't let that bother you.

The clone issue is always a heated on on here :)

As Shiva said, they do the trick, outshoot some of the Tokyo Marui AEGs so you won't be at a disadvantaged.

It's just all about the build quality. They're getting better alright, some of the Dboys and JGs look great. But they're still not as good as Tokyo Marui, Classic Army, ICS or some of the others.

Some people think they're fine. Other people would rather spend more money. All personal preference really.

Master of the Universe

hoplite wrote:

I have put the cart before the horse and already ordered a gun before going to have a look in HRTA :o I could not resist and eirsoft.ie came highly recommended.

Patience can be extremely difficult when it comes to airsoft. Especially when it comes to ordering your first rifle. So I don't blame you in the slightest :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

Welcome hplite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Im in that boat also o1s1n, if i could i would get a sniper rifle an M4 and some nice pistol but unfortunately cant afford them all so choices have to be made :) Do plan on a visit to HRTA but cant see myself lasting that long without clicking that Checkout button :D

Master of the Universe

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Im in that boat also o1s1n, if i could i would get a sniper rifle an M4 and some nice pistol but unfortunately cant afford them all so choices have to be made :) Do plan on a visit to HRTA but cant see myself lasting that long without clicking that Checkout button :D

My first rifle was a bolt action and it barely ever gets used. I'd really recommend buying an AEG first. You'll have a lot more fun with it. Especially if you plan on coming along to HRTA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

plus the fact that if you have an aeg such as an m14 and its shooting close to the 1J, it can be used as a sniper rifle, it has the length and range at that power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Gatling wrote:
    off topic weapon wish list
    M4 Metal with attachments
    G36
    M16 nam era
    MP7
    Thompson with all wood furniture
    Airsoft MINIGUN
    Ordered me Thompson there on friday.. I'm all giggidy giggidy goo about it. Still hasn't been shipped yet :( What time is it in China are they at work yet? :p

I've come to the assumption that all airsoft aegs have essentially workings, rate of fire and range so you can't really be "outguned" your basically picking the gun that looks best to you.

I can see why some would want to go for quality over price but if your new to the sport I don't think there's any point in shelling out a load of money then droping out of it 2 months down the line. A cheepo gun will get you started if your serious about it then you can buy a good one.

ScumLord wrote:
    What time is it in China are they at work yet? :p

It's china, they're always working.

From what I've heard, that seems to be true, that once your equipment gets to a certain level, its all aesthetic.

Oh and has anyone ever heard of or seen an MTAR (cant remember the exact spec) anywhere? Always been interested by that gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Is it just me or does one of these fire 8mms and trhe other well over 500fps? Thus i beleive they are both illegal. Youll need a downgrade BEFORE they enter the country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

If it's totally illegal then don't post about it here.

most aeg's are running at the same spec, however some are better at differant things then others. for example, the famas (french gun) has an unreal rate of fire but is plastic and feels a bit creeky. the mp5k is great for people who like compact guns and like to get into awkward places without a big heavy aeg on there back, however its barrel is very small so accuracy over long distances can be less then other varients.

At the end of the day, just about all AEG's can be upgraded to shoot faster and further without much trouble.

Hey guys, another question (never shut up do I).

Looking at a few websites (HK based mostly), a lot of them mention customs and import charges. Now I've seen these mentioned alot in other threads but I was wondering if someone could inform me of the average customs charge for say pistols/aegs/small accessories etc.

Is it done to the value of the item or are other factors taken into account.

Just wondering becuase the way I see it, the prices on these websites are crazy, but smack on the import tax and shipping and its not exactly what is said on the tin.

End up paying the price of a rifle for a single mid-cap or something.

(also I noticed on uncompany.com that there is an option to "lie" about the value of items for customs. Now, isnt that...rather illegal? As in... tax fraud illegal? Just checking)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

bewildered wrote:
    Looking at a few websites (HK based mostly), a lot of them mention customs and import charges. Now I've seen these mentioned alot in other threads but I was wondering if someone could inform me of the average customs charge for say pistols/aegs/small accessories etc.

Should be in the stickies somewhere... but what the heck!

There is no "average". Customs charges are calculated on the declared value of the goods + shipping (yeah, I know, the '+ shipping ' bit stinks, but there ya go). So a €200 order of would get a much bigger custom charge than a €20 order - 10x bigger.

The tax usually amounts to circa. 21% of this total value, and it's a lottery - you get your order with or without customs charges applied.

When I say "circa.", that's because when comparing charges applied between two custom-taxed deliveries, and reading up a bit on threads in here, it seems to oscillate a few percents either way. And some courier companies levy an extra 'admin' charge to boot.

(from personal experience-) Rules of thumb are:

if it's coming by Courier (DHL. UPS, etc.), it's very likely to get charged
    if it's coming via Anpost, less likely
    if it's big and heavy (AEG), it's very likely to get charged
    if it's small and light (whatever stuff from eHobby, accesories, clothes, etc.), less likely
    bewildered wrote:
    (also I noticed on uncompany.com that there is an option to "lie" about the value of items for customs. Now, isnt that...rather illegal? As in... tax fraud illegal? Just checking)

It is not legal BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY - if you parcel gets lost, you can only claim up to the declared value: if you've ordered €500 worth but asked uncompany to put €50 on the BoL, if it gets lost/damaged/etc. and you need to get the freight insurance to play - you get €50, endof. Not to mention you could get caught and face the music (very rare, but possible). Never a good idea.

i got 2 mp5k's a .357 magnum, and some bits and pieces all delivered in one package with an post a few months back and didnt get charged anything extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

In theory you can work out the customs fees using the below...

From one of my posts a while ago:
    =================
    Sent a query to the customs people a while ago...here is what I asked and the reply I received.

1. How is it determined what is taxed and what is not?
    2. How is the value of this tax determined?
    3. Does the individual goods have to be above a certain value before they become liable for tax?
    4. If multiple items are sent in one parcel, is the tax applied based on the complete parcel value or the value of the individual items? i.e. If each of the items are below are below a certain value as per question 3, but combined are above this value.
    5. Is the cost of Packaging & shipping counted when working out the tax?
    6. Can you clarify what taxes, fees, duty & Tariffs etc apply?

Reply:

In reply to your query regarding importations of airsoft equipment I set out answers to your various questions:

1. Customs duty and VAT is payable at the point of entry into the EC. Once goods are imported from a country outside the EC they are liable for customs duty and VAT.

2. Customs duty is calculated on the price paid for the goods plus postage, packing and insurance. The rate of duty that is charged depends on the tariff classification of the product. Further information on the classification of your product can be obtained from the Tariff Classification Unit at tarclass@revenue.ie
    VAT is charged at the same rate that applies to similar rate products sold in this country. (standard rate is 21%) and for further information you can contact your local Customs Office - contact details can be found on the website www.revenue.ie under Contact Details. A detailed list of VAT rates are also available at http://www.revenue.ie/services/bus_guides4.htm.

3.Consignments not exceeding a total value of €45 may be imported without payment of customs duty and VAT. Further information available in Public Notice No. 1882 (http://www.revenue.ie/leaflets/pn1882.htm)

4. The customs duty and VAT will be calculated on the total value that is declared on the package.

5. Yes - customs duty is calculated on CIF - cost of product + insurance + freight. Vat is charged on the customs value plus the customs duty due.

6. As at 2 above the rate of customs duty that applies depends on the classification of your product and you can check this with my colleagues in the Tariff Classification Unit. The exact rate of VAT that applies can be checked at the details given at 2. above.

I hope the above is of help to you.

Regards,
    Janice Perry
    Customs Division
    Nenagh

======================

The Customs & Excise Tariff of Ireland table can be found here....it's quite lengthy and overly complicated as expected. Airsoft guns MIGHT be listed as toys, pistols, air guns or as electrical equipment. It's one of the thousands of classifications...

http://www.revenue.ie/pdf/00_00_CETI_06.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

hey bewildered as i said ill have to get u and viking (noel) up after gettin ya's interested lol. any idea on when ur order is comin in?

Whenever shivas order gets in. Possibillity next saturday or sunday of going to HRTA! Im getting jumpy now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

sweet deal bro dunno if ur in work 2morrow but im gunna have to pop into army bargains to get stuff in town but i'll drop in and see if ur in. did ya get up to the salut i ended up gettin stuk in work :(

Im working the morning shift. Didnt manage to get out to Salute, looks like it was class though. Possibility of more noobs like myself being there on Saturday. Two of my mates might come along too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Longsword_CZ

Hi to everybody!
    At first, please apologize me when I´ll write something wrong, I´m not Irish, so be patient. Maybe my language is not clear, but my mind is ... I hope ;)

I´m such a glad, that Airsoft is now completely legal in Ireland, I live there for two years and I´m literally drain to death play AS over there. I hope, that this "way of life" will spread in Ireland and become more popular.

I´m playing AS for almost sixteen years.
    I started with spring pistols, I had gas powered pistols with blow back and now I have plenty of AEG. So I´ll try give you some advices, if you don´t mind.

If you are going play AS first time in your life, don´t buy first gun what´s good looking for you. First try handle couple of them, try change mags, adjust aiming devices, try weight, balance.
    In AS today isn´t important (and I feel little bit sorry because of it) real rate of fire. Almost all AS guns are same, there isn´t big difference between MP5 or M249. Both of them fire same ammo, ROF is approx. same and distance to affirmative hit is same as well (I´m speaking about new basic guns and equally upgraded ones).
    You can have high torque set in MP5 and hi-cap mag and you will be equal to mentioned M249. Small differences are in the barrel. As in sex, longer is better ;) , but for CQB is handling more important than in MOUNT or long range fight, where accurate (6,04mm) barrel is, or could be, advantage.
    In many European play fields are rules about mags. E.g. in Berget (Sweden), biggest AS event in Europe, is rule, that mags for rifles can be only low or mid cap. This rule make game more realistic and make deferences between guns as to suppose to be. (BTW in M4 I´m usually using low cap mags with 30 bb loaded with makes me fool against some guys with 450bb, but in M249 I have 5000 bb so positions can be changed really quickly ;) )

Another important thing is your team. Usually you join some exist, or you make your own. In both ways you must choose "army style", witch of army equipment will team use (it´s important for friendly fire, for enemy recognizing, for team spirit). IMHO is nothing worst looking than WW II Russian soldier with G36.
    So. After you try some of guns, after you join/make some team is time to buy some gun.

About quality of guns. Hmmm ... it´s long time discussion. I thing that´s same like with cars, somebody have Skoda for ten years without even defect on tires and somebody spend with his BMW more time in garage than in roads, but second one is more unlikely.
    TM (Tokio Marui) was first, but it´s mean nothing today, especially ´cause plastic body. Inner parts are usually in excellent quality and compatibility i outstanding. If you want, you can buy metal body with gun and for more than two years you don´t need anything more, than plenty of bags of ammo.
    CA (Classic Army) has problems with their earliest models, first series of almost any guns was, I´m scared to say, disaster. But today you can buy CA without any problems. Metal body, full outer barrel, and 7mm gearbox. You can´t make mistake to buy it.
    ICS (I Chih Shivan) came their our way. Plenty of parts are compatible, but there are differencies (e.g. M4 has, same like original gun, two part body, and mechabox as well). Today is ICS little bit loosing, but is still big and good player. (BTW I have ICS M4A1 for three years without any problem.)
    "China" - A&K, D-Boyi, Cyma ... this companies learn from their mistakes, first series of their copies was really disastrous, no doubt about it. But this year, especially, anything seems to be changed. Of course, quality isn´t such high like old ones, but with basic adjustment, before you first time use them, you have big chance, that this gun survive for long time. And, of course, you can use spare parts from most famous companies to improve weaknesses and gun still be cheaper than "original" one.
    Don´t be ashamed, that you have gun from this companies, they have same power and same shape like any others, so what the hell ;)

By the way, more important that gun is good eye protection, NEWER forget use glasses!

I wish you nice day and plenty of frags!

And I forget.

Exist some place to play in South?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

And I forget.

Exist some place to play in South?

Thanks.
    checkout hrta.ie, it's in swords

also, there is a site in dundalk which is partially open/opening soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

That was a good post Longsword_CZ. Welcome to the forum & Irish Airsoft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

Welcome Longsword

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭RC car fanatic

Hi to everybody!
    At first, please apologize me when I´ll write something wrong, I´m not Irish, so be patient. Maybe my language is not clear, but my mind is ... I hope ;)

I´m such a glad, that Airsoft is now completely legal in Ireland, I live there for two years and I´m literally drain to death play AS over there. I hope, that this "way of life" will spread in Ireland and become more popular.

I´m playing AS for almost sixteen years.
    I started with spring pistols, I had gas powered pistols with blow back and now I have plenty of AEG. So I´ll try give you some advices, if you don´t mind.

If you are going play AS first time in your life, don´t buy first gun what´s good looking for you. First try handle couple of them, try change mags, adjust aiming devices, try weight, balance.
    In AS today isn´t important (and I feel little bit sorry because of it) real rate of fire. Almost all AS guns are same, there isn´t big difference between MP5 or M249. Both of them fire same ammo, ROF is approx. same and distance to affirmative hit is same as well (I´m speaking about new basic guns and equally upgraded ones).
    You can have high torque set in MP5 and hi-cap mag and you will be equal to mentioned M249. Small differences are in the barrel. As in sex, longer is better ;) , but for CQB is handling more important than in MOUNT or long range fight, where accurate (6,04mm) barrel is, or could be, advantage.
    In many European play fields are rules about mags. E.g. in Berget (Sweden), biggest AS event in Europe, is rule, that mags for rifles can be only low or mid cap. This rule make game more realistic and make deferences between guns as to suppose to be. (BTW in M4 I´m usually using low cap mags with 30 bb loaded with makes me fool against some guys with 450bb, but in M249 I have 5000 bb so positions can be changed really quickly ;) )

Another important thing is your team. Usually you join some exist, or you make your own. In both ways you must choose "army style", witch of army equipment will team use (it´s important for friendly fire, for enemy recognizing, for team spirit). IMHO is nothing worst looking than WW II Russian soldier with G36.
    So. After you try some of guns, after you join/make some team is time to buy some gun.

About quality of guns. Hmmm ... it´s long time discussion. I thing that´s same like with cars, somebody have Skoda for ten years without even defect on tires and somebody spend with his BMW more time in garage than in roads, but second one is more unlikely.
    TM (Tokio Marui) was first, but it´s mean nothing today, especially ´cause plastic body. Inner parts are usually in excellent quality and compatibility i outstanding. If you want, you can buy metal body with gun and for more than two years you don´t need anything more, than plenty of bags of ammo.
    CA (Classic Army) has problems with their earliest models, first series of almost any guns was, I´m scared to say, disaster. But today you can buy CA without any problems. Metal body, full outer barrel, and 7mm gearbox. You can´t make mistake to buy it.
    ICS (I Chih Shivan) came their our way. Plenty of parts are compatible, but there are differencies (e.g. M4 has, same like original gun, two part body, and mechabox as well). Today is ICS little bit loosing, but is still big and good player. (BTW I have ICS M4A1 for three years without any problem.)
    "China" - A&K, D-Boyi, Cyma ... this companies learn from their mistakes, first series of their copies was really disastrous, no doubt about it. But this year, especially, anything seems to be changed. Of course, quality isn´t such high like old ones, but with basic adjustment, before you first time use them, you have big chance, that this gun survive for long time. And, of course, you can use spare parts from most famous companies to improve weaknesses and gun still be cheaper than "original" one.
    Don´t be ashamed, that you have gun from this companies, they have same power and same shape like any others, so what the hell ;)

By the way, more important that gun is good eye protection, NEWER forget use glasses!

I wish you nice day and plenty of frags!

now i know where he get name..Longsword-s :D

Nope, but good try ;)

BTW I have couple of guidelines for AS newbies, what I wrote some years ago, If you will be interested, just tell me, I will translate them and present somewhere (here?).

And I reconsidered my last question: Is some AS field in south of ROI ? (I´m living in Wexford, so Dublin is for me three hours bus trip)