Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Goldie, Mc Lowqui, Ernie, Jay Q, Jon Kennedy & Will Softly @ Gpo, Galway - Fri Aug 17

• 16-08-2007 1:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

GPO_GOLDIE_A3.jpg

GPO PRESENTS
    GOLDIE (METALHEADZ)
    MC LOWQUI
    ERNIE
    JAY Q
    WITH JON KENNEDY (GRAND CENTRAL)
    & WILL SOFTLY IN DRUM
    FRIDAY AUGUST 17TH
    @ GPO NIGHTCLUB
    GALWAY
    DOORS 10PM
    TICKETS €15 (ON THE DOOR)
    WWW.JONKENNEDY.CO.UK
    WWW.MYSPACE.COM/GOLDIERUFIGE
    WWW.MYSPACE.COM/GPONIGHTCLUB
    WWW.LOWQUI.COM
    [url]HTTP://GPONIGHTCLUB.BEBO.COM[/url]

Friday August 17th sees the GPO debut of Drum 'n' Bass legend, GOLDIE. Joining GOLDIE on the night will be MC LOWQUI who has toured with GOLDIE on many occasions and is without doubt an excellent MC! Supporting GOLDIE will be local Galway lads, ERNIE & JAY Q.
    On the same night in Drum will be JON KENNEDY who was an artist signed to the now sadly defunct Grand Central Records. Supporting JON will be WILL SOFTLY (Aras Na nGael & THE FOLD resident).

GPO will also have a massive FUNKTION ONE sound system in place on the night so everyone will get to hear the music with an exceptional level of quality in sound.
    Doors are at an earlier than usual 10pm with tickets priced at €15 available on the door

GOLDIE

It all began in 1991 at a club night called Rage at Heaven. The rave scene had emerged from acid house and was building its own identity, with pioneer Djs such as Fabio and Grooverider mixing cutting edge sounds with vintage funk and reggae and playing tracks like Carl Craig’s seminal ‘Bugs In The Attic’ at 45rpm instead of 33. The vibe was explosive, the adrenalin was pumping.
    This is where well-travelled Walsall born B boy Goldie – a name he got while customising gold teeth – ended up when just from a few years in New York and Miami, taken by his new girlfriend Kemistry and her flatmate, known as DJ Storm.

Rage puzzled him the first time, blew his mind the second and there was no turning back: Goldie the UK B Boy who was hanging out with Nellee Hooper and 3 D pre Massive Attack, gold teeth maker, respected breakdancer and renowned Grafitti artist (his first brush with fame was taking part in ‘Bombin’, the definite documentary about the 80s grafitti scene) had found his purpose in life. He was going to make music, and his music was going to be played at clubs like Rage.

Soon, Goldie met Mark and Dego – AKA 4 Hero - from Reinforced Records, the reference label of the emerging scene. In exchange of artwork and logo design, he got into their legendary Dollis Hill studio. Under their guidance, Goldie did not only capture the vibe of the music he had heard out, but he added his own touch, inspired by his passion for hip hop, an insatiable musical curiosity. getting the ultimate kick of watching and hearing Grooverider play his first ever track, Goldie grew in confidence and made his first official release for Reinforced, ‘Darkrider’ in 1992, under the Rufige Kru moniker. Thanks to the expertise he had picked up and his meeting with like-minded producers such as Doc Scott, Goldie was finding his own sound.

His passion and determination were rewarded the following year, and his third Reinforced release. With its dark atmosphere, steely breakbeats and restless vibe, ‘Terminator’ introduced what was to become a must in jungle production, timestretching. All the DJs followed the path of Grooverider, who instantly played the track when it was given to him. ‘Terminator’ brought a fresh, darker edge to the scene. Jungle had reached another level.

Through his own Metalheadz imprint set up shortly after, Goldie showcased early releases by some of the most crucial jungle artists; from Doc Scott, Photek and Peshay to Dillinja, J Majik and Optical. The Metalheadz weekly residency at London’s legendary jazz club The Blue Note captured the essence of the music to a packed and enthusiastic audience and became a must.

Goldie landed a contract with PeteTong’s offshoot FFRR, part of London Records, and released the sumptuous Timeless, a twisted hymn to urban Britain. Hailed unanimously, the album sold over 250,000 copies, comforting a charismatic, passionate and inspired Goldie as the spokerperson of the hippest scene of the times.

Fame kept rising beyond music. While turning into a bona fide celebrity with acting in cult and mainstream films, taking part of high profile TV shows, and becoming a fixture in the gossip columns. Goldie has had roles in movies, most notably the James Bond film The World Is Not Enough and in Guy Ritchie's gangster flick, Snatch. He also played the role of the gangster, Angel Hudson, in the British soap opera EastEnders (2001 - 2002). As a TV presenter he presented Crime Business on digital TV channels Bravo and ftn, and presented The World's Deadliest Gangs on Bravo. Goldie also appeared on the second series of Celebrity Big Brother UK in 2002, however he was the first celebrity to be 'evicted'. Goldie never ever lost touch with his jungle roots and was often spotted in the middle of the dancefloor at his own club nights, or paying respects to Grooverider or Randall. Nothing has captured better his attachment to the music than his sporadic return to the ‘Rufige Kru’ moniker for more uncompromising slices of vinyl, such as ‘Beachdrifta’ backed by a ‘Stormtroopaz’ VIP mix for the relaunch of Metalheadz in 2001. for the last few years, Goldie has DJed all over the world, still one of the highest profile ambassador of drum and bass.

For Goldie, turning into ‘Rufige Kru’ is capturing the essence of what makes him so passionate about music: a dark, unsettling, gutsy sound going back to the roots of jungle, made even more potent through state of the art studio production. In 2006, Goldie enrolled young and gifted producer Heist (AKA Strider) to help him deliver his ultimate tribute to the scene that captured his heart and soul over fifteen years ago: a Rufige Kru album, ‘Malice In Wonderland’ the first artist album ever for Metalheadz. Get ready for a treat.

www.myspace.com/goldierufige

JON KENNEDY

Jon Kennedys music came to light when he was twenty four and Mr Scruff played his track Tell Me How You Feel on the Unfold radio show in Brighton, Tru Thoughts Recordings snapped him up straight away. He released three 12s and in 2000 his debut album Were Just Waiting For You Now came out.

Two years later.......... he was snapped up by GRAND CENTRAL RECORDS. This time Aim, who was a fan of Jons 'Chocolate and Cheese'.track approached him to remix the largest single from the label to date from Grand Centrals discography The Girl Who Fell Through The Ice.

I dropped the remix off at the GC office and Mark Rae was around. I had some of my own stuff on mini disc, he listened and said he had to get a copy sent to Kate Rogers. Since then I provided Kate with the track 'Nothing Appeals To Me'.from her solo Album and from 'Take My Drum To England'.the track titled Secrets Of The World features Kates vocals.

His second album, 'Take My Drum To England', came out on Grand Central in August 2002, just 6 months after the ever prolific Jon had dropped off that Aim remix.

The album title Useless Wooden Toys is a reference to an old skate video from 1991, it was a pivotal point in Jons life. The title could be seen as ironic because that time, for Jon, is when hip hop was hip hop and not R&B - when things were simple, music was real, and you had the skater mentality of freedom: Perhaps Im getting old, maybe Im ageist! MTV changed a lot of things in the Skateboarding scene, both good and bad !.

His third album is influenced by both the music and production of Debussy, The Soft Machine, Hendrix, Chuck Mangione, Tommy Guerrero, Howlin' Wolf, Pete Rock, Caveman and Rage Against The Machine. The album itself has many different musical inferences: breakbeat and psychadelic to bossa nova and dub. However, it is the sounds that Jons music is made from which stretch the imagination.

On this third album Jon has also had a vocal rattle himself on most of the tracks, whether as short samples, full songs, or MC type vocal hooks like in Save The People and You, You And You. His music happily marries opposites: deep gnarly bass with twinkly strings and high flutes contrasting dark with light sounds. The title track Useless Wooden Toys is the most personal of all the tracks on the album and the centre point of this entity of work. "I was as musically pure and open as I could be when I wrote it. The point being you should be who you want to be, and do what you want to do. "

Jon has an international following; hes easy to find and he responds to most people who contact him. He records under his real name, his website is also his name and his openness has encouraged people to make contact with the person behind the music. On a recent DJ tour of Japan, he was surprised by peoples reactions; When I was in Japan it was all drum 'n bass and breakbeat - its about the speed of the beat. My stuff kind of intrigued them as the beat and bass are there, but theres other stuff going on, like spongy, muddy, scratchy and unusual sounds.

WWW.JONKENNEDY.CO.UK