Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bratislava / Prague

• 12-08-2007 11:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭

Going over to Slovakia and Czech Rep. for the 2 x football matches next month. Donkey's years since I've been to either country, so can any recent visitors give me details of must-do's and places to avoid etc. There's a fairly large group of us so we're conscious that we don;t want to appear to locals like some bunch of English stag party goers etc. Just ondering what's in, what definitely out, places to go, places to avoid etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055129152

Headin myself for the 2nd leg, it will be a mad downer heading out if we dont do the business against the Slovaks first (even at home they were tough, Id rate them as having put up the toughest challenge of the tournament to what was pretty much a first choice squad)*

Anyway, few links/recommendations in there. Funny, Ive had two different stories of what to expect from two work colleagues (Slovak and Irish)

The Slovak girl (who has been to Prague a few times) said that I should have a great time, just dont get drunk enough to act the fool around any national monuments, the cops are particularly sensitive to this. re the locals, she was surprised when i said i was going to watch it in an Irish bar (I dont have match tickets, the lads do but i was late in on the trip). Said id be safe as houses watching it in a normal spot. Eh, green jersey, singing fields of Athenry and Put Em Under Pressure in a local bar packed full of red shirts....eh, no thanks :D

Irish guy said its good but dodgy, full of gypsies, police are very short tempered, and Irish people often get a hostile reaction because locals assume theyre English (who they dont like because of their troublesome stag dos. pfft, stag dos? Try 800 feckin years :D )

So i dunno what to believe :confused:

Anyway, my mate told me he is setting aside 500 euro for the "kulva cash fund" (kulva being a Slavic term used throughout EE meaning....eh.....whore, basically :D ) Have to say I cant wait to be living it up cigar and all in the strip clubs Tony Soprano style :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Garthicus

Hi, I was mugged and beaten in Bratislava, be careful, on the other hand, it is a really beautiful city and cheap for food and beers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭jrar

shane86 wrote:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055129152

Anyway, my mate told me he is setting aside 500 euro for the "kulva cash fund" (kulva being a Slavic term used throughout EE meaning....eh.....whore, basically :D ) Have to say I cant wait to be living it up cigar and all in the strip clubs Tony Soprano style :)

I'd be pretty careful in that respect - I DO know from my various trips to Eastern Europe over the last 25 years that strip clubs/prostitution is controlled by local and Russian mafia groups , and that's exactly where you'll meet the greatest hassle or danger even if it's only for a complete rip-off (e.g. €20 for a beer in such a club and forced to buy 2/3 as "entry" price) or a mugging/beating..............."be careful out there"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Jaysus you`re worrying me now, here was me thinking that after I get home on Sept 18th the profile picture on my bebo will be me smokin a cuban with two strippers on each arm :D Understand what you are saying but would you really recommend carrying no mobile or camera and a minimal amount of cash in these joints? In fairness on a match day i cant imagine us getting scammed, the other four lads arent exactly the lie down and take it type if some Russian mobster tried to con/rob us no matter what the situation. And id imagine that any club we go to will have a fair few brudari na hEireann to fight our corner if there was to be trouble :) However ive heard the odd bad story, the oul one told me of a workmate and his friend who got in a taxi, driver took them out to the outskirts of the city, pulled a gun, robbed them and left them there, and that the police were totally disinterested in their complaint (its primarily because of this that my mam wont know Ive been in Prague until i arrive home on Sunday, far as she knows Im visiting mates down in Cork, sure it spares her worry and it spares me the pre trip doom and gloom stories :D )