Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Ads

• 10-08-2007 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭

There are alot of Annoying Ad threads, and I flicked back a few pages and can't find a good Ad thread, so here is one:

I really like that CGI ad with the Two foxes, where one pretends to be a stray dog...

"I think it would be worth it Frank"... :D

** Oh, I mean Ads that amuse you or that you enjoy, not necessarily effective Ads **

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

i like the ad where the son has used the mother's tanning cream on his face and johnny logan comes out and sings - can't remember which fast food franchise it promotes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I can't find it on Youtube, but the classic Walkers ad with Gazza crying, that will remain my favourite ad ever. followed by the rolo ad with the elephant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭SMERSH

prospect wrote:
    There are alot of Annoying Ad threads, and I flicked back a few pages and can't find a good Ad thread, so here is one:

I really like that CGI ad with the Two foxes, where one pretends to be a stray dog...

** Oh, I mean Ads that amuse you or that you enjoy, not necessarily effective Ads **
    That's a great ad because men can easily relate to it.

prospect wrote:

Yeah thats a good one, but my favourite ad so far is the snickers ad with
    Mr T. Absolutely feckin brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

I loved the ad for Honda, the one shot in New Zealand with 'Dream the impossible dream' song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Revelation Joe

I quite like the new Elverys one with Shay Given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭lukin

The Bud Light one where the guy puts his dog on his head. I laughed when I saw that the first time, it's still funny after seeing it many times since.

lukin wrote:
    The Bud Light one where the guy puts his dog on his head. I laughed when I saw that the first time, it's still funny after seeing it many times since.
    :eek: Oh god you must be joking. There should be a hall of shame for ads and that ad belongs there. Awful ad.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Remeber the one for Nike with Cantona and the like playing the team in Hell. That was a class add. Or the brazilan football team in the airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

kearnsr wrote:
    Remeber the one for Nike with Cantona and the like playing the team in Hell. That was a class add.

Yep

Also like the Elverys one with Given and Ciaran Mc and Dennis Leamy (??).

That Bud Light one is trash of the lowest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Morgans

The best ad I can remember is the Mullerrice ad with Nina Simone singing "Got life". The original one of those ads anyway. I'm sorry but I cannot accept any argument on this. The song on its own is ok, as I'm sure the visual of the ad is, but the whole is far greater than the sum of their parts.

The Citreon ad, - the transforming dancing car - is also worthy of a mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

Morgans wrote:
    The best ad I can remember is the Mullerrice ad with Nina Simone singing "Got life". The original one of

I agree, the subsequent ones weren't as good.

I love the Donegal Catch one with the guys on the fishing board - 'you might be beautiful but they're keeping my idea on file - in a filing cabinet' won't hear a bad word against it.

I like the Crunchy Nut ad where the guy goes through the scanner at the airport.

D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

kearnsr wrote:
    Remeber the one for Nike with Cantona and the like playing the team in Hell. That was a class add. Or the brazilan football team in the airport.

nice!

this is the first time I saw it, I heard loads about it when it was on tv but never saw it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭TontoMurphy

There used to be a Nike advert for the 1990 world cup i think where all the players were murals or pictures on walls all over the world. I remember Santos (think he was the mexican keeper at the time) breaking out of a wall to save a shot from cantona... Haven't seen it in years, not on youtube or anywhere. Just brings back loads of memories from Italia 90 :-)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

There used to be a Nike advert for the 1990 world cup i think where all the players were murals or pictures on walls all over the world. I remember Santos (think he was the mexican keeper at the time) breaking out of a wall to save a shot from cantona... Haven't seen it in years, not on youtube or anywhere. Just brings back loads of memories from Italia 90 :-)
    It was from 94 or thereabouts, given the players involved. I think it may have been part of their USA!USA!USA! 94 campaign.

Edit: Here it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Morgans wrote:
    The best ad I can remember is the Mullerrice ad with Nina Simone singing "Got life". The original one of those ads anyway. I'm sorry but I cannot accept any argument on this. The song on its own is ok, as I'm sure the visual of the ad is, but the whole is far greater than the sum of their parts.

The Citreon ad, - the transforming dancing car - is also worthy of a mention.
    Citroen ad is v good. Mullerice rubbish with that song for spastics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭toothie

I love that Muller Rice ad. I loved the Guinness ad with guy dancing around the pint. The music was brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

^ Oh yeah, what was that song? I need to hear it again!

Is it wrong that I like that McDonalds ad where the kid puts tinted moisteriser on his face and his mam calls him a plonk or something?

"WHAAAAAAAT?!"

BopNiblets wrote:
    ^ Oh yeah, what was that song? I need to hear it again!

Is it wrong that I like that McDonalds ad where the kid puts tinted moisteriser on his face and his mam calls him a plonk or something?

"WHAAAAAAAT?!"
    Yes, its very wrong. That is an awful ad which should be banned from television forever. You need help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,783 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

One ad campaign for me Polident, with somebody's Ma talking about her false teeth and some bloke would have to find out for themselves if they were falsey's :)

Snake ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

I'm currently quite parital to the childish charms of Alan the Dinosaur on the Volvic water adverts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

ulster wrote:
    i like the ad where the son has used the mother's tanning cream on his face and johnny logan comes out and sings - can't remember which fast food franchise it promotes

Burger King iirc.

=====

This is my favourite ad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4LzG3XZMUA

Besides the cool idea I like the way that it is just a pure piece of entertainment in itself and not trying to smash you over the head with soundbites. Hope the future of video based adverts is viral and that the patronising and sexist style that prevails on television at present becomes a thing of the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I love the skoda fabia ad where they make the car out of cake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Another ad i like is the BOI one, where the students are asking the banker for a loan, but the real reason they want it is in subtitles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 lbourkey

oh my god people - Donegal Catch has to be the most contrived pile of poo ever! In a filing Cyab-i-net. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh.

As for loser Logan - please stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

The Coke ad with the teenage boy and girl on a bench. He starts making the mobile phone ringtone noise, ..., opens the bottle, hands it to the girl and says "Its for you" is the best ad I've seen in years. Its so simple and so brilliant
    I reckon they didn't fill the girl in on the what was going to happen cause her reactions are so natural

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

It's interesting that some of the ads mentioned on this thread also feature in one of the recent "worst ads" thread :D.

The Toyota Hilux "Bugger" ad from a while back was quite funny though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

The insurance ad where the shopkeeper is keeping an eye on a suspicious teenager, a granny robs the till. Think its a class ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

There's a new Fyffe Bananas ad with matchstick men that's class.
    Starts off with the old Star Trek music humming along kinda low in the background and matchstick ST characters, then you see a matchstick ST transporter (you know the beam-me-up-Scotty yoke) and a couple of more matchstick men appear inside it but one of them has his head attached to the end of his arm instead of his shoulders, which works very well with the matchstick characters. "Guess who didn't have his Fyffes this morning!".
    It's one you have to see to appreciate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

MoominPapa wrote:
    The Coke ad with the teenage boy and girl on a bench. He starts making the mobile phone ringtone noise, ..., opens the bottle, hands it to the girl and says "Its for you" is the best ad I've seen in years. Its so simple and so brilliant
    I reckon they didn't fill the girl in on the what was going to happen cause her reactions are so natural

Yeah, I doubt that was a natural reaction. She can probably just act.
    That ad drives me mental anyway!

I used to like that Guinness 'Horses' ad with the Patti Smith song playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Davedubh

prospect wrote:
    Another ad i like is the BOI one, where the students are asking the banker for a loan, but the real reason they want it is in subtitles.
    Are you joking ?that "ching""ching"girl annoys the **** out of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Dreamer 7

The new dairymilk ad with the gorilla is the dogs bollix!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

cashback wrote:
    I used to like that Guinness 'Horses' ad with the Patti Smith song playing.
    See, thats the kind of ad I f*ckin hate, pretentious, over produced bollix and how many people now only associate Horses with this poxy ad? Makes me sick

I also like the new Bud Lite ad, with the sports team celebrating in the dressing room:

"I'm just here for the Bud Lite"

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Aldini98

prospect wrote:
    I also like the new Bud Lite ad, with the sports team celebrating in the dressing room:

LOL

What are you ? Five ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Davedubh

prospect wrote:

LOL
    I dont get that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭Doodah7

I think the current Guinness ad where the 'white froth' of Guinness are people and is mulching around playing instruments in the liquid is really very well done from both a CGI and concept points of view.

Davedubh wrote:
    I dont get that one.

Really?

The interviewer is asking him questions, assuming he is part of the team, but he is just a chancer in the dressing room of a newely crowned sports team, and he is just there for the free beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Missy Moo

Love the new add for cadburys Dairy milk,with the Gorila playing the drums.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

The new Lynx add where your man just sweats so much

I also love the tango ad that takes the piss out of the sony ad:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ScagEU4SlM

Oh and all the doctor pepper ones... "Doctor Pepper, whats the worst that could happen"

The GAA ones are pretty class too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

The new "effortless" Brylcream advert gave me a chuckle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭lockon...

Check out the Barrys Tea ads.[The captain of the soccer team ones]

The Brother and Sister are flirting with each other.:eek:

I think I've seen a new Barrys Tea ad recently containing the two loving siblings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

lockon... wrote:
    Check out the Barrys Tea ads.[The captain of the soccer team ones]

The Brother and Sister are flirting with each other.:eek:

I think I've seen a new Barrys Tea ad recently containing the two loving siblings.
    Err... maybe I'm still in post-All-Ireland mode but H-shaped goalposts and round balls looks more like Gaelic to me, even if the way in which the ball is kicked during the advert is ambiguous. But more importantly, they aren't meant to be brother and sister. The girl is the team manager's daughter and the guy is just her boyfriend whom the father/manager is making captain of the team. I don't know how you could not get that part, whatever about the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,616 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Brother and Sister? Jesus.... how'd you jump to that conclusion? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭Doodah7

The adverts for Ocean Finance... those happy stories from satisfied customers get me every time...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

mickd wrote:
    Mullerice rubbish with that song for spastics

Hahaha. It's funny coz it's true. You could just imagine a lot of spastics at spastic school singing that song and the clapping when it's finished.
    Yay, everyones a winner.