Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda ID

• 09-08-2007 10:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭

This Probably doesnt belong here but any help is appreciated anyway, I applied for a garda id 3 weeks ago and was told it would take 2 weeks, still no sign of it so i went to the garda station today only to be told after much debating it would take at least another 3 weeks because of a "backlog", i wouldnt mind except for the fact that a friend of mine applied for his the week after me and got it on tuesday, anyone who has one, how long did it take to arrive??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I've known some to take up to a month or two so its not uncommon to have it delayed. Mine was no longer than 3 weeks as far as I can remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

me not need one, me can grow stubble, me big man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

MooseJam wrote:
    Just a tip: from most bouncers nowadays, stubble is a dead ringer for a 16 - 17 year trying to look a few years older! ;)

Clean shaven is more convincing to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i was in a pub last night where there was a sign saying 'only official garda id will be accepted' it got me thinking...im 26 and dont have garda id. all i have is my passport from 1999, now what if i was refused and asked for id and i turned around and said all i have is my passport..garda id's came out out after i was legal to drink....?

I got my Garda ID just before they started somewhat laminating them so mine is destroyed.. faded and falling apart.

Since i look quite young, i do get asked for ID the odd time (mainly night-club's operating an over 23's policy). Don't really mind though - because of the disintegration of my Garda ID, i'm using my provisional license these days though.

admiralofthefleet - i remember hearing a driving license, passport or Garda ID will be accepted. But Garda ID is preferred, for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Your Man

MooseJam wrote:

i dont have stubble i have a full on ronnie drew beard, but in some places that attract a young crowd you will be asked for id regarless of how old you look, (to a degree obviously),
    Im only applying for it because aload of places wont accept provisional licences anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Antigone05

im 25 but just like to have ID with me, it took 3 months for me to get the id....that was about 4 years ago though. They might have stepped up things now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

I got mine within 10 days or so of applying for it, that was 4 years ago tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Got one about 2 years ago.
    It took three months, and i know the sargeant!

Good luck with it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭jobonar

mine took 2 months 3 years ago! i was also told that i'd have it within 3 weeks. i had practically given up hope of getting it when it arrived. it was a pain carrying my passport with me waiting for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I will once again point and laugh at those who need ID.

[Nelson}Ha Ha [/Nelson]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭aequinoctium

i got mine in less than 3 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

I got mine in 3 weeks. That was June

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭girloperfection

Got mine 2 years ago, it took 2 or 3 months, was beginning to wonder if id get it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Terry wrote:

[Nelson}Ha Ha [/Nelson]

Agreed! I've never been asked for ID because I've never needed it! Heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭BKtje

I think i'm finally at the stage where i don't need it all the time. I'm still afraid to stop carrying it arounf tho on the off chance that i'd need it.

Would have hoped that i'd be well passed this at my age :(
    Well there is the other way of looking at that as well....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

It took me six weeks or so to get mine. One of my friends had to wait about two months or so to get his and when he did the picture that was on it was all faded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭constellation

Will you open the window, Lisa? The police have daddy's finger prints on file.

Out of curiosity, anyone know if the Guards use photos that you submit for your ID in the mug book...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

eo980 wrote:
    Agreed! I've never been asked for ID because I've never needed it! Heh.

Never actually gone out have you?

JK :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

I sent off for mine this day 2 weeks ago, and I got it 6 days later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

the speed of your gardai id depends on what gardai station u go to, some of my mates took 2+ months, mine took 6 working days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 rudie-

it took me 3 months which seemed by my mates standerds to be average time 2 years ago. ive heard of them taking 4 months tho. not sure what its like nowadays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

it took 3 and a half months to get the original, about 2 years back, then when they brought in the new ones and offered to replace old ones for free (my brother broke off my name) it took 5 weeks, though they spelled my name wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Two months, one week how long I was waiting. I applied at the very end of August last year, and it came at the beginning of November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Your Man wrote:
    This Probably doesnt belong here but any help is appreciated anyway, I applied for a garda id 3 weeks ago and was told it would take 2 weeks, still no sign of it so i went to the garda station today only to be told after much debating it would take at least another 3 weeks because of a "backlog", i wouldnt mind except for the fact that a friend of mine applied for his the week after me and got it on tuesday, anyone who has one, how long did it take to arrive??
    If it makes you feel better I have been waiting 4 months:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Plug wrote:
    If it makes you feel better I have been waiting 4 months:mad:

Thats ridiculous. Have you tried ringing them to complain? The brother of a friend of mine did that after a similar wait to yours, and surprise surprise he got his in the post within the next few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Car Mad

Look at the reciept you are given there is a referance number you can text to see where it is or you can look it up online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,192 ✭✭✭✭L1011

basquille wrote:
    admiralofthefleet - i remember hearing a driving license, passport or Garda ID will be accepted. But Garda ID is preferred, for some reason.

My local offlicence and my local (pub) refuse, point blank, to take Garda ID because of how often they're faked. However the local Tesco/Aldi/Lidl don't want to take anything but Garda ID, and I've had a few 'frank discussions' with staff there over them refusing my (ministerially guaranteed) passport or my (needed my passport to prove who I was to get it, sit two tests, get photographed at them, etc) driving licence yet insisted on an ID that can be got fake for about 40 notes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

It took me 4 months to get the first and 6 months to get my second one. I thought that was the standard time, but now I see its my local cop shop. I'd be rejoicing if I got mine in 4 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

MYOB wrote:
    My local offlicence and my local (pub) refuse, point blank, to take Garda ID because of how often they're faked. However the local Tesco/Aldi/Lidl don't want to take anything but Garda ID, and I've had a few 'frank discussions' with staff there over them refusing my (ministerially guaranteed) passport or my (needed my passport to prove who I was to get it, sit two tests, get photographed at them, etc) driving licence yet insisted on an ID that can be got fake for about 40 notes...
    Surely not the new ones? The old ones only had one hologram IIRC, but there're loads of intricate and hard to fake holograms on the new ones and your DoB is on a transparent area.

I got mine in almost exactly 3 weeks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

I was told that they collect applications and only send them out once they have so many, so they do them in batches. But it sounds strange that your mate handed his in after you and got it back first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

lemansky wrote:
    Thats ridiculous. Have you tried ringing them to complain? The brother of a friend of mine did that after a similar wait to yours, and surprise surprise he got his in the post within the next few days.
    I called down to them and then they being pig ignernt about it, they can keep there lousy €10 and bananas, i'll get them in the market, there cheaper anyway.
    A shower of ignourt fcukers:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Anybody else wander why we actually need Garda ID's?, I understand theres alot of phony drivers licenses on the go but you can check those with UV lights and if you suspect a person of trying to use a fake passport as ID you should alert the Gardai cus thats a pretty serious crime...I used that defence when I was refused due to having a 'fake' passport one time and after 10 minutes or so they just gave in and let me go...normally I'd just go along my merry way cus I don't like giving people grief, I'd usually just go to another club but I was in a town that only had one club

Wompa1 wrote:
    Anybody else wander why we actually need Garda ID's?, I understand theres alot of phony drivers licenses on the go but you can check those with UV lights and if you suspect a person of trying to use a fake passport as ID you should alert the Gardai cus thats a pretty serious crime...I used that defence when I was refused due to having a 'fake' passport one time and after 10 minutes or so they just gave in and let me go...normally I'd just go along my merry way cus I don't like giving people grief, I'd usually just go to another club but I was in a town that only had one club

Few reasons I think. First, a lost Garda causes less complications that a lost passport. Second, the size means you can easily fit in your wallet making you less likely to lose it. Third, it softens us up for the eventual introduction of mandatory national identification cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Sent mine away less than two weeks ago and just checked at agecard.ie to find out it was posted yesterday. So now if I'm waiting a while it's not the polices fault, it's the stupid post offices

JC 2K3 wrote:
    Surely not the new ones? The old ones only had one hologram IIRC, but there're loads of intricate and hard to fake holograms on the new ones and your DoB is on a transparent area.

I got mine in almost exactly 3 weeks...

I've not seen the new ones; and there's probably hundreds of thousands of old ones around still. The pub and the offy still have "passport/driving licence only" signs.

I'm too old to need to get one now anyway, the last time I got asked for ID I showed them the credit card I'd bought the ticket with (was at a gig)....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

What is so special about a Garda ID card that makes it the only acceptable form of ID for 'drinking'? A bit ridiculous really unless it is infallible, which seems very unlikely.
    I went through a ridiculous process of getting ID for myself ie: a passport for travel. The gardai wouldn't stamp my form because I wasn't known to them!! The advice a guard gave to me was 'do you know a local priest'!! So unless your known to the guards or are religious then you cannot get a passport. It is a crazy system. I managed to talk the guard I was dealing with around, fair play to him, he did see the common sense in what I was saying.

I have an english birth cert with irish parents. The system I had to go through was laughable. I can understand the frustration of folks waiting for ID cards, but it is a stupid system which will crash eventually I think. By the way after that little rant: what makes the garda ID cards so infallible that they are being proposed as an effort to control under age drinking? Surely money could be spent more intelligently on this issue. I don't know, just a thought.

From memory a doctor, or an accountant, or some other people can also sign passport forms.

However, I'm quite proud that I'm not "known" to the local gardai... but they've still stamped the form for me, and filled out the lost form (about two days before I found the passport down the back of me PC)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Schoolteacher

Is the Garda ID and Age Card the same thing?

Indeed it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I'm from the north so don't have a garda ID. when i was going out in dublin one club was only accepting garda id and wouldnt take my driving license... i got in because i played the race card :D
    anyone else seen this? surely a passport or UK driving license is more likely to be real than an age card?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Saermegil

MYOB wrote: »
    From memory a doctor, or an accountant, or some other people can also sign passport forms.

However, I'm quite proud that I'm not "known" to the local gardai... but they've still stamped the form for me, and filled out the lost form (about two days before I found the passport down the back of me PC)

I've been accused of being an illegal immigrant by a guard when I pressed him to sign the form for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 joemcg18

i got mine last friday it took 2 months to come though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Adriatic

I got one in six weeks in the summer and it got stolen and then got a new one that just arrived last week in eight weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭mudokon

I applied for one & when it arrived it had somebody elses picture on it. :pac: