Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charlestown Road, Ranelagh : My sister nearly abducted

• 06-08-2007 8:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭

I posted this story in the Regional, Dublin City forum.
    But feel it deserves a bit more publicity, so I'm posted a link to it here.

Don't worry, there's a happy ending !

Link to story here

regards,
    Owen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Have you heard anything back from the gardai about if they are going to follow through with a prosecution ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

Thats shocking to hear, she must be very traumatised after that. You just never know in this city any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

:S I thought that general area was quite safe and have walked around there at night by myself a couple of times when going to get a taxi from a friend's house. Creepy... Definitely think twice next time about going out alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭OMcGovern

tallus wrote:
    Have you heard anything back from the gardai about if they are going to follow through with a prosecution ?

My sis is fine. She's psychologically strong and stable.
    In fact she doesn't want the parents to know.. cos they'ld worry, and she's doing a couple of nightshifts this week. So she's bounced right back.

It only happened on Saturday, so no word on prosecutions or the like.
    Will update ye when there's any news.

Bastards will probably only get done for attempted abduction though... not sure what else would stick legally ?

If it was just this case alone, I'd be surprised if they get any jail time.
    Depends on if there's other victims or reported incidents.

Even if a criminal case doesn't stand up, this sort of thing warrants them being fecked out of the country.

Bloody civil rights people would probably shoot down my proposal that any immigrant found guilty of such crimes against people, should be automatically deported ( after any jail time is served first ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Dont think it will stick? They attempted to kidnap someone with a police witness. It cant get any sticker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

OMcGovern wrote:
    My sis is fine. She's psychologically strong and stable.
    In fact she doesn't want the parents to know.. cos they'ld worry, and she's doing a couple of nightshifts this week. So she's bounced right back.

It only happened on Saturday, so no word on prosecutions or the like.
    Will update ye when there's any news.

Bastards will probably only get done for attempted abduction though... not sure what else would stick legally ?

If it was just this case alone, I'd be surprised if they get any jail time.
    Depends on if there's other victims or reported incidents.

Even if a criminal case doesn't stand up, this sort of thing warrants them being fecked out of the country.

Bloody civil rights people would probably shoot down my proposal that any immigrant found guilty of such crimes against people, should be automatically deported ( after any jail time is served first ).
    I have to agree. If it was my sister I'd be looking to get them deported. Bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Arrrested, do time, battered by not so nice elements of our society. You name it.. Then maybe deported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Whoa, a lot of jumping down immigrants throats here.

Who's to say it wasn't a wigger, wasian or a wuslim?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

rb_ie wrote:
    Whoa, a lot of jumping down immigrants throats here.

Who's to say it wasn't a wigger, wasian or a wuslim?

I'm not sure what you're trying to say there....
    They were immigrants, in their forties+.
    They clearly had a plan, it was premeditated.

Sometimes I think we're far too weak as a society, in Western Europe.
    In China, an ex-health director got executed for taking bribes and rubber-stamping some dodgy drugs, which led to the deaths of some patients.

Here, the worse criminals can expect, is a prison sentance.
    A good 50 lashes with a whip would cure them and cost far less to the taxpayer.

(maybe I should move that discussion to "politics" though!)