Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 European cup

• 05-08-2007 11:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭

So Poland is hosting the European cup for 2012 fair play it will be a great thing for them and maybe the event will quell a lot of discomfort and bad things said about the polish.
    However there is a rumour going around in the papers that they have no workers to build the stadium because they are all 'over here'. Consequentely Poland is pullin out of the European cup. To be honest this sounds like a ridiculous hype reported in a disreputable newspaper promoting a negative minority public opinion. Is this just another hype or is it true?
    I for one think it is, and if so it is rather disturbing that it is reported as fact. Anyone have some real facts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

hmmm, it's 5 years off, even if it were true, I'm sure they can find workers in time and get things built. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

Anyone have some real facts?

Yeah.

Fidel Castro became leader of Cuba in 1959.

If you yelled for 8 years, 7 months and 6 days, you would have produced enough sound energy to heat one cup of coffee.

A cockroach will live nine days without it's head, before it starves to death.

Venus is the only planet that rotates clockwise.

The first owner of the Marlboro Company died of lung cancer.

That enough or shall put up some more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

the first item to have a barcode was wrigley's spearmint gum

the microwave was invented when the guy who invented it walked passed a radon tube and a chocolate bar melted in his pocket.

polar bears are left handed

polar bears hair is not white but transparant.

tigers have striped fur not hair.

random facts are awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

football eh, did anyone watch the charity shield game today, the shadow across the pitch was horrendous, you would think after spending 500 million on a new stadium like that they could get the shadow sorted out, it really impinged badly on the game making it very hard to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

So Poland is hosting the European cup for 2012 fair play it will be a great thing for them and maybe the event will quell a lot of discomfort and bad things said about the polish.
    However there is a rumour going around in the papers that they have no workers to build the stadium because they are all 'over here'. Consequentely Poland is pullin out of the European cup. To be honest this sounds like a ridiculous hype reported in a disreputable newspaper promoting a negative minority public opinion. Is this just another hype or is it true?
    I for one think it is, and if so it is rather disturbing that it is reported as fact. Anyone have some real facts?

Poland is not hosting the European Cup in 2012, its co-hosting the European Championships with Ukraine. Big difference.

Poland won't have any problems finishing their stadia off in time. Afaik, they've alrady started and even if they have a labour shortage of their own, they can always attract workers from the likes of Romania and Bulgaria.

I assume this crap appeared in either The (Loyalist) Sun or the Sunday World....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

Zebra3 wrote:
    Poland is not hosting the European Cup in 2012, its co-hosting the European Championships with Ukraine. Big difference.

Poland won't have any problems finishing their stadia off in time. Afaik, they've alrady started and even if they have a labour shortage of their own, they can always attract workers from the likes of Romania and Bulgaria.

I assume this crap appeared in either The (Loyalist) Sun or the Sunday World....
    Sunday world garbage: Much as I suspected. Don't read it myself, picked it up in a friends house. Just needed some confirmation. How do these papers get away with publishing such garbage?

*Edit:Seems a blatent promotion of ignorant public opinion for profit. I hate sunday papers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Neil Armstrong stepped on the moon with his left foot first.

The average speed of Heinz ketchup leaving the bottle is 25 miles per year.

Hilary Clinton once said We are the President.

The percent of women who wash their hands after leaving a restroom is 80%.

The percent of men who wash their hands after using a restroom is 55%.

There are 333 toilet paper squares on a toilet paper roll.

The Eifel Tower has 2,500,000 rivets in it.

"Jaws" is the most common name for a goldfish.

On an average work day, a typist's fingers travel 12.6 miles.

The average American eats 2 donuts a day.

The longest word in the Old Testament is Malhershalahashbaz.

The longest time a person has been in a coma is 37 years.

Every minute in the U.S 6 people turn 17.

It takes the Where's Waldo artist one month to complete a drawing.

2500 lefties die each year using products designed for righties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Enough. Back on-topic. ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I'm tipping Poland to beat Ukraine in the final, 17-16 on penalties.

No goals will be scored in the whole tournament, except during penalty shoot-outs.

Ireland will beat Poland during the group stages (on the toss of a coin). RTE will have the match with Polish commentary (only). All of Ireland's TV channels and newspapers will have turned completely Polish by this time. Ireland's team will have many Polish immigrants in it; Poland's team will have some Irish immigrants in it.

About this time, people will realise Soccer is the most boring team sport imaginable. Except the posters of boards.ie/soccer. Increasing numbers of Soccer threads will appear in AH, PI and other fora...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I'd imagine the number of "ohh god! football is on the telly all the time and I CAN'T SEE MY STORIES, BAN THIS SICK FILTH NOW!" threads in AH/PI etc will outweigh just about anything else.

Personally, i can't wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Load of sh1te tbh. Theyre talking about using prisoners to build the stadiums on the cheap. Poland is already bringing in workers from Ukraine, Belarus and other non EU states to fill minimum wage positions (I have this mental image of a Pole in McDonalds there "damn bleedin Ukranians, I asked for no onions, bollix couldnt speak a word of Polish barely" :D )

I dont get this labour shortage though. Foreigners are something like 15% of our construction labour force, mostly from Poland. Now, lets assume we have 200,000 men in the trade, and 20,000 are from Poland. Lets say 60,000 work in the UK (UK has gotten roughly 3 times the amt of Poles we got) and maybe another 20,000 throughout the rest of the EU. In a country of 40 million (IIRC) 100,000 builders is not a huge amount, especially in a country with 15% unemployment, how is there a labour shortage? With unemployment like that and migrant min wage labour in both states it seems the Irish dole lads arent the only crowd too proud to work in McDonalds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

MooseJam wrote:
    football eh, did anyone watch the charity shield game today, the shadow across the pitch was horrendous, you would think after spending 500 million on a new stadium like that they could get the shadow sorted out, it really impinged badly on the game making it very hard to watch

or they could just switch on the floodlights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

or the €270 million spent on Croke Park with the horrendous roof, makes it doubly unwatchable. De Gah is already unwatchable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

yes the floodlights, I wonder why noone thought of that, whats wrong with Croker's roof

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Speaking of which, any news on whether Lansdowne and the new national stadium are gonna be ready in time for Euro 2008? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

MooseJam wrote:
    yes the floodlights, I wonder why noone thought of that, whats wrong with Croker's roof

The shadow, mentioned in previous post about Wembley's new stadium. And the fact it doesn't work in protecting you from the rain.

It makes me laugh when I hear Des Cahill saying it's a world class stadium and the best in Europe and they're coming from all over Europe to look at it. Maybe they are, but I'd say they're leaving saying "don't do it like this lads, it's crap"

Pigman II, this weekend (and the October weekend), the Dart is closed from Pearse to Sandymount, presumably they are knocking sh1t out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Pigman II wrote:
    Speaking of which, any news on whether Lansdowne and the new national stadium are gonna be ready in time for Euro 2008? :D

Don't you remember Gift Grub?

The new stadium was being built underneath Liffey Valley SC. :D