Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork v Waterford

• 05-08-2007 5:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭

OK, another wonderful example of the best sport in the world! What a game, level 8/9 times before Big Dan popped up with his second. Two really well-taken goals from him today, think that's 8 he's scored in championship this season. :eek:

Thought Cork made a couple of mistakes, particularly taking Jerry O'Connor off, I thought he was having a stormer and showing the selectors that he is a lot better than last week. After that Waterford seemed to really dominate midfield. They were definitely the better team on the day, but credit to Cork for realy fighting all the way.

Would be great to see them go on and beat Limerick and Kilkenny now, I for one would be delighted for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭navi_5445

Any news on Ronan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

He was taken off straight after he gifted Waterford a point. He just stood waiting for the ball to come to him and the Waterford forward nipped in, stole the sliothar and stuck it over the bar. The Cork manager seemed really annoyed by this and took him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I thought Waterford were extremely cynical and dirty today and the ref seemed to give them every 50/50 decision.
    The amount of extra time played was totally inadequate too .
    1 min of extra time was all that was played in reality.
    Joke,there should have been at least 3-4 mins considering all the substitutions and delays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

The right amount of added time was played imo. The injured player was treated for 5 minutes and after that the ref added the 3 he said he would before the treatment cart came on.

Well done Waterford, it was deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Waterford definitely deserved, cracking match. That catch by Ken McGrath as he was running back towards his own goal was unbelievable. I'm really glad that Waterford did win and hope they go on to win the AI.

Dan Shanahan was hardly in the game but still managed to score 2-1, 2 absolutely beautiful goals.

On another note, anybody see John Mullane goading Jerry O'Connor in the 12th minute? Jerry O'Connor was blown up for taking too many steps and Mullane got right in his face and started goading him ala Mark Vaughan a couple of weeks ago. I'm not trying to stir anything here, just wondering what others think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭fuinneamh

I thought Waterford were extremely cynical and dirty today and the ref seemed to give them every 50/50 decision.
    The amount of extra time played was totally inadequate too .
    1 min of extra time was all that was played in reality.
    Joke,there should have been at least 3-4 mins considering all the substitutions and delays.

Neill ronan left the pitch with 74 mins on the clock, the game finished with 77 minutes on the clock. think that was adequate. Although i must agree with you that waterford became cynical once they went 5 points up. Little things like exagerating injuries, taking balls away that sort of thing which as a waterford man i'm not proud of. In the end though its just a matter of opinion, does the result justify the manner of achieving it?

On a postive note the standard of catching was unbelievable today, brick walsh's catch in the first half and ken mcgraths when running towards his own goal being the pick of them. Also taught molumphy did a huge amount of work today, beginning to became a really vital cog in this team. Let's just hope three weekends in a row is not too much for this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

An Citeog wrote:
    Waterford definitely deserved, cracking match. That catch by Ken McGrath as he was running back towards his own goal was unbelievable. I'm really glad that Waterford did win and hope they go on to win the AI.

Dan Shanahan was hardly in the game but still managed to score 2-1, 2 absolutely beautiful goals.

On another note, anybody see John Mullane goading Jerry O'Connor in the 12th minute? Jerry O'Connor was blown up for taking too many steps and Mullane got right in his face and started goading him ala Mark Vaughan a couple of weeks ago. I'm not trying to stir anything here, just wondering what others think.

It's Mullane, what do you expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

An Citeog wrote:

Thought that about Dan twice during the match, and what does he do, score 2 goals!

Is that 19 goals in 19 championship matches.

Dan IS the man!

Though Mullane had got over that sort of stuff, could learn from Dan on keeping the head.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

fuinneamh wrote:
    Neill ronan left the pitch with 74 mins on the clock, the game finished with 77 minutes on the clock. think that was adequate. .
    but Ronan went down in the 69th minute and I think 3 mins was a little short (was close to maybe 4-5 min extra time IMO), so to be true the ref should not have blown up til the 79th min.

However, I don't think Cork would have gotten a goal & point in that time. Waterford were just keeping with them throughout. Cork had a few chances to take a few points in the first half when they really should have and went for goal instead.

In saying that, Waterford deserved the win, but I think they will beat Limerick next week, Kilkenny will beat them easy in the final. Waterford will be burnt out by then, even though they'll get a few weeks rest to the final. They were dropping like flies in the last 15mins with cramp.

Had to laugh at Shanahan when he looked like he pulled a muscle for his celebration for his 2nd goal.

Best of luck to them...hope they go on and win but I think its title #30 for Kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Lex Luthor wrote:
    In saying that, Waterford deserved the win, but I think they will beat Limerick next week, Kilkenny will beat them easy in the final. Waterford will be burnt out by then, even though they'll get a few weeks rest to the final. They were dropping like flies in the last 15mins with cramp.

Had to laugh at Shanahan when he looked like he pulled a muscle for his celebration for his 2nd goal.

Best of luck to them...hope they go on and win but I think its title #30 for Kilkenny

How can u say that , We have jumped every hurdle this year and thats including Kilkenny in a competive final Cork 4 times out of 5 a munster final victiory, Kilkenny have not had a tough match this year whereas look at Waterford , Burnt out you say this is the moment they play and wait for they will be hungry for this and Kilkenny a fine side but always get it easy in my opinion and will lose that competitive edge that Waterford seem to be gaining match by match, This year waterford are just as good as kilkenny , and to say that they will beat us easily i would take it laughing .. Limerick will be no push over , But all i say is Bring on the cats .. I have waited so longto get to that moment

Waterford have been knocking at the door a long time now , This time we will kick that fckin door down and do it for our county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

A great win for Waterford. I had a great spot in Croke Park today. The Kilkenny team were sitting right beside where I was, during the Waterford game. At the end I said to Brian Cody that he had just seen the All-Ireland Champions. He smiled. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Flukey wrote:
    A great win for Waterford. I had a great spot in Croke Park today. The Kilkenny team were sitting right beside where I was, during the Waterford game. At the end I said to Brian Cody that he had just seen the All-Ireland Champions. He smiled. :)

Fckin classic ,

Like the time i went to see Ireland play Switzerland i saw Kenny Cunningham refusing to give a child an autogarph b4 the match , After the game i walked up to him in the hotel after the defeat and said Autograph Kenny he said no prob , I signed my name on a piece of paper and said stick that up ur hole now , u should have signed that for the child ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I think Waterford will win the AI now. They are getting better with every game and also they are over their CP hoodoo. It would be good for the game also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Just back from Croker.

No talk of All Irelands for Waterford please, lets not take Limerick for granted.

We have to get past them next week before any all ireland talk.

Molumphy, Kearney, Browne, Eoin Murphy, Ken McGrath, Brick Walsh outstanding today.

That catch by Ken midway thru the second half was amazing. Top drawer stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

I think we will give Waterford a good game, I think we have learned our lesson from the Munster Final and we wont lose concentration in the final 10 minutes, im really looking forward to this, it will be an epic game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Fckin classic ,

Like the time i went to see Ireland play Switzerland i saw Kenny Cunningham refusing to give a child an autogarph b4 the match , After the game i walked up to him in the hotel after the defeat and said Autograph Kenny he said no prob , I signed my name on a piece of paper and said stick that up ur hole now , u should have signed that for the child ...

Classic Waterford.

Pig Ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

navi_5445 wrote:
    Any news on Ronan?

He's fine thankfully, not nice to see a player leaving the field in that way. He travelled back to Cork with the team this evening. So all is fine

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Brilliant match, I really thought Cork would take the win...but I suppose you cannot under estimate Waterford.

Looking forward to the match next week.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Tanabe

Classic Waterford.

Pig Ignorant.

I'm afraid it's you who is undoubtabley the "Pig Ignorant" one:rolleyes: Go suck on your sour grapes my 'friend':D

Don't think there's anybody can deny, Waterford have climbed all the mountains throughout this Championship, no other team have achieved their success the way they have achieved it. As was said today "they'd deserve to win TWO Liam McCarthys' if they win this year! And who could begrudge them?

They've done their County proud, well done & keep up the good work lads! Go get 'em next Sunday! (Again).

Dan Shanahan & Co will be remembered for years to come! I salute you!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

Great game today no doubt

We have a munster final but at this stage I think the team are not satisified with that. We've had a few of em in the last few years and don't get me wrong they are great but the Liam Mc is the holy grail of hurling. Limerick will be no pushover as they werrn't in thurles

We are on a mission

(nostalgia and "it would be great for the game"aside)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Waterford have been knocking at the door a long time now , This time we will kick that fckin door down and do it for our county
    Hope you do BSP, really do. Just because Kilkenny really haven't been tested, doesn't mean they won't play a good final. They are still the best team in the country and I just feel they have more quality all over the pitch to beat Waterford on the day if they make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭D. Coughlan

Great match as ever, best of luck to waterford in the rest of the championship, hope ye Kill the Cats and Limerick, best team won, due to our lack of goal power and the soul of Cork being taken off.

Regards,

Dejected Rebel.

I know this would happen just know it:( :(:(:(:confused::confused::(:confused::(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Classic Waterford.

Pig Ignorant.

Banned for 2 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

kaimera wrote:
    Banned for 2 weeks
    I could be wrong but was his comment not in regards to Kenny Cunningham refusing a kid an autograph?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

?
    Didn't get that from it myself; looked directed at the poster.

Could be, not very clear :) I thought it was first but then thought the two comments were directed at the two paragraphs. Ah well, he can let us know in 2 weeks :D

2 week ban was deserved. This poster was being abusive. Well done moderator.

@Nalced_irl Don't know how you could interpret otherwise:confused:

I was probably just giving him the benifit of the doubt. Saw it first and interpreted it the same as you but thought it could be at the post about Cunningham. Anyway, as for Waterford, i would much prefer to see them face Kilkenny as i dont think Limerick would have the strength to win that final. Waterford will be up for it more than any match they have ever played and i think they would be more likely to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭sitout

well done im a cork man myself but all games were played in a great sprit and fair play to the waterford lads hope ye go on now and lift the liam macarthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Tanabe wrote:
    Don't think there's anybody can deny, Waterford have climbed all the mountains throughout this Championship, no other team have achieved their success the way they have achieved it. As was said today "they'd deserve to win TWO Liam McCarthys' if they win this year! And who could begrudge them?

They've done their County proud, well done & keep up the good work lads! Go get 'em next Sunday! (Again).

Dan Shanahan & Co will be remembered for years to come! I salute you!;)

This in itself is very dangerous talk, going round with the idea that because Waterford beat Cork they are automatically going to win the All-Ireland. Galway had this idea in 2005, after beating KK that all they had to do was turn up for the final and they would win it. Cork proved them wrong, however.

Now, I'm not saying that Waterford are as bad as Galway - there are few counties that are, but Waterford shouldn't loose the run of themselves. They beat a Cork team that, IMO, is on the decline. They will have it all on against Limerick on Sunday, who will have learned a lot from their Munster Final defeat to the deice.

As for the game yesterday, the thing I liked about Waterford was that different lads "stepped up to the plate". It wasn't just left to Flynn, McGrath etc. The brick walsh, despite some loose marking, scored some valuable points while Molumphy correctly won MOTM for his hard work and good distrubition throughout.

I would still have some reservations about their full-back line and even though he has been waterford's best goalie for some time, Hennessey would want to learn how to deal with shots that are at knee height. He seems to knock them out into the square where its as easy for the FF as the FB to get them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 millymolly

great game,not quite as nerve wrecking as the week before. just hope i can get next sunday off for the next one.unexpected when the kilkenny team came in and sat right in the row in front of me.

Kojak wrote:
    This in itself is very dangerous talk, going round with the idea that because Waterford beat Cork they are automatically going to win the All-Ireland. Galway had this idea in 2005, after beating KK that all they had to do was turn up for the final and they would win it. Cork proved them wrong, however.

Now, I'm not saying that Waterford are as bad as Galway - there are few counties that are, but Waterford shouldn't loose the run of themselves. They beat a Cork team that, IMO, is on the decline. They will have it all on against Limerick on Sunday, who will have learned a lot from their Munster Final defeat to the deice.

As for the game yesterday, the thing I liked about Waterford was that different lads "stepped up to the plate". It wasn't just left to Flynn, McGrath etc. The brick walsh, despite some loose marking, scored some valuable points while Molumphy correctly won MOTM for his hard work and good distrubition throughout.

I would still have some reservations about their full-back line and even though he has been waterford's best goalie for some time, Hennessey would want to learn how to deal with shots that are at knee height. He seems to knock them out into the square where its as easy for the FF as the FB to get them.

Woah! Woah! Easy there now tiger! Nobody's assuming because Waterford beat Cork that this means the Liam McCarthy cup is automatically theirs' all of a sudden! Obviously I would advise them not to take their foot off the peddle for even a split second, (or any other team for that matter) as it's a battle royal at this stage.

But by no means would I go as far to say that the Cork team are on the decline, if anything they could easily lift the cup again next year, and as with all of the Waterford V Cork clashes they are always a clincher of a game, I mean Sundays' game just gone was level 9 or 10 times!! Not too many games you get that in now is there? Any yes, I would agree with you, one would assume Limerick would have gained valuable lessons since their last clash with the Deisé.

It's true about the different lads on the Waterford side "stepping up to the plate" as you put it. This is just fantastic to see. They seem to be really bonding & playing as a team now, with all this extra talent available and performing as required. Brian Phelan, Eoin McGrath are two I would also mention along with your observations. Long may it last I say!

As regards Clinton Hennessey, I think he is a fantastic keeper, having saved two potential goals from Cork on Sunday, and in previous games too, he is undoubtably a vital cog in the system of this team. In relation to the knee height shots, point taken, but I suppose these things are easy for us to talk about!

As others have stated on this thread, I would love to see a Kilkenny V Waterford final. Here, here!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Is it true that Eoin Kelly had to get some stitches in his hand after the Cork game?? Also I heard that Eoin McGrath could be out for the semi versus Limerick on Sunday.

Can anyone confirm/deny this?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Kelly had 10 stitches in his hand, but they reckon he'll start on Sunday. http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2007/0807/waterford.html?gaa

Waterford look the real deal this year. Had too much for Cork, in the end greater ability to score goals made the difference. They look like they could end the 48 year drought if they can keep up this kind of form!

The bad news for Waterford is Dan Shanahan is in the storage area under my stairs. :D Took a lot of rope to tie up the lanky git aswell. Don't worry lads he'll be released on Sunday at 6pm. ;) (I figured it was the only way to stop him)

If it was anybody other than Limerick in the way I'd be rooting for Waterford to win the AI this year. Still think the treatymen will have a big say in where Liam is going this year. I wouldnt begrudge Waterford though in all fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Fckin classic ,

what's that got to do with the match on Sunday??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 mullanimal

An Citeog wrote:

Two fantastic catches... Brick was literally horizontal when he caught it... some committment!