Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lowlands 2007

• 03-08-2007 11:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭

Couldn't find any posts on this here already, apologies if there is. I'm headed to Lowlands this year for the first time. I'm flying into Eindhoven (couldn't afford to fly to Amsterdam) on Thursday, and haven't a clue where I'm going to get beer & food. I was just wondering if anyone who has been before has any tips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭TEH REAL CDP

Going as well myself!!! Gonna be savvagge! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

I've been the last two years. Not going this year because i'm just back from Benicassim and can't afford it (sickened), though theres about 10 of my mates from Ennis going. Rocking line-up this year. Far superior setup to Benicassim. Very well organised in comparison.

Heineken is 98c a can. You can bring as much as you like into the campsite. They give you plastic cups entering the arena too, so you cant take cans in.

Food there is lethal, and plentiful.

I posted this last year... Check it out.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054963532&referrerid=&highlight=lowlands

Enjoy. And I think it's only about 30 quid return from Eindhoven to Amsterdam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Karlusss

Going this year as well and cannot wait. We'll be the giant tent in the middle of a circle with the loads of Irish flags.

Stall it over.

so to the people who have been...any tips? whats the talent like over there? A group of 25 of us are heading over on the thurs...

can't wait!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

Talent, none of ye are gonna score (without paying for it) most likely. heh, the women at it are quality, but mainly Dutch. They generally don't have time for the Irish (especially people from Galway).

No real other tips. Just stock up on greenery before you leave. Buy more than you expect to smoke. It's tough to find greenery at the festival. Though, if you run out, there's a lethal coffeeship 'The Blowboat' in Armeen, about 20 minutes travel from Lleystad. The best smoke can be found there. Serious stuff. Max buy is 5g a day though, so purchase wisely.

The festival is seriously organised. You won't need to go far to get what you want. Theres a camping store, plenty of other shops and ATMs. Ye'll be grand.

And ye'd want to be there fierce early to get a big circle full of tents in there. There's generally a battle for space, but it's not too cramped (and the campsite is quality... Flat, no rocks or trees, never too far from a shower/music/party/jacks.)

conZ wrote:
    Talent, none of ye are gonna score (without paying for it) most likely. heh, the women at it are quality, but mainly Dutch. They generally don't have time for the Irish (especially people from Galway).

Lol!!!:rolleyes:

You misunderstand, see...I'm gorgeous. ;)

Cheers for the tips though! 9 days!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Finester

i'm heading over thursday, first time there, just heard thought that 15 people got stabbed there last year and its not the safest of festivals. can anyone shed any light on that? im aware that there are police stations in every campsite - is this why??!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

conZ wrote:

No real other tips. Just stock up on greenery before you leave. Buy more than you expect to smoke. It's tough to find greenery at the festival. Though, if you run out, there's a lethal coffeeship 'The Blowboat' in Armeen, about 20 minutes travel from Lleystad. The best smoke can be found there. Serious stuff. Max buy is 5g a day though, so purchase wisely.

The festival is seriously organised. You won't need to go far to get what you want. Theres a camping store, plenty of other shops and ATMs. Ye'll be grand.

And ye'd want to be there fierce early to get a big circle full of tents in there. There's generally a battle for space, but it's not too cramped (and the campsite is quality... Flat, no rocks or trees, never too far from a shower/music/party/jacks.)

Cheers for the advice. What's the craic with food? Can you buy it in the festival, or nearby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Glazun

I'm heading over thursday, first time there, just heard thought that 15 people got stabbed there last year and its not the safest of festivals. can anyone shed any light on that? im aware that there are police stations in every campsite - is this why??!

What the hell? I never heard of this stabbing before. It would have been reported on. Police are all over the place, as security. To make sure everyones safe, thats generally why its a safe place to be. I remember at Pink pop there was a distinct lack of police.. :\ resulted in tents being robbed.

I was there last year, going again this year. Cant wait.

Cheers for the advice. What's the craic with food? Can you buy it in the festival, or nearby?
    There's plenty of food. A lot of variety too.. ranging from chips to chinese food to mexican... etc. You get value for money aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I'm going this year. Cant wait! Flying into Eindhoven on Tuesday and getting a bus to Amsterdam. Staying there for a coupple of nights and then heading to the festival on Thursday.

Its hard to pack for a festival when you are traveling to another country. Really looking forward to it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Karlusss

Hold on, what's the story with weed? I heard 15g limit to carry in, but apparently you can only buy 5g a day?

Surely won't be a problem to visit three different cafés twixt airport and train station, hopefully?

Plus, how much is 15g in Irish terms? Like, in money. Am I allowed talk about this stuff even? If not, I'm sorry and please don't ban me, it's legal there.