Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Narration of the documentaries on RTE 2

• 03-08-2007 4:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭

Does anybody else find the guy who does them extremely annoying?
    He sounds so sh1te...and I quite like documentaries but its very hard to watch when he's nattering on. Fecking eejit...

Irish people are sh1t at doing voice overs anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Who exactly are you talking about? Leo Enright, is it?

Couldn't believe when I heard him narrating a couple of documentaries on RTE Two a while back. I hadn't heard him in years. I remember years ago he was always the one called into RTE news and stuff to talk or commentate anytime there was something to do with space or NASA and various space missions and things like that. He used to be RTE's resident "space expert", I guess you'd call him, but I hadn't seen or heard from him in a few years so I was surprised to hear him narrating documentaries a few months back, as I said, about a North Sea oilrig helicopter crash and a devastating volcanic eruption.

I personally don't find him annoying or anything but what I do find annoying is that fact that it seems to me as if RTE feel it's necessary to have him "over-dubbing", if you like, the original narration. Because I saw the same documentaries on another channel a good while back and it was a different narration those times. Why can't they just use the original narration? There wasn't anything wrong with it, as I recall. Or do they feel they have to use an Irish sounding narrator for some particular reason or what's the story? :rolleyes:

By the way, does anybody know if Leo Enright has given up the whole space lark altogether then or what and that narrating documentaries is his bread-and-butter instead these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

I personally don't find him annoying or anything but what I do find annoying is that fact that it seems to me as if RTE feel it's necessary to have him "over-dubbing", if you like, the original narration. Because I saw the same documentaries on another channel a good while back and it was a different narration those times. Why can't they just use the original narration? There wasn't anything wrong with it, as I recall. Or do they feel they have to use an Irish sounding narrator for some particular reason or what's the story? :rolleyes:

Probably because they are hoping that some ppl will see the documentaries and marvel at the wonderful production values and how much money RTE have spent producing them when in reality they spent a couple of grand (if even) and dubbed their own narrator to make it sound 'authentic'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Davedubh

Does anybody else find the guy who does them extremely annoying?
    He sounds so sh1te...and I quite like documentaries but its very hard to watch when he's nattering on. Fecking eejit...

Irish people are sh1t at doing voice overs anyway.
    Who would you prefer ?A califrornian surfer dude?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Its his accent he just sounds so...Irishy or something. A bit gutteral - hard to put my finger on, RTE do not need to pay some guy to do a voice over - its ridiculous. It like having Irish accents on adds if they have been brought over from America or something.

I would prefer the original guy...or someone different. Not this guy whoever he is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

By the way, does anybody know if Leo Enright has given up the whole space lark altogether then or what and that narrating documentaries is his bread-and-butter instead these days?
    He still does space journalism for village magazine. I hear him on the radio all the time. He was presenting his own show on RTE radio 1 last year and I think he does guest spots on drivetime or something like that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

Cathal O' Shannon is the guy's name, he used to do these mind-numbingly boring programmes from small villages in the middle of nowhere about their history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

homah_7ft wrote:
    He still does space journalism for village magazine. I hear him on the radio all the time. He was presenting his own show on RTE radio 1 last year and I think he does guest spots on drivetime or something like that now.

He's always on the Gerry Ryan show, too, whenever there's a story to do with Space travel(and the like) in the news.

Infact, he was on Morning Ireland just this morning. I always enjoy listening to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

What really sucked was the programme Strange Days on Planet Earth, the original narrator was actor Edward Norton and they dubbed him over with some Mickey Mouse Irish Buffoon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Well I'm glad it's not just me who dislikes him...every single one of those SECONDS FROM DISASTER things bug the crap out of me, soley because of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Davedubh

What do you want?Hearing noting but american accents on rte?Its more or less going that way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

lukin wrote:
    Cathal O' Shannon is the guy's name, he used to do these mind-numbingly boring programmes from small villages in the middle of nowhere about their history.

Its not Cathal O 'Shannon who's doing the narration on those RTE2 wildlife documentries.

I don't know the guys name but its definitely not C O'S