Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My position in search engines

Options
  • 01-08-2007 8:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 39

When somebody searches a keyword on a internet search engine like google, yahoo, etc, etc, how do I move my business up in terms of where it is on the search results?? Is this possible? What is the search result ranking related to?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭jellybean520

I'm no expert but I think most people recognise that Google is the de facto standard for searching right now. You can purchase Adwords / sponsored links which will promote your website listing it near the top for most relevant searches. Google charge on a per click basis so your counter decrements each time somebody visits / clicks your site.

https://adwords.google.com/select/Login?sourceid=awo&subid=ie-en-ha-aw&medium=ha&term=web%20site%20on%20google

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 swissalarm

You can also move up the natural results without paying for the pay-per-click ads. Its a long a complicated process, but totally doable if you put the time in. I think this podcast is excellent for beginners

http://www.talkshoe.com/talkshoe/web/talkCast.jsp?masterId=8524&cmd=tc

and the Irish Webmaster Forum is a mine of info

http://www.irishwebmasterforum.com/search-engine-optimisation/

Good luck

• Registered Users Posts: 16,402 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

The ranking algorithm that Google use is reputed to use over 600 different factors.

Without going into too much info, and simply put, the page you want to rank highly should have:

- lots of links to it from many, relevant, external, sites