Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford v Cork

• 29-07-2007 4:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

Great match as usual. The Waterford of old would've lost that game after Corks 3rd goal, but fair play to them for hanging in there. Credit to Donal Og Cusack aswell, what a performance. At a guess replay will be either Saturday in Semple Stadium or Sunday paired with the Kilkenny Wexford semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

I know Cork will be disgusted by the controversy at the end, but the result was a fair one; there wasn't a hair's breadth between the two teams in terms of performance. Waterford would have won were it not for a series of wides in the middle of the second half. All these things balance out in the end and it would have been so unfair for either team to lose.

Massive game coming up this weekend now, and with a bit of luck it will be on "home" turf for Waterford in Semple Stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Bank Holiday Monday is another option, but next Sunday in Croke Park, would be a good bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 fburns

In no other sport would it be possible for a ref to decide unilaterally that a match should be a draw, and then give an outlandish decision to achieve it. It's a joke, but it seems to happen regularly in GAA. Any other sport would be simply embarrassed by this kind of nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭cmoney

Flukey wrote:
    Bank Holiday Monday is another option, but next Sunday in Croke Park, would be a good bet.

i doubt it though.... croker is booked out next weekend 2 matches on the saturday and 3 on the sunday. the sunday one is the 1st hurling semi-final, the minor hurling semi-final and the christy ring cup.

hectic weekends if ya ask me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Flukey wrote:

I can confirm from my inside sources:rolleyes: that the game will most likely be on the Bank Holiday Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

Wouldn't say it was a classic as the first half was a bit flat. Great last ten minutes though. Waterford squandered a lot of psssession with some wild shooting. Neither team deserved to lose in fairness. As for 'red eyes'he fouled the ball and Cork were aggreived that it wasn't a throw ball another ref might have done that who knows? One comment I'd make is that Waterford will need to improve in some positions to win next day. I thought Owen Kelly was lucky to see out the 70 mins and O Halpin scored two points from play off his man. Justin is a little slow to make changes at times. As I pointed out in a another post Waterford need to score goals to beat Cork whether they'll get them the next day remains to be seen but if they do they'll have the edge.

On a slight diversion interesting to note that two Leinster teams are in the semi's so much for the state of Leinster hurling????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

After watching it on the Sunday Game the decision doesn't seem so outlandish now. Donal Og knew exactly he was doing, he covered the ball with his body with his back to the forward to secure the ball. Some people are saying it should be a free out because Cusack was fouled. He was probably, but he was fouled after he covered the ball. Definately the right decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

fricatus wrote:
    I know Cork will be disgusted by the controversy at the end, but the result was a fair one; there wasn't a hair's breadth between the two teams in terms of performance. Waterford would have won were it not for a series of wides in the middle of the second half. All these things balance out in the end and it would have been so unfair for either team to lose.

Massive game coming up this weekend now, and with a bit of luck it will be on "home" turf for Waterford in Semple Stadium.

Cork love playing in Thurles too though.
    I suppose it was a free at the end, goalkeepers are always getting away with that. It was like last year when the ref gave that free to Waterford that Cusack stopped from going over the bar. That's two years in a row a ref has given a contentious decision to Waterford in the last minute of a game against Cork.
    I'd say Waterford will win the replay 'cause they will feel like they've won after being four points down with two minutes to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

deise59 wrote:
    After watching it on the Sunday Game the decision doesn't seem so outlandish now. Donal Og knew exactly he was doing, he covered the ball with his body with his back to the forward to secure the ball. Some people are saying it should be a free out because Cusack was fouled. He was probably, but he was fouled after he covered the ball. Definately the right decision

Aye, that's what it looked like to me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭aequinoctium

waterford deserve it more

fburns wrote:
    n no other sport would it be possible for a ref to decide unilaterally that a match should be a draw, and then give an outlandish decision to achieve it. It's a joke, but it seems to happen regularly in GAA. Any other sport would be simply embarrassed by this kind of nonsense.

Every time we get a draw we get this complete rubbish about referees "playing for draws". We often have matches won by a point. When they happen, we often get the ref being criticised for not letting another minute or two so that the team behind could get the equaliser. The many matches that finish with a point or a goal of a difference disprove the theory. The fact of the matter is that draws happen, and they are not of the referees' making. The teams themselves scored 3 - 16 each, not the referee, just as in the first game Limerick and Clare scored their own scores, not the referee.

If referees make draws, how come Clare and Limerick didn't finish level then? If referees make draws, then surely, just before the game ended the referee in that match would have given Clare 7 frees one after the other so they could draw level. A crazy idea? Absolutely, but not even slightly more crazy than saying that the referee played for a draw in the second match with that free. You are right about one thing though. It was an outlandish decision giving that free. It should have actually been a penalty, according to the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

fburns wrote:
    In no other sport would it be possible for a ref to decide unilaterally that a match should be a draw, and then give an outlandish decision to achieve it. It's a joke, but it seems to happen regularly in GAA. Any other sport would be simply embarrassed by this kind of nonsense.

Get a rule book

Read it

No more nonsense please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

I agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

Flukey wrote:
    Every time we get a draw we get this complete rubbish about referees "playing for draws". We often have matches won by a point. When they happen, we often get the ref being criticised for not letting another minute or two so that the team behind could get the equaliser. The many matches that finish with a point or a goal of a difference disprove the theory. The fact of the matter is that draws happen, and they are not of the referees' making. The teams themselves scored 3 - 16 each, not the referee, just as in the first game Limerick and Clare scored their own scores, not the referee.

If referees make draws, how come Clare and Limerick didn't finish level then? If referees make draws, then surely, just before the game ended the referee in that match would have given Clare 7 frees one after the other so they could draw level. A crazy idea? Absolutely, but not even slightly more crazy than saying that the referee played for a draw in the second match with that free. You are right about one thing though. It was an outlandish decision giving that free. It should have actually been a penalty, according to the rules.

Get a rule book

Read it

No more nonsense please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Flukey wrote:

Have a look at my thread "Ruling Question". Refs do get blamed quite often for playing for draws and alot dont, but some definately do in my opinion. The Ref at the Boden v Skerries game in the Ruling thread is a prime example. That guys understanding of the rules and general perception of the game could not have been as bad as it looked. He simply played for the draw. If he was actually trying to referee the game genuinely, he must have won his referee position on a mars bar wrapper as he got pretty much every decision for almost 8 mins wrong, all in favour of the team behind in a half where there was only 1 minor injury. Thats my 2c anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Great weekend of hurling lads. The Waterford - Cork game was the pick of the games as I thought it would be.

A lot of the Cork lads sitting near me were baying for the referees blood after 'The Decision' :eek:

I have to say I thought the referee was spot on though, Donal Og dived on the ball, and therefore fouled the ball ~ free in.

The game was all-in-all a cracking game, and cracking entertainment. It looked like Waterford were going to win it, then lose it, and finally a draw was the fair result, and a good result for the fans who can get to see them play again. Hopefull now they'll wear each other out, and Limerick can sneak into the final. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Cheese Princess

Looks like the replay will be in Thurles next weekend as Croker is too busy.

Should be another cracker of a game hopefully.

Does anyone know the official rule for what should happen if the goalie did block the ball (not that we'd admit to it or anything....:p )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Referee was absolutely right. The rule in hurling for this type of foul is exactly the same as the one in football. If you lie on the ball or 'kill it' its a free.

It's pulled up more often in football maybe but rarely is the foul as blatant or as 'professional' as the one Donal Óg did yesterday. He should have done it though it was a goal otherwise and the ref mightn't have blown for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Having read the reports on the game I'm dying to see it now, only wish I'd managed to restrain myself from checking the score. I'll say more later once I've seen the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

About this decision...it was a free in for Waterford. Cusack made a good save, then dont know who blocked the sliotar then, but, as the tv clearly shows, Cusack then turned his back on the incoming Waterford player and covered the ball. That prevented the Waterford player a scoring opportunity. Therefore free in. Although one thing I dont get about it, it happened in the square, which is inside the box, so why wasnt it a penalty?

Other than that, it was a great game to watch, especially for a neutral like myself. High-tempo, crazy scoring in the end. Loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 beats26

I have just heard unofficially off my brother who works with Joe Deane and he was saying that the replay will most likely be monday evening in thurles. They were thinking saturday but can't really with the footballers playing in dublin. The decision will be made officially shortly anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

On the one o'clock news it said it will probably be 4pm on Sunday in Croke Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

yep 4pm on Sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Mushy wrote:
    Although one thing I dont get about it, it happened in the square, which is inside the box, so why wasnt it a penalty?

Yes! This was my reaction. If the ref gave it as a foul why wasn't it a penalty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Mushy wrote:
    Although one thing I dont get about it, it happened in the square, which is inside the box, so why wasnt it a penalty?

Yes! This was my reaction. If the ref gave it as a foul why wasn't it a penalty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Yep its on 4pm Sunday, Croke Park.
    http://breakingnews.iol.ie/sport/story.asp?j=186313980&p=y863y456x&n=186314589

Strange to have a hurling semi preceding a hurling quarter. Kilkenny v Wexford isn't going to draw a big crowd, so it makes sense. Croker would be pretty empty otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Kurumba

From an official source..

The replay is on in Croke Park next Sunday at 4 pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

**** sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

That's a joke. So we'll have to pay semi-final prices to go see a quarter-final?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

noby wrote:
    That's a joke. So we'll have to pay semi-final prices to go see a quarter-final?

F**K them, couldn't they have made it thurles?, dragging us all the way to Dublin again :mad:

It ain't cheap either and what with the footballers still involved, it's getting way to expensive.....

noby wrote:

No. You'll be paying semi-final prices to go and see a semi-final and a quarter-final. Given too that the quarter-final is likely to be better than the semi-final, you're getting a great deal. You do also have the radio or television options and save yourself a ticket price. I already had the ticket for next Sunday anyway, so it is great getting this extra bonus. We had a good day's entertainment there yesterday, so I'll be glad to be going back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

Fair point. I guess I'm just peeved because logistically, for me, this is the worst possible scenario. I think a lot of people would have been happy with Thurles.

For you, Thurles may be better than Croke Park, but Croke Park is better than being out altogether! As long as your team is in, you should be glad of the opportunity to follow them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Cheese Princess

Plus Cork have a better record against Waterford in Croke Park than in Thurles. Bring it on!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Flukey wrote:
    For you, Thurles may be better than Croke Park, but Croke Park is better than being out altogether! As long as your team is in, you should be glad of the opportunity to follow them.

That's a load of crap. So instead of complaining about having to go to Dublin again for second week in a row we should just be happy that our team is still in the Championship? What makes it worse is that the winners of this match are in Dublin again the following week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Dac51

I was hoping it wouldn't be Croke Park. It is a bad decision to drag both teams and fans all the way to Dublin for this. Should have been in Thurles. But I guess the GAA are thinking money first, players/fans second as usual.:mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Thought Waterford should have won by 3-4 points, but didn't because some relatively easy frees were missed.

Am glad the reply is in Croke park, as Waterford need to get some more practice at winning there. The rest of the sames this year will be there. And then there'll be next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

I can confirm from my inside sources:rolleyes: that the game will most likely be on the Bank Holiday Monday

Ur sources must be ****e :D - lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

There's a difference between a foul of the ball (technical foul) and a foul on the man... in this case, you can't give a penalty for a foul of the ball.

although in my excitement at the time, i may have briefly screamed for a penalty :) right decision for me, roll on next sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Am I right in saying that the only reason the replay is after the semi is because if the replay was first and ended in a draw, they'd have to do extra time, therefore delaying the second game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

It makes sense to play the game on Sunday at Croke park. Ok for all my fellow Corkmen who have to travel up again I can sympathise, but it didn't look like they were going to get a big crowd with the Kil v Wex game. This way now it gets full house.

I've got my tickets now for Sat & Sun so happy man. Travelling in & out from Naas isn't so bad as having to trek from Cork. But at least with the footballers playing on Sat, sure can't ye all make a weekend out of it?

As for the match itself yesterday, great game and I think the ref was right to call a free. The ball was literally inches from the goal line. If it was the middle of the pitch, it may have been a throw in, but that close to the goal, the ref has to call a free. I think anyway its up to the discretion of the ref to call a free or throw in, in that case. I'm just glad Donal Og pulled off the saves or we'd be out.

The man is a genius