Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to Start?

• 28-07-2007 9:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭

I know there is an extensive thread of 250 pages about becomming a guard - but the earlier stuff dates back to 2005 so i dont know if the same stuff applies..
    basically, I am DESPERATE to be a guard - I always have but due to life I havent dont anything about it..yet.

The thing is, I dont know where to begin, I have spoke to bf uncles who is one abot it, he says I should go for it - but I odnt know how..or if i even qualify :(

I grew up in the UK, and am now back in Ireland, but I havent got a leaving cert (I do have GCSE's tho, and got B's and C's at the higher level for 10 subjects) so therefore, I have no Iirsh language - I am willing to learn tho, I think its a lengthy process (from application to passing out) in which I can start after putting my application through, so I dont mind that..but if anyone can give me some pointers in where/how to Apply and anything else you tthink i should know..btw the way I am 21 (nearly 22), am female and hold an irih passport (not that it matters)..oh I am also worried about the alptitude test..what is this..common sense? Or guarda related law stuff? if ou dont pass this then does your application end?

Any help would bge GREATLY appreciated, I want to start to get the ball rolling asap (for the next phase anyway)

Thanks boards-ies :D

P.S Sorry about my appauling typing- new nails and a crappy laptop:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Aren't GCSE's the equivalent of the Junior Certificate in Ireland?

Would you consider doing the Leaving Certificate in someplace like the Institute on Leeson Street in Dublin 2?

Pass Irish for the Leaving Certificate is actually very easy. An intensive one year course would sort you out...

Out of curiosity, why do you want to become a Guard? Are you more interested in the having power aspect of it, the "glamour" or the helping people bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

GCSEs are deemed to be slightly more advanced than JC but below LC, though they are taken around the same age as the JC which is why people generally assume the two are interchangeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

I think your right about GCSE's, altho when I did a course last year you had to have 5 higher leaving cert exams to qualify - and my gcse results did hold against that - but they arnt as good asthe leaving iykwim.

Im a bit worried now :(

As for why I wantto be a guard; its my dream job, when ever anyone on asked me what I want to be when I grow up, the police force was always what I wanted to get into..Deffo not the glamour aspect (is there a glamour aspect? Think Im missing something here!), I odnt know I just really want to do it. I put it off for a couple of years for applying because I had a baby, he is three now so now I think its the right time, also, my mam was attacked last year, on her doorstep by two scumbag men who robbed her and beat the crap out of her and left her unconcious on her drive, all for 30 euro, the going on there really hit home of the amount of little scumbags there are and they gave me a little push to really think about it, and when would be the right time. Im sick of the routine of my 9-5, I want to do something productive. Im deffo not "power hungry", not do I have illusions that have been said to me that if your a guard I will be untouchable ~(against what?),I genuinely want to help, and do something wiht my life. Im aware that its a long process and signing up time is about now, so I need to gather as much info as i can and get the ball rolling..Im nervous about it all...I odnt know why..is it as tough as I think it will be?

So my next steps are applying (where?) and looking into learning Irish (I have french as a language too, dont thinkthat stands against anything) and giving up the smokes and building uo to a fitness level that will make me pass the tests (Im pretty unfit :D )

Im really scared and I odnt know why :(

Ireland needs guards, I want to be one and am willing to do anything it takes, I really need to look up courses for Irish, I do have french

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I think you deleted the wrong post there.

Jaysus thats a feckin beyatch -the first post wouldnt delete, so i edited and they are now both gone :(

it was a long one too..grrr

Jist of it is...i dont want ot be a guard for the glamour aspect - because I dont think there is one..nor the power tripping either - no way, thats not what I want. I genuinly really really want to be one..its just somnething i have always wanted to do since I was little.
    im really worried about whole exam thing, i think previous posters are right about the gcse's lc thing-i have done courses with the iati before and my exams inthe uk were high enough (you need 5 honours in lc, all at the higher scale)

Can anyone tell me how/where I start the process

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

LadyE, contact the Institute of Education - http://www.ioe.ie/ - they will know if your GCSE is acceptable to then go on and do the Leaving Certificate.

I can't praise the Institute enough for their high standard of education.

From the Garda website, it looks like you don't need Irish. English + a foreign language will do.

What are the educational requirements ?

Candidate must have obtained, in the Leaving Certificate Examination:

(a) A grade not lower than B3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level in Mathematics, and

(b) A qualifying grade in two languages, one of which must be English or Irish, as follows:

English: a grade not lower that D3 at Ordinary Level,

Irish : a grade not lower than C3 at Foundation Level or D3 at another level,

Other language : a grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, and

(c) A grade not lower than D3 at Ordinary Level, in not less than two other subjects

Or

The Merit Grade in the Applied Leaving Certificate,

Or

Like Grades in another examination, which, in the opinion of the Minister for Justice, Equality& Law Reform, is not of a lower standard than the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

LadyE wrote:
    Jaysus thats a feckin beyatch -the first post wouldnt delete, so i edited and they are now both gone :(

Fixed now. They are only "soft deleted", we can get them back usually. :)

Merci :D

ok..ill look at that website now..thanks very much

You are all very helpful on here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭PeteK*

And create an account on PublicJobs.ie :D

It's where you fill in the application and where they send messages etc.

Thanks Chatmaster - did that this morning.

Im abit..bla about it now. Seems like alot of people are tryingt o talk me out of it; the danger element and the working hours, which I am a bit worried about..I (working hours for childcare and stuff) dont know if its a family friendly job..it doesnt seem to be.

I REALLY want this - there are so many "what if's" and "buts" its so difficult :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

LadyE wrote:
    he is three now so now
    I advise you to look into how long the training takes, how long you'll be away from your home, so that you can find a sitter for your kid.

Also, be prepared to be doing all the sh|te night/weekend shifts for the first year or two.

the_syco wrote:
    I advise you to look into how long the training takes, how long you'll be away from your home, so that you can find a sitter for your kid.

Also, be prepared to be doing all the sh|te night/weekend shifts for the first year or two.

Thanks for the reply - I have the support during the training, just thinking about, if i am doing different shifts duirng one week, the flexibility of a babysitter and if my baby is sick..usually mam stuff- If the process takes about 2-ish years, he will be 5..but then what about future children and stuff..god this is hard :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

LadyE wrote:
    Thanks for the reply - I have the support during the training, just thinking about, if i am doing different shifts duirng one week, the flexibility of a babysitter and if my baby is sick..usually mam stuff- If the process takes about 2-ish years, he will be 5..but then what about future children and stuff..god this is hard :(
    I've said from what one of my mates has told me (he's a Garda), but the best thing to do is to goto your local Garda station, and ask could you speak to someone as you wish to become a Garda, but have questions about the training, etc, before you take the jump. I'm sure most stations will have someone who will tell you the ins and outs of the training process.

Oh, and be prepared to be told to f**k off and mind your kid, as you may not get a nice person to tell you.