Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Kill Point [US - Spoilers]

• 26-07-2007 7:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,617 ✭✭✭✭

Just finished the first episode of this new series that started on SpikeTV in the US this week. Damn its a brilliant show. Lots of stuff has been set up in the first episode that will make the next 6 alot of fun to watch. Some reviews here (mainly very positive).
    Emmy®Award-winning actor and Golden Globe nominee John Leguizamo and Donnie Wahlberg star in Spike TV's new original scripted series, THE KILL POINT, an eight-hour event focusing on two men as they square off during a bank heist gone horribly wrong and the hostage negotiations that ensue. THE KILL POINT premieres on Spike TV with a two-hour event beginning Sunday, July 22 at 9:00-PM ET/PT.

John Leguizamo is "Mr. Wolf," the leader of a small group of military veterans who set out to rob a major bank in Pittsburgh. When things go awry, they're forced to take more than a dozen hostages from all walks of life, including a wealthy and powerful businessman's daughter. Suddenly, "Mr. Wolf" finds himself battling the police, the hostages and members of his own team while at the same time, fighting his own personal demons from the Iraq war and from his own war at home. Will he be sharp enough to hold it all together or lose control of the situation? And will he find redemption before it's too late - and does he even care to?

On the opposite side of the perimeter is "Horst Cali," the Pittsburgh Police Department Hostage Negotiator, played by Donnie Wahlberg, who must go toe-to-toe with "Mr. Wolf." "Cali" must use his wit and negotiating skills, while managing his own personal issues, to manipulate the situation and convince Wolf to free the hostages before the FBI takes control, or worse.

With time of the essence and the uncertainty of the unfolding events, both men need to remain resourceful and collected or risk losing lives. THE KILL POINT reveals how the hostage takers leverage their situation and how the negotiator tries to unravel their plans. Which man will blink? Who will outsmart the other? Who will survive? It's a dangerous game of chess played out with human lives at stake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Yep, read great stuff about this. Will try and acquire it tonight!

FAR TOO MUCH TO WATCH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭mikeruurds

I enjoyed it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,617 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Good review, Mike. Straight to the point, no bullsh*t.
    I like that.

TmB wrote:
    Good review, Mike. Straight to the point, no bullsh*t.
    I like that.

You covered it perfectly in the first post. I agree :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

TmB, Basq I respect your tv tastes so Ill have to give it a look but I hate John Leguizamo so Im a bit wary! :p

Yeah, he can overact sometimes (especially when trying to be funny), but he is very controlled and even likeable (as a character) in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Very enjoyable stuff... nice twist in getting
    the public and media to (at least somewhat) sympathise with Mr. Wolf

Oh, and Donnie Wahlberg's character would make a nice addition to Boards own Spell Czechs? ;)

I thought this was very good,saw the first 2 eps. I believe the 3rd one is out at the moment but havn't gotten it yet.

Some great action and acting,I like shows and movies that are based on hostage situations, that are done well (The Nine sucked!) It also makes it better that it is only a 8 episode mini-series which means they can't drag it on and on where it gets crapper over time.

A lot of Wire veterans I noticed as well! What better way to make a show good than to take actors from the best tv show every made? :p Omar,Bodie and Johnny.

Looking forward to the next episode.

And amazingly I actually liked John Leguizamo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭ElNino

:D Just seen episode 3 and I am still enjoying this. It's good that there is only 8 episodes because I think that they wouldn't be able to stretch the siege out for a full season. The comment about the FBI agent's ass was funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

Saw the first episode last night after the recommendations here, great show allright, cheers for the heads up.

We aim to please! :)

Glad to see episode 3 was just as strong, with some unexpected developments. Great ending too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

pretty good

Ye episode 3 was jsut as good as the first two. The FBI always mess things up apparantly! :rolleyes: :p

It seems that episode 4 is also available...

Ye it was a good episode, not as exciting as the first 3 but some good stuff.

The chap with the beard is a nutter! He is carrying around a charred ear he took from an Iraqi solider! If things are going to go bad, I would imagine it will be his doing.

Also liked how they tied up the Beck storyline quickly enough, they could have easily kept it going until the last episode but it is better that they didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭BKtje

I'm loving this show. There always seems to be something different happening.

Must say i think that the captain character (cant recall his name atm) is very well played. Gotta love him being a grammer nazi :)

Watched the first episodes back to back a few days back and enjoyed them immensly. It's refreshing to see an idea which has been done to death given a fresh spin.

The fact that there are only two episodes left is a bit of a downer, thankfully the show is good enough to warrant repeat viewings.

I thought it was 8 episodes long,no?

tvnutz wrote:
    I thought it was 8 episodes long,no?

Like the premier the last night is episodes 7 and 8 shown as one. I'm kind of disappointed that they are doing that as I really love the show and look forward to watching it all week.

It's a shame all good television must come to an end, while most mediocre and down right terrible shows seem to last for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

I watched episode 4 and as someone else said it is not as strong as the first three but still very watchable. I think the next one will be shown on Sunday night (US time).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I believe episode 5 was on in the US early this week.

I know I'll be watching it this evening as I got my hands on
    it late last night ;)

Ye again it was good but some scenes just slowed it down and were annoying. Really annoyed rich girl couldn't pull the damn trigger, just blow them away and its game over for feck sake!

The scene with the burning of pieces of paper felt out of place and the junkie son was also a bit of a stretch.

Will be interesting to see how it ends, as long as the two insane brothers get blown away I'll be happy :D

[Edit] Also...why the hell does John Leguizamo have say "man" after every third or fourth word. It is really annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Just finished watching, good series overall. As some people said some of the scenes were a bit slow and some stuff wasnt believeable at all, but v good TV and the bit of getting the guys out of the bank was clever.

8/10

Yep, I thought it was a good, action packed (and pretty clever) ending to the series. A good 5½ hours of TV overall!

Yep, overall a very good mini series. Best way to do something like this, don't try drag it out for longer than it needs to be.

Well worth a watch for anyone looking for something new to watch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

I just finished it too and it was very good. Well worth watching.
    Best way to do something like this, don't try drag it out for longer than it needs to be.

Couldn't agree more and the double intro and ending made it more satisfying.