Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[REQ] Gillette Mac 3 Blades

• 26-07-2007 10:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭

Some might think this is a strange one but we all know these feckers can be darn expensive, especially us blokes!

Anyhow, just wondering where ye think the cheapest place to buy them is? I bought a 4 pack there a while back in the Dunnes just off George's street and they were well under 10 yo' yo's, can't remember exact price. I bought them as I'd seen them in pharmacies etc. for anything between €10 and €15.

Also, they can be had on Thomas street sometimes on the cheap but last time I bought them there they tore the face off me, he he :-(

Cheers,
    M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Loadedscream

7.99 for 4 in tesco...cheapest ive seen i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭madmoe

@Loadedscream,
    Cheers for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Souness

Buy them on ebay...20 for €24...as far as I can tell they are genuine...no difference from the ones I used to get in Dunnes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭andrew1977

Souness wrote:
    Buy them on ebay...20 for €24...as far as I can tell they are genuine...no difference from the ones I used to get in Dunnes!

Ebay can be a dodgy place for buying mach 3 blades,i have bought on 2 occasions and tore the face off me
    The sellers had 100% positive feedback, i think buyers leave the feedback when they arrive to them, then go and shave and realise they are duds.
    One good shave out of them and thats that

I know stick to buying a pack for four for around the 8 euro mark in the major supermarkets, last longer per blade and superior shaving quality

Any of the blades been sold on market stalls are almost certain to be fakes..

Perfumeireland.com used to sell them at a reasonable price but cant see them in stock any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭dal

I made the mistake before of naively buying mach 3 blades from a stall on Henry Street (they weren't even *all that* cheap!). They look absolutely identical to normal mach 3s, but man, do they not perform like mach 3s. Threw the entire packet out after my first shave. Was mopping up the blood for hours!

Would love to be able to order proper ones online for cheap as I hate paying loads for something I don't even like doing (shaving)!

Thanx guys for all the feedback, glad I started this thread now, he he.

So it looks like the supermarkets are our best bet, unless we can find a dirt cheap online reatiler ;-)

M

Just found these guys online http://www.razorsuk.com/ and mailed them to ask if delivery to Ireland if free, doubt it will be though.

Roughly €4.50 for a 4 pack of ordinary Mach 4, good if they are the genuine ones and no delivery charge!

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

madmoe wrote:
    Just found these guys online http://www.razorsuk.com/ and mailed them to ask if delivery to Ireland if free, doubt it will be though.

If you had taken the time to check their T&C's you would have seen that the free delivery DOES NOT include Scottish Highlands and Ireland :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭jos28

I was just about to buy 20 on Ebay for 9.99 sterling. Buy 2 packs, get one free.Not a bad deal, methinks. The seller just emailed me to say he has withdrawn them from sale. He had just tried them himself and found they cut the face off him. He told me that there are terrible fakes coming from China and to be very wary of buying blades on ebay. Honest bloke !
    What I would like to know is how much does it cost for Mr Gillette to make a Mach 3 blade. I would hazard a guess at somewhere between 20-50c. Massive profit to be made ! Especially when they are sold at €2 each.
    One last point is the fact that our government sees fit to classify such necessities as luxury goods and put the highest rate of VAT on them.
    Should be zero vat not 21%.
    End of rant. !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭steve 0

jos28 wrote:
    What I would like to know is how much does it cost for Mr Gillette to make a Mach 3 blade. I would hazard a guess at somewhere between 20-50c. Massive profit to be made !
    Hmm, @ least its not 35 times the material cost. :eek:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/6766563.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Souness

andrew1977 wrote:
    Ebay can be a dodgy place for buying mach 3 blades,i have bought on 2 occasions and tore the face off me

Must have been lucky:D ...was planning on using ebay for next purchase..but these comments are a bit offputting....checked out the seller i bought off and they no longer selling so they may have been limited genuine stock!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

it has probably been mentioned but whatever you do DONT buy them [blades] from dealers (especially if you are in dublin), they are fake and will cut you to ribbons

Hey guys,
    Contacted that crowd in UK and they said that if I order an 8 pack or more they will give free postage to Dublin. Now I'm waiting for the Mach 3 8 pack to come back into stock.

Cheers,
    M

Update: Just got an e-mail telling me they were back in stock. Ordered 16 (2 x 8) and it came to approx , €18.

Will let ye know what they are like when I get them.

How much would 16 be in the shops?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Anyone try razorsuk.com for Mach blades?

Eh, the last person who posted 4 months ago :confused:

Why are you digging up this thread???

@Pullmyfinger!,
    I ordered off them mate. The razors do not seem to be the genuine ones but they didn't tear the face off me either, decent enough shave out of them and I have used one blade loads of times. I'll be buying off them again.

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 biggame83

Know its fusion blades but same deal. Bought pack of 8 off ebay, €18 all seemed good, they came and looked perfect. Went to use them and they ate the face off me. Found a site http://www.fakeblades.com which help me identify that they were very well described duds. The seller had deleted the ebay listing but left me feedback so to cut a long story short, got a refund through a paypal dispute and after contacting Gillette they have all the details and the blades! :D:D:D Maybe he will learn a lesson about trying to scam people.

ps The nice people gave me a reward for all the hassle I went to in ringing them and posting the blades and the fact that I got caught out by someone selling their product. Just remembering that a 4 pack costs €16 odd, the cheap c***s sent me a €7 voucher. Ah well.

biggame83 wrote: »
    Maybe he will learn a lesson about trying to scam people.

Unfortunatly it's people like yourself who encourage this type of behavour by falling for this type of scam.

Caveat emptor 'n all that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭white_falcon

Maybe im wrong but i do believe this is the cheapest

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.9299

Delivered to ur door and marked as gift so no customs....

big_shave.jpg
    Beware of fakes :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Tesco were recently doing a 50% off the Gillette Fusion range offer but I'm not sure that they are still doing it.

Btw, my girlfriend got me a 4 pack of MAC3 blades on Henry Street and it was like shaving with a blunt machete. Seems like loads of people have fallen for this scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭abakan

Maybe im wrong but i do believe this is the cheapest

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.9299

Delivered to ur door and marked as gift so no customs....

ah still good. 18AUS dollars for 2 packs and free delivery:eek::eek:

Just ordered 2 packs - very close to going with ebay!!!!