Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf clubs on Ebay

• 24-07-2007 3:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭

I just bought a Driver on Ebay and was telling a mate who told me never to buy there as you either get a fake or they are Crap, Has any one any experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭golfpaul

dunser wrote:
    I just bought a Driver on Ebay and was telling a mate who told me never to buy there as you either get a fake or they are Crap, Has any one any experience.

I've bought loads of clubs on ebay, usually about 40-50% off the prices here. Just make sure that the seller has been trading for a while with a good positive feedback. Stick to the ebay stores and you shouldn't get caught out. Also watch out for tax at customs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭dunser

Has anyone ever got conned or had fakes shipped, What do you do then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Try not buy from China or Korea, lots of fakes. I know a guy who got stung with a fake set of callaway x-18's. Also there is one UK based guy that seems to have every club under the sun listed but doesn't accept paypal which I find strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

This was also posted a wee while back...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055097175

Just be mindful of the person's feedback rating - and ask them as many questions about the item as possible to try and catch out a possible faker... if it's not as described when it arrives then there are methods for conflict resolution - but thankfully I've never had to go down that route purchasing a variety of items on ebay.

I'd agree with Onkle - if the person doesn't acept Paypal it could be fishy - also don't use Western Union to "buy" the item, also if the item contains an email address to contact "off ebay", be very careful of this, as it could well be a hijacked account...

I'm looking for clubs myself at the moment and a few I keep coming across are keeping the item description private in feedback which again i find strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I usually tend to stick to second hand stuff on ebay as you know what you're getting. If buying new, ask for a close-up pic of the serial number. If a club doesn't have a serial number then its fake. You can check the serial number they give you with the manufacturers website also.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭wanabe

I've bought several clubs too! even got 1 from austrailia, so far so good!!!

I am buying from Ebay Store, so you think this is ok then. Paypal too. DO you have any comeback

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

Any views on this one :

http://cgi.ebay.ie/TaylorMade-r7-SuperQuad-driver-10-5-degree-stiff_W0QQitemZ220133856105QQihZ012QQcategoryZ115280QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Same seller has had several for sale recently. Seems to go for about half the best retail shop price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭extopia

DId you send the seller a message and ask? It looks genuine, just a guy selling some stuff.

Sandwich wrote:
    Any views on this one :

http://cgi.ebay.ie/TaylorMade-r7-SuperQuad-driver-10-5-degree-stiff_W0QQitemZ220133856105QQihZ012QQcategoryZ115280QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Same seller has had several for sale recently. Seems to go for about half the best retail shop price.

Steer clear... I'm not the highest bidder or anything.. I swear;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 HappyGillmor

...I do have a Callaway Great Big Bertha that i am not good enough to hit that has a stiff shaft. It was only bought last November and is (I think) still the latest model (although not the square headed one!). If you are interested let me know. I'd say you would need to be playing off under ten to be able to hit this boy well. I switched to a friends Taylor Made R5 with a medium shaft that suits me much better.

As for EBay, i do know someone who bought a wedge and he very happy. Think they are genuine if you buy in the right place....

Well My Club arrived Today Taylor Made R7 Superquad, I bought it to Club Pro who though it was fine until he comparded it to one in his shop, they were slight differences, It has serial number and Garuentee Card, The Labels were in Asian. He tried it a few times and he seemed to think it felt like real deal. He has taken the serial number and is going to ring Taylor made and see if it is so. Heres hoping ,,, any comments

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

what were the differences? usually US to Europe to Japan models will have slight differences in location of stickers and older/newer batches can have some diffs as well.

How much did is cost you in the end?

Well it cost me 225 euro, It came wrapped perfect with all Taylor made Stickers etc, looks real deal. My pro now has me worried. I guess I wont know until he hears from Taylor made.

not saying your pro will lead you astray but would it be better for him for it to be known around the club that someone got 'scammed' on ebay and to only buy clubs through him?

Why don't you enter the serial number on the taylormade site to register the club and see does it go in ok?

I registered the Club this evening and it went in ok, there was no response from web site saying wrong number. I compared the serial number to other that were on sale it the were same amount of digits. I guess Taylor made will email me back if the number does not register.

any comments

sure lash up the serial number, sounds like you got a nice deal on a good club to me though.

Do you think it sounds good? I guess I will have to wait and see if Taylor made respond. The system took the number ok but gave no response. Have you used the Club, Is it difficult to get Reg Flex as its currently Stiff

sounds ok to me, although couldn't tell for sure without seeing it.

switching to a reg flex would be easily done for about €60 or so but you would probably have to change shafts to a non OEM one. see how you get on with the stiff as the std stiffs in TM play a little soft.

Well Well , Guess what the Club is a fake. Fuc..in Ebay. I will never buy anything from that Web site again, I spoke with Taylor made this morning and they confirmed that no such serial number exists. I have sent the Club back to Seller who has said they will refund the fee.

Anyone want to buy a Taylormade Superquad R7 ???

Sounds familiar... I bought a Superquad off ebay recently too. Must admit i had my doubts. I bought from a different seller but seems as though i could have bought the same club as you. Came in wrapper, but with Asian info leaflet. When i got it it came with a blue wrench. Apparently this is one of the signs that it is a fake. So, i emailed the seller and he seemed very offended that i was suggesting the club was fake. He's offered to send me the details of his supplier so i'm just waiting on them now.

The Taylor Made website took my serial number ok too. Couldn't find a number to phone them though or even an email address.

Graeme

here is taylormade number 004412564779797. I heard too that blue wrench is a fake. I did not get a wrench with mine.

Thanks for that Dunser,

i'll let you know how i get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Fook lads you have me worried now, I bought a Ping Redwood Piper a few weeks back!

Nah only jokin, this is genuine, absolutely beautiful putter, bought from a very highly regarded seller in the States, made loads of contact with her before and after sale, got it for €140, RRP here is €270 so you'd probably get it for €220 or there abouts, nice saving all the same!!

I think Ebay is grand as long as you buy from somebody with very good feedback and ask them a few questions and research the product. I watched Redwood putters for around 4-6 weeks before I got mine, just to make sure how much I should be paying etc. etc. It's amazing to see people buying items from each other and putting them up for sale straight away to make a quick buck..

JC

Hey be careful my seller was Power seller and over 3,000 good comments, Ebay is a disaster , minefield

What if it is a fake?

Leaving aside the moral question of it being stolen design/intellectual property of Taylormade - is it fundamentally not the same club? Is playing with it not likely to be identical to playing one that has come throught the official TaykirMade channels ?

as sandwich said, a lot of good fakes come out the same door of the factories in china.

There is also the possibility dunser that TM uk just don't have a record of that serial number because it isn't a club that has gone through them. They also don't like ebay selling of far east market clubs.

I'm not sure you have a fake for definite, can you post pictures of the clubhead and hosel so we can all check it out?

Took mine into a pro last night and he told me that my one is ok. Pretty relieved. Although, i've played three rounds with it and it's been excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Graeme1982 wrote:
    Took mine into a pro last night and he told me that my one is ok. Pretty relieved. Although, i've played three rounds with it and it's been excellent.

If you ask me, that's all you need to know Man...

Ooooh, I'm getting that pre-round buzz - tee time booked for 6pm :):)

Yeh, that's all i'm worried about!!

Just got a late entry for open singles on the new course at Headfort on Saturday. Happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

WHIP IT! wrote:

Ooooh, I'm getting that pre-round buzz - tee time booked for 6pm :):)

Jesus. What a stupid f*cking game...

Started off, hitting the ball alright, but damned if I could get the damn thing in the hole... Bit of bad luck and a few bad shots and before long I realised I was having one of those most frustrating of days - hitting the ball well but no score to show for it....

After that, got a bit disheartened and just played rubbish... Then what do I do? Bellow a peach of a drive down the Index1 (15th) and par it after a tidy two-putt... then deuce the last after a 9iron to about six feet...

Graeme

Where did you buy your one on ebay, Oz, usa etc I would like to compare yours to mine. ie where logos are etc.

I bought from a guy in Scotland. I think he bought it from a dealer though. I compared mine to the one in the golf shop and me and the pro couldn't spot any differences. have you had a hit of it yet?

Guys , Bought my Club into Golf shop today , well I am never going to buy from Ebay ever again. The Pro showed me the flaws and its scary, invisable to normal payer. I would say the club would only last couple of rounds.
    I would advise anyone not to purchase from EBAY for Glof Clubs. The guy in the shop was telling me that he has had so many people in who have being ripped off.

That's bad news. Get yourself on to direct golf. They have the r7 460 cc on sale for £150.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

dunser wrote:
    Guys , Bought my Club into Golf shop today , well I am never going to buy from Ebay ever again. The Pro showed me the flaws and its scary, invisable to normal payer. I would say the club would only last couple of rounds.
    I would advise anyone not to purchase from EBAY for Glof Clubs. The guy in the shop was telling me that he has had so many people in who have being ripped off.

Can you elaborate on these flaws a little bit?
    Like, why exactly would you say it'd only last a few rounds?

Too Many to say, Fake Shaft, wrong colour, Labels wrong place only slightly, mauf stickers that are not normally seen. the parts are not of good quality

can u stick a pick up so we know what to avoid mate??

Hey

the fake club can be told by Grey head, The actual real Club is jet black. All picture shown on ebay are of Black head but most of time its charcoal Grey head.

dunser wrote:
    Too Many to say, Fake Shaft, wrong colour, Labels wrong place only slightly, mauf stickers that are not normally seen. the parts are not of good quality

What does not of good quality mean and how did your pro evaluate that characteristic.?

Labels in the wrong place only slightly etc hardly likely to have the club last only a few rounds.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭kmot90

I am trying to sell a full set of Callaway left-handed golf clubs. unwanted present from the states. Big bertha and odessey 2balls, pm me for details if anyone intrested. cheap price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Board_silly

Heres my experience,

Bought a set of Callaway big Berthas plus bag from an Irish seller on ebay. Got them and they looked great, plastic heat shrink on the heads, lovely new leather golf bag, knitted callaway wood covers.....all for €450 plus € 50 delivery. Too good to be true? bloody right!!
    Ive learned a lot about fakes in the last few weeks. Thankfully PayPal have agreed to refund me in full but Im really keen to have this guy done by either revenue or the gardai.
    When i bought them he told me he was selling them as he had put his back out and couldnt use them anymore. turns out after I bought he had a whole load more sets up for sale. It was a buyer in england who alerted me to the fact that they were fakes. They were such a good job Id probably be still playing with them for the next few years. I broght them to a dealer in Sandyford and straight away the pro spotted they were fake. For a start some of the clubs had identical serial numbers. The logo at the back of the irons looked fine but on closer inspection was made of cheap plastic and simply glued on lightly.

In future Ill do what mosrt serious golfers do...see and swing the clubs before I buy them. having said that....Id probably end up buying fakes anyway.Best thing ....buy form a dealer and from someone you can bring them back to if theres a problem.

Hope thats of some use

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭mirrorball

Care to name the seller so we can steer clear? I've bought stuff on ebay in the past and never had a problem. Anytime I've bought it's been from a seller with a physical store/shop or one of the PGA pros selling on there. Those guys have to be whiter than white. Also, if they have Paypal Buyer Protection then you can't really go wrong.

You do need to be careful though. Check this Scotty Cameron out. Isn't the first rule of Scotty putters that shrinkwrap on head=probable fake? And have a good look at the crown on the headcover......perhaps it's the camera angle/lighting but it looks very suspect to me. I'd have some questions for the seller before I paid €140 for this.

Cheers,
    Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Atlantic1

Heres my experience,

Bought a set of Callaway big Berthas plus bag from an Irish seller on ebay. Got them and they looked great, plastic heat shrink on the heads, lovely new leather golf bag, knitted callaway wood covers.....all for €450 plus € 50 delivery. Too good to be true? bloody right!!
    Ive learned a lot about fakes in the last few weeks. Thankfully PayPal have agreed to refund me in full but Im really keen to have this guy done by either revenue or the gardai.
    When i bought them he told me he was selling them as he had put his back out and couldnt use them anymore. turns out after I bought he had a whole load more sets up for sale. It was a buyer in england who alerted me to the fact that they were fakes. They were such a good job Id probably be still playing with them for the next few years. I broght them to a dealer in Sandyford and straight away the pro spotted they were fake. For a start some of the clubs had identical serial numbers. The logo at the back of the irons looked fine but on closer inspection was made of cheap plastic and simply glued on lightly.

In future Ill do what mosrt serious golfers do...see and swing the clubs before I buy them. having said that....Id probably end up buying fakes anyway.Best thing ....buy form a dealer and from someone you can bring them back to if theres a problem.

Hope thats of some use

M

I've seen these being sold also. I was at a festival last year and there were stalls selling just about everything. There was a guy who said he was from Clare selling Callaways like you mentioned. The bag and the way all the clubs (woods and irons) were wrapped was a dead give away. Close examination of the heads showed clearly that they were fakes. The red bit in the cavity backs was more pink than red. They were good copies though. Made in China apparently. They had Taylormades also. Same story with the wrapping also.