Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lovebox

• 22-07-2007 7:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭

What did you guys think? I had a great time. Ended up mud wrestling with friends which led to none of us getting in clubs afterwards. Didn't really end up spending that much time checking out all the acts, just a few here and there. Also thanks to the guys who helped me out when my back got into agonising pain when I'd been seperated from everyone and lost the ability to stand! Friendly strangers seemed to be plentiful which I find unusual in Irish gigs! Atmosphere was great and chilled out. Now to find all that money that seems to have mysteriously vanished from my bag... sure the beer had nothing to do with that...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i got in at 3 and then left to get food at about 4.30 and the door ***** wouldnt let me back in even tho they said it was not a problem so i got about 60mins of music for 80euro which was nice

my mates all said they had a good time though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

PeakOutput wrote:
    i got in at 3 and then left to get food at about 4.30 and the door ***** wouldnt let me back in even tho they said it was not a problem so i got about 60mins of music for 80euro which was nice

my mates all said they had a good time though

I hope you're going to complain and demand a refund, that's disgraceful.
    Were you given a wristband?

eth0_ wrote:
    I hope you're going to complain and demand a refund, that's disgraceful.
    Were you given a wristband?

they were not given out wristbands or stamps or anything they just said "no problem" on my way out and i had my ticket stub and i also had the muck stains to show id been in already

they have the right to refuse admission so i doubt i have a leg to stand on........

when they realised i could have an articulate argument with them about it they just called the garda over who did the whole i order you to leave under blah blah blah bull****

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

PeakOutput wrote:
    they were not given out wristbands or stamps or anything they just said "no problem" on my way out and i had my ticket stub and i also had the muck stains to show id been in already

they have the right to refuse admission so i doubt i have a leg to stand on........

when they realised i could have an articulate argument with them about it they just called the garda over who did the whole i order you to leave under blah blah blah bull****

I really feel for you on this one more so after i read comments like the OP's when spa's rather go to play in the mud with their friends.

I'd still complain, if only about the underhandedness of the door *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

lordgoat wrote:
    I really feel for you on this one more so after i read comments like the OP's when spa's rather go to play in the mud with their friends.

I'd still complain, if only about the underhandedness of the door *****.

I spent most of the day looking for people who kept disappearing which led to me missing lots. Also got in late as I was working until 3. At the end we got hyper and had a laugh. Sheesh. Chill out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

Wanted to go yesterday but had to be somewhere else :(
    What time did it end at?

the day ended well enough for me though got a group back to my gaf and got the decks out till 7 this morning...............yes my neighbours do love me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭garthv

Man what a day!
    Highlights were SourceCode and Hystereo. Evil Nine were pretty damn good too. Toots and the Maytals was a gig I was looking forward to for a long time and I was not dissapointed!
    First time ever being in Malahide Castle for a gig and i have to say I really liked the set-up. Nice of the weather to hold too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

great craic.

groove armada put on a great set. really enjoyed sasha and al gibbs also and some other dude i can't remember.

was a much nicer and maybe more mature crowd than some other gigs ive been to which was good. i think the rain held off aswell, cant remember.

im still rough now though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Griff77

What a day and the sun even came out for a bit... Highlights were The Rapture, Hystereo and Groove Armada who played a magic set! Saw them before and didn't rate them but they played a stompin set and all a 20min walk from my house! Great day and crowd pity it ended so early tho... Reminded me of the first electric picnic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Well organised, easy access to food, drink, toilets all on site.
    The raptures & dj set, toots , groove armada hightlights,
    Some deadly stuff on in the dance tent also.

Absolutely no crowd trouble, weather was nice but ground was soft/wet (wore wellies!)
    Large security presence at it, loads of gardai also .

Easy get in and out of city with dart.
    If line-up is even half decent next year, Im deffo going.

Well organised, easy access to food, drink, toilets all on site.

Absolutely no crowd trouble, weather was nice but ground was soft/wet (wore wellies!)

i reckon this was the make or break gig for that venue and as it seems to have gone very well i reckon there will be a lovebox weekender next year or at least some sort of two day festival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭catch--22

Yeah, great day out! I'll be going back if it returns next year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

It was a great day and I was delighted that the rain held off. Drank too many Bacardi cocktails, got a bit muddy, danced my socks off in the Strangelove tent for hours, chatted to loads of friendly strangers and generally had a great time. Easy to get to and from by dart as well which was an added bonus. Would definitely go next year if it's on again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Drogman

Great day and as someone mentioned above, very friendly atmosphere and none of the usual scummers that usually attend these gigs.

Saw the Super Furry Animals and wasn't disappointed.

Groove Armada were excellent and also spent some time that that Ragga tent. Some crazy people just grooving :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

PeakOutput wrote:
    Why did you leave to get food? Surely you could've gotten something in there or at least have gotten something before you went in? Especially when you weren't given a wristband to let you back in. And everybody knows what a friendly bunch security guards are at Irish gigs. :rolleyes: