Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

meeting a guy

• 19-07-2007 9:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

this problem is kinda hard to explain but i shall try my best. basically i moved to galway recently for work and i dont really know anyone. i was kinda seeing a guy in dublin when i lived there but nothing serious. he is coming to galway this weekend to see a few mates that live here and said that if i wanted to meet him for a drink to come along. Problem is I have given him the impression i have made friends up here (people i work with, etc) but i havent- at least not people i could go out with and he said to bring them along just for a laugh. i do want to see him this weekend and will only get the opportunity if i go out either friday or saturday night but i dont have anyone to out go out with and i cant go out by myself, because thats just a little weird and i dont know him that well to just meet him by myself.

so i just wanted to get a few opinions or what i should do, like i said i would like to see him but as well as that i feel like i should make the effort to see him because if i dont see him this weekend i dont know when i will see him again and obviously i wont get to know him better if i dont meet him.

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

just tell him the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

Looks to me like you have to buck up the courage to make some friends in work. Ask them when was to last time they had a good night out and invite them this weekend. Then meet up with the guy you kinda half sorta wanta maybe get to know a bit even though he's going back to Dublin and you won't see him again.

Or you could stop getting hung up on this one guy and meet others on your night out with the new mates. You'll go far with a can-do attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

you could tell him you wanted the night just to yourselves?

or pay some people to be your friends? i know some guys in galway with a sense of humor if you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Kings Head 9pm saturday, my birthday. Never met you before but we can be your rent-a-friends for the night and if you're sound you're more than welcome come out with us on a regular basis :D
    Oh by the way it's not a big gang of lads ready to pounce, most of em are couples.
    Well that's my good deed for the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Happy birthday Cali! If I see a big group in there on Sat nite I'll say hello :)

OP, go meet him, just tell him your mates couldn't go out that night, but there was no way you were going to sit in and watch a DVD with them that you've already seen 5 times (make something up!).
    If the night's going badly and its a real lads night out I'm sure you're welcome to join Cali's party or there'll be a gang of us out in Buskers or somewhere nearby!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

go on your own who cares he wont even give it a second thought

also

make some friends its not difficult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

1. If you wanna keep the lying up you can wait until he texts you where he's at and then go there yourself. Just say your friends opted to drive out to Spiddal for the night.

2. Go to Caliden's thing in Kings (Happy Birthday btw!).

3. Post in Galway forum and maybe a few lads will come out. It's the festival season so it's likely everyone's out anyway. I know I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭louisecm

I'm new to Galway with no friends, if you want I'll go out with you...we could hit Caliden's birthday together. I really mean it. I wasn't looking forward to a lonely weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

I'll be hitting the town again tonight too if your in need of a few buds and my mates are well nice too. Kinda 26-33 age group.
    Mind you we were out last night and it's going to be a long day lol god bless the boards :D

P.S. I'm really normal I promise. I even smile occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

calidens birthday party it is then. hope i dont feel like too much of a sap walking in by myself! louise cm thats so nice of you. i know what it feels like to be lonely in a strange city. if you are up for it i will meet you in the kings head i probably wont get there til about 10 or so. so everyone thanks for the replies, im sure i will see some of you out tonight

x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Just head out yourself and meet him. If you really need to (which you won't) say your mate is sick (friend can be reduced to a friend in a single statement) he won't push the point.
    If that doesn't work for you, meet up with Muppetkiller, I can vouch for him. He's great craic. (Old college buddies for what it's worth)

Muppetkiller - are you coming up for the Boards beers?

Why don't we arrange something a little more concrete, I can meet you outside Jurys at 10? That way you don't have to go in on your own... No pressure, but it might make things a little easier?

thanks louise. problem is im not 100% sure what time i will be in town at. it will be round 10ish though. it would probably be better if i just meet you in the kings head that way neither of us have to stand in the rain and wind. and i just re-read the post it actually saturday night not tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Ladies, swap numbers ffs!
    A lot easier for meeting people!

ps
    I've lived in Galway for 8 years and know tonnes of people but everybody gets stranded for a weekend now and then . I blame all them couples and their romancing ways !

Yes Mighty Mouse, but tis difficult when person is unregged.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

hey OP, just go and meet the guy. Say something like your friends have plans etc. He won't think anything of it.

As for meeting people, you should definitely register and swop numbers with some of the guys/gals who have offered to meet you. Sounds a little daunting but you should go for it. Its really decent of them to offer and you could have a ball! Go for it!

Yeah OP its saturday. There should be a good crowd at it and don't be afriad to come along even if you have a sick head after 2night :D
    Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

i'll be there with balls on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

OP: Please do register, PI is not really a hooking up site

but have a good time saturday :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭boffin

just curious but how are you going to know whos whos when you walk into the pub! From what I remember that place is packed and full of groups on a sturday night.

Just thinking how would louise and the op locate you all if the pubs busy??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

This thing is going to be better attended than a "boards beers"!

I should be out in town on Saturday if I see a bunch of people that look like they don't know each other I'll say hello!

OP register and send me a PM. You're identity is safe and secret with me :)

Also dont introduce yourself as the girl from the internet or ask for me as Caliden. As sad as it is to say it, I'm ashamed to be a boardsie in real life :D

I'm printing off signs to wear around our necks including, DRAKE, CALIDEN and GIRLFROMBOARDS.. you must wear!

edit: the girly man with the blue hair is caliden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Damn its a friendly bunch in here. Makes me wish I was in Galway for the weekend:D

Good luck with the night OP, sounds like you've plenty of Galway friends now:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

lol yeh, register and get some numbers! you Galway folks sure are nice! :D

Well neither of ye showed up :(

You must have had a pretty good weekend seeing as you didn't need to attend the king's head saturday. How'd it go?
    PI wants an update! :D

hi sorry for not meeting everyone on saturday night after your kind offer. the guy text me earlier in the day and said him and his friends were going for a meal and asked me along so i went and then we ended up in the roisin dubh all night, so i was nowhere near the kings head but thanks for the advice i did really appreciate it

x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

I am glad your issue got resolved OP.

I suggest again you register then you can talk to boardsies in PM